We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aventura Mexicana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aventura Mexicana
Ranked #23 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible Service”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at the Adventura Mexicana for 12 nights in November 2012 and liked it so much we did a 5 night escape in January 2013. When we got there we found we had the wrong luggage. Antonio and Jose were amazing in helping us track down our suitcase. The room was clean and comfortable every day with a new cute little towel animal greating us on our return. The patio is calm and invites you to sit by the pool and enjoy a pleasent afternoon while Gabii makes sure your drink never runs dry. Worst part about the vacation was leaving these amazing people. Only minor complaint would be the door locks, they still issue metal keys!

Room Tip: Ground floor gives easy access, especially after sampling the local tequila.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    451
    81
    15
    9
See reviews for
355
855
86
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MA-USA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have been to this property quite a few times now. And yes, I have written positive reviews about the hotel and restaurant, Mayan Bistro.
I would have to say that the reason I continue to stay there and write positive reviews is simple. I just cant say enough about the property, staff, value and location.
My most recent visit was mid December 2012. I live in New England so I have hard many traditional Christmases. But, when I entered the lobby on this visit I could not believe the beautiful, real pine Christmas tree. The smell of pine filled the office and lobby. I actually felt at home at my Mexican home. Nice touch ! Thanks again,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Aventura for a week in November 2012. Our deluxe king was really a suite; living room with sofa, tables, TV, counter with fridge, microwave, water cooler, cupboards with dishes, bathroom, dressing area, and bedroom. No door on the bedroom, gracious archway leading in. Right around the corner from 5th avenue for shopping/nightlife. We arranged several tours through the hotel, and also used the passes to the beachfront clubs provided by the hotel. Spotlessly clean, comfortable, quiet. Everyone was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slengler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

From the minute you walk through the entrance, you notice the small things that make a big difference! Fresh paint, spotlessly clean, beautiful tropical landscape and friendly courteous staff make the stay at Hotel Aventura Mexicana a memorable occasion. The management, Rob and Chris, are on top of everything and nothing is to small for them to overlook. The staff from Luis at the front desk, to Nick, Dora, Gabby and George in the restaurant do everything they can to provide the best service in Playa. Whatever activities you like, they can be arrange with the top providers in Playa. The rooms have very comfortable King size beds available, flat panel TV's with cable and the best air conditioning in Playa. Towels are also provided for the pool and beach. I would recommend Hotel Aventura Mexicana to all my friends and anyone that whats a nice stay in Playa Del Carmen!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 13 night stay at Aventura Mexicana and definitely could have stayed for another while! The hotel is very small, which we found to be perfect over the massive all inclusive craziness we have stayed at before. Definitely think I will pass on the bigger resorts after staying here. We reserved a honeymoon suite which was perfect for the 2 of us, spacious and clean and although we thought the open concept washroom may be strange, it was no big deal at all. We did not purchase the all inclusive meal plan, however our friends who were also visiting the hotel did and all of the food looked amazing. We did eat some meals at the hotel, mainly breakfast which was always good, and then some lunchtime snacks.

Staff was always helpful and friendly, we found Gabby and Nicolas to be very genuine...always with smiling faces and always and seem to really love their jobs :O) Both had a great sense of humour, our group really loved these 2.

We were visiting during the bpm festival and we did not find this hotel to be loud at all with the exception of 2 nights where there was a party at another nearby hotel. Last year we stayed at Gran Porto Real and it was soooooo loud all the time (don't stay there they stole my credit card info) So we really didn't feel like noise was an issue, in fact, during the day we actually thought the music could have been louder at the pool :oS

All in all, this hotel was the best we have stayed at in our 5 trips to Playa. We would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_A_Ellis611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Just wanted to do another update on this wonderful hotel. I read some previous reviews about the poor continental breakfast. Our experience was the exact opposite. It was a very nice breakfast. They provided several different types of breads and muffins for us as well as toast, coffee, juice, yogurt, fruit and granola. There was plenty to eat and you also have the option of ordering a full course breakfast if you wished.
I also wanted to comment on my room make up. Each day the cleaning staff provided some wonderful "towel art" on our bed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I am reluctant to give this hotel a positive review for fear that it will become too popular and its availability will become hard to obtain. It is one of Playa's best kept secrets.
My wife and I checked in here yesterday about three hours early. Our room was not yet prepared but that was not a problem. We registered, went out for a bite to eat and when we return, all of our heavy bags had been delivered to our room. While taking I walk through this hotel, we ran into Rob, the general manager of the hotel. He was extremely accommodating and personally gave us a full tour of his complex. It is an extremely lovely little hotel, half a block off of Fifth Avenue. Rob personally invited us to come watch the NFL playoffs tomorrow in the lounge with him and his other hotel guests. What a wonderful welcoming we received from the management of this hotel.
We had reserved a superior king room and we're not disappointed at all. The room is lovely and very clean. The grounds of this hotel are stunning. This is a very nice hotel. Later we wanted suggestions on where to shop and where to eat and the front desk staff was extremely accommodating once again.
We are off for breakfast now and will continue this review later as we are here for three days.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#15 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,170 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,299 reviews
0.0 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#16 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#21 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Mexicana

Property: Aventura Mexicana
Address: 5th Avenue at 24th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aventura Mexicana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aventura Mexicana - Your oasis of silence & beauty in the heart of Playa Del Carmen We're an American owned, top ranked TripAdvisor hotel & restaurant located just 1/2 block from Playa's popular 5th Avenue and 2 blocks from the beach! We're a friendly boutique hotel with lush, tropical courtyards and waterfalls, 2 swimming pools and 3 sundecks. Guest rooms feature 1 King bed or (2) Queen beds, inroom wi/fi, air conditioning, flat screen TVs, phones, private bathrooms and most rooms have balconies or verandas. Our hotel amenities include our Mayan Bistro (TripAdvisor top ranked casual restaurant / bar), free cooked-to-order breakfast, free wi/fi, free parking, beach club access, discounted gym passes and spa services. Our Guest Services manager is a tour and transportation expert and can answer all your questions about the area! Our Mayan Bistro offers breakfast, lunch, dinner & room service and THE VIP. THE VIP is our all inclusive option with fresh, made to order gourmet food and premium beer, wine and cocktails. THE VIP is only available through our website. Come have a wonderful vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aventura Mexicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Mexicana Hotel
Aventura Mexicana Playa Del Carmen
Aventura Mexicana Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing