We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In love with Riu Playacar!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Playacar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Riu Playacar
Ranked #55 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“In love with Riu Playacar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Spent 8 fantastic nights at Riu Playacar October 23-31. This is a fabulous retreat with warm, colorful Caribbean decor, soft lighting and jungle surroundings. Loved the powdery white beach, with plenty of loungers available daily. The bed was surprisingly comfortable, with extra soft sheets and animal sculptures. Friendly staff smile and greet guests at every turn, and bartenders keep those exotic drinks flowing. The buffet offers a great variety of dishes to suit every taste. I particularly enjoyed dining on the patio surrounded by lush tropical greenery. Cat lovers take note--Riu Playacar has an adorable resort kitty who likes to visit at dinnertime. The nightly dance shows were lively and colorful, not to be missed. Thanks for a lifetime of memories!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pollypocket53132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,816
    1,434
    415
    165
    93
See reviews for
968
1,657
45
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have been to this area of Mexico before and chose this hotel as it was nearer to Playa Del Carmen than our previous stay. In our opinion it was better being more local to Playa, because being all inclusive (as both stays were), it was nice to get out and enjoy alternative surroundings a few times during our holiday.
Taxis are available from the hotel for 70 Pesos( approx. £3.50) to Playa del Carmen and 5th Avenue.
5th Avenue is definitely the place to go to enjoy the odd night, or even day out. There are many bars and restaurants, and also you are sure to find all your presents to take home here.
Back to the hotel, It's not a bad hotel. It is a little dated but then this is reflected in the price you pay and also location comes into this. You would pay more for a better hotel further down the coast and away from Playa.
It is a smallish hotel, with several blocks along a central pathway between reception/lobby bar/buffet restaurant leading to the pool/beach and theatre.
We arrived in the middle of the afternoon and check in was very quick. Our bags were taken to our room while we had a drink or two, (or three) in the lobby bar.
The room was of a reasonable standard with an iron/ironing board, several TV channels in English, Mini-fridge topped up every other day (but if you ask reception they will top it up whenever you like). There are also optics in the room which are topped up when empty. I believe that if you want alternative liquors to that provided this will be supplied if requested.
The rooms are air conditioned and in our room this was left on all day and worked very well. At night we turned it off otherwise we would have been to cold, but it was nice to return to our room after a day in the sun and chill!!
The buffet restaurant has a good selection of food, including chicken, beef, pasta, beef, and of course Mexican. chips are served every day. I would consider myself a selective eater and every day I found food I enjoyed. A good selection of sweets was also available.
The entertainment staff (animation team) were really good and worked very hard throughout the day and night. They organised all activities around the pool and beach and also took part in the evening entertainment in the theatre.
My only criticism was that, the evening shows in the theatre was always based on dancing. This seemed to be the same dance routine but different music. Every night at the theatre did get a little boring a there is nowhere else to go unless you have a night out in Playa which is obviously not part of you All inclusive package. I would like to have seen alternative shows which did not include dancing! ( I hope tour operators read this and take note).
Al the staff at the Riu Playacar were very nice, always friendly and very helpful. I would like to thank Willy and Nestor in the buffet restaurant who both provided a great service every day and night. I hope management read this and acknowledge our appreciation!
One other thing, The beach and sea is stunning. Perfect white sandy beach, crystal clear waters, no rocks or seaweed, fish swimming around you, what more could you want!

Room Tip: It doesn't really matter where your room is, you will not be to far from the pool, beach or rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank garylo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I loved this hotel so much that we are going back again next year for two weeks. Great Staff! The food is pretty good as long as you understand that it is mainly buffet style. The activities staff around the pool was Great! always something to do, from dance lessons to Spanish lessons. This is the smallest of the 6 RIUs in Playacar and, in my opinion, the least crowded. Nice beach area to relax on and we never had a problem finding a seat by the pool.

Room Tip: There are no elevators at this hotel, so you might want to think about that if you are lugging a bun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Hotel upgraded from tequila but not an upgrade at all the facility is more run down nothing do to at property. Pool needs updating and you have to walk far to get to anything. Food leaves much to be desired you have to hunt down a drink. So much for all inclusive

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and it was the most amazing hotel!
The staff are all very attentive and the range of food and drink available is first class.
Whether you want to relax by the pool all day or venture out on the various day trips you will have an amazing time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Just returned home from Riu Playacar, Great vacation, there were activities all day long. Shows at night were wonderful. Food could use a little less salt. Drinks were good. Was there from October 3 to October 15. Great time to go if you do not want a lot of children around. Weather was perfect. Can"t wait to go back as it is a small resort, easy to get around for seniors.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank topsweety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Wasn't the best riu we have stayed at but overall quite good.we stayed there from23rd Sept till7th October all the staff were superb especially Monica the assistant director who went out of her way to assist you .overall the food and refreshments were great if you asked for top brands you were given them .good luck to all the staff.

Room Tip: Block2 2 by floor.right side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank domrep_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#63 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 4,779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 4,650 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Tequila
Hotel Riu Tequila
#46 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 6,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 4,678 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
#39 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 3,906 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#56 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 10,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Playacar

Property: Hotel Riu Playacar
Address: Avenida Xamen-Ha | Manzana 6, Lote 6, Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#50 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#59 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Playacar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In the Playacar resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 8 annexed buildings * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Surrounded by 21,000 m2/25,000 sq. Yards of tropical gardens * Mexican Street, next to Riu Yucatan * 100 m/325 ft. From various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Playacar Playa Del Carmen
Riu Playacar Reviews
Playacar Hotels
Riu Playacar Mexico
Rui Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing