We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place for food lovers!”
Review of Oh Lala!

Oh Lala!
Reserve with OpenTable
Oh Lala! is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1,255 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The cuisine at Oh Lala! Is a refreshing change from that of other, more conventional restaurants. Guests are treated like good old friends in a relaxing atmosphere coupled with personalized service and good food. Opened in January, 2011, by co-owners George and Mikaela, Oh Lala! Offers personalized experiences for its guests, ranging from a laidback sampling of hors d'oeuvres and wines, to a leisurely look at the full menu. With a total of 9 tables divided between the indoor and outdoors seating, and an open kitchen, Chef George, Mikaela, and their staff, make sure that every visit to Oh Lala, International Cuisine by George, Is a unique and a delicious one.
Drobak, Norway
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The place for food lovers!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

You feel welcome from you stop by to make a reservation. Yes, do not expect to just be able to pop in, they only have 7 tables and they are popular! We ate lobster tail the first time we were here, filet mignon second time. Both are lovely. But do not miss the starters and desserts, these are even more unique flavors. Service is infinite and you almost feel like you know this pleasant staff after a few visits. Do not miss this one!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ToneN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohlala254, Owner at Oh Lala!, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our restaurant and service. We appreciate them and are very happy to have offered you and your party a great experience at our restaurant.

It’s always a pleasure for us to receive our guests and make sure they leave with a good taste of the service and food.

Just like you say, reservations are really required. Oh lala is small and in order to offer the best service we can, we need to have the seating’s well organized. We would love to receive everyone that arrives to our restaurant, but that is not always possible.

We thank you once again for your valuable comments and look forward to receiving you at our restaurant in a future stay to Playa del Carmen.

Our kindest regards,

Mikaela & Jorge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,623
    170
    57
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Food For Thought...”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Based on the amazing reviews for this restaurant, we took our close friends last week to celebrate their wedding anniversary. Overall the experience was positive - but not spectacular. This was primarily due to the restaurants location on a very busy street situated next door to a hair salon...I guess I was expecting/hoping for a more elegant atmosphere to treat our friends to on their special day -- sigh.

The food was good, but the service was a bit disheveled. However in their defense, the local restaurant inspectors were paying a visit which seemed to have the staff on edge which directly effected their performance (very scattered)

However, my dealings prior to arrival via email were very positive with quick and thoughtful responses each time. There is also a genuineness and warmth to this place that we all really liked...but the location/intimacy/atmosphere of a better dining establishment were missing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohlala254, Owner at Oh Lala!, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

It was a pleasure to receive you and your friends, however I apologize for not being able to advise you about our installations.

I understand your comments, and appreciate them because they can aware other guests of our location and guests can decide if they are comfortable or not with it.

Oh lala has 7 tables located on a patio area facing a busy street, 10th av., and it is not fancy.
We are a small restaurant, which tries to combine good food and service in a cozy and warm ambience.

We appreciate your patience and your time during the inspection, as it shouldn’t have influenced the service at all.

We are at your service, and if you decide to visit us in the future because of our food and service, we will be glad to receive you and will certainly do our best to make it as special as we can.

Our kindest Regards,

Mikaela Romero & Jorge Garcia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Make a reso... Its well worth it.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

With all the choices and great places to stop this is one of the better places to eat in Playa. The food is always fresh and the service is spot on. Well worth stopping in , just be sure to make a reservation as they are not very big (18 seats) and always have a full house.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soulmates B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and wonderful staff”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had dinner at Oh LaLa on an evening when my wife was not feeling well. The Chef prepared a special chicken and rice dish for her that allowed her to enjoy the evening. I had a tuna steak cooked medium rare and it was fabulous. We will have to find our way there again next visit as I believe it is definitely one of the finest restaurants in Playa. Thanks to the staff for being so kind and thoughtful to us.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rickscottOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow, what a wonderful experience”
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We took the recommendation of other Trip Advisor references. This small, intimate restaurant is such a great experience. George is the owner, he and his wife do it all. The food is fantastic, menu is great. I would go here again and again. You need to have a reservation and its worth the wait. Put this restaurant on your must do list for your next trip.

Helpful?
1 Thank Greg271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oh Lala! also viewed

Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Oh Lala!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing