We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very unique restaurant!”
Review of Xulam The Mayan Fisher - CLOSED

Xulam The Mayan Fisher
Price range: $10 - $18
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Taxi
Description: Xulam is a unique restaurant concept where you can taste the ancestral Mayan flavors of Mexico with specialties in regional cuisine, including exquisite dishes from the rest of Mexico, with an ambience of colors and sounds from the jungle. Coming to Xulam will be great atmosphere, architecture and gastronomy awesome food will make your dining experience an unforgettable trip through Mayan History. Xulam es un concepto unico en restaurantes en el que podras degustar los sabores ancestrales de Mexico con especialidades en comida regional, sin dejar fuera exquisitos platillos del resto de nuestro pais, en un ambiente donde los colores y sonidos de la jungla se hacen presentes. Venir a Xulam es toda una experiencia donde la Arquitectura, Fauna y Gastronomia se combinan para hacer de tu estancia un viaje inolvidable al pasado de nuestros Mayas
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A very unique restaurant!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Wonderful experience. We returned several times. The staff is very attentive and it is a very unique setting. The parrots love posing for pictures. We even fed one right from our table! Interesting Mayan menu. The Chichen arrows were wonderful and my husband enjoyed his fish. They have some interesting desserts also. Sitting outside you can see the cennote and the waterfall. Will return again on our next visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harriett7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    59
    16
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great price, attentive staff and interesting menu”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We visited Playa del Carmen with three other couples during the April 2013 school break. We got tired of the 5th Avenue scene pretty quickly and eventually stumbled on Xulam, just at the entrance to the Playacar I resort development. (Avenue 10 #1. Plaza Antigua. Phone: 52 (984) 8033567)

Xulam specializes in Mayan food. The waiter was great, taking time to answer the many questions from eight hungry people. People ordered fish, beef and chicken and it was all great. Portions were modest, but very tasty. (There was also a platter of appetizers that I, being a food coward, did not try, but my seven companions loved them.)

A quick word on the ambiance: it was quiet. We had been to a restaurant on 5th Avenue the night before (Mi Pueblo) and had to shout to hear each other. (Yes, all eight of us are in our 60's and at least two of us are getting hard of hearing.) The food at Mi Pueblo was okay, but not stellar, but even if it had been great the noise level would have made for an uncomfortable experience. Xulam was quiet and delightful. We sat outside on a wide deck area under a tree (and a parrot, but that is another story). It was an evening of great conversation and a very relaxed dining experience. The restaurant staff did not rush us and it was a delightful night.

Lastly, the price for the eight of us was ridiculously small, including appetizers, dinner and drinks.

If you want a less touristy experience, treat yourself to a night at Xulam's.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peacecorpparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Setting”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a fun restaurant with parrots, a waterfall going into a cenote, a tree growing through the ceiling and very creative faucets in the bathroom. The Mayan food was tasty and the staff very friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmuchmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Du Quoin, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Was surprised but overall it was good.”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Wanted to find a mexican restaurant and this kept coming up. It's actually Mayan, hence the name, but the service was good and food was different so no complaints but doubt I'll go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent tasty food - great value ...”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Went there during our recent trip ... at the very beginning of Quinta Avenida ... excellent food, Chevices, jumbo prawns and mixed tacos amongst other great dishes ... very attentive staff and superb decor !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank chrisfen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xulam The Mayan Fisher also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing