We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riu Palace Mexico”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Ranked #29 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Riu Palace Mexico”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We just returned from staying a week at the Riu Palace Mexico, Mar.2-9, 2013. Had never been to an all inclusive resort before and had a fabulous time. Visited the other four Riu's within walking distance and thought the Mexico was top notch and the nicest of the five Riu's. We had reservations at the Italian, Japanese, Steakhouse, and the Krystal. All were quite good with several choices. Yes, you have to be at the lounge by 8am to get a reservation, didn't seem to be a problem with us. The buffet had so many choices, the food was just as good. The men have wear long pants at dinner, in the buffet also. Breakfast and lunch, men do not have to wear long pants. The pool side buffet at lunch was absolutely wonderful, it is at the Steakhouse. We were at the pool and just threw on a pair of shorts and was able to eat there. They also set up a lunch buffet on the beach. Plently of chairs at the beach and the four pools. The gounds are beautifully manicured and the staff are always working.
Our room was always cleaned and stocked daily with towels and beverages. They serve Tecate Light and Dos Equis, no domestic beer. The bed was HUGE, two queens put together. There was a curtain to seperate the bath area, not a problem for the two of us but could be for a family. We had a garden view and enjoyed our patio every morning with our coffee and people watched. We were on the main floor and it was a little damp, at first, but you are at the caribbean, what do you expect? The dampness seemed to come and go, on the main floor, just shut your patio door and turn on the air, when you leave your room. The main floor was easy access, rooms are between the main hotel and the pool/beach, easy walk to both places. The shower was wonderful with plenty of hot water. Never had been to this Riu before, but the new renovations in Fall 2012 are fresh and art deco, the main thing is.....I like clean and new! Great service in all areas, everyone was friendly and helpful.
A few people picked up a 24 hour bug with aches, vomiting and diarrhea, we did not, so not sure what that was?
It was a wonderful vacation and a great place to stay, we definitely would return to Riu Palace Mexico.

Room Tip: Deluxe Superior room are just fine, spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank DELORES C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,699
    1,216
    326
    131
    85
See reviews for
1,303
2,608
53
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (944)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Little Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Hotel staff were great Our room was all we could of asked for .. The food was great too. A lot of variety in your meals. Elmer was SO helpful & friendly everyday at breakfast & lunch . Made us feel welcome. Would go back in a heart beat !

Room Tip: Any room is a good one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Polly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over xmas and new year for our honeymoon. The hotel is amazing, newly refurbished to a high standard. We were upgraded to a sea view room with compliments from hotel. The room was fantastic, huge beds, room for cot space for our baby and a single bed in a lower section for our elder son. The Jacuzzi bath was brilliant! The service we received was second to none, the staff were so polite and couldn't do enough for us, always a smile and hola for the kids. More than enough Sunbeds round the 4 pools. The beach is stunning! Food was gorgeous, so much to choose from. The drinks were fab and good choice of cocktails! I could go on for hours about how amazing this place is. I cant wait to return!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loveholidays2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here as a family of 8 on Feb 28th - 14th March 2013. This was my first time in Mexico and I adore the place. The hotel oozes class and the service is amazing. Not once did I que for food or drinks. In admittance the cocktails can be too sweet but if you ask for strong ones they will make them to your needs. Reception was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble, I had a dental problem out there and had to have treatment from the dentist in 5th Avenue, they were fantastic. You can get taxi from outside your hotel and they are very trustworthy. Food was fab, buffet is just as good as the speciality resturants. We gave quite a few tips and they are so grateful - the staff are worth their weight in gold. There are a few mosquitos there- horrible lil things but I used repel which kept the bites at a bay... You can use all the other riu hotels in the area. The Tequlia is the party hotel. I visted a few of the riu hotels including the rivera maya and the riu palace is the best by far. Enjoy your holiday you lucky people, id go back there tomorrow. It has been the best hotel Ive ever stayed in!

Room Tip: We had room 2129, top floor sea front view, the best rooms so if you can try and get it..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank michaeldoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We vacationed at the RIU Palace Feb 17-23rd, 2013. This was our first time to stay at a RIU and we will definitely be back again and again. I researched alot of resorts along with this one to make my decision. After many negatives about the refurb we decided t give it a shot anyway. All I can say is I am SO glad we didn't listen to the bad reviews.
We booked through Apple Vacations. That in itself was an amazing experience except for the shuttle to the resort. It took over an hour to arrive to the Palace after getting on the shuttle because we stopped at 3 other resorts along the way. But really no big deal.
Arriving at the Palace was awesome. We were immediately greeted by Manuel and welcomed with a fruity drink. Check in was a breeze and our room was ready.
Upon entering the hotel we were blown away. The purple and silver are not at all whatI expected (I expected to hate it from the pics I had seen) ...the place was stunning!!!! I LOVED the room! Although it was just the hubby and I, if we had the kids it would not be ideal or private but for two of us it was perfect. The shower and tub were awesome. Great water pressure and HOT water! Toilet "closet" was small, but not a big issue. We had a king sized bed and it was the most comfortable bed we have ever had in a hotel. Good mix of american tv channels on the tv, although we weren't in the room alot to watch it. Maids were amazing!! Always had fresh towels and a stocked fridge. A huge shout out to our housekeeper "NATY". She made us feel so special by decorating our bed and room the whole week for our Anniversary!
*Our room was #1128 which is at the very end of the hotel facing the pools. It was very private and VERY quiet. After seeing reviews it was noisy we were a little concerned but we were pleasantly surprised by how quiet it was . I loved this room because we were close to pool and beach and could see the ocean from our balcony.
*We are not big party people so this resort is perfect. If you are expecting a party crowd this would not be the resort for you. There was always nightly entertainment and beach BBQ's but not real late and not loud drunks all over. We went to relax and unwind and it is the perfect place for that. There was a "white Party" one night on the beach that was a lot of fun with ice sculptures and great grilled food, but that's about as wild as it got :)
*Food was great! We are from beef/pork country so we were a little skeptical but it was all wonderful. We ate at the Steakhouse twice, Mexican once, and the buffet the rest of the time! Thank you to Raoul, Luis, Elmer, & Luis Miguel for your wonderful service! They were great! After one day there they knew our names!!!!
*Beach was the best I have ever seen. Perfect clear turquoise water, lots of loungers, and great drink service!!
*Pools were great and warm while we were there.Pool bar was so fun and we quickly became HUGE fans of Armando & Daniel at the bar. We cannot wait to go back to visit with them again. They were always making us something new and sending it out to us when we were by the pool. And always asking if everything was OK!
I emailed Ildiko in advance that it would be for our anniversary and all week they treated us as if we were important and made us feel so special. We got balloons one day, champagne in our room another day, a special chocolate cake at the steakhouse one night, and lots of rose petals on our bed.
We have nothing bad to say about this place at all. Loved that we could go to other RIU's (however after doing that we realized the Palace was the best), this is the cleanest resort I have ever seen, and the STAFF is beyond amazing. Very hard working, polite people. Everyone always spoke and made sure we didn't need anything. Kudos to everyone that makes the Palace a place we will return to again and again!!!

Room Tip: We emailed in advance and got a 2nd floor room with a private balcony that overlooked the pools and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank vacationrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Riu Palace Mexico and enjoyed it as much as the first. The staff, especially Raul, Santoya ,Edgar, and Sandra our housekeeper, were outstanding. We felt very much at home with them. Everything was excellent, from the room, front desk, grounds, pools, and food.The buffet was extremely good with so many selections and excellent quality. We had a tour of the main kitchen area and could of eaten off the floor, it was that clean! Privacy in the bathroom area could be a concern to some. A curtain dividing the area would have been nice. Some of the rooms do have them but not all. Only one complaint-We were wishing to go to someplace different next year but we were so spoiled at this place, we want to come back for a third time. WHY GO ANYWHERE ELSE. It was that GREAT!!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I believe this was my 5th visit to Mexico. One visit to a border town so that goes with out saying much, except don't visit border towns! I was impressed with the "enclosed" or gated area this resort was located in. Nice area and we felt very safe and secure. The resort was great! The staff was very accommodating, friendly, and hard working! So refreshing! By the third day my bartender had my chilled white wine in front of me at the Piano Bar before I even ask! Nice! I am frequent traveler per business so things like the bartender knowing your drink is a treat but usually reserved for places you stay often! My food experience in Mexico has always been challenging, however it seemed much better this time! I don't know if it was just this resort or its just been a couple years and the quality is just better every where per their tourist areas. The beach was spectacular! Pool area smaller than other resorts I have been to in Mexico but well thought out, with plenty of chairs! Shower was a rainfall shower, wonderful with great water pressure! Hot too! Everything was clean and updated. They also seem to have control over bugs and pests! (IE;Mosquitos) I guess if I had any advice to this resort it would be keep hiring great people per your employees, expand your wine list and maybe tell the Wynn Resort next door to possibly turn down their music after midnight.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dpingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.9 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#55 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
638 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#40 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#51 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,561 reviews
22.1 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
1,947 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Mexico

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 4 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km / 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * Within the Playacar resort, along with the Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * 2-storey building * Surrounded by 20,000 m2 / 24,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 200 m / 650 feet from Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Mexico Hotel
Riu Palace Mexico Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Mayan Riviera
Riu Playa Del Carmen
Mexico Palace Riu
Riu Mexico
Rui Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing