We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favourite Riu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Ranked #48 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
surrey, england
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Riu”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I would score this 4.5 if I had the option. It is nearly perfect. The staff in particular are very well above average. The food choice is excellent both in variety and quality. The rooms are a little tired, however they are spotlessly clean. Our House keeper Joel did an absolutely amazing job. Every day there was lovely towel art on our bed to welcome us back from our day on the beach.
The A La Carte choices aren't really that special, apart from the Steak House which has proper waiter service.
We were invited to a Head Chefs special dinner one evening, which was really wonderful.
The walk to the beach between the Riu Yucaton and the Riu Palace Mexico was fine.(Although while we were there the Palace was being refurbished so was very dusty and noisy) Apparently the Yuaton is going to be refurbished early 2013, so I guess it will continue to be a noisy and dirty walk for quite a while.
We were on an upper level floor which was perfect. The Coatis are absolutely lovely, though very cheeky. They seem to drink a lot of alcohol, my husband put his pinacolada down by his sunbed by the pool which was drunk by a thirsty coati putting his snout into the cup and happily slurping it down.
We has great weather, we did one trip to Xel ha (which was great) and walked down the beach to playa del Carmen, which was a lovely walk, especially on the way back with the sun setting.

Our flight back with thomson was pretty poor 12 hr 48 min delay. Picked up from the hotel before midnight and the plane not leaving until 05.35. We were supposed to be leaving at 12.45 (Lunchtime).
Thomson didn't provide any food or drinks for the long stay at the airport, I has a little money left so could buy a few bits. I had paid for sesating together £120 which we didn't get and the plane was grubby with the most uncomfortable seats. The plane over was First Choice and back Thomson.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pamela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,466
    2,321
    628
    161
    130
See reviews for
1,903
3,754
90
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Came back on 29th Oct this year. The hotel is lovely although i would not rate this as five star.
The rooms and beds are huge with decent shower and kept immaculate by the cleaning staff who are great. It was my 50th birthday and for the full 2 weeks i was there i had balloons everywhere and different towel animals. We arrived to a nice cold drink and check in was so quick. Beware that some of the rooms are a little bit of a walk from reception. The weather was fantastic only a quick couple of showers. The beach is a 5 min walk or u can get the little cart. We stayed near the pool as it was easier access to cooling down and our rooms, the pool was lovely and kept clean. There were lots of animals about especially racoon type but they dont bother you unless u are eating or drinking but they are very gentle and leave u alone if u dont bother with them but there are alot of them especially around food time. Staff were great, reception staff seem to have problems understanding you though as we had a prob with air conditioning, we eventually got it sorted. 5th Avenue is brill a must do but in the evening as it is cooler and all lit up stays open til late. Xcaret is great too lots to do. There is some stalls five mins away left out of the hotel which is a nice walk after the great food u eat. Food amazing cannot understand anyone who complains about this. Must admit drinks did not taste anything like. Beware no tea and coffee facilities so take cups kettle and tea/coffee. It would be better if they took the optics out of the room and provide this facility instead, because there are plenty of other drinks in the fridges in your room. TV's and ariels could do with updating as ours was old and signal poor even though we didnt watch it all the time just while getting ready etc. But we did notice that some other blocks nearer the reception had new TVs and a great picture. We found this to be a great resort and i think the best out of the other hotels on the complex. You can safely walk about and 5th Ave is a 5 min taxi ride for 75 peso which is about £5. You can take dollars and pesos but beware this hotel does not change any money to dollars or vice versa. We used both for tipping. The chefs and waiters work extremely hard from morning to night. There are 3 restaurants you can book in a morning we did not have any trouble getting in. Asian was our favourite. We could always get a sun bed near the pool but i must warn you they do go by 10am. This was a great relaxing holiday and a very beautiful place.

Room Tip: Ground floor facing the pool was great as the sun faces your terrace in a morning and was quiet cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife and two children aged 13 and 15 both girls. Had a fab time here and were very impressed with the amazing value for money. We paid circa £1200 each and had a great time. All the positive things people are saying on here are true. Drinks/food/ cleanliness / staff / all really good. Entertainment staff do a really good job here. Shows are very entertaining although some are a bit butlins style good fun thought. You do get the bennys here (benefit SCROUNGERS) but if you just ignore them they will just continue to prop up the bar and smoke themselves silly in front of there swearing 3year old children. I would rate it a 3-4 star in an English rating hotel. Animals are cute here and aren't too much trouble. Just dong leave food lying around or drinks. The coatis like lemonade or anything with lemonade in it so tend to be pretty drunk and more daring as the day goes on because there more drunk. Didn't see any monkeys though. Birds were a bit of a problem in dining areas ( my wife has a stupid bird phobia ) but staff did there best to shoe them away. Cats are cute too and help scare birds away so if you dobg lke birds just feed the cat some of your chicken and he'll stay by your side. Overall superb value for money and the other whingers on here need to realise that no it's not 5 star but if that's what you want then you need to pay more and go elsewhere. We stay at a lovely 5 star in the Maldives every other year and pay £7000 for it. ( not £1200 each). Summing up then.... I recommend this place very much and remember to avoid the bennys .... And if you are a benny then you'll find others here of your kind to mix and huddle with whilst smoking and drinking yourself silly ( oh and get a fill time job of course and stop sponging of me )

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jamesmason885111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I echo all the positive comments on here. The staff and in particular the entertainment team are wonderful. We went with our 6 year old daughter, she LOVED the kids club and is usually quite nervous about leaving us! The pool was great, the beach was stunning. The food was very good, but got a bit samey after 11 days. All in all a great holiday and we would definitely return to Playacar again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ineedabreak2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've stayed to this resort for 1 week during my trip in Riviera Maya. The room was nice and clean. The staff from the reception to the animation team are friendly and welcoming. The food at the restaurants is very good. This resort is located near the town which can be reach on foot in 30 minutes or by cab in 5 minutes. The resort is not located next to the beach but it is accessible by only a 5 minute walk or by golf car. We can use some of the facilities of the other RIU resorts.One thing to know is at the restaurants they don't allow sports shorts and the knees the sholders (for the guys) must be covered. Overall I would recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool are mostly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bg26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
171 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A great welcome, drinks handed out and our bags taken within minutes and keys to rooms handed over without fuss. Within 10 minutes we were exploring this interesting hotel.
The highest level is the first floor (seems like thats the norm in Mexico).
Mature tropical gardens all around the rooms and the swimming pools. The hotel which at first appears to be very large is not quite so large once you get used to all the paths and retsaurants and bars which have been well constructed into a jungle setting. Even the wild life have been allowed to co-exist alongside the visitors. They are no problem at all unless you dont like animals that is - be patient, after all, they have to live too! There is plenty of space for all the guests to enjoy privacy on their ballconies and around the pools. Waiters sometimes interupt that privacy with offers of exotic drinks from their trays and the bar boys and girls in the pool bar laugh rather too loudly. Lots of entertainment staff around to take the kids away to the play swimming pool for games in the afternoons. Lunch time snacks were wonderful and dinners too what ever you chose. Breakfast time brought endless fresh fruit, seemingly from heaven itself while the staff serve you in a first class way.
Rooms all spotlessly clean and the maid left lovely dressed up dolls made from towels. Rooms of huge sizes; 18' square 12' ft square changing rooms and bathrooms. Room optics topped up every other day and the room fridge drinks also were made good at the same time. Dont be shy, use the laundry service its quick and very reasonably priced.
Best restaurant is the Steak House (served to you at the table) and second best is the Asia which is a buffet. If you choose niether of these then you have the main restaurant serving Mexican Italian and all sorts of delightful things. The Thompson reps do a good job here and they have a box where travellers leaving can leave books and other items for the incoming travellers to use. (I must mention a group of 45 people from Yorkshire who were there for a wedding. They had a ball for the 10 days and the actual wedding towards the end of their stay in the gardens looked a dream - regards to the grand daddie of them all; Dean aged 84 who wanted to see his grandaughter married and travelled all that way to do so.Well done Dean! They all looked after him especially well because he was in a wheel chair- they all took it in turns each day to see that he was OK. Yorkshire people at their best! It was a pleasure to have met them all.)
Thats all the best points covered now for the not so good items: the beach is across the road and down a long covered walk way. Would be nicer if the hotels alongside that walk way had been already built instead it was a dusty noisey walk way to the beach. There is a train which gets you down there in a few minutes so that helped.
The free beer and wine were all inferior to the UK and we couldnt buy better at the hotel (none on offer).Not all the restaurants were open all day and the Sports Bar, which was open 24 hours, offered poor quality basic food - sandwiches with week beer and spirits. Fancy a burger late on at night? - then you can get a cold one here to microwave - Ugh, best avoided. The breakfast restauarant was a good walk away from our room - we were in 1311- and since there are no coffee or tea making facilities in the rooms (5* ???) we were thirsty for something by the time we arrived in the restaurant each day.Use the bottled water supplied - dont drink the tap water what ever you do.
The main problem was that to book to dine in either of the two main restaurants you had to do so between 7am and 8am otherwise you were too late, they would be fully booked so nothing but the main restaurant for you if you are a late riser.You are only allowed to book on the day - so the day you arrive you will be too late to dine in a special dining restaurant.
The TV in the room was second rate quality (they are not digital yet) and English channels were few and poor, CNN was OK.. The TVs in the Sports Bar are small 28" there are 16 of them but none big enough to watch your favorite match with pleasure.
Worse there is no room service (5*???). The very worst of all is this: at 6.30 am every single morning they use noisy mechanical blowers to blow away leaves from the shrubbery and lawns. A simple brush would do the job quietly. Watch out for insect bites, go prepared for they will attack the minute you step off the plane.Never leave your food unattended at a table - for when you return the 'wild life' will have had most of it. Birds and the lovely creatures which resemble squirrels are watching you and will swoop instantly you trun your back. The weather is so hot that whatever you take is likely to be too heavy - choose micro light clothing - the type of things you can never wear in the UK.

Room Tip: There is no wine in the rooms (spirts yes, but no wine). I00 yards out of the hotel to the left you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FraternalEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a 2-week stay at the Riu Tequila. It was our third trip to the area (having stayed in the past at the Gran Melia in Cancun and the Grand Riviera Princess in Playa Del Carmen).

At the Riu Tequila we were very impressed with the cleanliness, the quality of the food, the services, the staff, the nightly shows and the beach.

It was a great vacation and a great value for what we paid ($1,322 CAD for 2 weeks from Oct 21-Nov 4 through Sunwing or Expedia). Prices may be higher now.

Our only complaint has nothing to do with the resort and has been mentioned by others before....tons of smokers everywhere (OMG, in this day and age people still do this? And around their children?!?). Oh, and bring your hockey helmet and gloves when you go to the buffet stations...it can get pretty competitive with many rude people lacking any buffet etiquette whatsoever....but that's it. The resort itself is great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkljk j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#60 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,567 reviews
12.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,295 reviews
10.9 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#41 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,759 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Lupita
Hotel Riu Lupita
#80 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tequila

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Address: Avenida Xaman-ha | Manzana 3, Lote 19, Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Tequila 3.5*
Number of rooms: 664
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Within the resort area Playacar along with the hotels Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and Riu Playacar * Main building and 1-story buildings * Surrounded by 48,000 m2 / 57,600 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 800 m / 2,650 ft. From the beach (complimentary shuttle) * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 300 m / 990 ft. From Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int'l Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tequila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Tequila Hotel
Riu Tequila Mexico
Hotel Riu Tequila
Riu Tequila Playa Del Carmen
Rui Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing