We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rainy chicken pizza!”

Go Natural Explorers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: In Go Natural we create a great impact on our clients with memories and experiences that will last a lifetime, always leaving a positive print over the land that we explore. We are committed, since our beginnings, to contribute with the communities that we visit and treat with high amount of respect the different places and cultures. We specialize in small groups, a reminder of our commitment with quality and personalize service. Go Natural Explorers has offered for over 10 years adventure expeditions to incredible places like Chichen Itza, Coba, Tulum, Punta Laguna, Akumal, Valladolid and different Cenotes; We count with different kind of adventures for any type of travelers. Family expeditions, coexistence and in touch with nature, culture and snorkel aquatic activities in magical places. ¡Dare to explore the Mayan World Go Natural style and live an experience that will transcend in your life and will make you heart beat like never before¡
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
“Rainy chicken pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We took a trip to chicen itza as our agent from bd travel recommended and were impressed from the moment we left our hotel! Our tour bud arrived early and we were warmly greeted with a jokes that had us laughing before we boarded by our tour guide Gonzalo. On the trip itself the bus was nice and cooled and it did not take very long for the other couple of hotel pick MIPS along the route. The first place we stopped was an old Mayan village full of beautiful statues shops and very nice people. Gonzales gave us an extensive history lesson on the real Mayan people and culture as well as giving us a respect for the real Mexican people. The next place we went was the ik kil denote which was refreshing and amazing, the little fish mwere giving us a " Mayan pedicure" nibbling our legs as we swam. Then we went for lunch at chicen itza hotel and saw the ruins. The amount of history that Gonzales knew was very impressive and he always kept us laughing even though on the day we went it poured like crazy! After the archeological tour we went to the after presentation in the planetarium however since we were blessed with such a great tour guide there was not a lot of extra in this for us although it was cheap enough and was great to get out of the rain. We stopped at an old town Valladolid on the way home and got to see an amazing church and got another history lesson on the town that was captivating. All in all our trip was an amazing day of memories, rain and jokes. The only thing that would have been better is a packed lunch instead of the buffet at the hotel where chicen itza was. Thanks a bunch to Gonzales our tour guide and neftali our driver for a great day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,310
    204
    42
    33
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I read some reviews and I am totally disagree with some if them about the organization of the tour!
We had a great experience with them, the tourist guy was very clear and fluent in English and Spanish, and he knew very well about all of the Maya's ruins!
The only thing that we didn't like is when they bring you to that small town to buy stuff there, and listen to them for half an hour :/ plus it is veryyyy expensive there, do not buy anything there, you can find the same stuff at the ruins and for more than half of their price, bring a lot of $1 dollars or pesos if you can and try to offer less money than they ask you for of they don't accept walk away and they will try to negotiate your price ;)
The tour it is a 13 hours tour where you will be exhausted by the end, but happy because you will have a great experience, I think was very organize and the food was not too bad! So enjoy it :)))

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carocaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning Beauty in the Ruins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our Guide picked us up early and eager! Ulises (125) was very pleasant, hospitable, and at times a fast walker! LOL Our tour of Chinchen Itza was incredible. The sheer beauty of the stone structures is captivating, even in its ruins. There are thousands of stories to be told, but sadly many of them have been lost. You gaze at them in wonderment, how did they do that? With the equipment and knowledge of today, it would not have been an easy task.

Our brisk walk made it possible to stand and gaze at the sheer beauty of it all. Ulises' knowledge and compassion for the way of life for the Mayan people didn't go unnoticed. He shared that knowledge, both schooled and first hand experiences, which ultimately made it more personal for all of us.

Lunch at the Restaurant was very good, and entertaining. The stops along the way made the trip worthwhile and interesting. The Church was fascinating, I only wished I could have gone in, but didn't think it appropriate during a service. I stood and watched as they sang, left when they seated. It was truly beautiful.

Wear comfortable shoes, an umbrella for shade, and thankfully they supply lots of water/pop. A long but fantastic day!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go Natural Tour of Chichen Itza”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

The whole tour was disorganized and we did not know the agenda. A stop at a "Mayan" co-op for souvenirs was far too long and set the day behind. The cenote visit was good. Our guide, Alfredo, said he would give us information about our visit to Chichen Itza before we arrived, however he went on about general Mexican cultures and nothing on the actual sacred city. For the tour we joined a different group and the same experience, very general information and asking specific questions seemed to get vague responses. In general we were not impressed with the guides knowledge. The buffet lunch was excellent. After a long day we just wanted to get home, however they was another stop in the small town of Valladolid. We eventually arrived back 2.5 hours behind schedule. It is a long trip from Playa del Carmen and adding all the extra stops meant the Chichen Itza visit was rushed and the whole trip was 14.5 hours - too much !!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Chichen Itza Be Maya was Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife and I wanted to see Chichen Itza and our tour organizer, Jaquelinne Suarez, at the Ocean Coral suggested that we take the Go Natural Tour "Be Mayan". This was a fantastic adventure.

We were promptly picked up at our resort and greeted by our guide Ulysses. To our surprise we learnt that we were the only guests for this tour on this particular day. We had a guide to ourselves for the whole trip! It took approximately 2 1/2 hours to get to our destination. During that time Ulysses gave us a very learned introduction to Mayan culture and civilization. He had numerous pictures and maps which gave us a very through introduction.

We first stopped at a Mayan Cooperative where we were able to purchase high quality locally made souvenirs made from silver and various colours of Obsidian. This was worthwhile as we were supporting true Mayans and we loved what we saw and purchased. There are souvenirs available at the Chichen Itza site but this was far higher quality and craftsmanship. Besides this stop allowed us to concentrate on the tour of the site later on.

We next stopped at the Mayaland Hotel where we were blessed by a Mayan Priest, made preparations for our meal later on and watched a presentation at a re-creation of the observatory at Chichen Itza. (http://www.mayaland.com/bemaya.php)

The ruins are extraordinary and Ulysses walked as through stopping to point out roads, buildings and explanations of the carvings throughout. For us the highlights were El Castillo, Great Ball Court and El Caracol Observatory. It is beyond comprehension how an ancient people cut and transported the tons of stones necessary for the construction. Our guide said that there was no evidence that the Mayans used metal tools. How this came to be is a complete mystery.

Our guide also told us that there have been many concerts held in front of the Temple of Warriors. However, the organizers did not ask the gods for permission to use this scared place and consequently every concert most notably Luciano Pavarotti's has been plagued with technical glitches.

Following our tour we had a delicious, authentic Mayan meal which we had assisted in the preparation earlier in the day. We returned to our resort almost 12 hours after we left. This tour was the highlight of our trip to the Mayan Riviera. Some might think that this is too much time to spend on one attraction. Our time spent with Ulysses was priceless. He shared his knowledge of the Mayans in addition to his philosophy of life. This was a truly enriching experience. Do not miss this opportunity.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MacBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Go Natural Explorers also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Go Natural Explorers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing