We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"some silly people"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Ranked #48 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
staffordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“"some silly people"”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Have had a fantastic time at the Tequila over the last two weeks.

Food- The food is excellent for most normal people however there seems to be a breed of lets get everything on the plate at once then after a few days complain it's all the same with no variety .

Drinks- various branded spirits ( if you ask for it ) not local hooch put into different bottles and larger beer that was acceptable along with coffee or soft drinks.

Rooms-spacious and clinical as regards cleanliness with good maid service

Reps- Ours (Thomson ) were most helpful very informative and hard working .

It was so nice to find all the bad behavior swearing, vomiting and very loud shouting coming from our North American cousins and not from us Brits .

Entertainment - The shows we saw were funny and well presented with a high standard of dancing.

Aircraft- The seats had good leg room ( I'm 6' tall) it's over sized people not under sized seats giving discomfort.

Beach- only 7 mins from reception to sea along a walkway or take the little shuttle cart if needed to a silver sanded beach with palm trees.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank staffordshiresanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,473
    2,328
    630
    161
    130
See reviews for
1,907
3,761
90
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Riu Tequila at the end of Feb beginning of March this year and had a really nice time.
We arrived at the Cancun airport and the transfer from the airport to the Tequila was about an hour with Thomsons. On arrival the check in was very quick and we were allocated a nice room (upstairs with a small balcony facing away from the pool – room 2709).

Room Information: The room was spacious with two (small) double beds put together, but that was fine. There was plenty of wardrobe and drawer space to put clothes. The room had an electronic safe (no fee for using this, just put in your own 4 digit code to lock / unlock). There was also a hairdryer, iron and ironing board. It also had a fridge (fully stocked with soft drinks beer, mixers and water) which is replenished every 2 days and 4 optics (Tequila, Vodka, Whisky and Rum)!

The room had a main bedroom area, with a separate sink area, a shower (no bath, but shower was pretty good), and a separate toilet area. The room was air conditioned, which was a bit noisy at first, but after adjusting the setting on this we soon got used to it.

A couple of things to note: 1) If you open the balcony sliding door, the air conditioning switches off. When you close the balcony door it comes back on again. 2) If you think that you have had a power cut and no lights come on in the room, it is because there a switch next to the door which contains a fuse and it turns off all the lights. Just look out for this and switch it back on again (it looks just like a normal light switch).

Overall, I don’t think that there would be many rooms which would be noisy – only from people opening and closing doors in rooms.

Food: The hotel is kept very clean and the staff work very hard. There are 2 pools, one with a swim up bar and one where activities are mainly done (i.e. water basketball, water aerobics etc). These are either side of the Lupita Restaurant where lunch is served (and it doubles up as the Steak House A La Carte Restaurant in the evenings). There is also an Asian Restaurant and the Main Buffet Restaurant. You can also go to the Mexican Restaurant but that is in the Riu Yuccatan hotel across the road. To book in any of the 3 A La Carte Restaurants, you must book on the day outside of the main restaurant in reception (there is someone there from 7.00am so my advice is to get there early if you want to book).

There was always plenty to eat and there is the Sports Bar open 24 hours a day, showing sport and providing drinks and fridges / microwaves for food as well (free). There are also a bunch of PC’s here for internet access (8 dollars for an hour – but you can stop and start this).

Sunbeds: These are plentiful, but if you want a sunbed that is in the sun, that may be a bit more tricky as there is a lot of shade.

Animals: There are coatis (a kind of cross between a racoon and an anteater) which roam around. We never had a problem with these, but it seemed that between about 4 and 5 pm there were more around the place. They are not a problem unless you start feeding them, then they start squeaking and attracting all their mates and before you know it there you will have about 30 around you! Just don’t feed them. You may also see the odd iguana and also some things that look like large guinea pigs.

Activities / Shows: The ‘animation’ team work hard to offer activities to people, volleyball, aerobics, petanque, water basketball, stretching, dancing, air rifle shooting, but there is no pressure to join in if you don’t want to. In the evening there are a mix of shows starting from 9.30 (Michael Jackson, Mamma Mia, Horror Show, Circus Show etc), some done by the staff and some by professional entertainers.

Opposite the Tequila there is the Riu Palace Hotel which you cannot use the facilities in (different coloured wrist band). As the Riu Tequilla does not have a beach front location, you just have to nip across the road and to the left is the Riu Playacar (smaller and quieter than the Tequila) and to the right s the Riu Yuccatan (busier), which you can use all the facilities in, plus they have beach fronts.

Mobile Phones / Internet: My wife and I have a Virgin mobiles, and we could not get any signal throughout the holiday on these. We ended up going up the road to a small group of shops and around the back is a place where you can make calls to the UK for 12 pesos/min (65p) to land line and 20 pesos/min (£1) to mobile. In reception you can get WiFi for free for 90 minutes a day, but once you connect for the day, you have 90 minutes from then – you cannot carry this forward. The Wifi is slow and a bit patchy. There is Free Wifi in Starbucks up the road if you buy something there. Alternatively you can use the PC’s in the Sports Bar (8 dollars an hour, but you can carry this forward).

Playa Del Carmen: A taxi to Playa Del Carmen is about 70 pesos ( about £3.50), where there are quite few shops / bars to look around, including Coco Bongos Night Club, Senior Frogs etc. This felt quite safe to walk around.There is also a WalMart which sells plenty of souveniers and Jose Quervo tequila is about £6 for a litre.

Weather: Most days it was warm and sunny up to around 28 degrees. However it did get a bit overcast on a few days and we did have a couple of days where the evenings were quite cool - bring a light fleece. The beach can get a bit breez as well.

Excursions: We went to Chichen Itza with Thomsons, which was very good. It was a 5.30 pick up in the morning, but we were pretty much the first people at Chichen Itza for the day, which was great. This tour went in a large coach with toilet, and there were drinks and food provided on the tour as well, along with a tour guide. This trip also included a visit to a cenote (underground river, where you could swim if you wanted) and a visit to Vallodolid to see the cathedral (which was shut when we went there). However, this was a very good day out.

All in all, we were very satisfied with choosing the Riu Tequila. It was good value for money and the option of being able to use the facilities at the other Rius was good as well. I’d definitely go to a Riu again. Would I go back, possibly, but I’d probably choose the Riu Playacar as it was quiet and had the beach front location, but horses for courses I suppose. If you have chosen the Riu Tequila , you will enjoy yourself. Have fun!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ExeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed March 25th for two weeks. Hotel spotlessly clean ,in nice location ten minutes from the beach. We chose the Tequila over the Playacar and Yucatan (sister hotels whose facilities you can use) because we felt it may be a little quieter around the pool as being away from the beach. Ok til about 10.30 when the Americans turn up , feeling the need to high five over everything from eating a burger to "doing shots " anything. Then insisting on throwing their little ball ( looks like a childs rugby ball), usually by boys called Cody or Todd.
The food choices were pretty good , with a good selection throughout don't know why some say it can be repetitive. Asian restaurant was ok although the deep fried ice cream was disappointing as all the reviews seem to say how amazing it was (???) but again maybe reviews from people who like stuff deep fried (chips, mars bars, squirrels).
The staff work extremly hard , cleaners, restaurant and bar staff and are a credit to the hotel with a special mention to Veronica who works in the bar next to the main stage, ask for a Chocolate Margarita , not on menu. Lovely lady .
Previous review said reps were rubbish but in our experience they're probably the best we've come across.Meredith met us and had our welcome meeting with her next day and always seemed to be about if anybody needed assistance.
Overall a nice place to visit, food good in all restaurants, plenty of bars all over three sites, best pool for peace at Playacar best to drink Yucatan pool bar.
Only downside was the noisy North Americans except the ones from Minnesota.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Tubedriver67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I know the whole all-inclusive resort thing is pretty hokey. That said, I found this resort to be fantastic. They really go the extra mile (kilometer) to make sure their guests are happy and the food was much better than expected. While not being right on the beach was a concern, it really was no problem at all. It's easy to access the beach from the resort and sometimes when the wind was high, it was nice to get away from the beach. I definitely recommend this if you can get a great rate like we did. Totally worth it for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We actually stayed sleeping wise at the Riu Yucatan across the road, and it was a brilliant hotel, no downside for us. Equally every day we went to the Tequila, this is across the road from the Riu Yucatan and you can share hotel facilities.

Both hotels we found similar except the Tequila much quieter, no beach, they shared ours at the other hotel. The pools are nice, peaceful when we went and surrounded by jungle trees. The rooms are smaller than the yucatan, but equally just as nice. We went over to the sports bar to watch UK football at 9am in the morning which seemed strange. The food was nice and we loved the bar near reception and the theatre where each day we saw them rehearsing. The foyer has free wifi for 90 mins each day the same time. I used it there and the yucatan. Staff all friendly. In fact we loved this hotel just as much as the Riu Yucatan, cannot fault it. Again if you walk outside turn left for 5 mins you will hit the plaza shops, or continue walking into playa del carmen, or flag a cab for £3.50. The yucatan is across the street, go through the foyer down to the beach, or catch the buggy from the tequila to the beach.

The Riu Yucatan is up for a makeover next month, if it goes up a lot when we come back we shall go here to the Tequila, not much difference and you can still use the other riu hotels.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Derwentrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Had a really bad experience with the Thompson pre travel service, indian call centres and frustrating customer service, we really did not know what to expect when we got there. The hotel was amazing. A little bit of a maze at first, took a couple of days to get used to the lay out of all the blocks but not a problem.
The restaurants were lovely, you have to queue up early in the morning at breakfast to book a table for that evening but you won't be disappointed. The steak house was our favourite, they did us a special honeymoon dinner of king prawns, steak and pork medallions and decorated the table especially. Very nice attention to detail.
This hotel is not directly on the beach but it is only a 5 minute walk or a shuttle ride away (the shuttle doesn't run for a couple of hours in the middle of the day). Once you get to the beach the views are breathtaking. There are watersports on the beach right by the other Riu hotel, the cayaks are free to hire and the body boards and catamarans are free too, you have to pay for the jet-skis. In the hotel they offer a free skuba diving session that's useful if you wanted to try it out in the sea...i wasn't that brave! Very authentic Mexican decor, not modern but not in any way in disrepair.
Lovely courtyard bar and outdoor entertainment. There was a show most evenings but the neighbouring hotels also have entertainment you can go and see. Fabulous cocktails and when at the poolside they bring your cocktails to you.
There's a taxi rank right at the entrance of the hotel and it was very cheap to get around. Definitely recommend taking a taxi to 5th avenue, there are lots of shops and restaurants and shows in the square. There was so much to see, we didn't have enough time.
I swam with dolphins at 'delphinus' which was a life long dream of mine and i was not disappointed. Don't be fooled by the big sales pitch your tour rep will give you, they try to sell you a huge package for $200+. I went just outside the hotel to a ticket office and paid $80 for 45 minute swim with the dolphins which includes a kiss! If you are going with a partner and they don't want to swim, the transfer includes them too and they can go into the poolside and take photographs of you which was fantastic as their photos were very overpriced. Like i said, amazing holiday, highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lana1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have just returned from a 2 week holiday at the Riu Tequila and I dont have anything but amazing comments to say about it. The food, service, rooms, location, staff and most important bars are fantastic. Everyone at the hotel is very friendly and really make your stay that extra bit special.

The hotel is very clean and a very well kept resort. One of the best things about the Riu hotels is you can use the facilities of the other 2 hotels which are about 2 minute walk from the hotel. The beaches around the area are the best I have ever been to with some much to do around the area. If you are into your watersports then you are spoilt for choice!

The town of playa del carmen is around a 30 minute walk along the beach (which i suggest you do) and the town is buzzing with people/ shops/bars and most important you feel very safe there. One thing I suggest you do is visit coco bongos (nightclub) its like no other nightclub ive ever been to before!

The hotel and staff were fantastic and really made the holiday that extra bit special for me and my girlfriend. I highly recommend this hotel because its great value for money and you won't want to leave!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#59 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,579 reviews
12.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,315 reviews
10.9 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#41 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#50 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,782 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Lupita
Hotel Riu Lupita
#80 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tequila

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Address: Avenida Xaman-ha | Manzana 3, Lote 19, Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Tequila 3.5*
Number of rooms: 664
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Within the resort area Playacar along with the hotels Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and Riu Playacar * Main building and 1-story buildings * Surrounded by 48,000 m2 / 57,600 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 800 m / 2,650 ft. From the beach (complimentary shuttle) * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 300 m / 990 ft. From Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int'l Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tequila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Tequila Hotel
Riu Tequila Mexico
Hotel Riu Tequila
Riu Tequila Playa Del Carmen
Rui Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing