We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great food, great service, great atmosphere ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xulam The Mayan Fisher - CLOSED

Xulam The Mayan Fisher
Price range: $10 - $18
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Taxi
Description: Xulam is a unique restaurant concept where you can taste the ancestral Mayan flavors of Mexico with specialties in regional cuisine, including exquisite dishes from the rest of Mexico, with an ambience of colors and sounds from the jungle. Coming to Xulam will be great atmosphere, architecture and gastronomy awesome food will make your dining experience an unforgettable trip through Mayan History. Xulam es un concepto unico en restaurantes en el que podras degustar los sabores ancestrales de Mexico con especialidades en comida regional, sin dejar fuera exquisitos platillos del resto de nuestro pais, en un ambiente donde los colores y sonidos de la jungla se hacen presentes. Venir a Xulam es toda una experiencia donde la Arquitectura, Fauna y Gastronomia se combinan para hacer de tu estancia un viaje inolvidable al pasado de nuestros Mayas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great atmosphere ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

By far the best meal we had in PDC. Started with a complimentary shot glass sized taste of shrimp soup. Unique and tasty! For my entrée, I had the bacon wrapped, cheese stuffed shrimp. They were not only beautifully plated, but tasted amazing as well. The only thing that would have made them better would have been a slice of jalapeño wrapped inside as well.

Would definitely go back, and recommend this place to couples and families alike.

Helpful?
Thank gckewells
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    59
    16
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good, but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had a small meal here and found it to be a bit pricey for what you get. Three fish tacos cost about $180 Mexican pesos - and they weren't very big. They were good, but not US$15 good. The restaurant itself is very heavily decorated - to the point that it reminded me of a themed restaurant in Disney World or a Rainforest Cafe. The service was very good and everyone was pleasant, but we would probably not return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SunLvrs_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
“Mayan Food Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently visited Playa del Carmen. We stayed at an all-inclusive, but had ventured off the property a few times for dinner as the food at the hotel was less than stellar. We kept asking locals for recommendations, saying that we really wanted to find a place with AUTHENTIC Mexican or Mayan food. While some of the places we were directed to were good, they just weren't authentic. When I go to Mexico, I don't want food that is "dumbed" down for tourists, I want the specialties of the country...the heart and soul of it's food.
On our last night, we gave one more attempt at finding just that. We spoke to our cab driver, describing what we wanted, and he said that he had the perfect place: Xulam.
We sat on the patio, which was formed in stone with warm and romantic lighting. We were greeted right away, and the service continued to be impeccable throughout the entire night. It was prompt and steady without being intrusive. We began dinner with the Mayan lime soup....wow! It was so simple, but so deep in flavor. You could tell the broth had been slowly developed, and it was cleansing, rich and refreshing all at once. For dinner, I ordered a rendition of bacon-wrapped prawns. The prawns were huge, the bacon perfectly crisp, with the prawns perfectly tender. My boyfriend ordered the molcajete, filled with Mayan-spiced meats and vegetables. I think he may have entered a realm of serendipity that I've not ever witnessed. It was a generous portion and the flavors were outstanding. The drinks were good, atmosphere beautiful, fantastic service, and food that made me want to fly back just to try again. Go, go, go!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JC55Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great local food and service to match.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I have passed this restaurant many times during our stays at the Playacar Palace a block away but never ate here until our trip in May 2013 and are we ever happy we finally stopped.
First of all, the service was great from our server Willy. He spoke great English and seemed really happy we stopped by and worked hard to make our experience a memorable one. He explained everything on the menu and made suggestion for my wife who can’t handle spicy food.
The décor here is awesome as you feel like you are in the middle of a jungle. We sat on the outdoor patio which was surrounded by trees with 5 or 6 parrots watching us eat. Indoors was equally amazing with Mayan paintings and artifacts throughout. Very clean as well.
The highlight however was the food. Starting with lobster tacos that were amazing and followed by bacon wrapped shrimp for my wife and the Cochinita Pibil for me. I love a good Cochinita and this is some of the best I have ever had so hats off to the chef here. We finished off the meal with the white chocolate pyramid filled with dark chocolate mousse which was quite delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mexfan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Better than I expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I live here in PDV, but we've been wanting to try this place b/c we live nearby. I wasn't sure how "touristy" it was going to be (with generic food that is massed produced to come out quickly) - But it wasn't like that at all. First, the customer service was great! Above and Beyond. The scenery is amazing, right outside a waterfall and cenote, and live parrots everywhere. Whoever owns this place poured a lot of money into it. It's very nice inside and out, even the bathrooms are nice! The food is really unique, they have traditional Mayan cuisine on their menu like bugs! But since I'm a vegetarian, I ordered the veggie skewers and black bean soup, it was great! I'd recommend this place to anyone wanting a unique experience, and is willing to pay a little extra.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mistinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xulam The Mayan Fisher also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing