We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent second stay over XMAS & NEW YEAR”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Ranked #53 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Well yet again for the second year running Riu Tequila was a excellent choice. After arriving and a few drinks with the bar staff who remembered us from last year the fun began.
Still very clean hotel, cannot fault it, staff excellent, Cruz,Donas,Marbis, all entertainment staff. Our son harry loved the second stay and was in the grease kids show. Some staff changes and a new manager from last year , generally all is good as per my previous report from last year and will be going back at some point.
Forgot the Kettle though, those who require tea and coffee making facilities please take your travel kettle!!!! the resort do not have any, Walmart do not have any. Maybe i will open a kettle shop!

maybe some of you saw my crazy hats, wigs and my daft heath? also was on stage , not that i remember any of it due to tequilas!!hahah in the couple competition!

There will probably be a review about a small incident on new years eve with a small electrical fault in the restaurant that sent a ploom of smoke across but rest assured the staff were on hand to fix the fault and ensure all was safe for yet again a fantastic food spread!

There was also ai incident where a traveller was seen taking pictures of not just children but women and was approached / told to leave the hotel! do not let this put you off , security is good and the staff / managers will do what they can to make your stay a good one, hence the reason why we came back.

Good to meet friends from last year and meet new ones.

have a good 2012
ANDY , KERRY & HARRY

Room Tip: All rooms are same but ask for a lower ground , only 2 floors but lower we find better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank axeandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,095 - 4,101 of 8,341 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

Congratulations RIU - At the suggestion of our Advisor Gord Murray who recommended your resort, wwife and I have nothing but good things to say about your resort at Playa Del Carmen, Mexico.

Everything from the professionalism of the staff at check-in, to the porters, the room , the variety/choice of excellent food, ability to use your nearby resorts (Yucatan), beach and fantastic weather resulted in a restfull vacation from Dec 28 - Jan 1.

Thank you and we will return.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room away from the pool area and on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barb-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed here over Christmas and although I thought I would miss Christmas day in England the experience at this hotel made me so glad we came here. They put in real effort on Christmas eve to make a great festive atmosphere. This is the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed at and the staff here were super friendly and efficient, especially Hector from the bar area and Rangel & Caesar in the restaurant. Our room was spotless and the cleaner went out of his way to help when we had a small Lizard come to stay one day. The food was plentiful and always of great quality - we especially enjoyed the omelette station on a morning where you pick your fillings and a chef cooks your food fresh while you wait. The location is great being a short walk (or v quick buggy ride) to the beach and not too far from 5th avenue. We would also definitely recommend visiting Rio Secreto for a half day excursion. Well done to all at Riu Tequila you made our trip to Mexico and we will definitely recommend you to anyone thinking of visiting Mexico.

Room Tip: 915 was perfectly positioned to the pool and restaurant areas but not too close for noise if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank SGT186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I travelled to Yukatan peninsula twice during the end of 2011. First time I stayed at Riu Tequila in September, and did not know how good I had it untill I booked a trip in December and spent a week in the other hotel in Riviera Maya about 40 miles south of Playa del Carmen, which turned to be a bit of disappointment.

Looking back to my days in Riu Tequila, only one word comes up - perfect!

First is the room. Spanish colonial architecture inside and out of units accompanied by collor palette, which soothes an eye and mind.Lots of space and comfortable design.

Second is an atmosphere of "Homeliness" that wraps you upon arrival and stays there to the very end of your visit.

Landscape of the property is very friendly as well.

Property of hotel is separated from Playa del Carmen itself, so you have all the benefits of Caribbean climate and none of the city hustle.

Beach is excellent, no dead corals and deep enough to swim.

Personnel is very friendly and eagor to make your stay pleasant.

One complaint would be probably food is a bit too bland... but not bad.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Victor U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

My family has been to Playa numerous times. We have spent time at the Sandos Playacar, Moon Palace, Iberostar Quetzal/Tucan, Riu Tequila/Playacar/Yucatan. We have enjoyed each trip, but the Riu is our favorite.

If you are debating between Cancun and Playa, here is the difference. Cancun has more upscale shopping, night life, and is about 30 minutes quicker to reach from the airport. Playa is more laid back, family oriented, and has palm trees on the beach at most resorts. We use to go to Cancun, but don't like to party, can shop at home, and take our kids with us.

The Riu Tequila is one of the best values in the Riviera Maya and fits my family (late 30's, with 12 & 8 yr old) very well. This has been our Christmas destination for the last 5 years. We love the diversity of those staying (USA, Germany, GB, Netherlands, Spanish, Mexican, Brazilian, and many others). The grounds are always well maintained, large, and peaceful at night. Rarely does the resort feel crowded, despite its size and occupancy. The workers are incredible.

The extended privileges at the Playacar and Yucatan make this trio a tremendous value. We normally eat breakfast at the Tequila and spend all day at the Playacar or Yucatan. We go during one of the busiest times of the holiday season and there are always lounges on the beach. The pool lounges go a little quicker (but we always go to the beach). The food is pretty good, with breakfast the best, but no complaints on the others as well.

I have reviewed this resort a couple of times, but it seems most of those who give it negative reviews had trouble managing their expectations. I'll try to give the pros and cons and maybe that will help you decide. Whether you stay here or not, I want you to enjoy PDC as much as we do.

First: This is not a 5 star resort. I see many say this as if they expected it to be. By the rankings used by US websites, it is classified as a 3.5 star out of 5. I would agree with this ranking. Also, based on price, the Tequila is usually in the lower 3rd. Don't let this scare you away. It would easily be a 4 star if located on the beach, a quick 5-10 minute walk from the lobby.

Second: Have realistic expectations on the food. It is all-inclusive! There is considerable variety. Often each day the variety is similar, but wow, I don't normally have all those choices to choose from. Beef, chicken, pork, fish, salad bar, chips, the best guacamole, fresh fruit, desserts, pizza, pasta, and on and on! The reservation restaurants are a nice change of pace. It is no different than any other reservation restaurant. The reservations are limited, start at 7:00am and don't last long. If you want it, get up. If not, don't complain that the reservations are always taken. The fewer tables add to the atmosphere and specialty of the night. Service is always exceptional.

Third: The rooms are not 5 star quality, as previously mentioned. If that is your goal, I would recommend the Myakoba. However, if you want good rooms at a great value, these should do. Our least favorite thing about the rooms are the hallways echo and all the late nighters coming in after midnight seem very loud. They are likely saying the same about the families that get up at 7:00!

Here is my last advice. Don't be afraid to get off the resorts and go down town to the 5th Avenue area. There are several shops that have prices (no haggling) or plenty that still haggle if that's what you like. Taxi rides have gone up to $7US or 70 pesos. Churros and tacos from the street vendors are 20 & 10 pesos respectively! I never get sick in Mexico...maybe just lucky.

Whether you stay here or elsewhere, enjoy the journey. Hope my ramblings are helpful.

Room Tip: The buildings are 3 story. If you don't like stairs, ask for a bottom floor. Also, if walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank mikim_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Our First Choice flight set off late from Manchester only to return to Gatwick after 1.5hours because of a fault on the aircraft. We were told numerous lies by swissport who basically knew as much as we did, no Thomson staff to be seen. 26hours later we took off again on a new plane(old one still not fixed). Then 3 hrs before Cancun we were told that the toilets were full because we'd drunk too much (another unbelievable lie- they cannot have been empty when they brought the new plane ). We were told not to use the toilets and they'd not be serving tea or coffee for the last 3 hours-UNBELIEVABLE. Three of the family ill and then in hospital within 12 hours of landing in Mexico. Reps in resort happy and smiley but useless when actually asked for help. Hotel ok, staff not nearly as good with the kids as we'd expected. Food nice but not brilliant. All in all a big disappointment

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rosie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We visited this hotel last year and returned in December this year for a 2 week holiday. The hotel has not changed at all in 12 months, even the evening entertainment is pretty much the same (a bit boring second time around to be honest). The room maid was lovely and we cannot complain about the standard of room cleanliness, however be prepared that all your clothes will need washing when you get home as the rooms generally smell quite damp due to the air con and steam from the shower. The hotel reception service is excellent and we were called at least 4 times during our stay to check eveything was ok with our room etc. We had luch each day at the beach Margharite restaurant and whereas the food was lovely there was a lot to be said about the hygeine there - birds fly around the tables taking food from plates if left there and have a habit of pooing wherever, whenever. The hygeine in the toilets also has a lot to be desired for - stinking sess pits is the only way to describe them after 11am.The evening bar service at the Tequila was friendly and professional however I recommend that if in a couple the lady goes to the bar to order the drinks; my husband was continually ignored and made to wait however I was always served first time, everytime and never ever had to wait. If you want to eat at the hotel speciality restaurants you need to book a table early in the morning, on average we got to breakfasst between 9.30 and 10 am and all the tables had been taken. We walked to 5th Ave in Playa Del Carmen and I must say it is not all it is cracked up to be; we heard that during the day when the cruise ships are docked the shops put their prices up, we certainly noticed a difference between prices amongst the shops. .Also at virtually every other shop we were approached/ called at to enter shops and brouse - not what you want when you are chilling on holiday. Finally be aware that bottles of water at Cancun airport are a rip off - a 600ml bottle costs 45 pesos, roughly £2.50 UK sterling!!!!
I know this review may sound quite negative but we did really enjoy our holiday - I guess this year we just picked up on things we didn't notice last year. We would definitely go back again but maybe not next year as we fancy a change.
If anyone would like further information about the Riu Tequila please contact me

Room Tip: Email the hotel a couple of weeks before you travel and requeat a quiet room etc. They will certainl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank bromsgrove2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#49 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#65 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
6,097 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Lupita
Hotel Riu Lupita
#80 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
3,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#35 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,807 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#44 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,715 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#91 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tequila

Address: Avenida Xaman-ha | Manzana 3, Lote 19, Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $199 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Tequila 3.5*
Number of rooms: 584
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All Inclusive ClubHotel Riu Tequila, is located approx. 800 m from the long, beautiful Playa del Carmen beach of the Playacar residential estate, along with the Hotel Riu Palace Mexico, Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Hotel Riu Yucatan and Hotel Riu Playacar hotels. The location is ideal due to its proximity to Playa del Carmen (3km) and Cancún International Airport (CUN) is approx. 55 km away. The hotel has 584 comfortably furnished rooms and offers many amenities, set in 48,000 sq.m. of lush gardens. A luxurious golf resort is located nearby. There is a complimentary hotel shuttle to the beach. 2 outdoor pools, 1 children’s pool. For the youngest guests, there is the RiuLand Kids Club (for children from 4 to 7 years & 8 to 12 years old) and for adults, day and evening entertainment, discotheque. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main buffet as well as Asian, Mexican cuisine, Steakhouse, 4 bars situated in various areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tequila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Tequila Hotel
Riu Tequila Mexico
Hotel Riu Tequila
Riu Tequila Playa Del Carmen
Rui Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing