We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Vacation!!.. would definitely return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Ranked #25 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Vacation!!.. would definitely return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed at the Riu Palace Mexico for 1 week October 2013. Prior to travelling, I read many reviews that helped me decide which hotel to stay at, so I figured I might as well pay it forward and write one as well.

I LOVED THIS VACATION, it truly couldn't have been any more perfect. I traveled with my boyfriend and from the first moment at the hotel, to the moment we left, we had nothing but an amazing experience. The service at the hotel is wonderful, all staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was ready by 1:30p.m., and we had a courtyard facing room on the 2nd floor. I didn't mind the open concept at all, nor did I mind the "modern" look. The bed was extremely comfortable, the water pressure in the shower was great. We ordered room service and they were quick and friendly bringing the food into the room and setting it up on our table. The sofa area added nice extra space to the room, although I don't think I actually sat on the sofa.

The hotel grounds were exceptionally clean and spacious. Lots of greenery, palm trees and fountains. The beach was beautiful! Calm, clear turquoise water. White sand beach, and it was never a problem to find a lounge chair. A waiter brought drinks to the beach frequently which was wonderful. The pools were always clean, and we loved the swim up bar. Ernesto was friendly, funny and made our drinks exactly how we requested them.

There was never a problem to find something good to eat. The buffet had lots of variety and selection, and changed every day. The service was amazing at every meal. We ate at Krystal, the Steakhouse and the Japanese specialty restaurants. The steakhouse was AMAZING, highly recommended, plus you can't beat the view of eating right by the beach. Amazing experience. We really enjoyed the Japanese as well. Krystal wasn't our favourite, as it tried to be a little too "gourmet" for us, however this was just personal preference as the food still tasted good.

As for activities and excursions, We did a Xel-Ha excursion, trip to Tulum, 5th avenue, jet-skiing and kayaking. All excursions were great, safe and fun. We loved that Playacar is a gated community, felt safe as well was very clean. The entertainment staff were always present and upbeat throughout the resort and extremely friendly.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, as well would plan to go back in the future. Most amazing vacation!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,618
    1,197
    317
    127
    82
See reviews for
1,267
2,551
52
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (924)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just got back from staying at the Riu palace Mexico Saturday 6th October 2013 for two weeks an felt i had to write a review.We had excellent service and the staff was very good and could not do enough for you, they were always smiling and friendly.The food was superb and variety excellent.
The cleanliness was excellent throughout the hotel.
It had undergone complete refurbishment and the modern decor added to this experience the only fault with the room was small toilet cubicle and bath next to bed could have done with privacy curtain in between otherwise it was very good and the service of free internet in the room was a bonus.
The only thing lacking was the evening entertainment which finished at eleven o clock and more professional shows were needed otherwise the holiday overall was excellent we flew with Thomson holidays on there new dream liner airoplane in the Premium cabin What a difference this was compared to the last flight i had we had excellent service by the cabin crew the meals were very good as was the new itv screen in arm rest the only fault is the big central consol which when getting passed to go to the bathroom was a bit awkward otherwise superb flight. would recommend the hotel and Thomson new Dream liner airoplane premium cabin to travel to this destination.
l

Room Tip: ground floor can be noisy first thing in morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elaine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
122 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel was amazing! The place was spotless and the staff were very friendly and helpful. They definitely did not skimp on the alcohol either. The food was outstanding and every place we ate at was perfect. The beach was also very clean with more than enough chairs. Overall, the hotel was extremely beautiful and the location was perfect. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just did one more week at the RPM, We have been there 6 or 7 times over 10 years, we did like the new lunch and dinner buffets, much larger and more to choose from,the new 24 hour lounge with limited snacks and drinks was OK, did use it a few times. As far as the room remodel , we liked the old room I could get more sleep while the wife was doing her hair. now its open with no inclosed area, just a big tub between the bed and wash room, never will use a tub we allways shower and head to the beach or pool for drinks. the new pools are just ok the old pool bar was in the shade the new one is in the sun and hot. We did have great service everyware with food and drinks. A lot of the Employes remembered us over the years. Are room was on the 2nd. floor court yard view close to the pool area. Did have some noisy people above us everyday at 7:am .. So the upper floor (3rd floor) would be better. You can walk and use all the other RIU Resorts and a little longer walk to 5th. Ave, in Playa Del Carman have a drink and do some shopping and take a cab back.We will be back to the RPM again, we like the people there and the area.

Room Tip: room 0050 would be ground floor,room 1050 2nd (are Room) 2050 is the 3rd floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank algoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was our 5th trip to Mexico, normally staying in the Riviera Maya area - this was our first stay at a RIU hotel - we stayed for two weeks, 30 Sep to 14 Oct'13.

Room: Our room was lovely, overlooking the grounds, pools and sea. The open plan was fine for us, in fact we enjoyed it. The shower was large and powerful. Air con worked perfectly, fridge nice and cold and plenty wardrobe/drawer space with lots of hangers. We didn't experience any of the previous complaints regarding dampness, musty smells etc.

Food: The main buffet is smaller than we have experienced in the past, however, because of this the food is replenished more often which means your food is hot and fresh - I'm a very picky eater and I enjoyed all the meals we had in the buffet both breakfast and dinner. We only tried two of the A la Carte restaurants, the Steak House and the Italian. While these meals were nice our preference was for the main buffet. Lunch was at the buffet restaurant beside the pool/beach area - again, lovely food, hot and replenished often.

Pools/Beach: Wonderful, four pools including a swim up bar. Always loungers available no matter what time you went, servers always there ensuring your drinks were topped up and making sure you were happy. Same with the beautiful beach, lots of loungers and shade under the palm trees if you want it. They are out every morning cleaning and sweeping the sand - unbelievably gorgeous!!

Entertainment: We didn't catch any of the shows etc. not really our thing, however listening to others they enjoyed it.

Staff: Oh my - all people we spoke to where so so helpful, friendly, polite and just so happy. Our room maid was so sweet and hardworking, the gardeners always took the time to say hi - all staff were lovely. Reception staff could not have been nicer. Special mention to Guillen and Josepina in the main buffet for their wonderful service and consideration.

We loved every minute of our holiday and would highly recommend it - in fact, we have booked again for next year - can't wait :-)

Room Tip: Thomson holiday guests are allocated rooms on the 'outside' of the buildings. If you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol_Michael_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Spent 6 nights at Riu Palace Mexico with family. Had a wonderful time!! The beach & water are gorgeous. The room accommodations are comfortable & clean & perfect!
Where the Riu Palace really shined was the staff. The management is visible, present, & approachable. The lovely manager & Asst manager took time to get to know us & their other guests. Very appreciated. Juakin & Hirum were 2 stand outs as well. Quality, personal service. Staff always greeted us with a smile & were so lovely. Impossible to name them all!!
Would recommend! Loved the Steakhouse & Mexican a la carte :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fun2Trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Selva Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

First, nothing bad can be said about the service. The cleanliness of the facility is excellent. My complaint is with the remodel. We have stayed at the RPM before and after the remodel, and while the RPM was dated and needed freshening, it was a beautiful, stately hotel. Not anymore. If you've been to some of the budget hotels in Vegas and liked them, RPM might be fine for you. If being surrounded by someone's princess fetish of pink, purple and glittering silver does not sound relaxing, the RPM is not for you. Like the idea of spending your hard earned vacation dining in fine restaurants with stylish atmosphere? The fusion restaurant at RPM has a five foot tall photo of a woman with her breasts on prominent display. Class all the way. Want a romantic, softly lit dining experience where your companion doesn't look like an extra from the Walking Dead? Good luck finding it, the designer picked the light fixtures in all public and private spaces for looks and efficiency, not ambiance. The bathrooms are poorly designed on every level. You cannot bend over in the WC with the door closed, because you will bang your head on the door. Hope you like pink, because it is the glass block in the shower, and the background behind the mirrors. If you need decent lighting to put on makeup, you will have to get in touch with your inner beauty because there is no good lighting in the room for this, anywhere. And perhaps worst of all, the open concept bathroom, with zero ventilation, allows excessive moisture to accumulate and remain in the room. Everything will be damp, regardless of running the ac 24/7. Your money, your clothes, your pillow, everything. My passport curled like a fancy flower. I had a pack of gum liquefy in my purse, that's how humid it is in the rooms. The funky smell is ever present and extra strong, not just because you're in the middle of the jungle, but because there is just too much moisture for the room ac to process. There is very little privacy in these open concept bathrooms, so you better be very comfortable with your body and it's various needs and functions, as well as those of your traveling companion. Ah, romance with a capital R! The fact is, the Yucatan is an beautiful, amazing place. The jungle, the culture, the people, the sea, everything combines to make an amazing place. If Riu had paid attention, they would have hired a design firm that played to those amazing strengths, incorporating wood, culture, nature, the ocean, and a sense of peace and relaxation. Instead, they went for high energy, twenty something lounge. And tacky lounge at that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#38 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,285 reviews
11.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,450 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#103 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#40 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,330 reviews
12.7 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,187 reviews
13.4 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Mexico

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 4 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km / 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * Within the Playacar resort, along with the Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * 2-storey building * Surrounded by 20,000 m2 / 24,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 200 m / 650 feet from Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int???L. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Travelocity, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Mexico Hotel
Riu Palace Mexico Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Mayan Riviera
Riu Playa Del Carmen
Mexico Palace Riu
Riu Mexico
Rui Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing