We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Lala, Oh Yes!”
Review of Oh Lala!

Oh Lala!
Reserve with OpenTable
Oh Lala! is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1,255 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The cuisine at Oh Lala! Is a refreshing change from that of other, more conventional restaurants. Guests are treated like good old friends in a relaxing atmosphere coupled with personalized service and good food. Opened in January, 2011, by co-owners George and Mikaela, Oh Lala! Offers personalized experiences for its guests, ranging from a laidback sampling of hors d'oeuvres and wines, to a leisurely look at the full menu. With a total of 9 tables divided between the indoor and outdoors seating, and an open kitchen, Chef George, Mikaela, and their staff, make sure that every visit to Oh Lala, International Cuisine by George, Is a unique and a delicious one.
Huron, Ohio
Level Contributor
134 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Oh Lala, Oh Yes!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We made a reservation thru their website prior to arriving to Playa. They were very prompt. Small quaint restaurant with outside seating and one that my husband wanted to go to again and again! The owner was out serving. Great wines by the glass, interesting foodie presentations. Not a fancy place but very, very big on service and presentation. If you are a foodie, this is a definite destination. Take the walk off of 5th. It is easy to get to a a nice change!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,623
    170
    57
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Service and Food in Playa”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My new fiancé and I went to oh lala last week and the place was incredible. We live in manhattan and this was right up to par with NYC restaurants. Service was great, tuna and the lamb chops are a must. The mashed potatoes sides were amazing. They finished off our great dinner with a complementary desert accompanied by a card for our engagement. This place is definitely #1 in playa.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank H_Miller91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Totally satisfying”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I think three things make a restaurant memorable, the food, the service and the atmosphere...ok maybe four things, price has to come into play too. It is not enough to deliver on all of them because being poor in one area can ruin an exceptional in another. Oh Lala delivers great food, exceptional service and all at a fair price...what about atmosphere...that might be their achillies heal however I certainly wasn't put off my fantasitc dinner because of a little street noise...lets say it gets an average for atmosphere...but...
Oh Lala delivers very good food, maybe even great food...what a struggle it must be to stay true to recipes that call for bold flavours or interesting seasoning (I am thinking of the exellent curry dish my wife had or the equally delicious lobster and snapper special I had). Oh Lala further delivers service that is nothing short of wonderful, lots of attention to detail plus a genuine friendly air...you feel like you are making friends with their staff (and of course the owners). By the time your meal is done you have had the exact right amount of interaction with the staff, whether you want a good chat or to be left alone, they seem to know exactly how to deliver! You then get the bill...I can't remember the last time I had so enjoyable a meal for the price, it is not 'cheap' but more than fair for the price! Treat yourself for a special occasion or for that 'one good meal' during your holiday.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lasnafu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“wonderful food and service”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I had the privilege of dining here on our anniversary. The food was fabulous and George and Mikeala are the best! I normally do not like tuna but I had a bite of my husbands and it melted in your mouth. I had the filet which was so good! We will go again in a heart-beat next time we visit Playa.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lottie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohlala254, Owner at Oh Lala!, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time and sharing your experience with other travelers.

We thank you for the kind words and are really glad to have been able to contribute to a great anniversary celebration.

We will be happy to have you back whenever you visit Playa del Carmen again.

Our kindest Regards,

Mikaela & George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best food in Mexico!!!!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

For sure the best restaurant in playa!!! Really, one of the best dining experience we had...
This is a true chef restaurant ,international cuisine but with a nice Mexican touch.
The chef George is making each plate by himself, asking if everything's fine, amazing service!
That restaurant is full at least one week in advance (just 10 tables in all the restaurant) , because we were in playa for just 3 days (and the restaurant was completely booked for 20:30) we walked by our own and got a seat at 22:00, chef George welcomed us with a nice smile even if it was late : we tried the fucacca tuna, and mushrooms starters (both of them very good), for the main dishes we took the 2 kind of tuna courses , what a taste!!!
2 starters, 2 main courses, 1 dessert and 2 glasses of wine ~1000 pesos, great value for that food quality and taste!
A must go if you are in playa and want a romantic dinner!
Don't give up if they don't have a table, go later like us, around 22:00 ,George will never say no to you :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohlala254, Owner at Oh Lala!, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a pleasure to read your comment and see how enjoyable it was for you to dine at our restaurant.
Thank you very much for finding us one of the best experiences during your visit to Playa and enjoying both the food and the service we offer at Oh Lala.
Just like you mention, reservations are highly recommended, but we will be glad to welcome you without a reservation whenever we have a cancelation and are able to do so, without compromising the quality of the service.
We appreciate your sincere words and really look forward to have you back, now that you have found us.

Our kindest Regards.

Mikaela & George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oh Lala! also viewed

Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Oh Lala!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing