We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican Flag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Ranked #50 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mexican Flag”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at the Riu Tequila at the start of Oct for 2 weeks. The hotel was spotlessly clean, with people constantly working at keeping it that way. The staff from the cleaners, gardeners to the waiting and bar staff were all cheery and always had an 'Hola' for you. The food was lovely and plenty of it, nobody in our group had any problem finding something to eat or drink. The place itself is ideally situated near to Playa del Carmen, only 5 mins in a taxi or an half hour stroll, the beach is a 5 min walk away where we never failed to find vacant sunbeds to lay on along with numerous activities to participate in. The Riu Yucatan facilities by the beach can be used and again were top class.The Beach itself is large and the sea beautifully warm and clear, the fishes swim round your legs, my girlfriend even saw a baby ray in the sea near the shore!

If you want to go to Mexico then is place is a must for people of all ages and dispositions, i defy you not to enjoy the Riu Tequila, Playa del Carmen and Mexico!!

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor room, the Cooties wont pinch things from your balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bernie1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,508
    2,341
    638
    163
    132
See reviews for
1,919
3,797
92
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Best hotel i have been too, the accommodation was great, our room was 1705 and the cleaner was Pedro and i loved the towel animals thanks Pedro, the old feel of the hotel is great, better than the modern ones over the road, the restaurants and food , was lovely the whole 2 weeks we were there. the whole hotel is very clean everywhere you go. The staff on reception are very helpful and the bars are run excellent, The night entertainment is fantastic every night, great shows, i would love to go back there, best run hotel i have been too. Thank you to all the staff and Management for the best hospitality, very happy customer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diana p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Omg, those huge passion fruits, the tortilla chip salsa for breakfast, the lemurs, optics in your room!!!, cocktails in the pool. Sensational.

The people here are the happiest and friendliest I've ever encountered around the world. It's the perfect place to chill out and feel good. One thing though, don't ever book when it's Spring break in the US as you'll find the place full of very noisy Americans.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DavidMarsh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scunthorpe
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

stayed at riu tequila 19 july 2013 for 2 weeks.hotel and gardens very good but getting ready for a revamp.the riu youcatan reopened after revamp on our 2nd week spent quite a lot of time at youcatan as its directly on beachfront.but the tequila was only a short walk from beech,you walked past the youcatan to get there.we found the entertainment team better at the tequila than the youcatan.in general the tequila was very good.we had no problems with the food and the ala carts was very good.the playacar resort is very secure.we walked into playa del Carmen about 30 minute walk.it was very busy and you have to be very patient with street sellers they are a bit pushy but always a no thanks normally does the trick.i would return to the tequila but probally after its revamp.we was told this would be 2015 as the riu playacar was next for revamp in 2014.ps. don't feed the roaming type dogs they are protected but if you leave them alone they don't bother yoy

Room Tip: the resort is not as big as I thought.so any room would be ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigtt56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

first impressions of this hotel was AWWW LOVELY, very mexican looking, compared to some we saw on the way (which looked to modern, that you could be anywhere). I was travelling with my husband and we are 50 and 58 so thought we would be the oldies at the hotel but there is a very mixed age group so that was great (met some lovely people). Check in was smooth and swift and we even got a welcoming cool cocktail. when we reached the room the staff had decorated it with ballons etc as it was my birthday, i thought that was very thoughtful .... the staff are friendly and work hard all day (especially the cleaning staff) and night, (tipping is not expected but if you tip now and again you do get better service especially at the bars) the animation staff are good and they put on some great shows in the evening. the hotel grounds are well kept and spacious, the pool area okay but shaded with lots of trees so we went to the beach most days which is stunning, its a five minute walk through a lovely shaded walkway or you can wait for the beach shuttle which is every 10 mins or so. the food in main restaurant okay nothing special but plenty of choice, we went to steak house twice which was a bit rushed and we went to asian restaurant twice which we thought was much better enjoyed this the most, wished we gone more. we went on a trip to chitchen itza (booked with thomson) and it was brilliant, although its a 5.25am start in the morning as its 3hours away, the english speaking guide was very good and the service on the coach was good, we also went for a swim in a cenote and visited a colonial town all in the same day (lunch included and drinks) so good value for around £70 each. take plenty of sun screen as its boiling and take plenty of mosquito spray cos the hotels in the jungle. i would certainly go back to mexico albeit the flights long but well worth it had a great holiday, riu hotels and thomson airways are brands you can trust....... and one last thing -the hotel manager is FIT ......

Room Tip: upper floors best so you cant hear people moving furniture around or banging doors late at night alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mccartan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Riu Tequila, can't fault it at all. We went to all 3 of the hotels on the resort and feel that we made the right choice in terms of which one we chose to stay at as the Tequila is much more of an authentic Mexican style than the others.
The room was spotlessly clean and the mini bar was kept well stocked. The choice of food in the restaurant was fantastic and we were never short of something to eat. Entertainment was also good with something going on all the time if you chose to take part, if you didn't want to that was also fine.
The staff worked exceptionally hard and were always friendly.
The animals were a bit of a shock at first but once you got used to them they were fine although there were SOME STUPID PEOPLE WHO FED THEM even though there were signs saying not to do it and we were asked not to at the welcome meeting, they thought it was funny to see them swarming round them for food.

Overall a fantastic hotel and holiday

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our favourite hol ever! I can't really fault it as the staff were not only lovely, but also worked tirelessly: Everywhere was spotless and lovely, the food was amazing and the hotel has maintained a real Mexican feel.

HOWEVER, as an animal lover, I must offer an important tip...DON'T FEED THE COATIS or THE FRIENDLY WILD CATs, (cats are the favoured recipients) or any of the wildlife for that matter..! While we were there, 2 wild kittens were killed and an adult cat was mauled, no doubt during a scramble for food given out by misguided guests. These animals are losing their natural foraging/hunting instincts and this could be the ruin of this wonderful hotel as the coatis are in danger of becoming pests: It could also mean the death of the lovely cats as guests ignore the notices and staff pleas and continue to feed them! These guests are literally killing the wildlife they love with misguided kindness.

ALSO, and most importantly....most of the staff earn only about £3.50 a day basic and live in in extremely basic accommodation, some without water and electricity... It would be would be great if you can afford it, to give some money at the end of your stay as they have a union so it goes into a shared pool...(We probably gave out tips near £150 and even some clothes and shoes..., it's not expected, but it certainly eased our conscience).

Lastly, I'm not usually keen on in hotel entertainment, but the sheer effort these wonderful people put into their performance is absolutely amazing...don't forget to check them out either!!!

Room Tip: Upper rooms at the back are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Betty2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#51 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,838 reviews
11.0 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,553 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Lupita
Hotel Riu Lupita
#80 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#61 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,631 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#40 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tequila

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Address: Avenida Xaman-ha | Manzana 3, Lote 19, Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Tequila 3.5*
Number of rooms: 664
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Within the resort area Playacar along with the hotels Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and Riu Playacar * Main building and 1-story buildings * Surrounded by 48,000 m2 / 57,600 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 800 m / 2,650 ft. From the beach (complimentary shuttle) * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 300 m / 990 ft. From Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int'l Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tequila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Tequila Hotel
Riu Tequila Mexico
Hotel Riu Tequila
Riu Tequila Playa Del Carmen
Rui Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing