We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all inclusive holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Ranked #48 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
HULL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good all inclusive holiday”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is a good place to stay for a week however it is maybe over the top with food. Anyone on a diet dont go! Food is gorgeous but probably if there was less choice you would get a lot of what you really liked rather than bit of everything. Has 3 restaurants in which food is served to you at the table.
The drinks were excellent all branded drinks with extensive cocktail collection!
It does cater more for the American that the british though!
the rooms were spacious and kept incredibly clean.
Every member of staff in this hotel just wants to please!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sdrury83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,466
    2,321
    628
    161
    130
See reviews for
1,903
3,754
90
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bungay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

had a really good holiday. food there was a lot of choice but did get abit samey towards the end of 2 weeks. entertainment was good and the rui team worked very hard.
the animals were very cute if you don't feed them, they don't hang around they move onto to the next sunbed.
the rui tequlia hotel is a great place to go and i would recommend to a friend.

Room Tip: ask for one near reception, as i asked for one near pool and was right down near kids club quite a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Went to this hotel 18 months ago,quite enjoyed our stay,thought we would go back. Big mistake.
Room was stinking of damp, ceiling and walls covered in black mould, fridge not working , electrics dodgy, to top it off air con packed in .Asked to be moved, they wanted us to say in there another night. New room was a lot better as long as you ignored the vomit stains on the wall.

Everywhere was a let down over run by the coati, stealing your food and belongings, saw several run up trees with people's bags, and there fighting was quite scary 30 plus fighting for a cup of lemonade.

Food is terrible, same everyday , poor quality.
Could go on, save your money go somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Solomoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Myself and two friends went to the Riu Tequila for a week in January 2011 (so not in December 2011 as the other section says, for some reason there was no later choice than that) - almost immediately after we arrived, we realized that we should've booked two weeks! Finding the bus transportation and going from the Cancun airport to Playa del Carmen was a speedy process, after which we were greeted with a fruit punch cocktail at the Riu Tequila. The hotel grounds are absolutely breathtaking - the rooms are located in different buildings around the pool area, but the amount of trees, greenery and animals was a wonderful surprise! Strolling around the grounds was actually a positive thing in my opinion; even though our room was probably one of the rooms furthest away from the main building, I think it was actually a good thing to be away from the hustle and bustle. The room itself was clean enough, we did notice that there was a small gap between the ground and the outside door so ants and bugs could get in quite easily, but this wasn't a huge problem. In addition, the bathroom was an interesting experience for three friends travelling together - the bathroom area itself was an open space, with closable curtains on the sides instead of an actual door. So the bathroom area opened up first with the basin and a mirror (with the minibar and the bottles of stronger spirits next to it), with the toilet in a separate area with a lockable door and the shower next to that with a shower curtain. An interesting set-up, but not a negative thing, just something to look out for!

The reason we chose to go to Mexico was to have a relaxing beach holiday - someone might wonder why we chose the Riu Tequila then, as it's not directly on the beach, but after reading the great reviews we figured that a short distance to the beach couldn't be a problem. And it certainly wasn't! The walkway from the Riu Tequila to the beach was another great pathway amongst the trees, birds and animals, and when feeling especially lazy (like after spending a few hours too many doing nothing but lying around on the beach!), the cart was available for travelling the short distance between the beach and hotel (with the friendliest driver ever, we loved the fact that he always waved to everyone walking up or down the walkway!). The beach restaurant was great for getting small snacks and water to stay hydrated, and the neighboring Riu hotel's pool bar was also available to Riu Tequila's customers - I don't know if the drinks were watered down or not, but that made absolutely no difference, they were delicious and refreshing!

Now for the food - this was our first all-inclusive trip and I have to admit, I had my reservations. Needless to say, I was blown away by the breakfast and dinner buffets! There was everything you could think of on offer and even the pickiest diner could find plenty of options from there. The dinner themes varied and we definitely did not get tired of eating in the same place all the time.

I feel like we didn't see enough during our stay so I would definitely go back to Playa del Carmen, this time for two weeks, and will DEFINITELY stay at the Riu Tequila again! (as a side note, this says a lot, although an avid traveller, I have never gone to the same location twice, but this time I'll have to make an exception!)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kaikkom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

What can you say about a hotel and chain like this, it must go down as a fabulous place. So friendly and a great fun place. Something is always going on or you can just relax and allow the days to float by. The food was some of the best that I have had on a package holiday, a sentimate echoed by the other eight people in our group. As always though food becomes very samey and you do sometimes wish for home cooked food. The beaches are a wonderful place to be with super white sand and a bar close by to keep you refreshed. There are plenty of activities to keep you interested and the standard sellers walking the beaches but they were not pushy at all. The fact that you can use all the facilities in the other hotels in the chain makes it more fun so that you can go to other places and still have food and drink is a great touch. We had a problem with a damp room on arrival which turned out to be an air conditioner. We were moved with no problem and could not complain about the rooms. Spotlessly clean and the towel animals were a really nice feature. The evening entertainment is O.K at best and is the bit that lets it down they try thier hardest though so you cannot ask for more then that I suppose. The whole complex is very clean in fact, a wonderful place to go and would recommend it to anyone. The only problem with mexico is the fact that you are ripped off at an alarming rate which became so tiresome that we stopped going out to the towns. You are fair game as a tourist but that ecconomy does not add up, and for that reason I for one will never go to mexico again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank muzzyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This review is slightly over due, I visited Riu Tequlia in May 2012 for 2 weeks with my boyfriend and it is the best holiday we have ever been on! We booked through TUI, it was such great value. After a 10 hour flight, we arrived at the airport, had to que for about 40 minutes and were then greeted by a nice Mexican man who offered to take our suitcases to our coach for us. You can feel the heat as soon as you step outside and it was lovely! When we were on our way to the hotel, we were offered a nice cold corona to help us start relaxing. We were at the hotel within half an hour or so and were greeted by the hotel staff with a welcome cocktail, our welcome packs and were shown to our rooms. When walking to our rooms, we were amazed at the animals and birds that were just wandering around, it was amazing!

Our rooms were great, a little dated but excellent quality, very spacious and were always cleaned to a high standard. The food is amazing there is so much choice for breakfast, lunch and dinner and is some if the best fiod we have ever eaten abroad. Make sure you try the steak house by the pool! We didn't try the Asian restaurant, we did go to the Mexican on the beach, it was very nice but nothing special if I'm honest. The beach is breathtaking, white sand, crystal blue sea, palms trees and everybody is so friendly! There are plenty of sun beds to pick from and we always got a great spot even when it was busy. Make sure you take sun cream - the highest SPF we took was 20 and we got very burnt!

There are some excellent excursions to go on, we went to chitchen Itza, swimming with dolphins and Xcaret. Chitchen. Itza was fantastic, we saw a wander of the world, we got shown around some ancient buildings and got to buy some lovely souvenirs. The tour guides really take care of you, offering beer and food on the coach and making sure everybody has enough water and an umbrella if you are too hot when outside. We also went swimming in a cenote - it's freezing but trust me just do it, it's incredible! We also went to an old Spanish town where we saw how Mexicans live. Swimming with dolphins were great although we didn't buy any photos as they were very expensive. Xcaret was a great day out, we went snorkelling, had a nice lunch, saw shows and animals and got a cab safely back to our hotel.

The entertainment is the best I have ever seen at a hotel, the animation team work very hard and out on a different show every night. They have kids dances, music and then a show which usually finishes around 10 before the nightclub opens. The sports bar is open 24/7 and always serves drinks and has a refrigerator with burgers, hot dogs, sandwiches and of course... Nachos!

Some tips:

The taxis outside the hotel are very reasonably priced and safe
Mexicans are very friendly and happy so make sure you say hello to them!
Learn some basic Spanish before you go - they really appreciate it
Mexicans like to be tipped
Would definitely recommend chitchen Itza
Feed the coatis - they are completely harmless and will do anything for food! Very funny and cute!
Don't buy gifts from the stalls in the hotel - they rip you off. Go to the little markets where they are much cheaper (come out of the hotel and turn left)
There is a Starbucks (again come out the hotel and turn left) and every day 3pm-5pm is buy one get one free on cold drinks
Best time to go is Nov-April. We travelled in May and the weather was great but we did get some rain storms.

This honestly is the best holiday I have ever been on. Please ignore any negative comments some people obviously are too fussy and have ridiculous expectations. I didn't want to ramble on but I have! Please message me if you have any questions!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank lisak89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel. The food was excellent, the staff friendly and the rooms clean and quite lovely (the various "towel animals" were a really nice touch). Upon arrival in our room we saw a book about Mexico on our bed, which was a gift to us from the hotel. We also got a lovely painting from the hotel as a sign of hospitality between it and Sunwing, our travel provider. Our only "complaint" about the room was that the beds were extremely hard. But this wouldn't stop us from coming back. The beach is across the street at Riu Yucatan but it only takes a couple of minutes to walk there. If you don't feel like walking, there's a little trolley that runs every 10 minutes to pick you up and drop you off. Gorgeous white sand, turquoise water and lots of palm trees for shade. We really enjoyed the wildlife (we saw one cat and lots of coatis, an animal that looks like a cross between an ardvark and a lemur). While all the bartenders were good, Veronica was the best. She always made sure we had a drink in front of us, without us asking. A great week at a great resort!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#60 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,562 reviews
12.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,294 reviews
10.9 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#41 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,755 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Lupita
Hotel Riu Lupita
#80 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tequila

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Address: Avenida Xaman-ha | Manzana 3, Lote 19, Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Tequila 3.5*
Number of rooms: 664
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Within the resort area Playacar along with the hotels Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and Riu Playacar * Main building and 1-story buildings * Surrounded by 48,000 m2 / 57,600 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 800 m / 2,650 ft. From the beach (complimentary shuttle) * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 300 m / 990 ft. From Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int'l Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tequila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Tequila Hotel
Riu Tequila Mexico
Hotel Riu Tequila
Riu Tequila Playa Del Carmen
Rui Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing