We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aventura Mexicana
Ranked #23 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed for only two nights sadly we also had family joining us at a AI but we had a wonderful start to our vacation here. The food was amazing the rooms were very clean and beds were comfomtable. We will be returning in the future.
We found the food to be fresh each meal was amazing freshly made. The service was wonderful as well. We met some great people in our short stay there as well. Great place all around
I also recommend the AI option and they have a great massage therapist reasonable and she did a great job must do's!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goingonaciesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    444
    81
    15
    9
See reviews for
346
845
85
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We booked the "Superior garden view with balcony" type room and were very pleased with our room that opened up to the swimming pool. Everything was very clean and loved walking out to the pool from the sliding glass doors. We have no complaints at all with the room, or service. Location was great and an easy walk to 5th ave or the beach. We went to both beach clubs that the hotel gave you free access to, however we much perfered Mamita's Beach Club and opted to pay to use it instead. Indigo and Coco Maya Beach Club does not have the best area for swimming and can be pretty smelly. My only other thing I felt was missing was a happy hour which they said they no longer offer. I had read about Happy Hour from other reviews, so was disappointed this was not available. It was a little difficult to talk or meet other people staying there and a happy hour usually helps this out. Even with that, this place was a bargin and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: We requested a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nugent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at this fabulous boutique hotel, where it always delivers the best of everything. We were also joined by another couple who had previously stayed there one other time. The Mayan Bistro restaurant staff (under Chris's management) bent over backwards to ensure we were taken care of in the best & most expedient manner. We especially want to thank George, the wonderful bartender, and Gabby & Nicholas, who waited on us many times. Luis, Guest Services Manager, also took care of our needs to give us our preferred room & arranged for our one-day car rental. Rob, the Hotel Manager, is the best (what more can I say)!
The hotel is small & quiet. It's a half block off 5th Avenue & it's about a 2-block walk to the beach. We always stay in the adult section of the hotel; there's also a family section with it's own pool. The rooms are large and well taken care of, as well as the grounds are beautiful and well-groomed. We purchased the VIP plan (only directly from the Aventura Mexicana website), which allows you to enjoy unlimited food and drinks (including premium alcohol). You'll pay very little for the VIP plan if you include the plan at the time of booking, and it's so well worth it. You can also purchase the VIP plan once you arrive even though you'll pay a little more. You don't even need to eat every meal there in order to get your money's worth. We thoroughly enjoyed lunch and drinks every day at the pool!
We highly recommend the Aventura Mexicana and will continue staying there for every vacation to Playa del Carmen!

Room Tip: There are 3 stories in the adult section of the hotel, and there are no elevators. So be sure to re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GizzieLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Aventura Mexicana three times, now. And we absolutely love it! The hotel is small, but clean & quiet. The staff are all wonderful. Nicholas & his daughter, Gabby, are just outstanding hosts. They go out of their way to make your stay the best experience ever. The food & drinks are just fabulous. The female bartender makes great pina coladas and the male bar tender makes wonderful coconut margaritas! The cleaning staff, maintenance & grounds keepers are all friendly, and take their work very seriously, as they keep the hotel rooms & grounds looking just beautiful. My husband and I plan to return to the Aventura Mexicana again and again. I's recommend this hotel to any of my family & friends.
Bev & Greg

Room Tip: I like all of their rooms, but can't do stairs well, so stay in the family area, closer to the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BevK333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

The place is not large but nice size for what I wanted. The place was clean and the staff very helpful. The Mayan Bistro was excellent. The staff (Gabriela, Nicholas and others) were very nice and friendly. Food was great and Chris made sure you were taken care of. The beer and liqueur were top shelf premium brands. The Corralejo was always present. Good place to stay for a reasonable price. We felt very safe as police circulated constantly. I would visit there again.
Jock

Room Tip: You want a courtyard view. Some are on the street and there's not much to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jock a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I just returned today from a trip where 17 of my friends and family were traveling together. That being said location and price were extremely important. This hotel delivered. The rooms are spotless and comfortable. You are close to the main shopping streets, but not so close that it is noisy. It's about a three block walk from the beach, but for the price the walk is worth it. They have a small parking lot, which is a rarity in Playa del Carmen. That came in handy with three cars. Also the service at this hotel was incredible. Everyone was great!! Special thanks to Antonio and Nicolas. Antonio helped our huge mass of people get into affordable rooms within a matter of minutes. His recommendations were right on. He was extremely accommodating. When I had a problem with the bill for the spa, which was FAB, he fixed it right away. And Nicolas was our waiter in the mornings at the Bistro, where we enjoyed our breakfast by the pool oasis. He was very friendly and helpful. If I ever return to Playa this is where I will stay. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ge0rgeofthejungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymore
Level Contributor
177 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was our 3rd time to the hotel. This hotel and staff is great! The hotel is located right next to the 5th avenue tourist area. You do have to walk 2 blocks to beach, but that is no biggie. The food and free breakfast was awesome. We had Niccolas as a server and he always treated us great and we will go back again!

Room Tip: I like the rooms down by the pool. All you do is open a sliding door and the pool is there in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank devildog0800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#13 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#16 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Mexicana

Property: Aventura Mexicana
Address: 5th Avenue at 24th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aventura Mexicana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aventura Mexicana - Your oasis of silence & beauty in the heart of Playa Del Carmen We're an American owned, top ranked TripAdvisor hotel & restaurant located just 1/2 block from Playa's popular 5th Avenue and 2 blocks from the beach! We're a friendly boutique hotel with lush, tropical courtyards and waterfalls, 2 swimming pools and 3 sundecks. Guest rooms feature 1 King bed or (2) Queen beds, inroom wi/fi, air conditioning, flat screen TVs, phones, private bathrooms and most rooms have balconies or verandas. Our hotel amenities include our Mayan Bistro (TripAdvisor top ranked casual restaurant / bar), free cooked-to-order breakfast, free wi/fi, free parking, beach club access, discounted gym passes and spa services. Our Guest Services manager is a tour and transportation expert and can answer all your questions about the area! Our Mayan Bistro offers breakfast, lunch, dinner & room service and THE VIP. THE VIP is our all inclusive option with fresh, made to order gourmet food and premium beer, wine and cocktails. THE VIP is only available through our website. Come have a wonderful vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aventura Mexicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Mexicana Hotel
Aventura Mexicana Playa Del Carmen
Aventura Mexicana Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing