We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Omigod. Flawless foodie experience.”
Review of Xulam The Mayan Fisher - CLOSED

Xulam The Mayan Fisher
Price range: $10 - $18
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Taxi
Description: Xulam is a unique restaurant concept where you can taste the ancestral Mayan flavors of Mexico with specialties in regional cuisine, including exquisite dishes from the rest of Mexico, with an ambience of colors and sounds from the jungle. Coming to Xulam will be great atmosphere, architecture and gastronomy awesome food will make your dining experience an unforgettable trip through Mayan History. Xulam es un concepto unico en restaurantes en el que podras degustar los sabores ancestrales de Mexico con especialidades en comida regional, sin dejar fuera exquisitos platillos del resto de nuestro pais, en un ambiente donde los colores y sonidos de la jungla se hacen presentes. Venir a Xulam es toda una experiencia donde la Arquitectura, Fauna y Gastronomia se combinan para hacer de tu estancia un viaje inolvidable al pasado de nuestros Mayas
Fairfax, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Omigod. Flawless foodie experience.”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The food was INCREDIBLE in taste, presentation (every dish looked like a work of art), flavors. Ahhhhh. The waiter, Miguel, was unbelieveable, and had the perfect timing of a pro - not too much - and never ignored us. When I asked where the Ah Cacao Chocolate Cafe was, he said he worked there, also, and had one of their signature desserts on the menu - a white chocolate Mayan temple filled with dark chocolate mouse. Like I told my husband, if I died right then I would have died a happy woman. If you eat no other place while in Playa del Carmen, eat here. Unforgettable.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    59
    16
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boothwyn, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Watch the birdie”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great food and atmosphere. The birds are a great attraction. Abraham was a great waiter. Margaritas are the best

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mgman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food & service amazing”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Don't get turned off by the crispy critters on the menu. I suspect they would be good after tasting many other delectable items.
We went to the restaurant as a direct result of using Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. The wait staff was amazing at offering super explanations of the wine list and the menu.
There were four of us and we each ordered something different. We shared an appetizer , the ceviche. It came made 4 ways. We enjoyed them all. We had home made tortillas we watched being made and were amazed at how everything was just as delicious as the next. We sat outside and were entertained by all the exotic birds that call Xulam home.
Our waiters were incredible at being there before the thought formed that we needed them, however not hovering and annoying us as the same time.
We had a shared dessert that really is a must. It was a white and dark chocolate Mayan pyramid. It was a work of art and we almost didn't want to eat it. Mouth watering.
I would suggest this as being a don't miss on your dining card. I look forward to returning and enjoying another amazing meal the next time I am in that area of the world.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Maya Experience”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

After an afternoon of being harassed on 5th Avenue, Xulam was like an oasis. The unique Maya decor added to the whole experience. The food was just right. We enjoyed the deer stew (I forget the Maya name). It was rich & delicious but best of all, the portion size was perfect. Presentation of all of the dishes was fun but the "arrows" were the best, and the flavour did not disappoint. When you go make sure you leave room for dessert. The Chichen Itza triple chocolate pyramid is worth every calorie. Our Maya experience was capped off with the collection of parrots they have scattered around the restaurant. Simply beautiful and you can play with them! :) Highly Recommend! Ivan, our waiter, was very knowledgeable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jocairey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hard to Find But Pretty Good once you do”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Website was not working so had to base everything on maps and was a little hard to find. Had ceviche sampler and the Peruvian ceviche was by far the best. Not very busy on a Saturday night. Entrees were enjoyed by all the party but place seemed a little untidy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xulam The Mayan Fisher also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing