We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Ranked #51 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Hi,

Just arrived back yesterday from 11 nights at the Riu Tequila wife my wife and had a top hoiday at what we would both describe as a really good hotel. It is a big hotel that caters for a lot of guests so if its a quiet hotel you're wanting then best to look elsewhere.

The staff work amazingly hard and the whole place is super clean.

Rooms are nice and and although there are old style TV's and the shower is a touch dark, as some previous reviews mentioned, surely if thats the worst people can find wrong tells you something?

Various bars that all serve lovely cocktails. They serve local spirits but if you're fussy for a brand ie Smirnoff vodka then they will supply it.

Food wise the hotel really is excellent. Breakfast and dinner have tons of choice and are really good quality. Luch has slightly less choice but is still really nice, not just ''burger and chips'' as another recent review moaned. We also ate twice in both the steak house and asian buffet which were both excellent.

The location of the hotel is good and as I'm sure your aware its a few minutes walk from the beach seems to bother some people. If it does then book another hotel. Why people moan about something thats well advertised in the hotel description is a mystery! Just a word of warning: The beach is beautiful but is very busy so bear in mind you'll be sharing it with a lot of other holidaymakers! Same with the pool area. One small thing that did annoy both of us was alot lot of the sunlongers were reserved with towels by 7.30 am yet some sat empty until a lot later in the morning. Signs up everywhere asking peole not to do it but wasn't enforced. Not a big gripe.

Playa Del Carmen is a fairly nice resort with a quite a few nice bars and restuarants. It also has a huge number of tourist tat shops if you like that kind of thing!

I hope this description helps people to make up their mind about booking a holiday at the Tequila. What annoys me is the people that complain passionately about fairly trivial things. Its not the best hotel in Mexico but neither is it the most expensive so my advice to people who didn't like their stay is next time pay alot more money and stay in a posher hotel. I your looking for an affordable place to stay that is lovely to stay in then you'll struggle to find better than here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gersman1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,570
    2,376
    640
    168
    134
See reviews for
1,947
3,860
92
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

This was the first time to Mexico for all of us - both husbands did not want to travel to Mexico. Thankfully the Riu Tequilla proved to be a hospitable and also a beautiful hotel. We had a very relaxed 2 weeks. The outside travel people were very helpful in arranging side trips, and the hotel staff were super trying to get quests involved in the ongoing activities. The food in the restaurant was excellent, and we really enjoyed the BBQ our last week there. My husband commented to me after we were home, that he could not find one fault in the hotel..... he thoroughly enjoyed himself. It was his suggestion that I write this review.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 3252gossip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Got back this morning from the Rui Tequila what a fantastic place, cleanliness was excellent, all the food was delicious especially the 5 course steak house meal and the Asian was some of the best I've tasted.............fried icecream in cocolate sauce was to die for!!! All the staff were very friendly and helpful which made for a very relaxed atmophere. This hotel is in a great location although there is a short walk to the beach which personnally I enjoyed (you can ride down there on a golf buggy if walking really isn't for you!). The hotel is also in a great location for all your day trips, you must go to Xel-Ha and swim with the manitee's that was a brilliant experience. All in all a fab time was had by all and I'll will definitely be visiting again...................... soon I hope!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JLO127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest US
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Recently returned from 5 nights at RIU Tequila.

Really enjoyed the cluster of RIU resorts there in Playacar. All grounds were open to walk, lunch and bars were available at all except at the Palaces which are exclusive to guests staying there. The grounds and social areas at RIU Tequila were stunning, classic tropical look. The lobby, entertainment hall, and main bars were very spacious outdoor settings with partial cover. Saw many iguanas, monkeys, and tropical birds on the grounds. The two pond shaped pools at opposite sides of the lunch eatery were nice. Playacar and Yucatan also have really nice pools as well. Playacar was less crowded and had many open loungers when I strolled through one afternoon.

Ate breakfast and dinners at the main buffet. Overall good but nothing exceptional – except for the French toast which I though was some of the best I have ever had. Good coffee. Lunch was available at the pool or at the beach eateries of Yucatan and Playacar. Decent cappuccino and café americanos at Tequila’s lobby bar.

Tequila’s disco was a bit of a disappointment. It was all techno which gives me a headache fairly quickly. Open 11-2 each night. Didn’t hear a single hip hop, rock or disco dance tune without the hyper techno beat.

Stayed in a standard 2bed room which was really nice except for the cheap refrigerator which didn’t really get cold and the old foggy mirrors that are due to be replaced. Mattress was fairly firm but not as firm as remembered from RIU Cancun last year. Comfortable enough for me but I can see how it wouldn’t be for others (pillows were also too flat in my opinion). Small buildings with outdoor halls outside of the rooms make for a private walk but I had to spend 10 minutes each night killing mosquitoes that I believe got in while the door was held open during daily cleaning.

The walk to the beach wasn’t bad, ~10 minutes, usually quicker than waiting to catch a ride on the golf cart which transported 7 at a time. The beach at the resorts is excellent. Nice soft sand, plenty of lounges, and plenty of shade under palm trees when wanted. Didn’t step on rocks or see anything in the water, which was a beautiful bright blue. Pickup beach volleyball games available at several beach courts. The only thing can make the beach better would be to ban the annoying jetski’s which leave polluting exhaust fumes (same is true for the atv’s and scooters running on the streets and resort driveways). Ban the European man thongs as well - too many thoughtless men strolling around the lobby and eateries in only man thong and sandals, making for an unpleasant site and appetite killer - it's bad enough seeing them on the beach.

Fitness center is present just inside Yucatan’s main gait and was small but good. Less crowded before 11am or so. They also have a string (6-10 maybe) small shops there at the Yucatan’s entry.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank regulartraveler43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We have just returned from this hotel and have had the time of our lives, have met some amazing people and the staff were so helpful always smiling,and very polite a special thank you for little rosie from pool bar , and alma at breakfast your omelettes are to die for. The rooms were spacious and very clean and kept tip top daily, Food great plenty of choice so something for everyone I agree that the system for the speciality restaurants could be reviewed. As you need to book very early on the day. Beach superb, entertainment team excellent. Only negative the Thomsom reps did not appear to be at all interested in ensuring that the right information was delivered, also could of done with scrubbing up a little better in their appearance,examples hem down on skirts and buttons missing from uniform. very unprofessional and unkempt looking. wild life all around, gardens spectacular. WE LOVED OUR HOLIDAY hello dougie neil, sue and dave xxx Oh and you must go to coco bongos an experience that will stay with us forever BRILLIANT

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rainybirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Just returned from a 2 week stay here, wonderful hotel in a great setting, very clean everywhere, staff very friendly and helpful, the food in main resturant really good with plenty of choice and different themed nights, we also eat in the Asian and steak resturants both very good, the standard of food was very good in the main resturant but we found it was nice to have a change of setting. The main bar is a great place to be in the evening the bar staff were fun and couldn't do enough for you. The entertainment was better than I have seen in a lot of hotels, something different everynight, there is also lots of things going on during the day. The beach was a very short walk or a quick buggy ride, really nice beach plenty of sunbeds. Would love to go again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngeF_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST.HELENS
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

For the price we paid, we expected standards to match.
Rooms smelly, lights in bathroom suppose to shed light into shower cubicle but it does not. Food very poor, expected better quality with more variety. At Lunchtime only the snack bar opens serving burgers pizza, pasta and salad, not what we expected. The main restaurant should be open. For AL A CARTE you queue up at 7am to put your name down and boy what a queue.
Pool is only small, most of the sun beds are in the shade so a lot of trouble to get one and keep it, if you want to be in the sun. Andrew the Thomson rep has not got a clue on how to treat guests he will ignore everything you say, so if you have any complaints save your breath. I don’t know why Thomson continues to pay him as he thinks he is the one on holiday not the actual guests. For the last 4 days you could not get a coffee early morning as the machine broke.
Hotel Management and staff are all great they will do all they can to make your holiday better, unlike Andrew.
In my opinion this hotel is only a 2 star plus.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mummy2sthelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,894 reviews
11.0 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#60 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Lupita
Hotel Riu Lupita
#80 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,779 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#105 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,830 reviews
12.8 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tequila

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Address: Avenida Xaman-ha | Manzana 3, Lote 19, Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Tequila 3.5*
Number of rooms: 664
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Within the resort area Playacar along with the hotels Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and Riu Playacar * Main building and 1-story buildings * Surrounded by 48,000 m2 / 57,600 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 800 m / 2,650 ft. From the beach (complimentary shuttle) * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 300 m / 990 ft. From Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int'l Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tequila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Tequila Hotel
Riu Tequila Mexico
Hotel Riu Tequila
Riu Tequila Playa Del Carmen
Rui Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing