We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly, quiet and nice hotel!”
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aventura Mexicana
Ranked #24 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very friendly, quiet and nice hotel!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is such a nice hotel! The staff is super friendly helping out with tours, booking restaurants and giving valuable tips on what to see and do. The restaurant is really good and the people working there were exceptional. I want to especially thank Gaby:) We had some of the best food in playa at this restaurant. The hotel is also quiet which made it a perfect place to come back to after a night out. I would highly recommend this hotel if you plan on going to playa!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,153
    457
    82
    15
    9
See reviews for
364
871
87
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our first stop on our Honeymoon was Hotel Aventura Mexicana. We stayed 4 nights. The rooms are lovely and surround a courtyard with a swimming pool, with really lovely plants, it's a great setting. The breakfast was served in the restuarant by the pool and was really good and big. Good coffee served here. The rooms were spacious and clean, the bathroom is well equipped and the only thing some people might not like is that the bathroom is not in a seperate room but rather behind wall, it's really nicely designed but some couples may not like being quite so initmately acquainted! We got over it pretty quickly and it was fine. The hotel offers a beach towel service, so you get a fresh towel everyday to take to the beach. The location is perfect, everything is easily accessible. This is a really great hotel and we would highly recommend it, Playa is very touristy but this hotel is a haven.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilySherriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsmearing, General Manager at Aventura Mexicana, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hola FamilySherriff,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your great experience with us and future travelers. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at our hotel and hope to see you again soon!

Just a comment for future travelers....If you prefer to have a room with an enclosed bathroom or if you have any other preferences please contact us at reservations@aventuramexiana and we will be happy to assist. As a boutique hotel with 49 rooms we have lots of options that allows us to cater to most requests.

Happy and safe travels to all!

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is very nice and clean with very helpful and service oriented staff. The restaurant Mayan bistro is à small and nice restaurant connected to the hotel. The hotel is a good choice if you want to make excursions and do activities . Close to beach and shopping but a rather small family pool. Next to the hotel is a club that played very loud music during two out of eight nights during our stay. Bring earplugs:-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Etel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Hotel Aventura Mexicana is an absolute oasis of peace and calm just steps from the hectic atmosphere of Fifth Avenue. Really great location, spacious rooms with excellent air-con, quiet and secluded with a lovely pool area surrounded by tropical palms. The Mayan Bistro restaurant was fantastic; offering a great selection of authentic Mexican meals and with delightful staff who became more like friends after just a few days. Being a smaller resort, we really enjoyed the personal touches. Reception/concierge were always extremely helpful and recommended some great tours including Chichen Itza but also suggested ways of getting around on our own eg the bus down to Tulum and various cenotes. The airport pickup that the hotel organised was also super-efficient and easy. They also offer a wonderful massage service in the garden area - very peaceful! My husband and I would highly recommend this boutique resort as it made our stay in Playa del Carmen so much more enjoyable. We were also pleased that we had decided to stay in Playa instead of Cancun as it was much more relaxed and a little more authentically Mexican :-)

Room Tip: By staying on the 3rd level, we got a really beautiful view of the garden, restaurant and pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JES19702012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Followers of MonkeyboyNZ, read on as this hotel is first stop in a month long adventure through Central America starting in the Yucatan. Aventura is well located close to the beach and main shopping street. It is very safe and front desk staff are available at all hours to assist. Nice touch like letting us have a shower at 7pm on the day we checked out (back from a tour and off to the overnight bus to Belize) were much appreciated.

Louis at the front desk is very knowledgeable. They use a great tour company (Easy Tours I think ) and we took up 2 separate tours for Chichen Itsa + Cenote and then Tulum/Coba.

Rooms very good, nice shower but could invest in some decent pillows (not uncommon problem in Central America). Food at restaurant (lunch and dinner) was good standard ( fish tacos, chicken mole and quesadillas all yummy) and plenty of restaurants near by....nice Italian next door. Breakfast is basic but at this very reasonable room price you shouldn't complain.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeyboynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was our second trip to the Aventura Mexicana and it only got better. We love coming here because it is a small boutique hotel and very secluded but yet only a block away from the all the excitement on 5th street. We brought our daughter who is just under 2 years old and we were not in the room we expected when we arrived. They made sure to get us into another room promptly without any arguing. We always add on the VIP package because the meals are 5 star! Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner are authentic Mexican style food with various American style meals scattered in there. The Wait staff is amazing! Nick, Dora, Gabriela and Mosquito make sure that you are looked after and having a good time. The atmosphere is not like a big resort and you will get to know the staff very well. The Beach is only a 10 min walk away and the beach clubs they give you passes to are awesome! We were very sad to leave but We will be back sometime soon!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over top of the Adults pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Don't expect a big resort when you stay here. The place is on the small side and quiet though very well located only steps away from the big excitement of Playa del Carmen.

The rooms are comfy without being too modern, bright and clean. The big surprise was the collection of organic products we had every day in the bathroom - bottles of shampoo, soap, conditioner, body lotion - and even an organic after-sun lotion - a very nice touch after a day at the beach!

Their restaurant, the Mayan bistro, was good and with efficient service. Front desk agent, Luis, was very helpful and keen to book us on various tours.
The continental breakfast was enough for us - once again, do not expect the big buffets that traditional resorts offer with various stations - here, it is toasts and butter, coffee, cake and fruits.

Swimming pool was beautiful as well as sun decks. All very well maintained and at a really good price. Would definitely stay there again on my next trip to Playa!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank val94102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#17 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#26 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Mexicana

Property: Aventura Mexicana
Address: 5th Avenue at 24th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aventura Mexicana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aventura Mexicana - Your oasis of silence & beauty in the heart of Playa Del Carmen We're an American owned, top ranked TripAdvisor hotel & restaurant located just 1/2 block from Playa's popular 5th Avenue and 2 blocks from the beach! We're a friendly boutique hotel with lush, tropical courtyards and waterfalls, 2 swimming pools and 3 sundecks. Guest rooms feature 1 King bed or (2) Queen beds, inroom wi/fi, air conditioning, flat screen TVs, phones, private bathrooms and most rooms have balconies or verandas. Our hotel amenities include our Mayan Bistro (TripAdvisor top ranked casual restaurant / bar), free cooked-to-order breakfast, free wi/fi, free parking, beach club access, discounted gym passes and spa services. Our Guest Services manager is a tour and transportation expert and can answer all your questions about the area! Our Mayan Bistro offers breakfast, lunch, dinner & room service and THE VIP. THE VIP is our all inclusive option with fresh, made to order gourmet food and premium beer, wine and cocktails. THE VIP is only available through our website. Come have a wonderful vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Aventura Mexicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Mexicana Hotel
Aventura Mexicana Playa Del Carmen
Aventura Mexicana Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing