We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magic mayan meal!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Xulam The Mayan Fisher - CLOSED

Xulam The Mayan Fisher
Price range: $10 - $18
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Taxi
Description: Xulam is a unique restaurant concept where you can taste the ancestral Mayan flavors of Mexico with specialties in regional cuisine, including exquisite dishes from the rest of Mexico, with an ambience of colors and sounds from the jungle. Coming to Xulam will be great atmosphere, architecture and gastronomy awesome food will make your dining experience an unforgettable trip through Mayan History. Xulam es un concepto unico en restaurantes en el que podras degustar los sabores ancestrales de Mexico con especialidades en comida regional, sin dejar fuera exquisitos platillos del resto de nuestro pais, en un ambiente donde los colores y sonidos de la jungla se hacen presentes. Venir a Xulam es toda una experiencia donde la Arquitectura, Fauna y Gastronomia se combinan para hacer de tu estancia un viaje inolvidable al pasado de nuestros Mayas
derby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magic mayan meal!!!!!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

When you visit playacar be sure to treat yourself to a magical dining experience and go to xulam (The Mayan Fisher) my wife and I found this restaraunt at the end of a previous holiday and never got the chance to dine here. This year it was top of our to do list and what a treat, a beautiful setting its own Cenote, exotic birds and fantastic food.
If you are adventurous try the pre hispanic starter, a selection of Grubs, Flying Ants ,Ant eggs and fried grasshoppers, all served on a great wooden platter with soft tortillas and sauces, Extremely different.
The service is first class and the staff are absolutely wonderful!
Value for money wise forget the all inclusive hotel and treat yourself to an exotic dining experience, two courses plus exellent wine x 2 large glasses, 2 beers and coffee £55
A fantastic experience not to be missed and just 8 dollars in a cab from Riu Tequila>

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    59
    16
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great way to end our trip!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I'm so glad we saved Xulum for our last dinner of our honeymoon. The food was delicious. I can't wait to try to make some of the dishes myself at home, though I know they won't taste anything like they did here! The staff was very friendly and accomodating and helped us select a great mix of treats from the menu. The drinks are stiff! If we decide to vacation in the area again we'd definitely stop in for another meal, probably more. It put our resort food to shame!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth Finding”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I went on Thursday 9/27. Ivan was our waiter and did a great job recommending and helping. Beautiful setting on a cenote and the building was gorgeous. We ate outside with the pretty birds. Food was great had the chicken mole' and the molcajete. Take an adventure and try the mayan style dishes. We will be back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

This is a must the food is great far too much if u have 3 courses!!! We shared a desert. The display if you have the Mayan coffee is really good. Just don't have the flash on your camera and you'll get great photos. The service was great. Overall one of the nicest restaurants that I've been to here. Very different but that's what makes is great!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kesmayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome decor, food, and service!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was the second time we ate at Xulam. This restaurant is just off 5th Avenue near Playacar Palace. Definitely worth the walk to if you are near it. The decor is what got our attention in the first place. The outside and inside of this restaurant are beautiful. It is the closest you will get to eating in a Mayan temple with all the luxuries of today. We chose to sit inside to take in all the decor. The service was great. The servers were attentive and spoke enough English to understand us and we them. The menu includes items that you won't find at the restaurants in the tourist area of 5th Avenue. There was everything from meat to fish and if you are daring enough, ants!! This was what the Fishermen Mayans ate. Everything we had was wonderful!! We will definitely make it back to this restaurant again on our next trip!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank purplecow0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xulam The Mayan Fisher also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing