We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dream wedding in beautiful Mexico!”
Review of The Reef Playacar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Reef Playacar
Ranked #95 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Brunswick, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dream wedding in beautiful Mexico!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed at the Reef Feb 8th-15th with 20-something family members and friends of all ages for our daughter’s wedding. We were very pleased with our stay, especially the wedding. Arturo, the wedding planner, had been corresponding with me for several months prior. It is a bit worrisome planning such an important day so many miles from home, never even having seen the resort before except for in pictures, but our worries were quickly put to rest. It could not have been more perfect! The beautiful gazebo, the mariachi band, food, DJ complete with light-up dance floor, the service. The entire night was spent on the beach and we lucked out with the weather. Just a wonderful night!
I have stayed at several other resorts in the Riviera Maya area and what stood out for us at the Reef was the friendliness and great service of the staff. Everyone was constantly working so hard. The 2 restaurants we felt were understaffed which led to very long dinners but the few waiters that did work there worked very hard. They just need more staff! I wish I could remember more names but 2 waiters who stood out to us were Paulino in the buffet and Gonzalo, who seemed to be working everywhere. The food was great. We especially loved the breakfast buffet and the Botticelli restaurant. The latter had a great antipasto salad bar. No reservations needed for the restaurants and we never waited.
All the grounds were kept very clean. The beach was just beautiful! They could use more umbrellas for shade, but otherwise wonderful. We loved the “rainforest” atmosphere of the guest rooms area. The rooms were a bit worn but it looks like they may be starting to renovate.
We loved the smallness of the resort, the close proximity to town, the ability to walk to a store if needed (a lot of the resorts in the Riviera Maya are quite isolated). One thing we did want to point out is it is NOT handicap friendly. There are a lot of stairs to some areas and not ramps to everything which could be difficult for some. My elderly mother did have some issues with this.
We would definitely stay at the Reef again. Miss it already!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scdemers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefPlayacarResort, Director of Sales at The Reef Playacar, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guests, thank you for taking the time and writing such a detailed review about the hotel and your experience here. We and other future guest appreciate the effort.

We noticed that some improvement points were mentioned and we will definitely take them into account.

Moreover we were really happy to hear that you were happy about the way the wedding was organized by Arturo and that everything went well and even the weather was in your favor. Furthermore we will make sure that the persons you especially mentioned will get informed about your compliment.

We really hope that you are planning to come back and visit us again. If so please let us know beforehand so we can arrange the special repetitive guests benefits for you for your next stay.

Thank you so much again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,332
    1,749
    744
    378
    261
See reviews for
1,282
1,829
94
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

A quick note to share experience. We have selected the Reef for the location (great) and size (perfect and lot of space even when it is full), the jungle type of atmosphere inside the resort is really nice (much better than a big hall with A/C).
The downsides: (1) Rooms are old and very humid. We had the premium pack and it was disappointing. (2) Food at the buffet is ok for lunch but not the evening (we were going at the restaurants on the 1st fl. almost a must do). (3) the resort need to add few more sun chair and umbrellas on the beach as if yoiu don't book your space before 8.00 am you don't have anything. (4) rooms are noisy in the morning, can't sleep after 7.00 am as doors closing make a terrible noise, employees walking / pushing the rolling tray outside wake you up immediately. (5) Wifi did not work for 4 days. (6) Management is here to sell you things but not very helpfull when really needed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefPlayacarResort, Director of Sales at The Reef Playacar, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guests, thank you for taking the time and writing a review about the hotel and your experience here. We and other future guest appreciate the effort.

We noticed the improvement points that you mentioned and we will definitely take them into account.

Moreover we were really happy to hear that you were happy about the location and the size.

Thank you so much again and we wish you happy future travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwynn Oak, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Groupon featured a promotion that highlighted The Reef Playacar hotel but I was not able to pay for the entire trip in one lump sum as Groupon requires so I ended up booking directly from the hotel's website. Not only was I able to pay a deposit instead of a total lump-sum, I was also able to book a direct flight from MD (3hr 20mins) and as a result I paid less than what the Groupon deal.

Whenever I had questions, there was no more than a 2-day response from a hotel staff member.

Upon arriving, the "Maya Land" GrayLine staff member was there at the airport exit waiting to call the van to take us to the hotel. Immediately upon entering the hotel I found that the staff was very friendly and helpful. The all spoke enough English to answer all my questions and to assist with any issues I had.

The interior of the hotel was designed to give you the feel of a jungle complete with 3 minute access to a beautiful beach front and 2 relaxing outdoor pools. Every night there was a show feature and the all inclusive aspect allowed you to enjoy the just the resort all day, everyday. This was definitely a trip suited for couples, friends and family groups.

This was a great place for my first time outside of the U.S. and if you go there, you have to visit Tulum and Xcarat. Both were amazing excursions.

Room Tip: The standard rooms come with a ceiling fan, remote controlled air conditioning and a balcony. That...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank zandersorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefPlayacarResort, Director of Sales at The Reef Playacar, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guests, thank you for taking the time and writing a review about the hotel and your experience here. We and other future guest appreciate the effort.

Moreover we were really happy to hear that you were happy about the staff, the location and the beach.

We really hope that you are planning to come back and visit us again. If so please let us know beforehand so we can arrange the special repetitive guests benefits for you for your next stay.

Thank you so much again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This was our first time in Mexico and staying at resort. Nice place to stay. The food is good with a lot to choose from.The staff are Very good. Being able to sit in the sun, then go for a swim then go for a walk around the resort with lots of tree and grass is nice. My wife and I will stay at The Reef again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gbmscroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefPlayacarResort, Director of Sales at The Reef Playacar, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your nice review and we are happy that you enjoyed your vacation with us.

We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied about the food, the staff and the location.

If you are planning on coming back please let us know and we will arrange the repetitive guest benefits for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Best resort !!!
Travelled to Cuba in Dec 2013 and was not impressed as much as the Reef, . the service, food, cleanliness throughout was outstanding. Smaller resort and very friendly atmosphere the moment we arrived. I would like to move there. Going back soon as possible. Also, I must say the buffet was excellent with the best service from Guadelupe, Sergio, Paulino and Lucy.There were others as well, can't recall their names. Super nice people. We really enjoyed the awesome beach. The only thing we noticed that there wasn't enough umbrellas, and you had to go and reserve with a beach towel left on the chaise lounges early in the morning in order to have an ideal spot. Angel at the towel centre had aquacise, stretching exercise and spanish lessons for the guests which proved to be very enjoyable.

Shopped on the 5th ave. and noticed the prices were unusually high and you had to haggle to
get a decent price on just about everything.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindadeexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefPlayacarResort, Director of Sales at The Reef Playacar, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for writing this review and taking the time for it. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would like to come back as soon as possible. If you do so please let us know so we can arrange repetitive guests benefits for you.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food, the serice and the atmosphere of the resort. Furthermore you mentioned some staff members by name, we eill make sure to deliver your compliments.

Moreover we thank you for pointing out a weak point which we will try to improve.

See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

It was all I hoped for and more ! The resort never felt like one of those big All Inclusives and after a few days all the staff felt like part of the family . Never thought All Inclusive could be so much fun !

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCWolfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefPlayacarResort, Director of Sales at The Reef Playacar, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear guests,

These words say a lot about your vacation and experience with us and we thank you that you shared it.

Due to this review we hope that you are considering to visit us again. If you do so, please let us know beforehand so we can arrange the repetitive guests benefits for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This was our first time in Mexico and The Reef Made it most enjoyable. The staff have a wicked dry humour. Got us many times. There is so much to say, I am not sure where to start.

Rooms: I was pleased with the room. It was clean & bright. A little run down, but hey, this is Mexico not Hawaii. The beds were like rock, but we had so many pillows it wasn't difficult to get reasonably comfy.

Staff: Most of the staff were awesome, A big thank you to Gonzoles, Willy, Angel, Rosie (great omlettes), Victor at Niko's who took it gracefully when my friend & I on our last night tried many, many different drinks(Our hubby's helped us stagger up to our room). the chocolate martini was a fave! Everyone was pleasant.

Concierge: Beware! I was under the impression that concierges help & advise on tours, restaurants, etc. Sergio, was in you face trying to sell club memberships. It got to the point that I refused to talk to him.

Food: I really enjoyed the buffet, lots of variety. Once I got over the initial pigging out part I, settled down & had reasonable amounts and only a few items. Nice selection and varied nicely from day to day. When the was a problem(fish was not cooked) they remedied it immediately. We found the buffet surpassed the ala'carte restaurant. This could just be due to our choices, as our friends loved their food. By the second week the staff knew to bring quatro cafe, dos with leche.

Resort: the beach was nice.(be better if some people weren't swines.) There is an intimate shaded seating area in the centre of the resort where everyday they set up a small bar & coffee service. (mayan coffee yummm). The swim up bar was difficult to access due to the people who parked there for long periods. We paid a little extra and had access to Niko's lounge. Well worth it.(my biggest complaint was the volume of the music) other than that it was great. It is a short walk to 5th Ave if you took a right as you leave the resort. If you go left, there is a small shopping area a short walk down the way. We bought most of our souvenirs here as it was not as crowded.

There are only one reason we may not stay here again, We are avid snorkelers and there is no reef access form the beach. The only way to snorkel is to take a tour, and they go way too fast to truly see everything. But that's just us. If it wasn't for the snorkel access we would definitely stay at the Reef Playacar again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra price to upgrade your room. The rooms further from the pool area are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefPlayacarResort, Director of Sales at The Reef Playacar, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guests, thank you for taking the time and writing such a detailed review about the hotel and your experience here. We and other future guest appreciate the effort.

We really appreciate that you even put subtitles for every comment so. We noticed that some improvement points were mentioned and we will definitely take them into account.

Moreover we were really happy to hear that you were happy about the food, the resort and the staff, furthermore we will make sure that the persons you especially mentioned will get informed about your compliment.

We really hope that you are planning to come back and visit us again. If so please let us know beforehand so we can arrange the special repetitive guests benefits for you for your next stay.

Thank you so much again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
#84 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#86 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,574 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#60 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12,296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
#40 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,585 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gran Porto Resort
Gran Porto Resort
#30 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Playacar

Property: The Reef Playacar
Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha, Ret. Sayil s/n | Fracc. Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#64 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#80 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reef Playacar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique style all-inclusive resort is located on a beautiful white sandy beach just steps away from the famous 5th Avenue in Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico. The hotel offers all food and domestic drinks, 1 buffet restaurant, 2 a la carte restaurants, Italian & Gourmet($), snack bar, ice cream parlor, various bars including a swim up bar, 2 pools, kids club, daily activities & nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Reef Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Reef Club Playacar
Reef Playacar Mexico
Reef Playacar Playa Del Carmen
The Reef Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing