We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Tequila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riu Tequila
Ranked #47 of 210 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We came ere for r honeymoon n gotta say it was the best holiday, destination n hotel we av Eva been,stayed in I cud not praise this hotel enough, plenty of food, plenty entertainment, fantastic ppl & staff, wud go bk 2mo if I cud, rooms r full of everything u need n it also comes with its own bar that get filled up every 2days, the staff r always cleaning there is never a leaf on the ground always cutting grass n cleaning any dirt of the paths it was just prefect.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kerrycarlmerritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,026
    2,081
    576
    149
    121
See reviews for
1,692
3,348
81
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Arrived on the 17th December with my husband, 2 sons (21 and 25) and my daughter and her husband and stayed for 10 days. Weather was fantastic, between 27 – 30C every day. We all agreed: Best holiday we ever had! Staff in general, especially the bar staff were excellent. The rooms were spacious and well equipped and clean but could do with a little updating. But then we did not come all this way to stay in the hotel room! The fridge was filled up every two days and there were also 4 bottles of spirits with optics attached. We did not try the spirits as there was drink available everywhere all day and night. The evening buffet was excellent with plenty of choice. Lunchtimes was also buffet service and we used to go to the Riu Jucatan opposite as there was some waiter service for drinks available. We tried the Chinese Restaurant, which was ok, the best thing about it was the Sushi buffet. Although other reviewers recommended the Steak House, we did not think it was anything special. Christmas Eve Gala Dinner was spectacular with huge roasts of various meats, turkey, fish etc. Staff spent two days decorating the reception and restaurant for Christmas. Breakfast was excellent, loads of choice and fresh made juices out of the blender, papaya, melon and lots of others. All bars have a large menu of cocktails which are also freshly made to order.
There were many Canadians and Americans in the resort and unlike others mentioned, we really enjoyed their company, had some great nights with young and old and made new friends.
We ventured to Playa la Carmen a few times. It’s about a 20 minute walk. Taxi back is about 70 pesos. It is quite traditional and low rise with lots of shops including designer. Most take Dollars or Pesos. The restaurants are ok but we mainly went there to shop and have a decent Mexican beer. If you want any food items or spices there is a Walmart nearby which is much cheaper than the shops. They also had clothing and souvenirs.
One tip: If you go with Thomson or First Choice don’t book the VIP departure lounge at the airport. We did for 6 of us and when we got there, it was full. It’s very small and not worth it. We spent most of our time at the airport trying to get our money back!
A fantastic holiday, great facilities, lovely staff, can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank renifos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Couldn't recommend this place more - we had such a good time!

We couldn't get over how good it was, the grounds were beautiful, the staff fun, friendly and helpful and the food and drink were plentiful and often out of this world! Set in the jungle, a short walk from the beach, it was an amazing tropical paradise and we couldn't ask for more!

Our favourite spot - the pool bar!

Thanks Riu Tequila - from Sam and Jess

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jess_H_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Just got back from 10 days at the tequila, and can honestly say this is a good quality 4-5 star All inclusive resort. Pool areas and gardens are kept very clean and maintained well. Rooms are a little dated but kept immaculate our housekeeper was called Nancy and deserves a special mention. Food is ok, we could always find something to eat although we mainly eat in the steak house and the asian restaurant, even though it was a bit repetitive after the first week. The red wine is terrible in the restaurants, we asked at the main bar if we could have a bottle of red wine to take with us to the restaurants, they couldn't do this but did put a bottle of wine in our room every day to take with us. The wine at the main bar is different from the restaurants. We stayed in room 214 which was ideally located. Take some mosquito plug ins as we did get bitten a few times. The beach is a 10 min walk away but the shuttle service that is provided was fantastic. We had lunch at the beach most days which was enjoyable and the fresh pizza was great as a light snack. There are animals in the resort that can cause a nusance but the hotel is situated near a jungle so what do you expect, all restaurants have netting to keep the animals out but birds still get in, just dont leave your plates un attended.
I would return to the Tequila tomorrow given the chance, but I will look at other resorts in the area if we were to return to Mexico again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lollo2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Dorset
Level Contributor
147 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic Mexican holiday. Spent the first week exploring the Yucatan peninsular and the second week relaxing at the Riu Tequila. I cannot understand any of the complaints about the food. I did not have one bad experience and the main International restaurant had an incredible selection of foods suitable for everyone. The food was varied, freshly cooked and appetising. There was always a good selection of Mexican food available. The ice carvings and fruit and veg carvings were worthy of the 5* cruise ships. The staff in the restaurants were always friendly, polite and courteous. Empty plates were removed promptly and empty wine glasses quickly refilled. The location of the hotel is perfect; just a short walk to the pristine, powder soft white sands where there are plenty of sunbeds for everyone. Lovely to be able to walk along the beach without being hassled - you can walk along to Puerta del Carmen. There are some people who will ask you if you are interested in trips, but they are not pushy at all. The pool areas are noisier, but that is because of the swim up bars and activities that take place there. There are plenty of quieter spots to find. The room was huge and kept beautifully clean. A different towel sculpture every day! All in all a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This holiday was amazing, i was expecting it to be good but it exceeded my expectations! The weather was 32 - 35 all holiday and we were there just after christmas and left at the beggining of Jan. The staff were always on hand and gave excellent service. i was away with a large group (38 of us) and we all had the best holiday! i was away for my 21st they decorated my room layed all my cards out and there was even a cake outside my door in the morning with a note from reception and a gift. We had a wedding the day after and it was beautiful, the layout the pictures on the beach and we even had a mexican band play before we had dinner! Overall amazing experience and want to go back already. Would recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Demileighox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleborough, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is the 2nd Riu hotel I've been to and yes it does have a lot of good points but also a few bad ones, maybe more so due to going over Christmas. Firstly the good All the staff couldn't do more to make you feel welcome the rooms were large and were cool and quiet, the raccoon like animals which wandered around the hotel were also very entertaining to watch from the balcony. Large choice of drinks and a wide selection of food which was very good and the weather at Christmas was perfect. now the downside also large crowds to get to the bar. plus the beer in some bars was awful and tasted bad and smelled. We had to give up trying to eat on Christmas day due to the hundreds of people queuing up to try to get food on their plates all at once. Smoked salmon and Lobsters don't look so good when you are in the biggest school dinner queue in the world and there are 10 pairs of hands grabbing at the food. The hotel does need updating which I think is on the cards. A kettle tea and coffee would be more appreciated than vodka tequila and rum optics in the room. Entertainment and fell of the place well what can I say Riu Hotels "Pontins with Champagne"

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#60 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 4,983 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Lupita
Hotel Riu Lupita
#80 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 2,347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#51 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 4,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#24 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 4,850 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#37 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 4,841 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#41 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 5,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Tequila

Property: Hotel Riu Tequila
Address: Avenida Xaman-ha, Manzana 3, Lote 19 | Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Tequila 3.5*
Number of rooms: 664
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Within the resort area Playacar along with the hotels Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and Riu Playacar * Main building and 1-story buildings * Surrounded by 48,000 m2 / 57,600 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 800 m / 2,650 ft. From the beach (complimentary shuttle) * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 300 m / 990 ft. From Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int???L. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Riu Tequila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Tequila Hotel
Riu Tequila Mexico
Riu Tequila Playa Del Carmen
Clubhotel Riu Tequila
Rui Tequila
Hotel Riu Tequila Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing