We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Top hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Ranked #56 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We'd have recently returned from Mexico and although we stayed in the Yucatan because we had friends at the tequila we spent some of our time there. Be amazed if your going as to the efforts taken by staff to dress / decorate the place for Christmas. It makes you feel like it's already arrived. In my opinion this hotel has mucho character, personality and decor associated with a RIU hotel and this does not let you down. The staff are excellent and the food and drinks flowing. They have a sports bar and tequila nightclub for the late revellers. The entertainment is also top notch with the entertainment staff eager to get the children to participate. The facilities are slightly less appealing than the Yucatan only because they have a beach. However, you can jump on a buggy outside the main entrance and get a free ride. You can even participate in the drinks as well. And don't forget the internet. Each day you are allowed 90 minutes of free time each day. Just remember you cannot log on again until at least 24 hours from when you last logged on. Being a none smoker there is a slight downer and that is that people can and do smoke in all parts of the complex apart from selected areas. All in all a well presented authentic hotel that is certainly worth a visit. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kevan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,016)
There are newer reviews for ClubHotel Riu Tequila
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,720 - 2,726 of 8,016 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

Came back at Tequila for the 5th time, and it's still not boring! Staff is amazing, friendly...it feels like comming home! Hope to come back real soon. The shows are just great, they work so hard. if you need any help, they are there, if you want to dance, they will too! had an amzing evening with the 80th show, "the time of my life"! cant stop laughing

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panter1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I travelled from 22nd November to 5th December. It's my second time to this resort and had high hopes following last year's amazing first trip. The hotel itself is lovely, if slightly dated and has that 70's style feel. The room was at the back of the complex away from the main bar and pool areas so on a show night I didn't hear a thing. The room was kept immaculately clean although I was a little peturbed by the fact that my towel was replaced daily despite not having placed it on the floor as per the "save water and checmicals" policy that Riu operates.

The food was ok - not mind blowing as one would expect from the vast selection of Caribbean food that could have been served. It works on a weekly rota so I knew what to expect the second week. Even on the themed nights there was a high selection of Mexcian food.. the Caribbean night offered none of the other regional options such as Jerk Chicken (Jamaica), Plantains, Fish Balls (Barbados) etc.

What really let this trip down for me were the other guests and the Coatis.. the hotel at this time of year is a favourite with Canadians and they are very loud and very brash.. if you plan a quiet sunbathe by the pool in the early hours its ruined by drunkeness and very loud females shouting over each other to be heard. I and other guests had to rescue a drunk lady from the pool as she had been knocking back tequila slammers all night.. the bar staff didn't know when to stop serving her.. the "lifeguard" didn't want ot get wt because it would have ruined his phone, security just stood and looked at us and yawned and the manager of the hotel was never informed when I enquired after her health.

The Coatis will only congregate where food is and there are copious signs around the resort askign you not to feed them..which everyone ignores because they are breeding prolifically and have free reign everywhere as they are a protected species. I was ok with them until I heard they had been seen running over the pre-laid tables in the steak restaurant.. after that I wasn't ever sure that the crockery and cutlery I was using was clean and I found my way to the Yucatan on a daily basis after that.

Overall the weather was amazing, the staff were fantastic and always smiling and eager to help and the facilities were very good. However I would not recommend this hotel if you are looking to take a relaxing two week break.. I preferred the Yucatan for its pool area and lunchtime menu choices.

This for me is a borderline silver/gold hotel with only 3 stars.. certainly not the 5 it has been given.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

1. Flights – the Dreamliner (premium) was good for the price – my partner who has flown a lot on business (in business class) said that it was noticeably quieter and smoother than a conventional plane. He guessed that this was due to the extra rigidity that comes from the Dreamliner being formed from carbon fibre rather than aluminium. We paid for the upgrade to premium seats and this was worth it for the circa 10 hour flight and it also simplified the check in process as there is a separate line for premium seats. At the Thomson reception meeting the reps did have an offer of “two for the price of one” for premium seating on the return flight at a good price so it is probably worth keeping your ears open for this if you decide to upgrade for your return leg

2. Cancun Airport on arrival – a shambles – this is our only negative of our whole holiday – they seriously need to look at staffing things properly to allow the vast amount of arrivals through in under 3 hours – maybe we were unlucky but from landing to leaving for hotel took 3 hours purely to the airports inefficiencies. Specifically, they only had half the available immigration desks open and didn’t seem to be in any hurry to process the passengers – even the flight crews seemed to have very long waits in their queues. Even worse was once we had cleared immigration and collected our bags, we then had to queue up again to have these re-x-rayed! Seriously, what is the point? There were only two x-ray machines so this led to another long delay and considering we were in South America, I am pretty sure there would be easier ways to get contraband into Mexico than importing it to the UK and then getting it out to Mexico! What a complete and utter waste of time and the last thing you need after a 10 hour flight. I am sure the Government of Mexico must spend hundreds of millions promoting itself as a tourist destination and then has these stupid processes whose sole purpose seems to be to cause tourists unnecessary hassle. For our part, we will look to visit other destinations that don’t have such draconian measures rather than go back to Mexico – yes it is a big deal; Mexico – sort yourself out if you want tourists to visit you and spend our money

3. The Riu Tequila – FANTASTIC – stupendously clean, authentic, charming. Check-in was super quick, our room was huge and was kept spotless all week. The grounds are amazing and the walk to the beach took 7 minutes from the lobby. The beach was STUNNING, beautiful crystal clear warm water – that’s what you go for isn’t it? The pools were nice and refreshing and again kept super clean.
a. The food – well, seriously, if you cannot find something you like then you really should stay at home – so much choice, flavour and designs – the mouth watered on entering any of the restaurants
b. The staff – the happiest, nicest people I have ever encountered - nobody expected a tip but we left 50 peso's a day in our room for the maid, gave 50 peso's a day to our breakfast waiter and the lovely chef cooking the fresh omelettes and 200 peso's for the lovely Mayon on Reception who ensured we had an upstairs room with everything we needed - needless to say, they were delighted.
c. The entertainment – entertained – so much effort goes in to what they do
If I could be convinced the airport would not be the same I would not hesitate to return and I will definitely be trying another Riu hotel in the Caribbean. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone wanting to go to Mexico.

Room Tip: We were upstairs in 1715 - only trees to view form the balcony but did not use it anyway - lovely an...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrsrgj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Just returned from a fortnight at this hotel. It is a nice hotel in a lovely spot with wonderful staff but is seriously let down by the behaviour of a number of the guests, it was like a down market Butlins with sun. We saw a women so drunk by the pool at lunchtime her husband and a waiter had to carry her back to her room, one man was boasting about how his wife was so drunk the night before she had wet herself and was sick everywhere and another man vomited all over himself on his sunbed (drunk again) and then jumped back into the pool to wash himself clean, The bar staff do seem to encourage drinking games and measures are huge. Many afternoons in the swim-up bar involved groups of middle aged men drinking rounds of Tequila Slammers.

Add to this the packs of wild Coatis scavenging through bins and peoples' bags round the pool, a constant barrage of redcoats chivying people into games and you can understand this was not the relaxing break we had hoped for. This is a shame as the hotel has a nice traditional Mexican feel. The rooms are quiet (depending on your neighbours) and comfortable, and the weather on the whole was pretty good. The towel art by the maids is stunning!

The food was bland and mediocre and the nightly entertainment poor, mainly consisting of dancers miming to backing tracks. The promised 90 minutes free wifi each day was also a con. It has to be taken in 1 block and as the connection is frequently lost on some days we were lucky to get 2 minutes.

The best part of the holiday was the 2 flights on the new Dream Liner. This was our first visit to Mexico and we will not be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

just back from tequila fo the third time,and although we agree it could do with a revamp for the price we really can't fault it. Staff brillant especially Jon our waiter. Food brill and good choice. Entertainment staff still brill work so hard.It says please do not feed the animals so DON'T. Lunch at yucutan good but coffee machines were alwalys breaking down!!! should get a spare !! On the whole highly recomend it . Ps nice to see Gerardo back. If any trouble find him out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucyjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Visited here from 23rd November to 7th December. First thing I would say is that the staff are fantastic, can never do enough for you and keep the place immaculate. Also Meredith (one of the Thomson reps) went out of her way to assist us when wanting to book a special meal 20 minutes away from the hotel. The 3 restaurants we found to be very nice, despite other people’s opinions, in particular of the Mexican restaurant in the Yucatan.

Now the not so good points:

1) The British ‘holidaymakers’ who unashamedly got extremely drunk all day at the pool bar from 10:30 AM until late afternoon before stumbling around the pool and disappearing. This in full view of all others, including kids. Quite frankly I was embarrassed to say that I was from the same country as them. We eventually visited the Yucatan over the road which was much more laid back and civilised. What was worrying is that the bar staff didn’t seem to know when to stop serving these people, helping the states they got in to (nothing like a bit of self-control and responsibility though!) Oh and the vomit in and around the pool from said drunken brits, disgusting!

2) The ‘holidaymakers’ who ignored numerous signs and continued to feed the wild Coatis that others have mentioned on here. This lead to them ‘invading’ the pool area on numerous days, biting people and defacating all over the place.
NOTE: this has nothing to do with the hotel but the ignorant people who stay here and have no regard for others.

3) The food was disappointing. Whilst there was a large selection, the large selection was pretty much the same day in day out, particularly at lunchtime. I would recommend the Yucatan for lunch, it’s only a 5 minute walk and worth it. I expected things to be a bit spicy and more flamboyant so, in that respect, it didn’t meet our expectations. Also at busy periods, there seemed insufficient staff to cope with clearing tables, refilling food stations, etc.

4) The rooms have a foisty damp smell. We got used to it once there, however on returning home, clothes we hadn’t worn stunk of the same foisty smell so everything had to be washed. The hotel in general needs an upgrade which is due in 2016 according to the Thomson reps.

In summary I wouldn’t say this is a 4star+ or 5 star (as RIU class this as). The Grand Palace across the road is 5 star and there’s absolutely no comparison between the 2!! This is a 3 star (possibly +) in our eyes. The Yucantan across the road is rated as identical to the Tequila, and there is little or no comparison between these two hotels.

If you’re looking for a cheapish hotel in Mexico and don’t mind the loutish behaviour then this is the place for you! However the Yucatan across the road, seemingly comparable by RIU standards, seems a much better option. It’s a shame as the staff make the place a joy to be in, it’s fellow guests that appear to be spoiling it. We did complain to one of the managers but got no reply (difficult when he didn’t even ask for our room number to provide a response!), which I would of expected a reply to a complaint.

Oh and the Dreamliner was marvellous, especially in Premium!

Room Tip: Upper floor room to avoid the animals entering!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NewcastleJojo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#62 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,820 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,019 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Lupita
Hotel Riu Lupita
#78 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#41 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,538 reviews
11.0 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#29 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tequila

Address: Avenida Xaman-ha | Manzana 3, Lote 19, Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $169 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Tequila 3.5*
Number of rooms: 664
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Within the resort area Playacar along with the hotels Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and Riu Playacar * Main building and 1-story buildings * Surrounded by 48,000 m2 / 57,600 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 800 m / 2,650 ft. From the beach (complimentary shuttle) * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 300 m / 990 ft. From Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int'l Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tequila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Tequila Hotel
Riu Tequila Mexico
Hotel Riu Tequila
Riu Tequila Playa Del Carmen
Rui Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing