We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT !!!”
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aventura Mexicana
Ranked #25 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We wanted something affordable yet clean, comfortable and friendly. Aventura Mexicana is exactly what we were looking for. Air conditioning, clean room, safe box, great staff especially the Mayan Bistro (thank you guys and thank you Nicolas), short distance from the 5ave and the beach, not too close though so less noisy at night. HIGHLY RECOMMEND !!! We found this hotel via Trip Advisor and we want to share our experience with others. You won´t be disappointed. A+++++

Room Tip: if possible, get a room upstairs.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Langfoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,807)
There are newer reviews for Aventura Mexicana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

926 - 932 of 1,807 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

While this hotel is not on the beach, it's a short walk to the beach and even shorter to the nightlife and restaurants on Play Del Carmen's fifth avenue. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which had a bit of a surprise, the wall surrounding the bathroom did not go from the floor to the ceiling. Nonetheless, the hotel was clean and its staff members were kind and attentive.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peanutgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel was centrally located, clean and the staff was awesome.
Stayed here (4 nights) because it was included in our Living Social Adventure package. Great location! Not on the beach but a short distance away and very close to 5th street (bars, shopping, restaurants). First time in Playa del Carmen, was very impressed with the town and the hotel.
Hotel Adventura Mexicana is a small boutique hotel, so don’t expect resort accommodations, however, do expect great service. The adjoining restaurant, Mayan Grill was very nice as well (food was all pretty good, but avoid the chicken). The restaurant staff was great, not sure if they were especially accommodating to Living Social guests or if they are always that friendly.
Fun little caveat- our maid was very creative with the towel-origami arrangements, it was fun to come back to our room to see what she did that day:) I think tipping helped

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elsaml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed via living social deal....nice small hotel off the craziness of 5th but very close to beach. Staff were very nice. Rooms minimal but had necessities even aloe for sunburns :) Wifi wasn't too great if far from adult pool n restaurant area. maid service was awesome. Well kept property. Good deal living social!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank flamingo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hotel is really nice, don't hesitate to book it. The staff is really friendly, and they have a great concierge that will help you plan your tours and book them really efficiently, without trying to sell you overpriced or unnecessary stuff, they really want to satisfy their guests. The rooms are really clean and spacious, and the pool area is nice to hang out.
CONS: We found two major cons: first is the continental breakfast. they basically give you some toasted bread, butter ad marmalade. You may also have coffee and juices, that are not more than fine. If you want anything else, such as vegetables, fruit, eggs, bacon, sausage, etc., you have to pay. Though it's not too expensive, it's mostly annoying. It feels like the only reason they even offer this breakfast is to tempt you to buy the (real) breakfasts they offer. Moreover, the second negative thing about this place is that you can't bring your own food and beverages to the pool area. Meaning, you have to buy them at the Mayan Bistro restaurant for higher prices than you would find outside (at Walmart for example).
Overall, this is a nice hotel, really close to the beach and they have agreements with some nice beach clubs (GO TO INDIGO! It's the nicest one), rooms are very clean and neat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Ok, so if you don't mind not having an ocean front room, but like being near the night life,restaaurants and shopping this is a really fun place. Several beaches are still a short walk away and they will give you free passes to hang out at a couple wonderful ones. A really fun local restauarant is attached to the hotel which offers all meals and drinks, and a very reasonable all inclusive deal is available but you are also in a great place to enjoy all Playa Del Carmen has to offer.
The helpful staff will also arrange wonderful tours or transportaton for you, to Tulum, Xcaret, Xelha, Akumal (awesome beach with great snorkeling-lots of sea turtlrs) and various Zip line and cenote swimming tours. I really enjoyed Altournative tours, which took us to a Myan owned ranch with a re aljungle atmosphere, we swam in beautiful cenotes, rapeled into a cenote and zip lined. They guides were very fluent in English and fun.

Room Tip: Very reasonable professional massages on site and a new cool bar/lounge hangout is opening very soon...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacalyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The only thing that sucked was that our door to our room was a slider.. but it had curtains. We enjoyed the "central location" . It was a great place to stay. A short walk to the beach and we were able to set up shop at a bar with umbreallas and buckets of coronas beachside. It was such a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaseyG825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,507 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#15 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#17 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#16 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
863 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Mexicana

Address: 5th Avenue at 24th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $101 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aventura Mexicana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aventura Mexicana - Your oasis of silence & beauty in the heart of Playa Del Carmen We're an American owned, top ranked TripAdvisor hotel & restaurant located just 1/2 block from Playa's popular 5th Avenue and 2 blocks from the beach! We're a friendly boutique hotel with lush, tropical courtyards and waterfalls, 2 swimming pools and 3 sundecks. Guest rooms feature 1 King bed or (2) Queen beds, inroom wi/fi, air conditioning, flat screen TVs, phones, private bathrooms and most rooms have balconies or verandas. Our hotel amenities include our Mayan Bistro (TripAdvisor top ranked casual restaurant / bar), free cooked-to-order breakfast, free wi/fi, free parking, beach club access, discounted gym passes and spa services. Our Guest Services manager is a tour and transportation expert and can answer all your questions about the area! Our Mayan Bistro offers breakfast, lunch, dinner & room service and THE VIP. THE VIP is our all inclusive option with fresh, made to order gourmet food and premium beer, wine and cocktails. Come have a wonderful vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Aventura Mexicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Mexicana Hotel
Aventura Mexicana Playa Del Carmen
Aventura Mexicana Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing