We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun at riu tequila!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Ranked #55 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We just got back today from this resort and loved it and the town of playa del Carmen!! The food was good and the rooms were clean! The staff works so hard to make sure everyon is having a great time! The walk to the beach is really no big deal..5 minutes or so..and they have a neat little shopping center with a fantastic Starbucks!!! Overall we had a great time and would return again! We mainly used the yucatan a pool and bar during the day...and the steakhouse was very good!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dusti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,028)
There are newer reviews for ClubHotel Riu Tequila
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,452 - 3,458 of 8,028 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just returned from Riu Tequila this morning had a great two weeks there everything was as you would exspect from a 4* hotel, clean, hardworking and friendly staff, good atmosphere, good entertainment as all the other good reports on here say. Our only nag about it is as in our headline a Riu is a Riu where ever you go and don't get this wrong that is one reason we go Riu because you know everything will be above average but is it worth 10 hours long haul flight each way when you could just as well be in Europe or the Canneries in the complex you would never know the difference and that's what we found disappointing we thought it would have more Americanized if that's a word Bigger and better than the average. So not really moaning but it's a long way to go for the same old same old bearing in mind you are losing a couple of days in travel ?

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobG65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This resort was excellent! Only a short walk to the beach or shuttle service available as well. The rooms were clean. The food was great, lots of choice. The A la Carte restaurants were good but you have to walk to another resort for the Mexican A la Carte (not too far though). The steakhouse A la Carte was my favourite. Friendly and helpful staff. My friend celebrated her birthday there and they decorated the room with balloons which was a nice touch! The bartenders worked really hard and tried there best to ensure you always had a drink!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laura409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

September 9th 2012 fantastic hotel, food is amazing staff are brilliant and hard working, nothing is too much trouble very clean, ideal location. checking in is very quick and easy, bags taken to your room, very impressed been before to this hotel and will return in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tracyhannigan198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in the Tequila September this year and had a great time as always plenty to do and staff extremely helpful, food was plentiful and most of the time really good but a little bit repetative. The entertainment is second to none with the entertainment team being sooooo friendly and made sure every one felt part of it, however it did have that holiday camp Butlins style feel about it and I did feel some days we were going to get a "Morning Campers" greeting over a Tannoy!!! or maybe even a Hi De Hi Hi De Ho !!! On saying that if you did not wish to be part of the pool games or organised fun then you could escape to one of the quieter pools or the stunning beach and of course the port of playda del carmen is only a five minuute taxi ride away which you could easily walk but not in the heat!! If you like entertainment then this hotel would come highly recommended for both adults and kids alike!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suzanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed at the Riu Tequila for a fortnight in September with my boyfriend(25), mum(40),step-dad(43) & sister(2).

On arrival to the hotel had a very warm welcome with a complimentary drink and quick and organised check in. We were in our room within 10min and our cases right behind us.

All staff were very accommodating from arrival and throughout our stay, Mexicans are extremely friendly people and love children & are constantly trying to amuse & entertain! Nothing was too much of a hassle for anyone from the waiters, maids, bar staff, mini bar stockers...

The food was faultless in the buffet resteraunt for breakfast, lunch & dinner. With every meal there was a huge variety of food to chose from and I rarely eat the same thing twice! Waiters are constantly topping up drinks and clearing dirty plates away and are non stop! The only other resteraunt we tried out of the 3 available was the steak house which we tried on two occasions & enjoyed both! The food was lovely & service was brill! Thoroughly enjoyed both times! Went out there way to accommodate my sister and make her whatever she would eat.

Never struggled to get 4 sunbeds together and the earliest we went to pool was 8am on odd occasions. The pool was constantly being cleaned by many staff, only fault was the jacuzzi wasn't working when we were there.

The entertainment staff were great, very friendly and always put on a great show every night. They are extremely hard workers there from 10am doing activities at the pool all day, with loads of choices! And then putting on great shows at night & staying till about 12am having a drink with guests, although the only complaint I have is that we found they usually always sat with the same family(who they were obviously familiar with) & didn't make as much of an effort with other family's - this wasn't all the staff but the majority of them.

Our room was tidied, beds made, bins emptied & fresh towels left every day without fail & fridge & bar stocked up every 2nd. Even one day we didn't leave our room till 2pm & arrived back about 4pm and the maids had been in and out!

Only a few little moans and that is quite a few days out of our stay we couldn't get the 90 min free wifi as it was playing up & the reception couldn't really answer to much.

Also the kids play area isn't great & could b doing with an upgrade, aswell as the kids pool. My sister liked the big pool anyway as there were still shallow bits for her to play in.

We booked two excursions through Thomson's, we all went to Xal Hal and me & my boyfriend went on a charity bar crawl to 4 clubs in Cancun including Coco Bongos which was amazing and would definitely recommend for anybody! Both excursions were definitely worth the money & well organised.

Would definetley recommend this hotel to anyone going on a family, group or couples holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ckk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Today we have just returned from our Honeymoon, we hve never visited Mexico before and it hopefully wont be the last. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with a cocktail and a speedy checking, we were then assisted to our room which was spacious and clean, as it was our honeymoon they had decorated our room with flower baloons and swans, and we had swans made out of towels, chocolates and rose petals. The reps the next morning held a meeting which was very informative and useful. The staff at tne hotel were always cleaning the communal areas, the pool and the maids cleaned our room each day so it was spotless. The hotel staff and the reps were amazing, so friendly, helpful and approcachable nothing was to much trouble. The entertainment team worked so hard from morning doing water activities and games to night time entertainment, which we were entered into the perfect couple competition, and won!The food was of a good standard and plenty of choice, with 4 restaurants to choose from. We had a fantastic trip so sad to come home, would hightly reccomend this hotel, would suit couples, families and groups, in a quiet location but a short ride to more lively places if wanted, Excellent thanks Riu Tequilla, hopefully my husband will bring me back for my anniversary.

Room Tip: Dont feed the animals.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kerryhoward36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#63 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#51 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,025 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Lupita
Hotel Riu Lupita
#77 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#42 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,542 reviews
11.0 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,721 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#29 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tequila

Address: Avenida Xaman-ha | Manzana 3, Lote 19, Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $167 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Tequila 3.5*
Number of rooms: 664
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Within the resort area Playacar along with the hotels Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and Riu Playacar * Main building and 1-story buildings * Surrounded by 48,000 m2 / 57,600 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 800 m / 2,650 ft. From the beach (complimentary shuttle) * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 300 m / 990 ft. From Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int'l Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tequila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Tequila Hotel
Riu Tequila Mexico
Hotel Riu Tequila
Riu Tequila Playa Del Carmen
Rui Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing