We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Ranked #28 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
A TripAdvisor Member
“This place is amazing”
Reviewed October 20, 2003

We just came back from our honeymoon and we spent a week at Riu Palace and it was more than we could have hoped for. The hotel staff were always smiling and saying hi. At any time of the day you could spot people cleaning. The food was amazing and the resturants offer food for all tastes. I was a bit worried about the weather at this time of year but it was hot and sunny for all the day except the last day when it was cloudy and rained for 5 minutes.

I would recommend this hotel if you want to sit back and relax. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,723
    1,222
    330
    135
    86
See reviews for
1,317
2,627
54
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (947)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2003

Thanks to your useful comments, we enjoyed very much the two last weeks of september at the Riu Palace. It is really a paradise. All the floortiles in the courtyard, corridors inside and outside are thoroughly scoured with soap every morning. The friendly personal cares for every detail asked for. We respect very much the effort of the management team to keep an high standard, giving an example of dressy clothing, having always a ready ear for suggestions, trying to keep a balance for a free atmosphere respecting basic hotel rules. The restaurants offer an extended choice of foods, comprising some vegetarian dishes and saltfree butter. We suggested to provide a special breakfast corner for diabetics, as in many Riu hotels, comprising some homemade sugarfree jam, yogurt and cake without sugar.
The beach is amazing beautiful with palmtrees for shade, fine sand, clear warm water. As on many beaches the jetskis are polluting with noise and fuel smoke, the SE wind brings it right under your nose, by speed junkies, mostly to show of, driving in circles. Jurisdiction have already banned jetskis from several beaches from California to Florida.
We feel sure the hotel management will find a solution with the jetski exploiters to diminish the disturbance, keeping further distance from the beach.

Helpful?
4 Thank frelisken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley of CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2003

This resort far exceeded our expectatations. We've been to an all-inclusive before, but nothing of the Riu Palace's class. Transition from airport to resort was smooth and check-in was a breeze. We weren't happy with our room, and they more than accomodated us with a room with an exquisite view.
We booked our trip with Suntrips and the Suntrips liasion at the Palace (Brigitte) was exceptional. She answered all our questions and honestly gave her input on what to do and what to watch out for.
Food was wonderful and plentiful. Service was excellente'. The waiters/waitresses become somewhat upset with you if you get things for yourself. They want to assist you in everyway possible.
Beach was great and activities were fun. The bars were a kick in the pants and the drinks were, well, let's just say you can drink as much as you like and 24 hours a day. Good selection of top shelf liquor.
The cleanliness of the resort was superb. They were always cleaning and maintaining the property. And, We had no problems with drinking frozen drinks or using ice. We ate and drank (seems like everything) and had no problems with any "bugs."

A few things to consider: Bring your beachwear, but pack some nice clothes for dinner/evenings (High end resort), tipping is not expected, but appreciated. It went a long way with bartenders, waiters, and maid staff. They will remember you and the extra attention you receive is well worth the extra couple of bucks.

SERVICE=SUPERB, FOOD=EXCELLENT, CLEANLINESS=SPOTLESS...well worth the
trip and we'll definitely return within the next year.

Helpful?
4 Thank todddster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2003

We just returned from our honeymoon at the Riu Palace (9/17--9/24). We booked our trip thru Worry-Free Vacations and they lived up to their name. Our transfers to and from the airport were great--air-conditioned vans that are there on time and deliver you to the hotel door/airline check-in counter. The Worry-Free Vacations tour representative was pleasant, easy to deal with, and understanding when we had to cancel part of our tour--he refunded part of our money. The tours themselves were great! We went to Chichen Itza, Tulum/Xel-ha, and Discover Scuba at Cozumel. If you go, try to get Cancun Line for your tours. Their tour guides were very knowledgeable and the tours themselves were comfortable and fun.The Riu Palace is fantastic! They give you a drink when you are checking in and will not let you carry bags anywhere inside the hotel. They take them for you. We were put in a terrible room at first--view of the roof with the air conditioner compressor making noise constantly. Plus, it smelled very musty. We called and asked to be moved. They were very understanding, and moved us as soon as they could (the next day). Everyone in the hotel is courteous and polite, and they all want to do their best for you! Our housekeeper even made an armadillo out of towels and washcloths for us, even made eyes and a mouth and stuck them on! It was so cute!The food is good at Don Julian, but I recommend making reservations at any of the other restaurants (La Bodega, Sir Edward or El Patio) for dinner. The food in the other restaurants is top-notch and served wonderfully, while the food in Don Julian is only passable, especially when compared to the other three. Lunch is good anywhere. The nice thing is you can get food 24-7 somewhere, so if you have the munchies in the middle of the night, no problem.The evening shows were entertaining, and it is so nice to sit outside and be served non-stop drinks while enjoying the warm night breeze.We were not really interested in night-life, so if you are looking for night-life you may want to look somewhere else. However, you can go to any of the other three Riu hotels that are right next door. They all have discos that thumped almost all night long. We never visited them but they sounded like fun!The beach at the Riu Palace is amazing! Powder-soft sand everywhere, plenty of comfortable beach chairs and tables, and trees so if you want to be in the shade it's no problem. However, we liked the beach best at night. We relaxed, watched the stars (tons of shooting ones) and the lights from Cozumel. The bar is not too far away from the beach and the bartender there has an amazing memory--he remembered who I was all week! The pools are also nice and the swim-up bar is great!Quite possibly the best-kept secret here is the new spa. Maricruz and Evelinda (not quite her name but can't remember it exactly) are spectacularly talented. We each had two massages and I wanted to take them home with us. The treatments are priced very reasonably and were two highlights of our trip.Bring plenty of $1 bills to tip with--it's not required but the service everywhere is so good you will want to. If we ever return to the Mayan Riveria, we will stay here.

Helpful?
6 Thank alegriafury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 27, 2003

What a fantastic vacation! Beautiful location, beautiful facility. The staff was outstanding in every aspect - friendly, efficient, courteous, and unbeliveably prompt. We will definitely return and bring friends.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 19, 2003

Recently returned with my family from the Riu Palace (9/6-9/13). This true 5 Star hotel exceeded all our lofty expectations. The pictures you see on the internet dont do this place any justice, its beauty, luxury and grandeur just overwhelms you. The courteous guests tended to be a bit older, and quite well heeled, no big partiers here. The beach was absolutely beautiful, one of the nicest we have been to, on par with Varadero, Aruba, Barbados, etc second only to Negril in our opinion. The ocean water was very clean, no seaweed at all, the big sandy beach was beautiful and there was lots of shade available if needed on those very hot days (there was never a problem getting loungers at the beach or pool). The food and drinks (98% imported) were of excellent quality with great variety at all meals. The hotel is meticulously maintained, grounds, rooms, public areas, etc. The staff are so friendly and the level of SERVICE IS EXCEPTIONAL e.g. we called the front desk to have our minibar replenished a few times and ceiling fan looked at once and every time within 2-5 minutes someone had looked after our needs and the front desk called minutes later to ensure we were looked after. I walked through all the other Playa Del Carmen hotels and the only one that can come close to the Palace is the Royal Hideaway. Dont know what else to say except you will not be disappointed, this place is FLAWLESS, and we will be going back very shortly.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2003

My husband and I just spent 1 week at this fabulous resort. Everything I read about it was true. The water was awesome, the weather was perfect, and the resort itself was A+. All the workers were so eager to please and always had a smile on their faces. The food was great, the drinks were plenty. Yes the beds are hard, but not unsleepable. We took trip advisors advise and brought our thermos bottles. It was the envy of the beach. We will be back and we will stay at the Palace. We will miss Antonio at the beach bar and Santoyo at Don Julians. Sir Edwards is worth the wait in line. Thank-you Don Miller at Apple for picking this wonderful place for us.

Helpful?
3 Thank Pinkmingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.9 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#53 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
650 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#39 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,594 reviews
22.1 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
2,000 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#60 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Mexico

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Address: Avenida Xaman-Ha, Manzana 3, Lote 4 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#20 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on the Yucatan peninsula, 3 km / 1.9 Miles from Playa del Carmen * Within the Playacar resort, along with the Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan, Riu Playacar and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * 2-storey building * Surrounded by 20,000 m2 / 24,000 sq. Yards of lush gardens * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 200 m / 650 feet from Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Mexico Hotel
Riu Palace Mexico Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Playa Del Carmen
Riu Palace Mayan Riviera
Riu Playa Del Carmen
Mexico Palace Riu
Riu Mexico
Rui Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing