We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a 10”
Review of Oh Lala!

Oh Lala!
Reserve with OpenTable
Oh Lala! is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1,328 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The cuisine at Oh Lala! Is a refreshing change from that of other, more conventional restaurants. Guests are treated like good old friends in a relaxing atmosphere coupled with personalized service and good food. Opened in January, 2011, by co-owners George and Mikaela, Oh Lala! Offers personalized experiences for its guests, ranging from a laidback sampling of hors d'oeuvres and wines, to a leisurely look at the full menu. With a total of 9 tables divided between the indoor and outdoors seating, and an open kitchen, Chef George, Mikaela, and their staff, make sure that every visit to Oh Lala, International Cuisine by George, Is a unique and a delicious one.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We recently went foe dinner to Oh Lala with some friends. The entire experience was delightful from start to finish. Their is very limited seating so reservations are a musr even now that the slow season has arrived in Playa.

Between us we had three appetizers, four main courses and three deserts and everything was spectacular. The food was absolutely delicious and the service extremely good. When they delivered our main courses they summon enough people to bring all of the dishes at the same time which is not very common. You're not left waiting to eat as the other peoples dishes are served and your meal gets cold which was quite refreshing.

This is not the cheapest restaurant in Playa by any stretch but the value is very good. They have a fantastic mushroom appetizer which I think would benefit by the addition of some Crostini's or perhaps some slightly toasted french bread but even without that they were spectacular.

We will definitely return again and again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pepeone111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohlala254, Owner at Oh Lala!, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your visit to Oh Lala.

We appreciate your words and are very happy to have offered you and your party a great experience at our restaurant with the service and the food.

As you say, reservations are definitely recommended. Our restaurant is small and in order to offer our guests the service we want them to experience, we need to have the seating’s well organized. We would love to receive everyone that arrives to our restaurant, but that isn't always possible.

We appreciate your suggestion about the mushrooms and will certainly find the best way to have them served in a way that it can provide a complete experience to our guests, as well as have our Oh Lala touch:).

We thank you once again for your valuable comments and look forward to receiving you at our restaurant in a future visit to Playa del Carmen.

Kindest Regards,

M & G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,017)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,083 - 1,087 of 2,017 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

Make sure you make reservations and just enjoy. George and Mikaela are really friendly and great with anything you need, just ask. When we do go back to Mexico we will be going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Betty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohlala254, Owner at Oh Lala!, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience!

We appreciate your words and are glad to know that you had a great time at our restaurant.

Just as you said, we will definitely do our best to have you enjoying your time at our restaurant and feel well accommodated. So whenever there is something more that we can do for our guests, we will certainly be there to it.

We really look forward to have you back, now that you have found us.

Our kindest Regards,

Mikaela & George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We literally just ate there less than an hour ago. All I can say is everything that has been said on tripadvisor about how wonderful this place is , is true. Just make your reservation and go! We made our reservation a month inadvance. Im not saying you have to , we just did to be on the safe side.Mikela is super sweet and adorable! We were there the night of April 29 th. mikala even let me move the time of our reservation up because we were tired. Enjoy! The tuna and lamb were amazing!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank geoknowitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohlala254, Owner at Oh Lala!, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time and kind words. We really appreciate them for all that has been said.

Thank you very much for making your reservation in advance and not wanting to miss it!
As you mention, reservations are really recommended! We have a small restaurant and in order to offer the quality and service we would like you to experience, we have to be very organized with the number of guests arriving at the same time as well as with the seatings hours.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed both our food and service and will certainly be glad to have you back on a future visit to Playa.

Warm regards,

Mikaela & George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

On reading trip advisor I wanted to book something special for my partners 50th birthday. I emailed my reservation in advance and we were not disappointed .
We were given the loveliest table and the service was amazing , both personal and attentive, but not overbearing .
The food was real quality and well presented , we both work London and used to top class restaurants and this was in our top 5. Extremely tasty and melt in the mouth, you don't want to leave anything on your plate ( and I am a fussy eater ) .
They presented a lit candle on a complimentary dessert tray for my partners birthday which was a lovely touch . The chocolate hot mouse was to die for and beautiful vanilla ice cream . The wine also complimented the meal well.
How they are going to stay this small god only knows. Thank you for a lovely evening that we will always remember :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 26Tezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohlala254, Owner at Oh Lala!, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time and sharing your experience with other travelers.

We thank you for the lovely words and are really happy to have been able to offer you and your partner a great experience while dining at our restaurant.

It was a pleasure to receive you and we will be more than pleased to have you back whenever you visit Playa del Carmen again.

Our kindest Regards,

Mikaela & George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife and I spent our last evening here (24 April) and had a fabulous evening. The atmosphere was great, the service was very attentive, with a personal touch. It's a cosy outdoor spot and hearing about how the owners (George and Mikaela) met and fulfilled their passion for cooking really made the evening sweeter.
Definitely worth visiting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dersal_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohlala254, Owner at Oh Lala!, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your meal, the service and had a lovely evening at our restaurant.
We really hope to have you back on a future visit to Playa del Carmen.

Our kindest Regards,

Mikaela & George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oh Lala! also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Oh Lala!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing