We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of all of their specialties”
Review of El Caminito - CLOSED

El Caminito
Price range: $4 - $26
Cuisines: Argentinean, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Out of all of their specialties”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

After reading the great reviews for El Caminito, we visited the restaurant, eager to try the arrachera and the hamburger. Unfortunately, when we ordered, they were out of both. We ordered other things, and they were ok, but we were disappointed that they did not have their specialties...I guess many people have been reading the tripadvisor reviews. We then ordered the dulce de leche crepas...unfortunately they were also out of those. All in all, disappointing.

If you are going to go to this restaurant, please go for lunch or late afternoon to ensure they do not run out of everything.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephanieahensley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    18
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great small restaurant! We asked for the "GRILL", and came 2 empanadas, 1 big chorizo beef, 1 chicken breast, french fries, salad, 1 spanish sausage, it´s a lot of food for people who doesn´t eat too much, but it was enough for me, my husband and my teenager son. The owners are Argentinian and very fryendly. I REALLY RECOMEND it!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Viviane Furlan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Small and cosy with excellent food”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We tried to fajitas and tacos arrancheros and they were really good, better than most that are served on the 5th avenue. Cheap prices and nicely a little off from the beaten path so there wasn't a massive crowd.

Took a little effort to find as it was really small and next to some other restaurants but worth the effort.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LauriAa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
“Very good food”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Great Argentinan food . I really recommend this place. go and enjoy ! The place is really cheap !...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brandon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Sault, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great arachera and empenadas”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We love this small place with few tables, the empanadas and the arachera steak was the best we had in all Mexico, and we have been a few places, I can tell you. Also the chimichuri sauce, specially if not freshly made (they make a big batch and let it sit in the fridge for a while) is fantastic. Friendly serviced by a young Argintina girl, it was perfect.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alain_Lorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Caminito also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing