We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
Nearby Hotels
Panama Jack Resort(Playa del Carmen)
$293
$235
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$669
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$397
$261
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
$288
$239
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$450
$280
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
$244
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$864
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla(Playa del Carmen)
$387
$289
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Petit Lafitte(Playa del Carmen)
$168
$160
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$781
$504
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (13,840)
Filter reviews
13,840 results
Traveler rating
6,498
4,534
1,598
673
537
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,498
4,534
1,598
673
537
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsselect clubaqua parkinternational buffetlos liriosmayan showskids clubel temploromantic boat ridemain pooljade riverla toscanaroyal elite sectionwater shoesselect areabrazilian restaurantkids water parkadults only section
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,610 - 4,615 of 13,840 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Well lets see sandos resort first of all you get stuck into a time share presentation That your "concierge" sets up while she shows u a bit about the resort right after check in ! Second we stayed locked out of our room five times the first two days ( before they fixed the problem ) and had to walk all the way back to the front desk with two tired nine year olds and a one year old we were close to the beach so there went almost an hour each time ,which made us miss our show and dinner plans !
Third Place was understaffed in the kitchen lines were long and in the snack bar u can count on eating hamburgers and hot dogs everyday if u had time to wait in line . The kids club !!!they lost one of our kids for three hours !!! After speaking with the so called Manager Carla well all she could say was sorry REALLY !!!' They ruined our vacation from day one
We did go to Xel-Ha and found food to be way better then what they had at the resort ... on a good note our housekeeper was awesome most employees were in a good mood oh
Last of all our refrigerator was frozen so we had warm drinks all week they had no extra refrigerators on hand .

Stayed: November 2013
3  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Thank you Sandos for a wonderful time!
There were 24 of us that went. Three children between the ages of 6-10 and 21 adults. I cannot begin to tell you what a great time we had. The resort was very clean, the staff were nice and the accommodations were more than expected. We also found it very interesting that this was an Eco Friendly resort. The animals were most interesting and although we had to fend off some of your furry friends, we enjoyed the experience.
Some of the activities that we all enjoyed while staying at the resort were the buffets, restaurants, nightly shows, music and the kids club!
I would highly recommend this resort if you have children or just want to "play and have fun"!

Room Tip: We stayed in room numbers in the 1700's and they where in a good central location for everything we needed to do or get to while we were there.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Caracol, Manager at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa.

We are thrilled that you and your group had such a fantastic time! The cleaning staff work tirelessly to ensure that the resort is left sparkling at all times so your comments are very much appreciated.

We're glad that you embraced the eco element of the hotel, and that you also enjoyed all the nightly shows we have on offer. We have a full programme of shows which all start at 20:30. Our current shows include, Circus acts, Talent contests, Mayan Xcalacoco ceremony, Sandos Music Awards, Disney, Michael Jackson and Mexican traditions!

We thank you for your high recommendations and we hope that you will be back to see us again in the future!

Kindest regards,

Isobel Finlayson
Social Concierge
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa
socialconcierge.caracol@sandos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We spent a week at the Sandos Caracol resort met other family with kids ages 4 to 12. The resort is very clean, with the town house style accommodations and the boardwalks through mangroves you definitely do not feel like you are staying in a hotel. Buffet selections were good and we when to the seafood restaurant and the Italian restaurant and the steak restaurant with the seafood restaurant being the best. The is lots of wildlife around especially the racoons which are very bold if that bothers you then I suggest you find a more sterile environment. The beach itself is good but there are rock outcroppings in the water but that did not slow anyone down. The resort has its own cenote which is fresh and cool and a must do. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goriders99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Caracol, Manager at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa.

We are thrilled to hear that you had a great time during your vacation here with us. Fantastic to hear that you tried some of our a la carte restaurants but also appreciated the extensive variety on offer in our main restaurant, La Laguna.

The cenote is so beautiful and we are so lucky to have a natural one within the grounds of the hotel. We actually have 4 cenotes in total. Everyday at 10:30 our eco tour departs from the Sports bar which gives guests the opportunity to learn more about all the wonderful vegetation we have here, and their links to the mayan culture.

We are so glad that you would definitely come back! We await your email informing us of your next trip!
We look forward to seeing you back here soon!

Kindest regards,

Isobel Finlayson
Social Concierge
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa
socialconcierge.caracol@sandos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was my second time visiting your hotel, and I brought a friend, it was her first time. We had such an amazing time, she is already set to book her next visit. Everything was wonderful, but the over the top experience is absolutely due to the staff you have, my favorite waitress in the restaurant Sara and in the bar Ricardo. Everyone is so nice and helpful and most of all FUN!! And a special shout out to Nicki the Belgian lady, she was amazing, she helped us with our luggage trouble, our room, she was there in the morning, afternoon and evening, and she gave us such great information to help us while we were visiting areas off the resorts property, thanks again Nicki!

The Sandos Caracol is built around a jungle with many animals including monkeys! So fun and exciting to see them up in the trees or on the thatched rooftops! Several other guests told us they'd had monkeys on their balconies, but we never did. The jungle is also home to many other animals and birds, so much to see and different from other resorts! The resort is spotless and the staff works incredibly hard and is always so helpful and friendly that a dollar or two is no big deal. We brought 100$ in singles and used them all in the week (the tip for our housekeeper was separate from this)

We would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking to get away from the ordinary. It's a reasonably priced vacation that is good for most couples and families. I did not see a big singles contingent and there's not a lot of nightlife and craziness unless you go into Playa Del Carmen. See you next year!

Room Tip: Villa 28 was great for us!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1301TK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Caracol, Manager at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay here with us at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa.

It´s fantastic to hear that you had such a wonderful time here with your friend! We are so glad that we continue to impress you with our service and friendly staff members. We appreciate you signalling some of our excellent personnel that help put a smile on your faces during your vaction. They are all touched that you took the time to thank them personally.

We're so glad that you loved seeing all the wild animals. The monkeys are a hoot, absolutely amazing creatures!

We hope that you will be back to see us soon. Great to hear that you're friend is already planning her return trip.

Please write to us to let us know when you are planning to come back.

Kindest regards,

Isobel Finlayson
Social Concierge
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa
socialconcierge.caracol@sandos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Very few negatives about this hotel, so will get them out of the way first.
Guest Services (aka timeshare) because i never went to see them they tried to ring me at 8:30AM every morning, in the end i just unplugged the phone unless i needed it for room service.
Some things which would improve the adult experience
Lack of an air-conditioned inside bar at night when the humidity made it uncomfortable to sit outside. (Maybe improve the beach club and keep open until 11 when the nightclub starts)

Select Club should increase allow A La Carte restaurant to include evenings as well as breakfast and lunch as the large canteen style buffet restaurants spoil the experience a bit.

Apart from that had a fantastic time mainly thanks to the wonderful staff that work here (apart from the aforementioned time share touts) From cleaners, bar staff, gardeners and restaurant staff, they were all happy, smiling and attentive and loved their jobs and provided the same service with a smile if they were tipped or not.
Special mentions to the Select restaurant staff, beach club staff and especially the night club staff who kept us happy with drinks and shots including a few new ones we requested.
Heard a few people moan about the standard rooms but i can only rate the rooms in the select club as excellent. Provided with spirits, cava, beers, soft drinks and hot drinks plus snacks in the room. Great amenities, walk in shower, jacuzzi bath and a very comfortable bed with both air-con and ceiling fan.
WiFi was a bit up and down but available at several locations and even in the room most of the time.
Not sure i would have enjoyed it so much if i wasn't in the select club which was adults only and more relaxing.
The A La Carte restaurants varied in quality with the Mediterranean by far the best of the bunch with the surf and turf so good i would happily have paid extra for. The Steak house was a close second, for the others the italian was good the rest not really worth bothering with to be honest.
If your ever hungry you also get 24 hour room service with a day and night menu which was an unexpected bonus.
Last but not least a massive praise to the Social Concierge Isobel Finlayson, our saying by the end of the two weeks was everybody needs an isobel in their lives. No matter what it was, any issues whatsoever she sorted it out and her passion for the hotel really stands out, always looking for ways to improve things and ensuring that as guests you are aware and take advantage of all the facilities that are on offer.
We will definitely be back in the future.

Room Tip: If you do not have kids, book the select club it is worth every penny and more. Read the brochure provided in the rooms so you do not miss anything.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandos_Caracol, Manager at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Dave,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderfully detailed experience at Sandos Caracol Eco Resort & Spa.

We are so glad that you and your lovely wife had such a fantastic time here. We really appreciate your praise regarding all our excellent hard working staff in the hotel, and they are all so happy that they contributed to your overall positive experience. We are definitely missing your presence in the Los Lirios disco!

It was so great to meet you both, and I'm glad that you managed to have such a relaxing time whilst you were here. The boys at La Riviera are waiting for your return visit!

We hope that you will be back to see us again in the future. Please keep in touch!!

Kindest regards,

Isobel Finlayson
Social Concierge
Sandos Caracol Eco Hotel Resort & Spa
socialconcierge.caracol@sandos.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews