We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, Beautiful, Quiet, Friendly.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aventura Mexicana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aventura Mexicana
Ranked #23 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small, Beautiful, Quiet, Friendly.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I went to this hotel as part of a Living Social package, and I brought along a friend of mine. When we learned the hotel wasn't your typical "Resort," he became very skeptical of the "deal" I'd found. Boy did Hotel Aventura change his mind! Don't get me wrong. You're not in for some insanely fancy 5-star resort, but who needs that, anyway? The hotel is situated a few streets from the beach, but has connections with beach-front hotels to offer lounge areas. An extremely friendly staff, many supported tours, nice rooms, and a beautifully decorated hotel grounds make this place a gem. Also, the hotel sits one street off of the main tourist street. Food, drinks, stores, and tour guides are all right there. Great time! Definitely would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Pretty sure that all the rooms are great. I was on the second floor facing the inner common grounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blakely F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    444
    81
    15
    9
See reviews for
346
845
85
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed here with my wife for a Living Social vacation and overall we enjoyed the hotel. It's in a great location, minutes from shopping and the beach, the restaurant is top-notch and the staff were friendly and professional. The hotel has a quirky, meandering layout with tons of personality. I wish the pool had been a little more conducive to swimming and the rooms could use more privacy (our curtains barely closed) but I would recommend this as a place to stay to any friend who is visiting Playa.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel is a little hidden jewel! I purchased a living social playa del Carmen deal and I was pleasantly surprised. The staff is amazing and is so accommodating. Antonio went above and beyond the call to help me have a wonderful experience. If you get a chance get a massage or reflexology from Lupita. She is amazing! I am looking forward to a future stay. Can't wait!
Oh did I mention that it is walking distance from the beach and the main strip. Great times!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devinna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in August. The hotel is located right next to 5th avenue but is much more quiet than the other places on 5th seemed to be. The staff were very helpful with everything and we had an amazing stay. The facilities were clean and the grounds were very nice. The hotel is not located on a beach but is very close and we never felt like we wanted to be closer. I would definitely suggest staying here to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcamp21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I had a blast on my trip with Living Social and the hotel was nice and everyone was very accomodating. I would definitely reccommend to others. It was in a convenient location and easy access to the beach. It is a small hotel which wasn't a bad thing because it was easy to get used to everything. The rooms were nice enough, takes some getting used to considering there were no doors, but it wasn't a problem. The staff were nice enough and let me charge my camera on their computer in the office. When we first got there the air conditioner wasn't working but they fixed it within 20 minutes so no big deal. Overall I enjoyed myself and would definitely go back

Room Tip: If possible try to get a room on the first floor, walking up the stairs is a work out!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My sister and I stayed for 7 days. The staff were friendly, extremely courteous and willing to help in every way they could. The price is quite affordable for the location it's in. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly! The hotel is off the main road so the noise level is at a minimum. We took the bus from the airport to the bus depot in Playa and walked to the hotel. There are cabs in the bus depot area if you don't feel like walking and it's about a 5 minute cab ride. Unfortunately our room was near the AC unit outside, so we could hear it quite loudly through the wall. Therefore my sleep was not as perfect as I would have liked. A negative I had with the hotel was Wi-Fi was not available in the rooms, so you either had to go out to the lobby or sitting area, or the hotel restaurant. The food at the Mayan Cage was delicious, I encourage one to try it if they do not feel like going out. On my next trip back to Mexico, I plan on staying at Aventura.

Room Tip: Take the ADO bus from the Cancun airport for $11, to Playa, when you get there the hotel is a 15 min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrekkergj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I was there just for 2 days and I booked a VIP all inclusive but from the first time at the check-in the person who was there, she was to cold and even she dont say any " Welcome " then I was asking for the VIP service and she refuse to give to me becuse of my booking , so I dont say any word but after when I come back to the hotel a other person there confirm that she did a mistake but she never say : Sorry for that even I paid a lot money.
Also my room was to bad, and also what is the all inlclusive VIP service for these money I paid ? I can be in the Palace Riu Riviera Maya all inclusive for less of these money. But anyway, comebak to the " ALL INCLUSIVE VIP ", so, The food is so good, the people in the restaurant is so good and nice but after 11pm not more drinks ( that is all inclusive ? ), Also if you are in the pool you never get a drink till you ask , sorry for that but that is not all inclusive hotel even they ask you for a lot money....!

Also if you dont book a VIP all inclusive , they ofert at the reception for 69USD ( that is a lot even you drink inthe 5th ave in Playa del Carmen ).

Sorry for that but, but service at the recpetion that the lady there feel the owner and even she dont say any welcome word, rooms to bad, etc I will never back and I will never recoment these hotel. If you want a good all inclusive hotel VIP go to the Palace Riviera Maya Riu, that is a good place for less money.

Room are to bad, clean is so good, serviceis the restaurant is so good, also the chef is so nice person and profesional but never go to the reception.

I hope that in the future they will changed and people in the reception will be more friendly, nice, gentile, kind, helpful, pleasant and more attention even you are the manager of these place becuse the other people working there are so more profesional that the managers people.

Room Tip: The best is you want to be there, go in the adults area also try to ge close by the restaurant and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mex2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsmearing, General Manager at Aventura Mexicana, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear mex2012,

I am sorry to hear of your check-in experience with us. I have spoken with my team regarding your comments and after speaking with you further it appears that we could have handled this situation in a better manner. Typically we require a minimum of a 3 night stay to add the VIP All Inclusive which is why the clerk checking you in assumed it was not part of your reservation. When the reservation manager reviewed the details he was able to confirm that you had indeed added it. We should have been more sympathetic and apologetic once we found this error and I apologize that we left you not feeling so welcomed to our hotel.

I am not familiar with the details of other hotel All Inclusive pricing but I am very confident that for our cooked to order gourmet food and premium beverages $37 USD plus tax per person per day is a great value. Our Mayan Bistro has received the 2012 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence and as you stated our “food is so good” and our service is “so good.” I am however sorry that you were disappointed in the fact that we do not run a 24 hour restaurant. Our restaurant kitchen is open from 7am – 10pm and our bar is open from 11am – 11pm.

All in all I am a little confused by some of the comments and not sure I understand all of them but I hope that future travelers reading this review take into consideration the hundreds of positive reviews that have been posted regarding our service and value.

Sincerely,

Rob

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#13 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#16 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Mexicana

Property: Aventura Mexicana
Address: 5th Avenue at 24th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#18 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aventura Mexicana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aventura Mexicana - Your oasis of silence & beauty in the heart of Playa Del Carmen We're an American owned, top ranked TripAdvisor hotel & restaurant located just 1/2 block from Playa's popular 5th Avenue and 2 blocks from the beach! We're a friendly boutique hotel with lush, tropical courtyards and waterfalls, 2 swimming pools and 3 sundecks. Guest rooms feature 1 King bed or (2) Queen beds, inroom wi/fi, air conditioning, flat screen TVs, phones, private bathrooms and most rooms have balconies or verandas. Our hotel amenities include our Mayan Bistro (TripAdvisor top ranked casual restaurant / bar), free cooked-to-order breakfast, free wi/fi, free parking, beach club access, discounted gym passes and spa services. Our Guest Services manager is a tour and transportation expert and can answer all your questions about the area! Our Mayan Bistro offers breakfast, lunch, dinner & room service and THE VIP. THE VIP is our all inclusive option with fresh, made to order gourmet food and premium beer, wine and cocktails. THE VIP is only available through our website. Come have a wonderful vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Aventura Mexicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Mexicana Hotel
Aventura Mexicana Playa Del Carmen
Aventura Mexicana Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing