We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a fantastic time”
Review of Hotel Riu Playacar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Playacar
Ranked #51 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have recently returned from a 2 week stay in August 2013 in this lovely hotel.It is well planned so that everywhere is easily accessible: the lobby bar, restaurants, entertainment, pool and beach. There is only one path that links up all the places so nowhere is very far.
Our room was quite large with 2 double beds pushed together. We arrived to a lovely towel animal on the bed woth ribbons and a balloon and a new little animal arrived each day - at one point we had a little collection of 5 !!!!! There is a mini bar which is topped up every 2 days (optics in the bathroom with vodka, rum tequila and brandy) tip - if you want more water for a trip and havent used the 2 bottles you have in the fridge just remove them out of sight and you'll get 2 more.The room was always cleaned well and towels replaced daily.
There is a lot of entertainment during the day for those who like to be active but no pressure to join in if you just want to chill on the beach or by the pool. The animation team work exceptionally hard to ensure everyone has a great time.
There are 2 pools with plenty sunbeds so no need to get up early if you dont want to however you may need to keep moving as the sun moves to avoid the palm trees unless you don't like HEAT!! The beach is beautiful - soft white sand and gorgeous turquoise blue sea. You can actually go quite a longway out and still stand up - a lovely way to cool off when it gets tooooo hot.
The food is also really good with lots of choice in the buffet restaurant as well as the Steak house, Mexican and Japanese restaurants. Friday night in the buffet restaurant is Mexican night so don't book the separate restaurant as there is more choice in the buffet. We tried the Steak house and the Mexican which were both really good but didnt try the Jade as we dont like sushi, however there are theme nights in the buffet and we had a selection of chinese one night from there which was lovely. The staff in the main restaurant are really helpful especially if you sit on the left hand side as you go in, Hector was so attentive with drinks and tidying away plates etc.
We used to go for a drink before dinner each evening at the La Cumbia bar which for some reason was really quiet but we were able to chat to the staff about the cocktails and local places they use- Jorge and Juan were really friendly and helpful - much better than being crowded in the lobby bar which isn't very big.
The evening entertainment was also worth watching - it didn't start until 9.45 so plenty time to fit in drinks, dinner and more drinks before it starts. We saw Chicago. Grease, a Michael Jackson tribute, a fantastic Mayan night and others. Definitely worth watching.
The only downside for me was the mosquitos- although they always get me wherever I go- however even with the local mozzie spray and an ankle band I ended up with over 40 mozzie bites - they even get you while you're in bed with the aircon on!
All in all a fantastic holiday, definitely would recommend this lovely little hotel.

Room Tip: Doesnt really matter everywhere is near everywhere but block 6 (and 5) is near the pool, beach, even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Only_the_two_of_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,090 - 1,096 of 5,075 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had the best trip! If you are looking for a relaxing vacation, this is it!!! Smaller hotel, so you get to know the staff, no fighting people for pool space or beach space. The beach is unbelievable!!! So beautiful!! The food is really good as well. No problems with any of the restaurants.

Food - all very good. My daughter's favorite restaurant was Jade - the Japanese sushi restaurant. We had Mexican the first night, and for my daughter's birthday they gave us 2 bottles of champagne. The staff was amazing. The steak house had a great dessert show

Rooms - very standard, nothing special, but why are you staying in the room??? Comfortable for the stay, no problems. We stayed on the top floor - due to all the reviews complaining about mosquitos - I never got bit and never sprayed myself, but my family did. Just take off, you'll be fine

Beach - Gorgeous!!! shallow for a long way; we also took the snorkeling trip offered by our hotel. Pretty good for the price. Saw lots of fish, a stingray and a turtle!

Pools and staff - awesome.

Shows - go to them, you wont be disappointed.

We travelled with 2 21 year old girls. Everyone had a great time. We will be returning!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in block 5 - the light blue building. Great location to everything. Stayed on the 3rd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here aug 7th - 21st had an amazing time. As people have mentioned it maybe a little worn in places but for all the hard work the staff do and the food they supply you can look beyond it. The rooms are exceptionally clean and were kept they way for the entire 2 wks of our stay. Towel animals were placed on the beds most days. There was always sun beds round the 2 pools. We chose to sit around the quieter one. The entertainment staff were excellent especially Omar who was also ready for a laugh and a joke with you. There was lots going on all day but you were never forced to join in. We only watched a couple of the shows as they are not really our thing but they were ok. I could not fault the food only to say that by the end of the 2 wks I had had enough of looking at so much food and couldn't decide what to eat anymore! We ate at the Asian and Mexican and they were ok but if you like lots of choice then stick to the buffet. My husband and daughter went diving using Scuba caribe on site and I join them just snorkelling. It's was a fantastic all day trip on a catamaran with a total of 17 people for the full day. The 2 of them were taken off to dive with the guide while the rest of us stopped of at Isla Murjues for shopping. I would definitely recommend them. We also did the whale shark swimming trip fantastic experience but it is a long trip ( about an hour) out to sea on a fast speed boat so please consider this if you get seasick as
lots of people did. Coba was really good to see and also the Mayan village the children were beautiful. You will not be disappointed at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank linruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The sand is very clean and white with turquoise coloured sea. The sea is also very clean. Food brill lots of variety all the time even at lunch times lots of drinks to choose from all proper brands not cheap stuff. All staff very nice and helpful. This hotel is due for a refurb The rooms are a bit dated but always very clean. Mini bar stocked every day A few shops outside across the road and you can look around without people bothering you which is nice. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angiebabe356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I just got back from a week stay at this lovely resort with my extended family. Let me start off with the food... Exquisite! Not like previous all inclusive resorts I've stayed at in Playacar it was not repetitive. There is a lot of variety in the food at the breakfast, snack, and dinner buffets. Really liked the Steakhouse restaurant and Asian restaurant. The hotel was not crowded so there were always umbrellas to lay under at the pool and there are were always empty spots at the beach. The rooms were always kept tidy by housekeeping. The bartenders were all very polite and friendly as well as the staff at reception. My only complaint is that one evening I went to get a drink and came back to my spot at the beach and a member of the staff was putting my chair away when there were plenty of empty chairs to put away because "he had to start putting the chairs away." I understand it was his job though. Overall great resort and I hope I can come back very soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

stayed april 2009 hotel facilites and animation fabulous. short review as a few years since visit but realised hadnt reviewed it. If its still the same then 100% recommend it or the neighbouring RIU hotels. Playacar is beach side and literally on the beach.
Food drink optics and beer in room a bonus lol all in all great time had

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gh0st96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have just returned from our second visit to this hotel and it was good as the first. This hotel is only small which makes it so nice. The staff here are so friendly and the entertainment team work so hard. If you wish to join in activities then all is well if not you are not made to. The hotel is in an ideal location with several shops just across the road and then a 20-30 minute walk (or taxi ride if you wish 70 mexican pesos) into Playa del Carmen. The food is so varies and the choice is out of this world. The standard of food was also exceptional. I agree with other reviews that it may need some updating in the rooms and the pool area but I dont think the layout should be changed or the hotel made bigger as this will spoil it. You can book snorkelling trips, scuba diving, fishing, jet skis from Caribe Scuba which are located just on the beach. The guys that work here are also fantastic. My husband and son did their PADI Course with them and they were fab. Just a short walk along the beach the opposite way to Playa del Carmen past all the hotels there is a reef which you can walk out to and the fish are amazing. Plenty of trips to do. Our room was cleaned to a very high standard every day and always a different animal made from towels waiting for us when we returned. The shows on night were not great then you didnt have to watch them if you didnt want to. I would return to this hotel tomorrow given the chance.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WatoCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.8 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#50 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#62 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,888 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#44 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#30 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,647 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#102 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Playacar

Address: Avenida Xamen-Ha | Manzana 6, Lote 6, Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#50 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#57 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $191 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Playacar 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In the Playacar resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 8 annexed buildings * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Surrounded by 21,000 m2/25,000 sq. Yards of tropical gardens * Mexican Street, next to Riu Yucatan * 100 m/325 ft. From various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Prestigia, RIU Hotels and Resorts, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riu Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Playacar Playa Del Carmen
Riu Playacar Reviews
Playacar Hotels
Riu Playacar Mexico
Rui Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing