We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This may have been a 5 star many years ago...only a 3 star in 2011”
Review of Hotel Riu Playacar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Playacar
Ranked #52 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This may have been a 5 star many years ago...only a 3 star in 2011”
Reviewed April 14, 2011

I read the tripadvisor reviews prior to our vacation and felt that the reviews were overall quite good...there are always a few people who are never satisfied and like to complain..so the low numbers of those that did not recommend this resort did not deter us. I felt I had a responsibility to write a review after our stay at the RIU Playacar. We would not recommend this resort!

My husband and I travel down south at least once a year and have stayed at a number of resorts. This was our 5th. trip to Mexico and our 4th. stay in Playa del Carmen. We have always loved the area and still do. Due to special circumstances this year we were forced to book last minute and ended up staying at the RIU Playacar.

Firstly I would like to say that the staff are outstanding. The food at the buffet was plentiful and well prepared. Unfortunately, the resort is old. The beds in the room are not only hard, but you will feel the springs. The pillows are so thin as to be non existant. We needed to use the extra blankets out of the closet only to find one with smears of something brown and the other smelling so foul that even the staff were revolted. The room was damp to the extent that the bedding always felt damp. We aired out the room everyday to no avail. When we arrived the room was full of mosquitos...we later found out this was because the screen door had been removed from the patio. We still took our chances with the mosquitos as it was the only way to get some air into the room (We did have one of the stray cats come to visit our room one day, it was outrageous enough to be hilarious!) The bathrooms are moldy, the toilet ran non stop. The rooms smell.

The gym is not actually located at this resort. It is located two resorts down the road at another RIU resort.

The pool with the swim up bar actually has yellow water. When you stand on the little bridge that crosses over the two sections of pool it is clearly evident that the urine level is very high on the sde with the pool bar the other side is a pristine blue....there is no washroom easily accessible for pool users (The only washroom in that area is beside the lunch buffet where you have to be wearing shoes, shorts and shirts). The fellas at the bar obviously felt the same way....they did not leave their stools at the swim up bar all afternoon. Hence the yellow water.

The steakhouse and asian inspired restaurants are not worth your while. We didn't bother trying the mexican restaurant.

I would recommend if you are going to stay at a RIU book yourself into one of the Palace resorts with RIU. It is truly a 5 star. It will cost you a little more...but well worth the money!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mfamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,392
    1,719
    493
    182
    108
See reviews for
1,313
2,098
57
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We made our first trip to Riviera Maya and stayed at Riu Playacar last March. We enjoyed it so much that we returned again this year. We arrived on March 29th and departed on April 7th. The weather was mid to high 80's while we were there. It was a bit more humid this year but that may be because we were there about three weeks later than we were last year. It didn't really bother us too much, we just jumped in the pool or the ocean when we needed to cool down. Most of the time, there was a good breeze. We also seemed to have missed alot of the "spring breakers" that like to party a little heavier than we do!

We especially enjoy the friendly and wonderful service we receive from the staff at this resort. They all work very hard and always have smiles on their faces! We usually ended our evenings at the lobby bar for a nightcap (or two) and really enjoyed the variety of music they had some nights, as well as our bartenders, Daniel, Froylann, Nancy, and Abraham. They made us feel so welcome!

We have been pleasantly surprised both visits with the food, cocktail quality. We had heard that "all-inclusives" are sometimes not so hot when it comes to those things, but we had no complaints. As far as rooms, they are clean and maid service is good. For those of us who are "light" sleepers, it can be a little noisy in the early mornings. We didn't have any loud people in our building at night so that was pleasant. Pads for the beds are a must unless you like hard beds.

We were a little disappointed with the quality of the pool (the section with the pool bar) as it did not appear as clean as last year. Most days the water was quite cloudy so we chose to spend our time in the other pool. On our last day, it appeared they must have done something to make it better but it would have been nice if they could have had it clear and clean for our entire vacation.

The beach is awesome. Mostly yellow and red flag days while we were there, a little rough on the feet at times when you first entered the water, due to shells, etc. Water shoes would be a good thing to have!

We think this resort was great and it was a reasonable value for a 10 day all-inclusive vacation through Delta Vacations.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mackenna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2011

I was booked for this resort through a travel agent for myself (23) and my mother (50). I am always nervous when booking resorts because there are always good reviews and then really really bad reviews but this resort was absolutely amazing and was the time of both of our lives.

The resort itself is smaller than the other Riu's but I personally liked that better, it allowed us to get a more hands on experience with the different activities around the resort as there wasn't always huge crowds of people although there was always at least a handful of people doing each activity.

The resort is beautiful. The entertainment areas, restaurants and lobby all have beautiful artwork and designs. Very easy layout, 6 complex buildings along the pathway down to the beach. The beach is a two-three minute walk from the main lobby. You could see the staff around constantly cleaning the grounds and the buildings. Our building had a broken arm rail in the staircase which stressed me out because of the risk for injury, within two hours of my arrival it was fixed.

Our room was extremely clean and made up nicely, with different towel animals on the bed after it had been changed. There was an alcohol cupboard and fridge in the bathroom area which they filled up every other day with water, pop, beer. There is also a safe in the closet on the room which you keep a key for. The main room where the beds are have a phone, tv, table, chairs, dreser. The bathroom area with sink and mini bar and closet has a curtain to seprate it from the main room. The toilet is separate on its own with a door and there is standing shower with a curtain. Each room has a nice little balcony with chairs and table and a rack attached to the wall for you to dry wet clothing on. There were two large beds pushed together which could be easily separated and the beds were comfortable to sleep in. Other reviews said the beds were hard, but we didn't have a problem with them in slightest. The only issue at all we had with our room is that the first day our toilet would not flush at all. It was extremely frustrating, they had sent two people up to fix it and didn't actually fix it, but the next morning they gave us a brand new room which we were 110% happy with. Had they not given us a new room or at least fixed the toilet, this review might not be as positive. If you want a quieter night's sleep you should ask for a room near the front lobby as rooms closer to the entertainment area will have music playing late although not through the entire night.

The restaurants were amazing. After being at another resort that was not 24 hr food, it was quite a difference in this one. There was always food available so we felt free to do whatever we wanted during the day without having to time our day around mealtimes. There is three speciality restaurants the Jade is Asian, The Turquesa is split into half Mexican and half steakhouse. We only tried the steakhouse because I am just not a fan of asian food and there was plenty of mexican food available in the buffet although we heard that both restaurants were very good. The steakhouse was excellent, the service impecable. They even did a show for us for desert involving alcohol lit on fire. The buffets were absolutely amazing, there was so much variety in the food and everything tasted great. The really good thing about it is that if you like one food like chicken, they will serve it to you different 10 different times. Each day the food is cooked differently or with different spices.

The beach was absolutely beautiful, very large, very clean, lots of chairs. Sometimes had a little bit of a problem finding a chair mid afternoon but otherwise not an issue. The resort has two pools which were great and a kids splash area as well as a jacuzzi. The one pool has volleyball net for the pool and is connected to the swim up bar. Bartenders were awesome.

My favourite thing about this resort is the night performances and entertainment. The members of the animation team are so much fun and easy to get along with. They try to get as many people involved as possible. They are flirty, but generally good at appealing to all age groups. They are also wonderful with the children. Activities they had included rifflery, bocce ball tournament, ping pong tournament, dance lessons, darts, spanish lessons, beach volleyball as well as many other games. They also had demonstrations during some of the lunches where they showed how to make the towel/napkin animals, crafts out of palm leaves and how to make some of the shots to represent different countries. The night performances were a tonne of fun and some of the dancing was absolutely amazing. My one complaint with this is that the one dance group we saw perform a couple too many times, it would have been nicer to have a little bit more variety. The Mariachi band and traditional Mexican dance show were excellent. The animation team had me on stage dancing several times, so they give you really good opportunities to try things you might not do at home.

My mom said as soon as she got home she was going to start saving up again to go back there. My advice is to go to this resort and enjoy, the staff are all extremely friendly and helpful so if you are open to being friendly back and to having a good time, they will make sure you do. I will definetly be going back to the Riu Playacar :D

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickeybass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

My girlfriend and I just returned from a 7 night stay at the Riu Playacar in Playa Del Carmen, Mexico from March 18 to 25, 2011. We are a two 20-something professionals who have previously traveled to the Dominican and Cuba, so we have traveled enough to know what to expect from a resort and we chose the Riu Playcar both for the good reviews and the reduced likelihood of running into crowds of spring breakers. Below is a breakdown of what we experienced, in order of what was most important to us.

The Beach:

Cancun is known for its white sand beaches and beautiful turquoise waters, and that is exactly what you will get here. The sand is full of broken seashells that may cause some discomfort when walking and the waves were especially harsh during our stay, but we spent most of our time at the beach and loved it. There are some palm trees that provide shade to those who desire it, while the majority of the beach is uncovered and perfect for getting that tan you’re after. The only drawback for us was the lack of a bar on the actual beach, which seems to be a standard for many resorts, so expect to trek a little to get your drinks. The aforementioned strong waves in the ocean did pose a problem when it came to swimming and I recommend parents of young children be cautious when letting them into the water on windy days, as the waves were downright violent at times.

The Food and Drinks:

Having been to Cuba and the Dominican, my expectations of the resort food were not extremely high, but I always found something I liked. The main buffet, adjacent to the lobby, is where we ate breakfast and dinner often and the food was good on the whole. There is a good selection of Mexican and international dishes, with staples you see every day and a few special dishes introduced on theme nights. Given the delicate pallets of many American and Canadian guests, the food is not overly spiced and you are given sauces and condiments to flavor the food to your liking. What impressed me most was how on-the-ball the staff seemed to be when it came to keeping food fresh and topped up. As soon as a dish was running low, there was a fresh batch right around the corner and this kept up until the restaurant closed. The only drawback to the main buffet is that it isn’t open for lunch, only breakfast and dinner, so you will need to find your daytime sustenance at the other buffet, close to the beach, which offers mainly standard burgers, hotdogs, pasta, nachos and salads. Not exceptional but still very tasty and convenient. The resort also offers three “themed” restaurants that guests can partake of; Asian, Steak House and Mexican. All three offer a fine dining experience and the food was good overall. The only downsides to the food was the death of good seafood, something my girlfriend and I were really hoping for, and the fact that the meat was often tough and overcooked.

As for drinks, I was very impressed with the quality and selection of cocktails on offer at the lobby bar (open 24 hours), the pool bar that also has a swim-up section, and the main bar near the beach. The bartenders are well trained to make a variety of specialty cocktails and they also know the staples, and they are consistent across the board. A Pina Colada will taste the same regardless of which bartender makes it. If beer is your thing, Dos Equis flows like running water and it is also stocked in the mini-bar in your room, The usual caveat of bringing your own cup applies here as well, since the cups offered are fairly small. For teetotalers or the underage, a selection of soft drinks and juices are available, in addition to coffee beverages and tea.

The Room:

The Riu Playacar is divided into three-level villas and, given that this is a smaller resort, you will not have to walk far to get to either the beach or the lobby. The room itself is a standard room with all you really need, and while I do agree that the beds were a little on the firm side, I actually liked this and slept very well every night. The shower is rather small and lacks a light, but thankfully the water pressure and availability of hot water was constant throughout our stay. Every room also comes with a reliable safe for storing your valuables, a mini-bar stocked with soda, water and beer, and a liquor dispenser that offers tequila, rum, whisky and vodka. There is one think I need to strongly caution you about. The floors become incredibly slippery when wet and it is easy to slip and take a nasty fall, as I did, so be very careful when trekking water via your wet clothes or when stepping out of the shower. The other complaint I had is that the doors and walls do little to block out noise pollution from the hallways, so expect to get woken up repeatedly by rowdy guests and banging doors.

The Staff:

Most employees of the Riu Playacar start their days at the crack of dawn and they work hard to keep the grounds maintained, the drinks flowing and the guests entertained. I found them to be happy, cheerful and genuinely friendly, and to my surprise, they weren’t just pining for tips as staff at other resorts seem to do. Tips are always appreciated but they are rarely expected or asked for, which definitely helped guests warm to them. The maids do a good job of cleaning you room on time and they are very talented with making animals out of towels, so there is usually a nice surprise waiting for you in your room every day. Equally hard working are the entertainment staff, who spend their days at the pool doing fun games and classes, at the beach entertaining guests and putting on nightly shows in the theatre. We attended a few of these shows, which range from comedy sketches to themed dance shows, and we were thoroughly entertained. In short, the staff were fantastic and special props go out to Felix at the swim-up bar and Rueben, the uber-flamboyant and utterly hilarious entertainment team member. You’ll definitely remember him.

The Excursions:

Par for the course at any resort, representatives from your tour operator will be in the lobby booking organized excursions off the resort and we booked two of them that are especially noteworthy. The first was the Chichen Itza, which is an all-day trip to the fames Mayan ruins, and we had the good fortune to go during the first day of the spring Equinox. The second was the Jungle Maya, which was an adventure tour that involved swimming and snorkeling in natural caves, zip-lining through the jungle and taking a very bumpy off-road ride in a big 4x4. Both were well organized and run by fun and knowledgeable tour operators, and both excursions will give you a true taste of Mayan culture and history. However, this all comes with a big word of caution. When you get off the plan in Cancun and you are directed to a representative at the airport, speak with them and ask about the excursions you might be interested in. Not only will they give you some insight and advice, but they will also tell you the maximum price that you should be charged and this helped us avoid getting ripped off by our Sunquest representative who tried to overcharge us $20 for the excursions we wanted to book (he would presumably pocket the difference). The fact that they have the foresight to warn you against overpaying for an excursion obviously means that this happens often, so educate yourself before booking.

Simple Advice:

- Sunscreen, sunscreen and more sunscreen! Don’t underestimate the baking power of the Mexican sun, as I did, or else you will wind up with a nasty burn, also as I did.

- The general store in the lobby is a good source for sundry items you will need or want during your stay, but they are also overpriced. There is a shopping complex directly across the street from the resort where you can shop around, or take a taxi into Playa Del Carmen and see if any better deals are to be found.

- Given that plenty of uninhibited travelers come to this resort, prepare to see some bare breasts on the beach…both male and female.

- The currency accepted at the resort is the US dollar and the Peso. Canadian dollars are generally not accepted, however you can do currency exchanges in the lobby and the rates are reasonable.

- Avoiding making long distance phone calls from your room if you can, as the billing can go up to $5 per minute (no kidding). Use your mobile phone which has better roaming rates. The calling cards they sell at the resort also incur a service charge.

- Given the tropical climate, expect to see bugs including some pretty ghastly looking mosquitoes. Be sure to pack bug spray and apply generously in the evening.

Overall, my girlfriend and I have few regrets about choosing the Riu Playacar and we definitely recommend it for anyone looking for a relaxing holiday or somewhere family-friendly. As with any resort, people looking for things to complain about will find imperfections that satisfy that need, but modest people looking for something fun and affordable should definitely consider this place for their next holiday.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank browland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Loved the location and the resort. Smaller and quieter, but still lively. The grounds are attractive and well maintained. Staff is friendly and attentive. A relaxed setting with plenty to do. The beach is lovely. We had a ball with the waves. The pools were nice, too. This is our third time to Mexico and the Yucatan Peninsula and all time we stayed in RIU resorts. Very dependable brand and worth your money. We chose the Playacar for the beach, but have stayed at the Tequila. May try the Yucatan next. Our best tour was booked at the Tequila near the gate--ATV ride thru jungle to the Cenotes. Great guide and small group. Ask for Eduardo.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that face the back of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelFan48302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

just returned today from 2 weeks at the riu playacar.
i researched the hotel and other before we went and i sort of knew what we were expecting.!!!
we stopped in block 5,2nd floor and we overlooked the pathway leading to the lobby/beach,could have been worse (overlooking the next hotels laundry room).
we got to know some of the british holidaymakers over the 2 weeks,and they all were in block 5??? (coincidence by the hotel,we brits dont complain as much as some)
3 couples had no hot water for days,one couple had none for 7 days,and the maintainence man said just run it until it comes hot,it took 20 or so minutes,a waste of water.
our room was clean,and cleaned daily,but it was far from perfect. the shower tray was damaged,and was clearly very old,the plug hole was loose and no light in the shower at all??
we had a mini bar/fridge and we requested pepsi light,and the lads did change it.
the bed was like a snooker table,it took 3 or 4 days for our backs to get used to it,but it was clean ,apart from the throw on the top,which was filthy in places.
the pool on the 2nd week was disgusting,you could'nt see the bottom,very cloudy,it should have been closed for health reasons,a couple who used it got mouth ulcers,so we used the beach.
the food....there is the self service restaurant,and we ate here mostly,breakfast a great selection, and the evening selections varied ,overall a 9 out of 10.

we went to the mexican restaurant one night and lets just say very average, food bland a score of 5 out of 10,(the mexican night in the self serve was far better)

also we tried the steakhouse and very similar service/etc. again quite bland ,6 out of 10 from all of us.

the bar staff canot do enough for you,we tipped them 20 peso's usually,and frequently,this got us good service,we especially liked nancy and enrique as well as abraham.

when there you have to do the bar crawl with thomson,55 us dollars,and worth every penny. blows you away coco bongo's 10 out of 10.

we were looked after by miguel and andy(thomson) and the made the perfect combination,(local knowledge and company experience) they were not pushy i seeling you trips,they explained them and said if we want any let us know.

we went over to the tequilla to play pool 2 nights (sports bar) and the residents (kids) made playing pool almost impossible,take ear plugs if you want to brave drunk kids screaming,other wise stay clear,

would we stay at the riu playacar next year, if the condition of the rooms was the same then no, but they might one day spend some dollars on the place.

also lastly,we booked with portland holidays (thomson group) and they advised us to take mexican peso's with us,well we were given bad advice,take us dollars,every where takes them and you have to pay for trips in us dollars,so you get shafted on the exchange rate,also its better for you if you tip 1 dollar,as 20 peso is around1.6 dollars.
hope this helps.

john whitehead
la duquesa
andalucia
spain

Room Tip: take us dollars instead of peso's
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceciliamjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Traveled with a group of 10, 5 adults and 5 teenagers. The Riu Playcar met all our needs.
A smaller resort, 6 buildings, 3 stories high. Main Lobby is street front, 2 rows of 3 buildings, then restaurants, entertainment, pool, then beach.

Rooms: We stayed in building 4, in the middle. try to get building 3 or 4, as it may have less traffic walking by. We had a middle floor, although we had requested a top floor, but 4 rooms were not available on top. slightly noisy at times, your room is only as quiet as your neighbors next door. most rooms open to a center open corridor, and the place is bustling by 8am. Beds are very hard. we had a mattress topper on our beds when we arrived so we didn't have to request one, but its still hard with the topper, and side sleepers will toss and turn at night! All rooms have 2 double beds pushed together. the bathroom has a curtain, then sink, closet, nice shower, and toilet with door. fridge with water, pop, beer, and a liquor cabinet dispenser. Small patio. We didn't have any odors in our room as some had in previous reviews. there is no ocean view rooms, buildings are set back a bit, and lots of palm trees, then beach/ocean.

Food: Food was great! never tired of the menu. In main lobby is large breakfast buffet, something for everyone. Lunch is a buffet at Turquesa near pool/beach. taco station everyday, hot foods, cold foods, pizza, french fries, chips, pica de gallo, fresh guacamole.
dinner is main lobby buffet again, they changed the menu every night. We did go to all the specialty restaurants, Turquesa which is the lunch spot, transforms to half steakhouse and half mexican at night. all great food. Jade is an asian buffet in main lobby. asian entrees and sushi. You have to make reservations for the steakhouse, mexican and asian restaurants at the breakfast buffet starting at 7am. reservations go fast! you need to be there a few minutes early to get what you want. seatings for dinner are at 6:45pm and 8:45pm.

Lobby Bar, Pool Bar, and a Bar by the entertainment stage. the entertainment was not great, we walked by a few times at night to see the show, but never sat down to watch.
There is a disco at Riu Tequila, and a sports bar there, went over there one evening.

2 pools, never crowded. we stayed on the beach all day everyday, got there around 9:30am, no problems getting chairs. Some palm trees for limited shade, or large open area near water. Great beach! activities all day, take it or leave it!

Friendly employees, very clean, great location. 45 minute bus ride from airport. shopping area across the street. Starbucks, jewelry, clothing, misc. I would recommend this hotel, decently priced for a decent hotel. I probably wouldn't stay again, not that it was bad, but we like to try different properties, maybe another Riu.

Room Tip: building 3 or 4, top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troythetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#60 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,705 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#40 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#28 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
ClubHotel Riu Tequila
#51 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,887 reviews
11.3 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#88 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Playacar

Property: Hotel Riu Playacar
Address: Avenida Xamen-Ha | Manzana 6, Lote 6, Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#50 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#57 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Playacar 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* In the Playacar resort area, along with the Riu Palace Mexico, Riu Palace Riviera Maya, Riu Yucatan and the ClubHotel Riu Tequila hotels * Main building and 8 annexed buildings * Located on the beach * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * Surrounded by 21,000 m2/25,000 sq. Yards of tropical gardens * Mexican Street, next to Riu Yucatan * 100 m/325 ft. From various shops * 55 km/34 miles from Cancun Int'l. Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riu Playacar Playa Del Carmen
Riu Playacar Reviews
Playacar Hotels
Riu Playacar Mexico
Rui Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing