We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delphinus Xcaret

Delphinus Xcaret
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Delphinus Xcaret is located inside Xcaret Eco Park; just 15 minutes from Playa del Carmen. If you are visiting this lovely park, enjoy the opportunity of swimming with dolphins the same day at the best place.The provision of space and care of every detail at Delphinus Xcaret has enabled us to develop innovative and high quality dolphin swim programs. Here, you will enjoy a swim with dolphins program that suits your spare time and taste, and your family will love it!Delphinus Xcaret, is awarded with the Guinness World Record for being the dolphinarium with more dolphins born in one facility along one year.Visit us and enjoy your Swim with Dolphins at Delphinus Xcaret selecting from 3 programs: Delphinus Interax, Delphinus Primax and Delphinus Dolphin Ride.
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level Contributor
160 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

My second swim with dolphins. We spent more time with the dolphins at Delphinus and were in a smaller group. So pretty worthwhile to do. My only concern is that with activities like this, that we are not exploiting the animals or causing any harm to them inadvertently. That they seek out human interaction in the wild seems to speak to hopefully the fact that they enjoy the people encounters as much as we enjoy ours with them.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    823
    320
    86
    38
    39
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bring your wallet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

The swimming with the Dolphins was great and my kids loved it, but it was VERY pricey! It cost over $600 USD to go to for a 1 hour swim and you are not allowed to bring in your own camera as they take pictures and video of your entire experience and then sell you all of it back! An individual picture was $29 USD each. If you wanted just the CD of your medium resolution pictures it was $163.00 USD. And if you wanted video and CD then it was almost $300 USD. We thought we'd use the Gopro camera so we didn't bring any extra money and found out that we didn't have enough money to get much. They will bring the video/CD to your hotel afterwards, but there is a charge and then it is cash only (no credit card) so we were out of luck as we didn't bring much cash to Mexico with us. We managed to purchase 2 pictures (1 of each of our kids) and that was it. Plus they didn't take any "group" family shots just individual. So it's not like you could have 1 picture to remember the day. So be prepared to drop $1000 on this excursion and take your wallet with you.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CalgaryShauna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Exceptional experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Hard to explain, but for those in the water with the dolphins, their only presence close by is enough to fill you with a great energy and feel instantly happy. Being able to touch these wonderful creatures is priceless. For those accompanying, bring a real camera with at least a 300 zoom with fast auto focus with a bucket load of patience, Xcaret crew are taking pictures and videos to sell after so they will get in your way for all the good shots while you stand in the back. Its understandable and fair business, but still frustrating. But don't let thins last comment cloud your judgement, the only thing tat matters is what is happening in the water and the crew is very good with the dolphins and the participants.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rainvibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delphinus-webMkt, Gerente at Delphinus Xcaret, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Visitor:

Thank you for your comments is very useful for us, we appreciate your preference. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

we spent the day as a trainer for the day and it was a long day if not too long the animals seem happy and cared for which was great we did enjoy the day but there was too much waiting around ! pictures where way too expensive 150 for the full package !

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delphinus-webMkt, Gerente at Delphinus Xcaret, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Visitor:

We value your comments and observations. Thank you so much! We hope you come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We did the one hour "primax" swim in the Delphinus just outside of the Xcaret park (it's a bit confusing - I beleive there's one inside the part as well...). We booked online and there were no issues. The facilities were great - very natural. The hour we had with the dolphins was incredible - the trainers are extremely professional and you can tell they really love their job. Overall there was a lot of respect for the dolphins, it had an educational focus, the facility was very proud of its research and also its work with local charities, which was nice. You can choose to buy photos and video after the fact - pricey, but well done. It was a once in a lifetime experience for us (family with one 8 year old) it was the highlight of our trip to the Mayan Riviera.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank suzyw418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delphinus-webMkt, Gerente at Delphinus Xcaret, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Visitor:

Thanks for your comments! It is a pleasure to know you have enjoyed your experience with Delphinus. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delphinus Xcaret also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Delphinus Xcaret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing