We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smooth Operation by Riu !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Ranked #56 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Clubhotel Tequila is about 5-10mins walk from the beach, it is a large, clean, well run and efficient hotel. The rooms are a good size and are kept clean. It has over 600 rooms, so is quite a large hotel, however the staff at Riu operate a smooth and slick operation of running it smoothly and efficiently. The food quality and selection overall is good. The occasional downside is that Riu's main restaurant is buffett style. At peak eating times this can get busy, it therefore gets noisy and crowded and queues form for food, only once in our 2 week stay there did that really bother me, that was because the staff were slow at keeping the food supply topped up in the buffet, but the staff are working like crazy.
Alternatively there are a choice of 3 'a la carte' restaurants in the hotel. Booking system is strange with it having to be done at 7am each day for that night. The asian restaurant is not a la carte, just buffett, the mexican is buffett first course then becomes waiter service, and the steak restaurant is waiter service, in my opinion the best one is steak, followed by mexican. The beauty about these restaurants is there is not the noise and crowd of the buffet restaurant, and you can get to sit quietly and enjoy your meal more !
Not sure why they have optics in the room, you can drink plenty in the bars, a better idea would be to have maybe tea & coffee facilities in room and the mini bar fridge for beer & soft drinks and get rid of the spirits in the optics.
The area is clean and friendly. We used the facilities of the Riu hotel Yucatan and Playacar to eat during the day whilst at the beach and these were good. Beach is great, no problems with beds etc.
Staff were great at all the hotels we used. Entertainment was put on each night at the Tequila, the entertainment team work hard, some of the shows were better than others, but you can see whats coming on that night and if its not for you then just go elsewhere, a good time to try either the Yucatan or Playacar's bars. There is activities that you can do with staff during the day if you wish, there is no pressure to get involved, we did a couple of times and it actually was good fun, and quite good to get a bit active other than enjoying that sun, but you can either chill and do nothing except sunbath, or if you want to get more involved in activities its there for you.
We did visit Playa Carman one night, which was busy and lively, traders will ask you to visit there shops and stalls etc, a polite No is all that is need to stop them, but this happens a lot in the main parts. Its lively and tacky at the same time, so be warned !
Had a lazy two weeks and enjoyed it, a good way to get some warm sunshine and recharge those batteries, and for the price thought it was good value for money.
Hotel Tequila is more a family hotel, than for couples, however it is still a good hotel and excellent value for money.
If you want any other info, please PM me.
Enjoy !

Room Tip: We stayed in a first floor room which overlooked the pool area (There were trees btwn the room and t...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank ianjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,014)
There are newer reviews for ClubHotel Riu Tequila
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,785 - 3,791 of 8,014 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2012

I took my son to Mexico in late 2011 so he could see what its all about. We had a great experience at the Tequila. It was way more for the money than I had anticipated. We walked to the beach everyday. The food was great and we enjoyed the great entertainment every night. The best part of our trip was the new friends we made from all over the world. If you are looking for a fun place to get the best bang for your buck defiantly check this out.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I cannot rate this hotel highly enough, the staff were very friendly, the accommodation was excellent the only thing I think which many British people would agree is the lack of Tea Making facilities in the room., but one simply had to go to the restaurant to obtain a cup ( no real hardship) I have saved the best until last. THE FOOD was FANTASTIC nobody could could complain at the variety, quality and just wonderful choice. If you are on a diet do not go to this Hotel. I would highly recommend this for your holiday.

Room Tip: Ground floor are best
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

After going to Cuba for the last 3 years, we decided to try Mexico and booked the Riu Tequila for a week. The resort was a solid 4.5 star and we would return in a heartbeat.

The lobby area is large and inviting, check-in was very quick, we traveled with another couple and were given rooms next to each other without having to ask. We were in one of the furthest buildings, it was very quiet, room was clean and comfortable, shower with loads of pressure and hot water, good maid service, nice balcony with a screen door which was great. Lots of vegetation on site was nice, we did not mind the animals as they were not aggressive and did not bother us.

Service everywhere at the resort was super, friendly and helpful, we never had to wait for a drink and did not feel like we had to tip constantly. A la carte's were ok, Oriental was very good but Steakhouse was average. Buffets, both in the main dining room and near the pool at lunch time, were great. Good opening hours, tons of variety, fresh food, tasty, not a bad thing to say about it! Drinks at the bars were also good, it was nice to see a drink menu if we wanted to try something different.

Pool was well maintained, lots of chairs available in the morning. The beach was about 5-10 minutes away but it made for a nice walk and there was always a shuttle if need be. Nice beach, tons of places to sit and shade if you wanted it. We liked having the option to use the facilities and restaurants at the other Riu's and took advantage of that when we were at the beach.

Hotel is well situated, and only a 7$ taxi ride to Playa del Carmen which we did. Didn't do any excursions so can't comment on that.

Overall, a super stay. You can tell they work hard at maintaining Riu standards of quality. Staff was nothing but friendly and hard working, and made our stay that much better.

Only complaint would be the nightly shows which did not match the quality of the resort. Better evening entertainment, singers or traditional dancers for example, no more Can-Can please!, would make this resort even more attractive.

We flew with Sunwing, had good service overall and I would use them again.

One word of advice for Canadians: they will not accept "old" 20$ or 100$ bills (without the plastic strip) when changing money at reception.

Room Tip: We were in building 19 which was further from the lobby but quiet, and close enough to the pool.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DancerPrancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed at the Tequila for our wedding anniversary having booked through Thomson.

On arrival, there was a complimentary bottle of tequila waiting for us for our anniversary, which was unexpected and very welcome! The porters delivered our cases a short while later along with a basket of fruit.

The room was very clean and functional, with walk-in shower, mini bar, fridge and lots of storage space. The bed was huge too. The air-con was very good, cooling the room down almost instantly. Our balcony overlooked a wooded area and part of the pool.

The hotel as a whole was fantastic. You could eat your dinner off the floor; the staff were always cleaning!

The main restaurant was very good, with self service buffet. There was always something for everyone and a regular 'Mexican' corner. The waiting staff were always very attentive. There were three a la carte restaurants which although free had to be pre-booked. The steakhouse was fantastic with a good sized sirloin and good wine. I was a little disappointed with the Mexican restaurant, and the Oriental menu didn't take our fancy so we didn't eat there.

The hotel is about 250yds to the beach, with a gorgeous white beach and blue Carribean sea. Neither of us are particularly beach people, but we happily spent two days on this beach it was amazing.

What I liked about the Riu complex most is that by being a guest at one hotel you can use the facilities at all the others on the complex. We ate in a couple of the other restaurants, and they were all of a really good standard.

I cannot praise the Tequila enough. The staff were great, the accommodation excellent, the food amazing. It's about a 30 minute walk to the town, or a taxi is about £1. The excursions run from the hotel are really varied and we did both Xcaret and the Mayan ruins, both of which were really good.

Highly recommend this hotel or any other Riu in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank bassettallsort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Having visited the Riu Tequila for a week in November 2011 and enjoyed so much we decided that it would be a must to revisit. We have just returned after a two week stay for what can only be described as brilliant! The staff once again were wonderful and the food superb. Even the most picky of eaters would find it difficult not to find something to their liking. I set myself a chanlleng of not eating the same evening meal twice and completed this with no problem at all. The weather was superb and the beach is one of the best we have ever been to. We had a room in another location from last time, which was identical. The maid/cleaning service was excellent. The hotel was alot busier than November with many Canadian and US quests but this did not detract from our stay. We did several trips. I can recommend a day at Explor and also the half day Speed Boat Safari. For the cutural side the long day to Chichen Itza must be one of the highlights of this area and is a must (alot better than the trip to Cobra). We did a visit to Cozomel Island which we booked our selves , walking into Playa del Carmen (a steady 30 minutes) and getting the ferry to Cosomel. Ferry trip takes about 45 minutes. Top tip have a look at the sea before you go, any white tops to the waves go another day unless you have strong sea legs!! The island is geared to the cruise ships with plenty of shopping opportunities for those like that sort of thing. I would not go again should I visit the area.
Most day trips seem expensive but the ones mentioned above provided excellent value for money.
I would without hesitation recommend this hotel for couples/families young and old who want a wonderful holiday, good food with plenty of places to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

After booking a week here with thomson, and reading reviews I was very excited! The hotel and grounds are lovely - they are big but spread out and low rise buildings and all amongst palm trees so doesn't feel too touristy. This was my first time all inclusive and I was pleasantly surprised. It caters for every taste and you won't get bored! Would definitely recommend a night at the steak house - perfect end to our week! The drinks in your fridge and room are all complimentary and get refilled daily. Our rep matt was a delight and very helpful. Would recommend a trip to playa del carmen - plenty shops and bars with good food! it's a short taxi ride from the hotel or a beautiful walk along the beach. You are also allowed to use the facilities of the other Riu hotels- handy when you are at the beach. I would 100% recommend a trip to Tulum- it is STUNNING! My only negative was that 7 days is too short, and if you get the chance either upgrade flights with Thomson or fly with another airline as I didn't enjoy the flight with them.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Sandaig24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#62 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,819 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#52 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,016 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Lupita
Hotel Riu Lupita
#78 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#41 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,538 reviews
11.0 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#29 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tequila

Address: Avenida Xaman-ha | Manzana 3, Lote 19, Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $169 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Tequila 3.5*
Number of rooms: 664
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Within the resort area Playacar along with the hotels Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and Riu Playacar * Main building and 1-story buildings * Surrounded by 48,000 m2 / 57,600 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 800 m / 2,650 ft. From the beach (complimentary shuttle) * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 300 m / 990 ft. From Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int'l Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tequila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Tequila Hotel
Riu Tequila Mexico
Hotel Riu Tequila
Riu Tequila Playa Del Carmen
Rui Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing