We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Destination Wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
Ranked #69 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Destination Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

In early December, 2012, my husband and I came to Sandos Caracol to get married on the beach with family and friends present. There were 25 in our group which included 3 children and we had a magnificent time. Fernanda, our wedding coordinator, did an amazing job capturing our perfect wedding image. We had a private sunset wedding in a secluded around on the beach close to Los Liros restaurant (definately make a reservation because this was the best meal we had and wanted to eat there the rest of the time but couldn't) and then had a fabulous meal afterwards on the deck of Los Liros. Fernanada recommended a lobster appetizer for our starter which was amazing and we suggest you get if you go to this restaurant. We also had a choice or steak or salmon and both were amazing. The steak was by far the best we have had in a long time. Literally the perfect wedding meal that we give 5 stars to. In all honesty we never did have a bad meal. I know people suggest not eating at buffets but I didn't find one thing I didn't like at either of the 3 so by all means enjoy them. We would suggest the Mexican restaurant buffet in the morning for breakfast and then Los Toscana restaurant buffet for lunch. Both of these restaurants were a lot quieter and less packed which meant you got fed faster and enjoyed your meal more. Nothing against the International restaurant but we just prefered a quieter less packed atmosphere. As far as the reservation only restaurants go we suggest you make them right when you check in or before you arrive. We found they book quickly and had guests that didn't get to enjoy some of the fabulous meals my husband and I experienced. When reserving we recommend Los Liros, number one choice, La Riviera and Los Toscana. We had guests eat at the Asian restaurant and they either got sick from the food or left very hungry because they found it disgusting. I know they are renovating the old building it was in so the temperatory location is on the beach but that shouldn't effect the food so unless they change something on their menu to make it better I would avoid at all cost. The Brazilian restaurant was a lot of fun but way to much meat for me. Don't get me wrong I love all different kinds of meat but that was almost too much. We do suggest trying it though if you are a meat lover because it was a fun experience and good food. Word to the wise, don't eat a lot of the salad bar and take small portions of the first sword that comes around, there are 5 or 6 more than come out and you want to try all meats they bring. The monkey donkey is amazing and I have no idea what it is. This is also a great restaurant to go to over the lunch hour. It is adults only for lunch so keep that in mind if you have little ones.

We stayed in an ocean front room that was right next to the main pool that is off of the beach. It was nice to wake to be able to wake up in the morning and walk right out our patio door and see the beach. Gorgeous. If you are going to pay the money to come to Mexico we suggest you upgrade to an Ocean Front. You will be pleased in every way. I felt like we were sleeping in a 5 star resort. Granted several of our guests had great tropical jungle rooms with amazing views of monkeys and tropical life but if your going to Mexico you should get the full effect of the place which means upgrade to ocean front. It is well worth it.

The staff at the resort was great. Very nice individuals with great personalities and super helpful. There was never a time I felt like we were not being treated correctly. If we had a complaint or issue it was dealt with right away. We had one of our guests stay in a room that was under renovation. Loud noises kept them up throughout their first night. This indivdiaul went to the front desk to complain that very next day and they not only moved him to a nicer quieter room but upgraded him to the adults only wrist band. Which by the way is the way to go if you are coming to Sandos Caraco. We had one guest who didn't have this wrist band and they couldn't go into any adults only area and there is a lot more to enjoy in this area, like the 35 dollar massages right on the beach.

The spa is very expensive so we suggest getting one on the beach. What better way to relax while listening to the waves hit the shore. We found that Sunday's tend to be a bit steaper in price but for an hour massage it is well worth paying a bit more. I had 3 massages while there and I never came close to paying what I pay in the USA.

Do not utalize the hotels excursions. They are very pricey. There is a company right next to where you get the beach massages that are half the price and a lot more fun. We jet skied with them twice for super cheap and utalized them for a group snorkeling excursion. We had two boats and it was just 25 a person. Highly recommend because you can't find snorkeling anywhere else that cheap. If you get sea sick though I recommend not going. The beach itself is in great condition however the water is pretty rocky. The man made barriers make it difficult for waves to move in and move things out therefor rocks and coral stay sentered in this area. There are areas to swim but what out for sea urchants. There are several and they will sting you and it does hurt. We had one of our friends get stung and his finger swelled up for a good 24 hours. It wasn't pretty. However he did live so it wasn't the end of the world. Make sure to just bring swim shoes and you should be fine. You can though go out past the man made barriers and that makes for an easier walk in the water but the water is a lot choppier. Either way you will enjoy because it is gorgeous.

This is a very large resort. This was my first time in mexico however several of our guests have been several other times and they have never stayed in a resort quite the size of Sandos Caracol. I think that is what made it so unquie and fun. We never were bored. We had several excursions planned but once we got to the resort we felt we just needed to enjoy the resort this go around since there is so much to do and see right there. No point in spending more money elsewhere when we were already in paradise. We do recommend snorkeling in the cenotes. That is fresh water and very neat experience. There are also ruins that we never made it to but several of our guests did. They said they were neat but nothing large like they were anticipating. There are several neat trails so you will defiantely get our exercise and we recommend traveling them all. You will see neat animals.

Speaking of animals, if you do not like them do not come to this resort. There are several and the majority of htem roam around freely. I love animals so I found this amazing as did my daughter and evyerone else we were with. They are also very greedy so try not to feed them because they will come back for more. I felt bad feeding a few when one of the staff came around and started squirting it. Oops, sorry but it was fun. Do not pet or feed the monkey/racoon animal. No idea what it was called but that is what it looked like to us. The sucker has teeth and he got me good while trying to pet him.

I hope this review helps you on your quest for finding the perfect resort. I'm sure there really is no bad resort in Mexico but I have only been to Sandos Caracol and it was fabulous. Though I will say we had several guests who have been to several other resorts and comparing them all together Sandos Caracol is off the charts in everything and they already are planning a trip back next year. So with that said I hope you choos this resort because you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms right next to the pool are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dragonfly0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,634
    3,995
    1,369
    581
    434
See reviews for
5,259
4,096
150
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,077)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Loved that our transportation to and from resort was in a van, more comfortable and more direct.

We booked the Select section Deluxe Room. Honeymoon. We were told room upgrade if available, late check out if available. You guessed it, NOT AVAILABLE.

We did walk into a beautiful room, with incents, small locally made change purse, and small bottles of rum, vodka and tequila.

Select section rooms are at the almost farthest corner from the Select section on the beach. Lovely spots/places but really need to be closer to each other.

Good food, great people, lots of staff, restaurants and bars. Oh, no Crown Royal ; {

Cannot make comments re entertainment as more often than not, it just seemed to far away for the effort, when upon arrival there would be no where to sit.

Schedules subject to change. A casino night was listed as an event, at time event was to take place, it was removed from board, then denied it was there.

I plan to return, but will not upgrade to select section, but would love to by the pool, therefore easier to participate in activities.

West Jet was a great way to travel. But they did not offer on board duty free, so purchase prior to boarding what you want at each end of your trip.

Room Tip: Avoid the games room if you don't like loud noise. Its the hang out for all the older children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juanitaBrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Myself and 3 other adults booked in to Sandos Caracol. We spent 10 days at resort, staying in a Select Club room

CHECK-IN/ARRIVAL: Upon arrival a bell boy greeted us and took care of our luggage, meanwhile we were directed to the Select Club concierge/reception, which is in a separate part of the resort.We were given a very welcome cold drink while the paperwork was completed and we were promptly given our wristband and an overview of food options.We were invited to the welcome breakfast/timeshare meeting but declined the invite . To be fair we were not bothered again after saying no.

We chose this option as we wanted a total chill out holiday without kids running around us. The Select Club is Adults Only, so it means that there's no children in the Select Club pool area, the restaurant, the clubhouse or the Select Club area of the beach. Bliss...
The bar team at the pool and beach are very good, and make regular trips around both areas to take drink orders. The Select Club team looked after us very very well ,special mention should go to Martha , Paty , Isidro,Marcos .The Select Club restaurant too is superb for breakfast and lunch, if you are looking to escape the main buffet style restaurants like La Laguna.

Room service is also offered as part of the Select Club package. We only used this service once - the food was basic , club sandwich , salad , chicken wings , but was a nice touch .
Our rooms have a mini fridge including cans: 2 x XX lager, 2 x Sol beer, 2 x Orange, 2 x Pepsi, 2 x Pepsi Light, 2 x 7-Up, 2 x Soda Water. It also had 2 x Apple Juice cartons, 2 x Chocolate bars and 2 x Original Crisps. This was stocked up daily.

The beach clubhouse was our favourite haunt at nights with the excellent Oscar and Noemi looking after us. Here you can play pool, play the playstations or just sit on the porch and hear the waves lapping the shore.

The resort itself is lovely. It is very well maintained and you are surrounded by nature and animals of the nearby 'jungle' environments. It is a common sight to see raccoons, macaws, cats, dogs, donkeys, terrapins and all sorts of fish and birds around the resort.We had regular visits from spider monkeys whilst sat around the select club pool. It should be mentioned though that with nature comes Mosquitos! But the resort very kindly provides mosquito repellent dispensers dotted around the resort to fight them off.

One of the things we did on our first few days was to walk on one of the resorts Eco trails, past all of their cenotes and along a suspension bridge, and through their 'jungle' paths. I can't recommend this enough, it's a nice way to break up the day and get some nice photos, whilst also finding your bearings on where everything is in the resort in relation to the main buildings.

Food

La Laguna - main buffet style restaurant, with themed meals each night. Very busy buts lots of choice . The staff do try and keep up but the vast numbers can mean waiting for a table to be cleaned.

Las Mascarnas - Mexican themed buffet style restaurant. A lot quieter than La Laguna,. In the evenings there is usually a Mariachi band that perform to tables, which makes the meal a little more entertaining! Drinks here are served to you and you are a assigned a waiter/waitress but you go up to serve yourself food.There is a "chill out" bar locate dhere as well.

El Templo - A must do. Their evening meals are based around tepanyaki cooking, and each of the chefs put on a great show for the 6 tables in the restaurant. You end up sitting with strangers but its all part of the fun of the 'show.' Good food too, very talented chefs.

La Toscana - Italian themed restaurant.Great food and service.

La Riviera - Mediterranean themed restaurant. Didnt try this one.

Brazilian - fantastic meat served straight off the skewers.

Fish and Steak - in the new Royal Elite part of the complex - new restaurant and WOW food was the best .Highly recommend you eat here.


HOUSEKEEPING: Rooms were cleaned every day , beds made and towels replaced.


ENTERTAINMENT/NIGHTLIFE: We did not participate in any of the stage acts so cannot comment on these but the Xcalacoco Mayan evening performances were brilliant and should not be missed.


To conclude.. We had a great stay and would recommend Sandos Caracol to our friends . The staff here are a credit to the resort and could not do enough for you.

Should anyone want to ask me any questions about Sandos Caracol please do not hesitate.

Room Tip: We stayed in block 63 which was a nice quiet location where we saw spider monkeys
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank StripeyHorseBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We traveled as a family feb 2012

Food -O.K. the food at a Laguna has a large varietey, service was good our kids (18 and 7)lived a t 24hr snack bar, we are not fussy with regads to food.

Beach- Small cramped had difficulty finding chairs

Main pool is small no loungers

Resort layout- it is a monster (too many people for us we like a smaller resort) easy pathways have proper footwear, clean bathrooms through out resort and great area to get ready to go home well planned out

Things to do good , snorkeling ,bikes, Kids waterpark Awsome!!! Have to be there early to get hut or chairs (only reson we chose this resort)

Rooms odd layout no real balcony, cleaned daily, rooms needed repairs ie sliding doors lock no work toilet leaked (we were in a base room) on the jungle side away from everything it is noisy in a good way birds and monkeys

Pushy Sales peole do not respond to the welcome call the first day you get there as you may be committing to and all day time share sale

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shawna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Great resort for kids. Set in a very nice location with lots to do right on the resort. Lots of wild animals to see. Highly recommended if your taking kids. Only drawback was that the room was very small

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bgoode11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masko, Finland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The resort is a little worn out, but the are currently renovating many of the rooms. Our room wasn't renovated, but when we commented on the hard beds and worn out curtains, the were changed the very next day. The friendlyness of the staff and the service was superb!

You should be aware though, that the water park is small and for kids UNDER 11 years, which was a huge disappointment to us. The pictures makes you think it's a big park for all ages.

Snorkeling right in front of the hotel was great, a lot of colorful fish to see. Free snorkeling equpment availabla from Scub Libre diving center.

Never swim in the ocean without swimming shoes or diving fins. I saw the mean stone fish very close to the beach. They are not leathal, but the sting is enormously painful.

We went diving with the Scubalibre to the reefs. Fantastic experience and great guides.

The food was good exept in the a la carte La Jungla, where we fed the hotel cats the meat.

Overall a great place for families with children.

Room Tip: Try to get standard rooms from houses no 21 -25, they are close to the beach. Then for seaview rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TourcoordinatorFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent resort. very relaxing place. very good place if taking children.excellent very clean beach. staff was very very good. lots to around the area if you desire to .weather was awesome .not too hot just very comfortable

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgd05lac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.2 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,466 reviews
16.0 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,973 reviews
17.8 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
22.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
5.4 mi away
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
#39 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Caracol Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

Property: Sandos Caracol Eco Resort
Address: Carretera Chetumal Pto Juarez Km 295, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#47 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#59 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#72 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandos Caracol Eco Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 956
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandos Caracol Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caracol Beach
Sandos Caracol Eco Hotel
Sandos Caracol Beach Resort Spa
Sandos Select Club
Sandos Caracol Mexico
Hotel Sandos Caracol Eco
Caracol Village Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Sandos Caracol Beach & Spa Mayan Riviera
Sandos Caracol Resort
Sandos Caracol Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing