We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent holiday to suit all tastes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Playacar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riu Playacar
Ranked #53 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“excellent holiday to suit all tastes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Playacar is one of 6 Rius on this large holiday village - we had access to 4. The playacar rooms are a little tired, need an upgrade but this didn't in any way spoil our enjoyment. The hotewl is the smallest & quietest of the 4 which suited us, less children & we thought the best of the 4. We saw no need to pay extra to go to the Palaces. Our room was 2 minutes from the pool, 3 from the beautiful sandy beach. The was plenty of room each day. Food excellent - spolit for choice & by the end of the 2 weeks too much!! Cocktails superb. Staff in the main very friendly, cleaning service excellent.
we went with Thomson & could have gone on lots of excursions but wanted a quite break. There was no pressure to do more. The town was a half hour walk away; some pressure to buy but otherwise no real hassle. Definitely the perfect holiday to suit all tastes

Room Tip: The pink block to be near the pool, away from the entertainment, 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suebeau32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,213
    1,636
    475
    175
    101
See reviews for
1,214
1,967
53
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my sister for just a week from 7 November which went way too fast and really too far to go for such a short holiday. However we were not disappointed and had a lovely time. The hotel, location, food and staff were all excellent. My only criticism would be the evening entertainment as it was pretty dire and sent us running for the hills every night - although we found it hard to escape completely as we were at the end of the pink block which faces onto the pools and the dreaded entertainment! However it all stops by midnight so not too much of a problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enseada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel and the staff were amazing....we were catered to hand and foot by a friendly and efficient staff. The only complaint is that the beds were somewhat uncomfortable, and the needed better pillows. Other than that they had fabulous food, and amazing grounds with beautiful pools and beach access...we were there from Nov 5-12-2012

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at the Playacar from October 12th - 26th and had a fabulous time. Buffet was excellent with something I would image for everyones taste. Although I agree beds were hard a topper was always available if needed.
The staff did everything to make your holiday special and that includes all staff they could not do enough for you and all with a smile on their faces. We would highly recommend this small but personal holiday only problem is that we have heard they are going to refurbish this hotel - Riu please keep the great atmosphere in this hotel.
As I have already said all staff were excellent but on a personal note special mention to all the Amination Team (never seen any team work harder with great enthusiasm) and the bar staff, special mention for Arsenio, who my husband thought was great.
Hope to get back next year and we would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for the personal touch with a great staff to help make your holiday perfect

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Akemi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I liked Riu Playacar. We had a great time. The food is pretty good...but you get sort of tired of buffet food after a few days. The beds were hard but we got a mattress topper and it worked out. The shower is great, good water pressure and it got hot right away.
The only downside is that we were on the backside near a construction site and I swear to God they started working (heavy machinery, yelling, etc) at 0600 each day. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a fun trip. The facilities are clean and pleasant. Lots of people smoking on the beach (and using the sand as their personal ashtrays) but that was everywhere down there...and not RIU's fault.

Room Tip: ask for a mattress topper when you check in...and try to get a room in the middle of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ajj083001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were tod by over twenty staff members that the RIU Playacar will be cloing and being made into a Riu Grand Palace. We prefer the much smaller resorts instead of a huge six and up story resort.
Now about our stay there was excellent. No problems with anything. Food, service, rooms, drinks were all great. We have stayed at almost all of the RIU resorts around the world and would put the Playacar near the very top of our list to visit. On a sad not we received a phone call that someone in our family had died and so we went to the front desk and asked the best way to make a phone call. The youg lady behind the desk,(Veronica I believe is her name) told us to use the RIU phone as ofen and as many times as we wished at no charge. Now you can't beat that for service. Great job RIU staff

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Buffalo4155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Riu Playacar 15-22 Oct 2012. This was our second time there and we had a great time, again! We are planning our third trip for next October already with a number of friends.

I agree with the other good reviews of this Riu. Overall it is a great value.

My personal observations that vary somewhat from others or not mentioned:

Food - Overall very good with a good variety. The only things that I did not like were the steaks seems to be overcooked in all the restuarants and the Asian food in the Jade restuarant was not to my liking... but who goes to Mexico to eat Asian food... The Mexian food was great!

Beach - The resort is right on a very nice white sand beach. We were only approached by a few vendors over the course of the week and they would leave immediately after a "no gracias." There are many beach chairs lined up and we never had a problem getting a chair regardless of the time of day.

Tipping. We tipped the wait staff and bartenders, but not every day or every meal. We tipped the housekeepers every day. It is definitley not mandatory, but certainly appreciated.

Staff. Great and friendly. This is mentioned in all the other reviews but deserves to be mentioned again.

Taxis. It is only a little more than a mile to PDC, but the taxi is 70 pesos (up from 50 pesos 2 years ago). The taxi union is very stong there and only taxis can pick up "guests" along the private road to PDC. There are taxis waiting at the resort if you need one.

Golf. There is a golf course 7 minutes walk from the Riu. Green fees were $120 twilight (after 2:00) and $50 to rent clubs. The course looked interesting and narrow, but I did not get around to playing it. I did walk by one day and saw a number of iguanas sunning themselves in a sand trap.

Scuba. There is a dive shop on the property (Sucba Caribe). You can get a free lesson in the pool if you want. Their prices seemed a little high and we dove with Dive Shop Mexico in PDC. We dove with Dive Shop Mexico last trip as well. If you want the convience, you can't beat the shop on site. If you are already certified, I highly recommend Dive Shop Mexico (on 20 Norte in PDC). We did both a reef dive and a cenote dive.

October is the slow season there so the resort is not crowded. The weather was great. I don't know about other times of the year, but I recommend October.

Overall we had a great time and I highly recommend the Riu Playacar. As I mentioned, we are plannig our next trip already.

Room Tip: There are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rudi_the_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#61 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,415 reviews
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#39 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#38 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#46 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,503 reviews
12.8 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,182 reviews
13.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Playacar

Property: Hotel Riu Playacar
Address: Avenida Xamen-Ha | Manzana 6, Lote 6, Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#50 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#57 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Playacar 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In the Playacar resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 8 annexed buildings * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Surrounded by 21,000 m2/25,000 sq. Yards of tropical gardens * Mexican Street, next to Riu Yucatan * 100 m/325 ft. From various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Riu Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Playacar Playa Del Carmen
Riu Playacar Reviews
Playacar Hotels
Riu Playacar Mexico
Rui Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing