We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great first holiday together.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Ranked #48 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
185 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great first holiday together.”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have just come back from a 2 week holiday, our first as a couple, and feel very happy with our stay at the RIU Tequila. The room was always clean and tidy, cleaned everyday without fail. The staff in the hotel were friendly and polite, particularly in the bars where service was always quick. We didn't take advantage of any of the hotel facilities except for the swimming pool. For the majority of our stay we dined in the main restaurant. The service here was on occasion slow and lacked personality - on more than one occasion we had to tidy our plates up and had them waiting before any staff would collect them. We dined at all 3 of the themed restaurants - the Japanese restaurant was by far the best for food quality. Service in the themed restaurant was very good and did not fail at any point. The food was good and varied although it did not match the menu provided. The Mexican restaurant's food was not as good, quite bland and lacked any mexican flavour which we were hoping for. The steak house was good but the quality again was lacking slightly. A nice touch was the fact that the head chef came around and made sure that everything was ok.
The beach was amazing and no shortage of loungers to use plus the added benefit of the helpful shuttle that operates daily between 09:00 and 13:00 and 15:00 - 18:00. The sea was beautiful and clean, a stark comparison to the coastline further along the beach outside private residences. If but a small criticism is that there were insufficient areas for smokers to put their cigarettes as the beach was littered with cigarette butts - as non smokers we found this a bit grim and took away from the beauty of the beach.
We went with Thomson and although no problem with the flights there and back we would warn of the lack of assistance of the reps on site. We weren't the only couple to experience problems caused by their incompetence - one couple paid for an upgraded flight but didn't get it. We went to them with a problem on day one yet a week later no resolution and after 2 weeks nothing.
We would recommend the walk from the hotel to playa del carmen along the beach and the Fusion bar on the beach there is an ideal stop off point for a Corona or two.
If you are a fan of 4 legged cuddly creatures then this is your hotel - the Coati population is vast and more than happy to make your acquaintence. They don't like lime or lemon but all other fruit is welcome. A word of warning though - if you choose to feed them be prepared for more to come and find you. Also watch out for leaving drinks out by the pool as they will have those as well.
Overall this was a wonderful hotel and we would recommend it to others and as a good location to spend a holiday. We really enjoyed ourselves and have come back with some amazing memories.

Room Tip: A top floor room is less noisy and also prevents the wildlife climbing in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alistair L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,466
    2,321
    628
    161
    130
See reviews for
1,903
3,754
90
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Wouldnt come back to this particular Riu hotel for a few reasons thhe main one being the problem they have being over run with these racoon type animals, you just cant relax around the pool especially if you have a drink and if you dare to take food around the pool area you will soon be surrounded and harrassed, while we were there three people allegedly where scratched or bitten as these animals tried to take the food from people. The problem is stupid people think its fun to feed them so the animal has lost its fear of people and finds it easier to raid bins or harrass people for easy pickings and as they breed the next generation are even less afraid so the problem can only get worse. Ten of us stayed and some members of our party had problems with damp in the rooms and an unpleasent musty smell, clothes where damp and milldew had started forming on one of the cases stored in the wardrobe. Myself and my wife didnt suffer any such problems, our room was great and cleaned thoroughly every day. The food i must say was great and all the resteraunts where very good and well managed with pleasent hard working staff. The entertainment at night was quite good, some nights better than others the inhouse team worked really hard though to provide something different each night. Some of the male bar staff at night at times seemed a little offish and abrupt and the quality of the drinks sometimes was naff, Brandy and gin was very hit and miss, sometimes undrinkable, so back to the bar and try again. The beach which is situated across the road from the hotel can be got to by a short walk or you could get a ride on a golf buggy which was running back and forth, the beach was our choice for sunbathing and relaxing because it wasnt over run with giant long tailed rats. The beach is fantatic, nice clean sand and lovely blue sea. These opinions are shared by myself and all who shared our holiday, if you want to see these animals have a look on u tube i think you will see what i mean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ste_w1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Me and my boyfriend have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Riu Tequila.

This is the first hotel we have stayed where we have had nothing negative to say ... room was clean, food was excellent, staff very hardworking, beach was amazing!! If we were going to be picky the drinks tasted a bit off in the sports bar sometimes, however this was not a major issue.

Didn't spend any days round the pool as we have always preferred the beach so unable to comment.

Impressed with the drinks available, first hotel I have ever stayed where imported alcoholic drinks also included (however u must ask otherwise wont get).

Entertainment was ok, some nights worth watching.

Main buffet restaurant had themed nights so was not the same every night. 3 speciality restaurants also avail - mexican, asian and steak house. Asian is definitely a must - was our favourite restaurant out of them all. You can visit all 3 unlimited throughout your stay... must be booked on the day in the morning - first come first serve however we never had issues trying to get a sitting.

I was quite worried when I found out this was not a beach front hotel, however was only 5-10 minute walk - anyone who complains about this... laziness comes to mind, I've had to walk further to the beach staying in a "beach front" hotel previous years.

Many activities avail (some at extra costs) - beach; parasailing, jet-ski, canoeing etc. also a gym and tennis courts available - better to play tennis in morning/evening as not shaded.

Would definately recommend taking a few trips during your stay, our fav was Chichen Itza, a very long day leaving around 5:25am - 3 hours drive to get there but def worth it!

Overall amazing holiday!! Usually near the end of 2 week holidays I look forward to going home.... I did not want to leave this one!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank kt_wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just spent a week at this resort.
Facilities: really nice room with balcony, had everything we needed. The maid was prompt and left different towel animals everyday. Plenty of drinks although we didn't make use of the liquor bottles. The beach was easily accessible at the 2 Rius across the street and there were plenty of loungers available no matter what time of day we went. We were able to use the catamarans whenever we wanted.
Food: good selection, reasonably tasty, lots of healthy options, definitely one of the better ones at an all-inclusive. The a la carte restaurants were not that great. We tried each of them once but didn't return to any of them. The coffee was not good but there is a Starbucks close by.
Location: great! We went into Playa del Carmen twice, once on foot (about 1/2h walk) and once by bicycle (much nicer). There is a bicycle and scooter rental on site. The street outside the resort is walkable. There is a plaza about 2 minutes away with shops and services. The only thing is you can't catch the collectivo from the resort because it's a ways from the highway.
Staff: friendly and helpful.
Entertainment: surprisingly high standard! We really enjoyed the Caribbean Show.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank flapjackbreakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This has to be the best holiday I have experienced. The resort is beautiful, clean, spacious and the staff have a can do attitude very friendly with great personalities. This is a 24 hour inclusive resort and the food was fantastic. So much choice and really fresh. Some of the cooking is done in front of you. The beach is beautiful with pure sand and blue sea. Very clean and lots of shady trees to go under when needed. We booked our day trips outside the resort as this was so much cheaper to do. Don't be afraid to go else where for bargains as the tour companies are very expensive. We had some rain but it didn't spoil our holiday as there was entertainment put on for us during the day and we were never bored. The rooms are lovely and comfortable and well laid out. If I had a negative it would be the a la carte restaurants where the food was not that good but there was so much in the main restaurant it didn't really matter. Will definitely be putting this one on my wish list to go back to. We flew premium class with Thomson and this was well worth the money for the comfort and service from the cabin crew. One warning the silver in mexico is very expensive, I bought my silver at the airport on the way back as it was so much more reasonable and just as lovely.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Imelda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just arrived back from a 2 week holiday at the Riu Tequila. The hotel was very clean and the staff can't do enough for you. The only thing that got on my nerves was the little racoon like animals that are funny to watch at the beginning of the holiday but then raid any place where there could be food or drink. Be careful when you put your drink down when sitting by the pool as it won't be there after a couple of minutes. We even saw them getting things out of peoples' bags and trying to eat it.
For the first week we had waiter service round the pool area - bringing iced drinks, slush puppies, ice cream but then for the second week this service stopped - No idea why!!!
We loved the beach. If you don't want to walk the 10 mins along the nice path you can take the "shuttle" but the walk is pleasant. We recomend walking along the beach into Playa del Carman in late afternoon when its a little cooler. Great for topping up your tan but its a lovely beach and only takes about 35 mins to walk there and then have a walk around the shops or have a drink in a bar.
We also found that noise travels and if you have "noisy neighbours" in your block then it is really hard to get any sleep, especially when they arrive back between 1.30am - 4.30am and decide to carry on having a party in their room!!
But apart from that the food was great, drinks were plentiful, the Steak House is well worth a visit (we went 3 times) and even though it rained nearly every day (mainly at night) it was very hot in the day and we got a lovely tan.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Deb N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Just got back from the Riu Tequila on the 10th of October after two fantastic weeks holidays with Thomson (UK), travelled as a couple, my wife and myself.
I have been thinking long and hard about how to convey just how satisfied we were with the overall experience, and eventually decided just to keep it simple as most of the detail both good (and the very few minor niggles) with the hotel have been covered many times by others.

If you are reading this review it probably means one of three things:
1. You are thinking of booking this hotel.
2. You have already booked and are hoping you have done the right thing.
3. You have been to the hotel and wonder what others are saying about it.

If it's 1, then go ahead and book it, you probably already know it's one of the more reasonably priced hotels in Mexico that Thomsons do, and believe me it is excellent value, with no compromise on quality.

If it's 2, then don't worry you have made a good choice. Read between the lines of the very few negative reviews on here and you will see that some people set out to find fault with absolutely anything.

If it's 3, then you'll already have your own views on the hotel and nothing I can say will change your mind.

Only one more thing I wanted to mention was that the staff are all excellent, and are what, in my opinion, makes the difference between an all inclusive holiday in Mexico and one in Europe. The bar staff at the Kiosko bar are an entertainment in themselves, you'll see what I mean when you get there.

Anything specific you want to ask me on the hotel or area, just ask via the link at the bottom of this review. I'll be only too happy to advise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank JohnP033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#60 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,562 reviews
12.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,295 reviews
10.9 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#41 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,759 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Lupita
Hotel Riu Lupita
#80 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tequila

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Address: Avenida Xaman-ha | Manzana 3, Lote 19, Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Tequila 3.5*
Number of rooms: 664
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Within the resort area Playacar along with the hotels Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and Riu Playacar * Main building and 1-story buildings * Surrounded by 48,000 m2 / 57,600 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 800 m / 2,650 ft. From the beach (complimentary shuttle) * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 300 m / 990 ft. From Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int'l Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tequila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Tequila Hotel
Riu Tequila Mexico
Hotel Riu Tequila
Riu Tequila Playa Del Carmen
Rui Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing