We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent 2 week stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Mexico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Ranked #26 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Buckhaven
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“excellent 2 week stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

my husband and I spent an amazing 2 week stay at this hotel, its recent refurbishment was well worth it. The staff couldn't do enough for you. Food excellent especially the buffet restaurant. We received a free room upgrade when the hotel found out it was our anniversary, to a sea view. Entertainment was quite low key, but it is a palace hotel and I think they are more aiming at couples.
The only slight downside was the swim up bar was always full of kids. I think it would be a good idea to make it adults only as they have another 3 pools which were always quiet.
We would definitely go back for a second stay

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claireo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,563
    1,179
    312
    126
    81
See reviews for
1,243
2,503
52
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (912)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel has outstanding service, everybody is fast and efficient.
The rooms are awesome, very clean, nice rain shower, comfortable king size bed.
Had very good sleep there, not noisy, our room was facing the ocean, and was on the top floor- thanks to staff at reception for giving us this upgrade ( for our honeymoon).
Food is very good, went to mexican a la carte once, and decided that buffet is much better.
Their desserts were to die for!
Beach has no seaweeds, very clean. Staff brings drinks all the time, please tip the guy.
No mosquitoes!!
Under $10 to go to Playa del Carmen, the fare is set, so you will not be overcharged.
Playa del Carment at night is a must see, so many restaurants.
Cab to airport is $55 for those who do not want to leave hotel 4 hours ahead of time, and only about 40-45 min away.

Highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AriSHaRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at Riu Palace Mexico twice and Riu Palace Riviera Maya once. We liked both properties equally. The grounds are well kept, clean and impeccable at both resorts. The staff is constantly working to keep it perfect. The service was fine, greeting at check in was pleasant and the process was fast. Rooms are well appointed and large. First trip we needed a crib, got it within minutes of request. Subsequent trips we used a couch which was very comfy. Beds are good and bedding is clean. When you request extra pillows or blanket the staff gets it to you rather fast. Bathroom is large and clean, balcony is a good size. Food was good, main buffet offered a variety of selections for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The lines for "custom" pasta or omelet was never more then a few minutes. Staff is extremely helpful, they would be there with an extra utensil even before you ask. Beach at Riu Palace Mexico was more shady then Riu Palace Riviera Maya. Pool areas are fine at both, not much shade but otherwise great. Spa is nice at both. Theaters are large and shows were sufficient. Kids entertainment was exactly what the "tired" child needed after a long, active day. Overall service and experience was lovely. Internet service is probably the only negative. We used it mostly in the lobby since it was bad in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nalrud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Been back in the UK for a week and have had time to reflect on our first time in Mexico. This was our 3rd visit at a Riu Palace, we picked it because of the recent refit. The service from the staff was of the usual wonderful high standard as was the quality of the food, although we didn't think there was as many staff on duty in the buffet as we have previously experienced. The bar staff could not be faulted as with the cleaning staff of the whole place. The fact you could wander down to the pools at any time and ALWAYS get a bed was wonderful, as was the beach, which was clean. There was no hassle from day entertainment staff if you didn't want to join in again a huge plus for us. When we entered our allotted room at first glance it was very impressive. However there was no 3rd bed or bedding that we could have used for the sofa bed and we didn't get this sorted out until our second day. There was no curtain around the bath. We never managed to sort the AC out and we know the difference between AC cold and genuine damp, the room was damp, so damp that in the second week black mould was growing on the walls and when we got our cases out to pack to come home there was mould growing on our bags and cases!!!!. Now in fairness I did check out with other clients staying and no one else had this problem so perhaps we were just unlucky. I do feel that the design of the rooms has taken preference over the needs of the client, particularly those with family (teenagers) who are sharing a room
We also had to use a Dr and this was a good experience.
We will go to a Riu again will not be returing to Riu Palace Mexico

Room Tip: Make sure you are not in room 1018
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here July 13th thru the 20th. This was our 7th trip, our first one was in 2001 and we stayed across the street at the RIU Tequila so it was fun to go back over there and walk around. The beach and water were so beautiful! The food was very good, never walked away hungry, something for everyone. We had a great experience here and would recommend this resort to anyone.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank IllinoisFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

If you've been on a cruise you know what I mean. Buffet/cafeteria style food, dinner & activities are at set times. Served food was ok, not anyhthing different from buffet. Close to town and could have walked (took a cab), but be careful on arrival. Had several young men attempt to lure us to side street claiming to be our server the night before. None of them were. Transport was pain because they wanted to sell us on everything else which we had already arranged. Just hang at the beach & enjoy the views!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YoureMyButterhalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Travelled on 2/7/13 for holiday long flight landed in storm , rain lasted two days horrible .My god when the sun came out it was perfect. The hotel is fantastic the staff are so friendly and work very hard they cant do enough for you .The hotel caters for everything you could want it really is the perfect place for a special holiday. The food is excellent and the choice is enormous there really is something for any palate the waiters are fantastic friendly hard working people . THE STAFF AT THIS HOTEL SHOULD BE CONGRATULATED ON THEIR ABILITY TO KEEP EVERYONE HAPPY Beach and sea are to die for fantastic fun in the waves its just beautiful and leaves us with nothing but great memories of it ..

Room Tip: We stayed in 1087 view of gardens nice room Damp gets into all clothes think because of humidity . y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Val N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#38 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,209 reviews
17.3 mi away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
13.4 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#39 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,271 reviews
19.9 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,062 reviews
13.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Mexico

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 4 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#19 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km / 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * Within the Playacar resort, along with the Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * 2-storey building * Surrounded by 20,000 m2 / 24,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 200 m / 650 feet from Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int???L. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Mexico Hotel
Riu Palace Mexico Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Mayan Riviera
Riu Playa Del Carmen
Mexico Palace Riu
Riu Mexico
Rui Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing