We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RIU got it right again!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Ranked #48 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, AB.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“RIU got it right again!!!!”
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Just like all the other RIU's we have been to, the RIU Tequila was fantastic in every way. The staff,service,food,grounds,entertainment all top notch! While the rooms are not fancy,they are very comfortable and cleaned extremely well by the maids. Also loved all the wildlife on the resort grounds, the Mexican "Racoons" and others made it extra special.
The pools are great and the beach although a short walk away, is just amazing. It is actually really nice to do some walking and enjoy the scenery.
The pottery shop by the Lupita restaurant is wonderful, we were able to create beautiful memories by painting our own souveniers to take home.
Front desk staff is wonderful and multilingual. A special thank you goes to Pablo at front desk for his willingness to help and going the extra mile when a problem arose (not related to the resort).
Never Ever book anything with the tour companies on 5th avenue/Playa del Carmen, only book your yours at the resort lobby with the professional tour companies. We made a mistake of booking an Xcaret Plus/Dolphin Swim with a company called Mayan Trail and were promised a nice discount. We paid a 20$ deposit and were told that the rest can be paid when we are picked up from our resort...the catch was to be willing to go with DIEGO, the sales person from this SCAM tour company, to Allegro Playacar for a timeshare spiel which was to take 90 minutes..we knew we would not purchase anything but went anyway thinking we got a discount on Xcaret tickets and ended up spending all day with these people. At Allegro, a guy names CHRIS, another crook, took us to the Occidental Grand Xcaret for a tour and breakfast and showed us the Royal Club suites which they are trying to sell. Occidental/Allegro hotel chain is behind this timeshare scam and they work in the co-operation with these so called tour companies to suck people in for their presentations.
Then we were taken back to the Allegro and had to endure a peer pressure presentation of this timeshare scam and when we did not wish to buy into it, Chris' demeanor sure changed, his was pissed off and vanished without saying a word..typical crook, commission hungry rip-off artist, just like this Diego character representing Mayan Trail Tours. A lady there gave us some reservation ticket for the Dolphins at Xcaret park and $55 USD cash claiming that they made a reservation but could not pay for it...blaaah blaah.
The next day we were to be picked up from the RIU Tequila at 8:30 but the phone rang in our room at 7am to inform us that there had been an accident and if we could go another day..advised it was not possible and us and our two little children were ready and excited to go. We were told that they would call us back in 5 minutes but they never did. Went to the front desk and they had never heard of this tour company and called the number on the "receipt" and phone was hung up in our ear. Called again and we were told that we will be picked up at 10:25am.....well they never showed.
We ended up taking a taxi 15USD x 2 for roundtrip and paying for the Xcaret Plus + Dolphin Swim at the gate in full...less the $55 USD that was given to us...so in the end we were on the plus side by 5$ with this scam after taxi rides ($30)and lost $20 deposit.
The Xcaret Park was beautiful and the Dolphinus Park staff was amazing, our little daughter was made to feel soooo special, it was amazing!
Returning back to the Riu Tequila after all this, felt like coming home, it felt so safe and comfortable. We have stayed at Occidental hotels before but never again. We will stick to the RIU,Bahia Principe and alike from now on..as they a truly fantastic!
It angers us that the Occidental chain has stooped so low as to orchestrate such a scam and to screw families with little children, how dare they!!!

Oh, by the way. We were told by Diedo not to tell the Allegro presentation staff that I work in travel industry...as he would not get his commission..as we most likely would not qualify as people being screwed over..too much inside knowledge. It was appalling to see a rep for Occidental Grand whom I have met in Edmonton at a trade show, sitting there at Occidental Grand breakfast table trying to suck them into this timeshare scam.
I know I will not recommend any Occidental chain hotels and will try and sway people from booking them even if I lost my job over it.
I know this has happened to many people out there and though I knew better...but :( Live and learn!!
Safe and Happy travels everyone!!!!

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Yeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,473
    2,328
    630
    161
    130
See reviews for
1,907
3,761
90
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

i dont know what people find to complain about rooms good food very good location excellent hotel service very good beach at playacar is fantastic dident like having lunch at the yucatan there are birds all over the tables use playacar for lunch it is a lot nicer only complaint about the holiday is the rudeness off certain cabin crew on thomson airways which flew out of birmingham on the 1st of april if you fancy it go you wont be dissapointed playa de carmen on a night is great

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank passcass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We love the Riu properties, but normally stay at the “palace” locations. We booked at the last minute and there were no Palaces available for our dates. The Riu Tequila was good, but not as nice at the palace properties. To me, it is definitely worth the money for the upgrade. I was traveling with just my wife; maybe my opinion would be different if I was traveling with kids. Did not like the way they did the dinner reservations. You have to make your reservation every morning for that night. I was up at the reservation desk fairly early in the morning and still couldn’t get into the early session in the steak house. However, when we were waiting in the bar for our table, we could see that they were nowhere near full. There has to be a better system. The buffet food was just ok. It has been better at other Riu locations. Our next trip will be back to the Riu Palace in Cancun.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garyjor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales-UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Stayed at the Riu Tequila for 2 weeks..The hotel was ok not 5*. Rooms are clean but basic, tv was awful you could hardly make out what was on. Pool is good but could do with an upgrade, but the beach is very good, large clean fantastic! The biggest let down is the food it was awful, if you like everything fried and greasy then you will like it, good luck finding something warm and healthy. My partner had stomach problems for the whole 2 weeks and only had food from the hotel obviously there are some hygiene problems. Would I stay here again? Probably not! Should it be a Thomson Platinum hotel? No way at best a top 3* bottom 4*. Don't trust the brochure! Final thought gym was a joke old and outdated!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james8282_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

My husband and I visited the riu tequila from the 5th April- 13th April, we had a lovely time. We hadn't visited Mexico before therefore didn't know what to expect but we couldn't have asked for more. The service from arrival was more than good. Our first room was on the ground floor which wasn't private therefore we asked to change and this was sorted the following day. The food was fantastic so much to choose from and the steak house was the best out the three to choose from, we also saw no queue to book the three restaurants in the morning and we arrived at approx 9am to book these. If any one deserves a tip it's the hardworking waiters and the animation team they work there socks off!!! Fab shows in the evening!! One thing wd would say was the thomson trips are expensive so to book these we would pop down the road to book these instead. We did the yutacan tour for three days(with thomson) prior to our trip to the tequila and would highly recommend this for a well rounded trip of Mexico, overall a fab holiday which we would highly reccomend to others.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alirobo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

When going on holiday, my partner and myself don't usually do much (lazing by the pool during the day and a bit of entertainment at night). We went to Mexico to celebrate a special birthday and didn't know whether the long journey was worth doing! It certainly was, the beach was idyllic, the room was spotless, the food was tasty and so much choice, the staff were very pleasant and seemed to be happy in their work, always smiling and laughing, they worked very, very hard. We had no trouble booking the restaurants, but the food in the buffet was every bit as good. The only thing being in the steak house you had waiter service; this was excellent on the first visit, which was fortunately the night of our celebration, but the second time not so good.
The 5 minute walk to the beach we did most days and was not a problem, did use the shuttle if it was there as the gentleman driving was so nice, always waved to you if he passed.
I would recommend using a taxi in to 5th Avenue, we are quite fit, but the 40 minute walk in the heat can be quite exhausting.
The entertainment staff work endlessly, day and evening for both adults and children.
We used the Riu on the beach most days and the pool bar was lovely but toilets and food area were not as nice as the Tequila.
We do hope to go back one day, overall a great holiday to remember!

Room Tip: Check your travel adapter for mexico plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikimhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Really disappointed to read the bad reviews considering the excellent time we had at the RIU Tequila. Im a travel agent - so will give an truly honest review.
SERVICE
Firstly the service is second to none, staff are polite, very friendly and attentive.
ROOMS
Clean, not exactly modern, but just what you would expect in Mexico - plenty of room - seperate dressing and washing area in the room. Cleaners are fantastic - rooms made up - things tidied away for you everday. Minibar/ optics refreshed on demand - plenty of bottled water.
POOL - You get pool towels so dont need to take your own.
3 pools - 1 small kids pool - and play area great for the little ones. 2 other big pools - 1st with swim up bar and jacuzzi, 2nd with submerged sunbeds, pool games etc.
ENTERTAINMENT - I have never had such good entertainment on a holiday - the entertainment team are soooo funny, friendly etc, even if at home you dont like taking part in activities you really will want to on this holiday. The shows on a nightime are excellent - everything from Grease to Mama Mia, Las Vegas to Ideal Couple - even themed things in the lobby like casino night, singers etc. 5* DEFINATELY!
FOOD - Dont go if your on a diet cause you could eat forever so much choice!!! Breakfast - Plenty of choice - even for fussy eaters.
Lunch- in the pool restaurant - again absolutley fine, fresh fruit, salad, chips, pizza, pasta etc. - also they do the odd day were they do a BBQ outside with freshly cooked burgers etc.
Dinner- Loads to choose from served 6.30-10.30pm - themed nights.
You can alos use the facilities of the neighbouring hotels of the RIU PLAYACAR, RIU YUCATAN etc.

REALLY GOOD HOLIDAY IF YOU LIKE TO RELAX, BUT WITH THE OPTION TO DO ACTIVITIES GO OUT ETC. IF YOU WANT TO.
BEACH IS A 5 MIN NICE WALK AWAY.
TRY COCO BONGOS NIGHTCLUB/SHOW BAR - IT IS GREAT!!!!!

**DEFINATLEY GETS 5 STARS FROM ME!!**

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank no21_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#59 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,578 reviews
12.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,315 reviews
10.9 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#41 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#50 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,783 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Lupita
Hotel Riu Lupita
#80 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tequila

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tequila
Address: Avenida Xaman-ha | Manzana 3, Lote 19, Condominio Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ClubHotel Riu Tequila 3.5*
Number of rooms: 664
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Within the resort area Playacar along with the hotels Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and Riu Playacar * Main building and 1-story buildings * Surrounded by 48,000 m2 / 57,600 sq. Yards of lush gardens * 800 m / 2,650 ft. From the beach (complimentary shuttle) * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 300 m / 990 ft. From Mexican Street * 55 km / 34 miles from Cancun Int'l Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tequila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Tequila Hotel
Riu Tequila Mexico
Hotel Riu Tequila
Riu Tequila Playa Del Carmen
Rui Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing