We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your usual Mexican fare!”
Review of Xulam The Mayan Fisher - CLOSED

Xulam The Mayan Fisher
Price range: $10 - $18
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Taxi
Description: Xulam is a unique restaurant concept where you can taste the ancestral Mayan flavors of Mexico with specialties in regional cuisine, including exquisite dishes from the rest of Mexico, with an ambience of colors and sounds from the jungle. Coming to Xulam will be great atmosphere, architecture and gastronomy awesome food will make your dining experience an unforgettable trip through Mayan History. Xulam es un concepto unico en restaurantes en el que podras degustar los sabores ancestrales de Mexico con especialidades en comida regional, sin dejar fuera exquisitos platillos del resto de nuestro pais, en un ambiente donde los colores y sonidos de la jungla se hacen presentes. Venir a Xulam es toda una experiencia donde la Arquitectura, Fauna y Gastronomia se combinan para hacer de tu estancia un viaje inolvidable al pasado de nuestros Mayas
Clayton, California
Level Contributor
240 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Not your usual Mexican fare!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is true Mayan food - my favorite was the fish in achiote sauce - kind of like cilantro but not quite, wrapped in a banana leaf. Also had the four different kinds of ceviche - different and delicious. This is a wonderful place just off the main plaza by the ferry port, eat on the deck, you won't regret it. Also had the flambe fruit for dessert, quite a show by the waiter. I would highly recommend this place and would go back there again in a heartbeat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    59
    16
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow - Yucatan foodie place”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Best restaurant we've found in Playa del Carmen.

We walked through town an came upon a beauutifully lit restaurant on the edge of the park. The ambiance was great - someone had clearly taken a lot fo time with the building details. Our waiter Miguel was helpful and firendly - helped us navigate the menu and even provided small lights for some of our group's fading eyesight. I had the Yucatan margarita; they custom made some sangria for some of our party - and we ordered the ceviche platter (4 types) and a fresh salad. Heavenly. Then we each ordered a signature etree - fish wrapped in achiote (that was memorable - we headed off to the store later to try and get achiote leaves to take back home), and a pork dish, a cheese dish and a deer dish - we passed plates and each one was betetr than the last. Great with Nohemian beer. we fished off with a coffee and fruit flambee preprared by Miguel - it was all wonderful. Very memorable dinner with friends. Strongly recommend!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sullivak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magic mayan meal!!!!!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

When you visit playacar be sure to treat yourself to a magical dining experience and go to xulam (The Mayan Fisher) my wife and I found this restaraunt at the end of a previous holiday and never got the chance to dine here. This year it was top of our to do list and what a treat, a beautiful setting its own Cenote, exotic birds and fantastic food.
If you are adventurous try the pre hispanic starter, a selection of Grubs, Flying Ants ,Ant eggs and fried grasshoppers, all served on a great wooden platter with soft tortillas and sauces, Extremely different.
The service is first class and the staff are absolutely wonderful!
Value for money wise forget the all inclusive hotel and treat yourself to an exotic dining experience, two courses plus exellent wine x 2 large glasses, 2 beers and coffee £55
A fantastic experience not to be missed and just 8 dollars in a cab from Riu Tequila>

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great way to end our trip!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I'm so glad we saved Xulum for our last dinner of our honeymoon. The food was delicious. I can't wait to try to make some of the dishes myself at home, though I know they won't taste anything like they did here! The staff was very friendly and accomodating and helped us select a great mix of treats from the menu. The drinks are stiff! If we decide to vacation in the area again we'd definitely stop in for another meal, probably more. It put our resort food to shame!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth Finding”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I went on Thursday 9/27. Ivan was our waiter and did a great job recommending and helping. Beautiful setting on a cenote and the building was gorgeous. We ate outside with the pretty birds. Food was great had the chicken mole' and the molcajete. Take an adventure and try the mayan style dishes. We will be back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xulam The Mayan Fisher also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing