We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Purrrrrrrrr-fect”
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aventura Mexicana
Ranked #27 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The staff here makes this hotel. After doing the mega resorts for many yrs in Playa decided to do a small quant hotel just of 5th. The hotel is total relaxation, everything, the food was the best, so yourself a favor and do the all IC, you cannot go wronge, the food is the best and we ate our way though playa, see my review on the resturant. George the bartender is a go go he is the coctail machine, nick and his beautiful daughter cannot do enough for you. Dara, that girl works with always a smile on her face. chris the general manager is hands on, making sure everything is good. maid service was surpurr, and missing my gatto's so much at home olivia the casa kitty keep me happy, give the girl love and she will return it just with her hello's every am, i miss her already. i highly recommend this hotel for as stated total relaxation, and if you are a foodie this is the place, just beautiful. thank you all

Room Tip: Do the honeymoon suite, big, hugh living area and kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gerileo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,854)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

874 - 880 of 1,854 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful Spring Break at Hotel Aventura Mexicana. The family rooms are a cozy and comfortable size and very clean. The kids loved swimming in the pool while we enjoyed drinks poolside. The staff was very helpful and gave smiles freely. The location can't be beat! Tucked away in a garden setting, 1/2 block from 5th Avenue. 5th Avenue was a great place to walk, shop, people watch, and eat. It felt very safe and we enjoyed a number of evening walks after dinner. We went with the VIP program and couldn't have been happier. The staff at The Mayan Bistro was second to none and the food was wonderful. We ate all but one meal there and didn't get through the entire menu. When we commented that it would be nice to have yogurt at breakfast, it was there the next morning for all the guests to enjoy. We also took advantage of the breakfast menu and were very happy with all our choices. If you have kids I suggest asking for half servings or sharing meals, the dishes are all very generous. Best of all the staff went out of their way to provide gluten and egg free dishes for my daughter. See my full review on the bistro's listing. We spent our days on the beach and really enjoyed sitting in front of the Mahekal Beach Resort, a pretty far walk and only $3-4 taxi ride. That section of the beach is quieter and very nice for families. The Indigo and Coco Maya Beach Clubs are okay and sitting under a umbrellas is nice. I see a return visit in our future.

Room Tip: We stayed in 201, corner room on the second floor, overlooking the pool. It was quiet and very priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AliciaGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

After reading a few mixed reviews I was worried. I have been to Playa dozens of times and always opted for the mega all inclusives and have stayed at almost all of them. NOT ANY MORE.

This place was cute, had beautiful grounds, a delicious restaurant, great prices and was very, very clean. It is located at the nexus of the universe in playa del carmen( meaning it is one block from the center of fith avenue) I was a female traveling alone and selected this place for the safety of being in town and not having to take cabs at night. I felt completely safe. At night, they lock the back entrance and a security guard and reception keep watch up front. All the rooms enter through a keyed glass door and I even felt very safe with this.

The staff was really friendly, it's small so you get to know other guests if u want and you are so close to everything its awesome. There are 2 beach clubs you can go to for free. The hotel will give you a towel and a pass each day. I went to the Indigo 2 days and loved it. good food and service and only about 4 or 5 blocks from the hotel. ( probably not the best choice if you want to swim in sea, but the staff has a reco. for that too.
The room was equiped with all the towels and gormet tolietries you could ever need, there was a fridge and safe. I was 2 blocks from a Big supermarket called Mega and about 4 from Walmart so I stocked up on cold drinks and enjoyed snacks and breakfast at the hotel. The guacamole rules and drinks were beautiful. I had an afternoon snack every day and I also got the best 4 $ breakfast money can buy. The food was really good. I had the rest of my meals out on the main street and that was another thing that made this location great, no cabs and safe even walking alone at midnight.
The staff was all very friendly and that was part of the charm. If you are looking for Sandals go somewhere else. If you are looking for a lovely, safe hotel with nice amenities in the best location in town and dont want to be pressured for tips 10 times a day AVENTURA MEXICANA is your place. I will be back as soon as I can

Room Tip: Take a shuttle from the airport if you dont rent a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trvlbug123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is the first time we've stayed off of a large resort and I have to say we were pleasantly surprised and delighted with the location!! We dove for 10 days with Mexico Blue Dream which was only a couple blocks walk from the hotel. There were lots of eating establishments right by the hotel and we frequented many of them, but I have to say the food right on site was the best. We did not utilize the all inclusive as we wanted to experience a variety.... but next time we will definitely be using the all inclusive as well. So worth it!!! All the staff were very friendly and the rooms were more than adequate (loved the large shower). We were located on ground floor right off of the courtyard for the restaurant. Wasn't too sure at first, but loved getting up in the morning grabbing a coffee/juice etc and freely going back and forth between the room and restaurant! Would highly recommend Hotel Aventura Mexicana to our friends/family!! Loved it overall!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DivingMsPen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Let me tell you about Aventura Mexicana. This is a long, thorough, detailed and honest review....Three times we have stayed at this hotel, and 3 times it was fantastic. First time here was with my now husband, on our first romantic getaway together, and it was his first holiday experience in Mexico. The second time was a brief mini-break for business and pleasure, and the third time there was for our wedding, in which they hosted our 100% personalized reception and dinner. This hotel has made us firm believers that the best holidays are not spent in the huge faceless resorts that will always lack that 'something special'.

LOCATION: The hotel is perfectly located, just slightly away from crowds and loud nightlife, but you walk out the lobby, and within 20 steps, you will arrive on Avenida Cinco - Playa Del Carmen's primary lifeblood - where you will find loads of shopping, amazing restaurants, and a very short walk to the beach. The reason why being away from the beach is better (in my opinion) is that the vast majority of beaches in Mexico are public, and therefore often lack intimacy. They can be crowded, with the almost constant thump of bass beats coming from the numerous beach clubs. And in the hottest part of the day, the last thing I want to do is have constant background noise of bad club music, people shouting, local vendors hocking their wares or inexpensive massages (again, not very private).... If you have kids, you are close to many areas that cater to family activities, and the lobby side pool is a great way to beat the mid-day heat! that brings me to the next great thing about Aventura....

THE HOTEL LAYOUT: The Hotel itself is composed of two separate buildings, with two separate courtyards, and two separate pools.... The part that is closest to the lobby is geared more towards families. The lobby opens straight onto this first courtyard and pool.... the landscaping is immaculate, colourful, spotlessly clean and inviting, with plenty of beautiful areas to lounge in the sun. The ground level rooms, and many of the upper level rooms open straight onto this space - its a great view to have in the morning! If you continue past the pool (with a stunning water feature covered in vines), past the loung chairs, and towards the back side, there is a little palapa roofed pavillion where they deliver amazing massage treatments (only 10$ more than the not-so-private beach massages).... The second part of the hotel is found through a small covered hallway and winding path through more tropical plants and large hibiscus hedge (almost always has flowers on it!). Through the hedge you will come into the larger courtyard and patio of the hotel's restaurant, The Mayan Bistro. They share this open space with another immaculate garden loaded with palm trees, bougainvillea vines, and the second pool... this side is more geared towards adults, with more quieter spaces, more lounging areas, and almost direct access to the bar. There are 3 floors on this side of the hotel, and no matter what room you are in, you have a view of something beautiful. Because of the cocoon-like footprint of the courtyards, the street noise is low, the privacy is better, and you feel farther away from home. I usually spend the hottest parts of the day lounging by the pool, reading a book, sipping an amazing mojito, and listening to the birds and the water features.... what part of that doesn't sound good?? An the best part about the 'public spaces' - you won't be crowded by 50 other people doing the same thing. You have plenty of peace and quiet here.

ROOMS AND FEATURES: The lobby side of the hotel has large comfortable rooms often with two beds for larger groups. The decor is attractive - has a local flavour with tropical wood and art, simple and tasteful, and most rooms have a balcony or patio space, and of course they all have A/C and celing fans. The restaurant side has more intimate rooms that are open concept, with A/C, and attractively decorated with more of a caribbean spanish colonial style. These rooms are accessed directly from the courtyard, or the balconies that run around the perimeter of the courtyard. One large sun deck is on the second level directly up the stairs from the restaurant, and another smaller one on the third level, all equipped with loungers, umbrellas, tables, and nice views of the property. All rooms have tile or polished concrete floors that are almost always cool to the touch, blackout curtains, and the bath/toiletry packages come with After-sun gel for those of us that catch too many rays. The beds are comfortable, and simply dressed for the tropical climate - extra blankets are always available. Book through their website directly, and you will be able to book an 'all inclusive' meal plan.... you get the same quality of food and drinks as the people who stop in at the restaurant for a nice dinner. Highly recommended.

THE STAFF: Always welcoming, always professional, and always making sure that you are enjoying yourself. Most of them remembered our names. The rooms are remarkably clean, as are all of the public facilities. The staff here clearly take pride in their work. The concierge is available during regular business hours, but is always willing to make appointments, and he is truly a wealth of information for people who are looking for the best local experiences. Rob, the manager, was often seen around the hotel, talking with guests, making recommendations as to what to do in the area, and ALWAYS open to hearing about the time you are having. He has always made us feel welcome and comfortable, and will clearly do what it takes to make sure everything is perfect. Ann, the wonderful lady who co-ordinated our special day on our 3rd visit to the hotel, did everything in her realm of power to make sure that things were smooth and precise, and she really went above and beyond our expectations - welcome baskets for our wedding guests, flowers, intimate details. She can also be seen around the hotel, and is sometimes instructing yoga in the far end of the lobby-side of the hotel. There hasn't ever been a problem for us here.

My husband and I will likely never stay anywhere else in Playa Del Carmen, provided that they maintain their level of service and quality. I can't picture myself ever staying at a giant resort compound filled with ho-hum features (that I can get at home) catering to people who don't know what culture is, after staying at this hotel. On the same token, I sort of hope that this place will remain its perfect secret little gem in the heart of Playa, under the blazing Mayan sun, never overrun by tourists who won't appreciate it for its clear and superior virtues.

I CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK!!!!!

Room Tip: The restaurant side is best if it is just adults travelling. We prefer room 1207 - easy access, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jorgejeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

a good clean hotel with mostly friendly staff. The food at the restaurant was not a good experience tho. stay there but eat elsewhere. The gardens and pool area were great and it was fairly quiet . Easy to find and the staff were pretty helpful. We just felt the food was not up to the standard for the price we had to pay.

Room Tip: the best rooms are on the ground level round the back near the pool beside the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were a party of four visiting Playa del Carmen for the first time. We preferred a small hotel rather than a large, all-inclusive hotel because we were there both for tourism and for an international archery tournament in which the son of one of the persons in our party was participating, and much of our time would be spent outside the hotel. I had done homework on TripAdvisor and discovered that Hotel Aventura Mexicana was rated quite high amongst its guests, so we booked there for nine nights. It was a good choice, with well-deserved recommendations by previous visitors. The location was excellent, just a 30-second walk from Avenue 5, the main tourist shopping and restaurant street in Playa del Carmen. Restaurant prices along this street were similar to those encountered in the U.S. The beach here is beautiful, and was about a 12-minute walk from the hotel. Large beach towels were provided free of charge by the hotel, and came in very handy. Rooms were clean and well kept, although the shower water pressure was quite weak. The courtyard was beautiful and reminiscent of what I imagined of a Mexican villa, with colorful flowers and tropical plants crowding the area around the small pool (there is also a separate shallow pool for young children). The staff at the front desk were very helpful in arranging a private tour for our party to the area’s Mayan sites and cenotés (underground pools in caves or collapsed caves). There were few downsides to our stay at Hotel Aventura Mexicana, but I could mention that the complimentary continental breakfasts were not terribly fulfilling, consisting of hard, dry toast, bakery sweet breads (like banana bread), yogurt with granola, some fruits that were often not up to U.S. supermarket standards, fruit juice, and coffee. However, for those who needed a more substantial start to their day, breakfast menus were available at the hotel restaurant, the Mayan Bistro. It should also be mentioned that although wi-fi was available and free, it was not strong enough to be usable in most of the rooms, so there was some inconvenience to make internet connection, which was best made outside in the courtyard from lounge chairs or tables near the Mayan Bistro. Car traffic at night on the street outside our windows made for some distraction, but we got used to it. Those are the reasons for a four-star rating, not five. Well, make it four and a half…highly recommended for those who are not into the all-inclusive hotel scene.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brady V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#18 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#9 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
866 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condomin...
#19 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
872 reviews
0.1 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#30 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
612 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riviera del Sol
Hotel Riviera del Sol
#29 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Mexicana

Address: 5th Avenue at 24th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $100 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aventura Mexicana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aventura Mexicana - Your oasis of silence & beauty in the heart of Playa Del Carmen We're an American owned, top ranked TripAdvisor hotel & restaurant located just 1/2 block from Playa's popular 5th Avenue and 2 blocks from the beach! We're a friendly boutique hotel with lush, tropical courtyards and waterfalls, 2 swimming pools and 3 sundecks. Guest rooms feature 1 King bed or (2) Queen beds, inroom wi/fi, air conditioning, flat screen TVs, phones, private bathrooms and most rooms have balconies or verandas. Our hotel amenities include our Mayan Bistro (TripAdvisor top ranked casual restaurant / bar), free cooked-to-order breakfast, free wi/fi, free parking, beach club access, discounted gym passes and spa services. Our Guest Services manager is a tour and transportation expert and can answer all your questions about the area! Our Mayan Bistro offers breakfast, lunch, dinner & room service and THE VIP. THE VIP is our all inclusive option with fresh, made to order gourmet food and premium beer, wine and cocktails. Come have a wonderful vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Aventura Mexicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Mexicana Hotel
Aventura Mexicana Playa Del Carmen
Aventura Mexicana Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing