We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swim with dolphins, well pet a lot of dolphins” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delphinus Xcaret

Delphinus Xcaret
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Delphinus Xcaret is located inside Xcaret Eco Park; just 15 minutes from Playa del Carmen. If you are visiting this lovely park, enjoy the opportunity of swimming with dolphins the same day at the best place.The provision of space and care of every detail at Delphinus Xcaret has enabled us to develop innovative and high quality dolphin swim programs. Here, you will enjoy a swim with dolphins program that suits your spare time and taste, and your family will love it!Delphinus Xcaret, is awarded with the Guinness World Record for being the dolphinarium with more dolphins born in one facility along one year.Visit us and enjoy your Swim with Dolphins at Delphinus Xcaret selecting from 3 programs: Delphinus Interax, Delphinus Primax and Delphinus Dolphin Ride.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Swim with dolphins, well pet a lot of dolphins”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

My sons and I booked the 90 minute session. Nice facility and wonderful dolphin handlers. The program starts out fine. You pet dolphins, have then push you by your feet, shake hands. Then you take a twenty minute break. Back in the pool for another session. This time you are "snorkeling" with the dolphins. In reality, they hand you a mask without a snorkel and you tread water while the dolphin passes you by. You reach out and touch them as they go by. It is not snorkeling. That part was disappointing to me, but it is completely understandable. The dolphins are under the control of the trainer at all times. Out of the pool again for another 20m and then back in for a third session. Our third session was ride the dolphin and then a lot of line up and pet her as she swam by. So in a nut shell you really don't swim or snorkel with dolphins, you just interact with them under controlled scenarios. Happy we did it, just calibrate your expectations. They sell VERY EXPENSIVE pictures at the end. They do sell food there. The hamburgers and hot dogs cost $10 each.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank wjag2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    822
    321
    86
    38
    39
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dream Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

My boyfriend made my childhood dream come true to swim with dolphins with this company. I had a blast! I do warn that the staff are the only ones allowed to take pictures, which they will then sell to you (a package of pictures and a video). Get your wallet ready!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Desiree G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One tick for the bucket list!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Such an amazing experience swimming and snorkelling with such beautiful animals!! First swim included the foot push, kiss, cuddle, shake, rub down and it was amazing! got some beautiful photos as well! The second swim allowed us to snorkel with them, watchign them eat fish and then try out some really cool tricks like jumping, spinning, singing, etc.

Price was a bit steep, cost us $209 for the 2 swims and access to xel-ha all day and the transfers. Then to get the pictures it was a further cost, tad expensive but for a once in a lifetime thing we thought why not. Cost us $130 for 10 pictures on a cd. Truly was an amazing day!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank chellecub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Trainer for the Day-issue with photos”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is our fourth dolphin adventure, 3rd with Delphinus and 2nd at Xcaret.
We brought our friends back here after having several of our own great experiences.
We loved the dolphins and the trainers. They were excellent.
We already knew about the pricey picture and had warned our friends. We choose not to purchase any and we had some from our previous trips.
While viewing the pictures my friends were told one price-after viewing and going to checkout they were told a much higher price. Apparently the person who reviewed our photos told us the prices for someone who has done a smaller dolphin swim. The price difference was hundreds of dollars. I can understand a change in price due to the number of photos but upon check out the cashier told our friend there was not a photo package priced for what she was told.
While this was not true we say it on there laminated price list, while reviewing the photos.
My husband requested to speak with a manager and was initially told there was not anyone to speak with. My husband was very persistent and finally spoke with a manger.
They came to a comprise of sorts so our friends were able to get a few of their photos.
I hope the photo staff has better training being told one price and then it being changed is very shady appearing even if it was a mistake.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LeahM2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“CRAZY price for photos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Such a fantastic experience!! Really a must! I wasn't too keen at first but my other half was, but after swimming with them we both agreed it was the best activity wed done ever in any country!
We did the Primax package which meant there was 4 of us in a group - mostly us as a couple and one other, which was really nice.. perfect! The staff are friendly and speak English well. They provide towels and lockers. TIP We booked with 'Excursion' at our hotel just next door- Xcaret Occidental, and they gave us a voucher each for 40 US dollars money back (we paid in peso so they gave us the equivalent in peso back) !! Which made the activity reasonable, giving that no matter where you are in the world swimming with dolphins is expensive.
Plenty of time in the water! you did I believe 21 different tricks- all with picture opportunity, including kiss, hug, foot push, sing, dance etc.
All dolphins looked happy, healthy and well looked after.
The worst thing about the experience is if you want a picture to remember you experience it was about 45 UK Pound equivalent for just 1 photo!! And they took soooo many lovely pictures of you then they tell you the price your mouth just drops! There is also CDs to purchase of the experience of course extort once again. And your own cameras are strictly not allowed, however we saw other people who weren't participating in the activity but friends who came with being let in to take pictures. Its such a shame we don't have pictures to remember the experience :( but it was still worth doing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank LucyAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delphinus Xcaret also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Delphinus Xcaret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing