We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upgrading your room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Reef Playacar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Reef Playacar
Ranked #92 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Upgrading your room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just got back from our trip. We upgraded our room from superior to premium when we checked in. Our front desk check-in person suggested this when we arrived. We are very happy we did. Our room was very nice. Newly renovated and we also got to enjoy top-shelf liquor with our all-inclusive package. You have the use of all the bars at the resort in addition to one called Nicos that only upgraded guests can enjoy. Nicos was great. Very few people so you got excellent service. Also got to enjoy a private hot tub for only upgraded guests. The highlight was our great bartender Gilberto who was such a delight. Very personable and gave great service. The food was pretty good at the buffet and also the Italian restaurant. However the grill restaurant was not very good. I would wish that they would change the music that is played everywhere. It's some kind of new-agey stuff that was truly awful. How bout some local music that people could enjoy for an authentic experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefPlayacarResort, Director of Sales at The Reef Playacar, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for writing this great and positive review about our hotel and your stay with us.

We are happy to hear that you do not regret the decision to have up graded your vacation at the hotel and we are happy to hear that you were satisfied about the extra options offered to you. Furthermore we will let Gilberto know that you were really satisfied with him and that you enjoyed his company as a bartender.

You also mentioned some weak spots like the Mexican restaurant and the music in the hotel. We are grateful that you told us about them and we will try to do our best to fix it.

We are really hoping to see you again at our hotel and if so please let us know beforehand so we can put you in the repetitive client program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,264
    1,675
    709
    365
    253
See reviews for
1,220
1,740
91
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed here May 2013, and what a wonderful time we had!!
Checking in was slow but to be expected when there was only one member of staff on. Bellboy will take you bags to your room for you but we decide to find our own way which gave us chance to take in the scenery on the way.
The are buildings dotted about with about 24rooms to each building( I think)... We were about the 3rd block from reception and situated just across from this lovely little seating area where they serve afternoon tea and biscuits we later found out.
Room was okay, and the only complaint really is that you can hear your neighbours chatting or arguing through the wardrobe as it appears that a thin piece of ply separates you and them.
Food was good, and there was always plent of choice so you never went hungry. The outside hut that cooked all day pizza's en stuff was super! And the nachos with guacamole and onions was to die for!
Beach was beautiful, pool area clean. And was even closed for a couple of hours whilst they sorted out and treated the water after the unfortunate issue of a toddlers pooh in the pool. Not a major inconvenience as you had the other pool and the beach.
Staff were very pleasant and polite and always helpful. Can't remember names as it was a while ago now.
Would love to go back but virgin are not doing this resort anymore, not sure why :(
Met some amazing Americans on this holiday especially George and his lovely wife Cara and Sabrina their daughter. (I think) so down to earth it was unreal.
Went to see the dolphins, a little over priced but it was once in a lifetime for us so what the heck. Trouble with our pictures which was resolved fairly promptly as we were due to go home 3 days later.....definitely a must!
Didn't go to Tulum or the other trips as we had not heard anything good about the travel arrangements for them, so decide to give it a miss.
Entertainment was okay, some nights better than others. Staff worked very hard to keep everyone happy.
What more can I say? This place was wonderful and has some faults like all the others, but if you believe all the moans and groans then you will never have chance to put the record straight
Can't wait to go again, if we ever get the chance :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank didim09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefPlayacarResort, Director of Sales at The Reef Playacar, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for this really positive review of your stay at the hotel and thank you for sharing your experience. It is great to hear that you had a good time and that you would come and visit us again.

Furthermore, thank you for mentioning some weaker points which we can improve and we will definitely see into it.

Moreover we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and that you almost died for the nachos(happy you did not), we will let the chef know about this compliment.

We really hope that you can find the time to spend your vacation with us again and if you need any help with booking, just contact us directly at any time. If you will return please let us know anyways so we can provide you with the specialties for the repetitive guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

What a spot! All the pictures are true! It was clean, comfortable, the service was great and the location was to die for! 15 minutes to walk to 5th avenue.
No line ups for anything, felt like one of the family!

Room Tip: try and get one over looking the Cenote
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefPlayacarResort, Director of Sales at The Reef Playacar, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you very much for this positive and complimenting review.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation with us here at the Reef.

Hopefully you are planning to come back and spend your vacation with us again. If so please let us know s we can offer you the repetitive guest package.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brown Deer, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Returned from The Reef on 1/31....a lovely intimate setting for a great week. We were 6 adults in total, including mom and aunt in their 80s. This is not a "spring break" resort....quiet, restful and welcoming. Favorite part - the afternoon coffee service.

Room Tip: several small buildings of 12 rooms each. We were in building #12....minutes to the beach and and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefPlayacarResort, Director of Sales at The Reef Playacar, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for your great review about your vacation here at the Reef hotel.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and that the mixed target group and more quiet atmosphere was a strong point for you. We are also gald to heat that you liked the afternoon coffee and tea service.

We hope that you are planning on visiting us again and if so please let us know, so we can arrange the repetitive guests program for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

The Reef Playacar and STAFF were absolutely fantastic from start to finish.
When my wife and I arrived on January 22nd we were greeted by the resort front desk, within minutes of checking inn we were being take to our room by a bellman. When he opened the door there was a smell of mildew in the room. Right away he had us out of there and into another room even though this would only be for one night as we had put ourselves on the waiting list for a king size bed which we were told that they would be able to do for us after checkout time tomorrow . Our second room was somewhat better and we settled in for the night.
The next morning I was up early 7am Mexician time and wanted to start my day off with a tequila sunrise.
Even though the lobby bar wasn't open for service at that time of the day the bartender (who was cleaning the bar) with a very warm smile asked "what can I get for you Senior"? A tequila sunrise please..... He looked to see if he had some orange juice and the next thing I knew I had my first drink of my vacation.
I headed back to the room and collected my wife to go for breakfast..... We buzzed our inlaws and the four of us headed off to the buffet breakfast.
Once again we were greeted by very friendly welcoming smiles from the staff at restaurant. The breakfast buffet each and every day was nothing less than FANTASTIC!
From the great tasting orange juice, the choice of having a chef make you a omelette or maybe having a more traditional Mexician breakfast it was a great indication of what our week here was going to be like.
After some fantastic food we went back to our room to get ready for the beach. When we got to the room the bellman was ready to move us to our new room with the king size bed.
We relocated to room 523 which looked out on to the central garden seating area of the resort. This area has a very nice area to sit back and listen to the waterfall and just escape from the sun...... Oh ya Every day from 4 to 6 pm you can treat yourself to one of the best tasting Spanish coffees I've ever had, not to mention the bartender puts on a very good show while making the drinks in the garden.
So off to the beach.... Once again we were met with great staff and warm smiles. We were approached by Mario from the dive shop. He spent sometime with us informing us of the different tours that we might be interested in.( We booked the snorkelling tour which was awesome for $35us and found him to be more than willing to answer any questions we might have). When it came time for lunch we went to the "snack shack" great burgers & fries and the wings were very yummy.
After time on the beach it was time for a shower and get ready for some dinner.
The bathroom in our room was nice and clean.... big soaker tub and great water pressure coming out of the shower. I like taking long hot showers and at no time did I ever run out of hot water.
The dinner buffet was fantastic, great selection and they seemed to change it up a little each nite. I found myself heading for the mexician corner a lot as it was awesome . As for the a la cart restaurants they too were just fantastic! Those coconut ship in the mexician restaurant are to die for!
We also found that our house keeper was great, she kept our room spotless and always replenished our water. Our bed was always made up and inviting.
The staff at the Reef Playacar are FANTASTIC, so willing to do what it takes to make your stay there to be the BEST IT CAN BE, from the bellman, front desk, house keeping, snack shack staff, all restaurant staff, the Dancers at nite, BAR staff of course, the grounds keepers, The Resort Manager and yes I know that there are so many more staff that work behind the sceans that also deserve a BIG THANK YOU for making OUR STAY so FANTASTIC !
Hec on the morning that we were leaving January 29th (my birthday) the Buffet Staff sang "Happy Birthday " to me in English & Mexician it was very cool.

Thank You All!
We look forward to staying at The Reef Playacar again.

PS..... The only thing we would found missing at the Resort was a mariachi band. That would've been the Icing on the Resort!!!

Last but not least of all I would like to Thank Doris Monico from SunWing Vacations. When it comes to "CUSTOMER SERVICE" she could give seminars on HOW IT'S DONE!
She has left me feeling like SunWing vacations actually cares about their customers and not just making $$$
Without getting into into a big story here Doris fixed some wrong doings and then if that wasn't enough, I ended up leaving my wallet behind at the security X-RAY check point (long story) in Cancun, anyways it was once again Doris's willingness to help that I will be getting my wallet back.....

A HUGE "THANK YOU!" Doris.
Sincerely
Terry A.
Port Coquitlam, British Columbia
Canada

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefPlayacarResort, Director of Sales at The Reef Playacar, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Wow. Thank you so much Terry for writing this astonishing review and taking all this time to write it down. Not only the hotel but also other future guests will profit from your effort.

We are more than happy to hear that you had a good all around vacation with us and it is really interesting to read your review like a little diary from your days here at the Reef. Reading your comment makes us really proud and we will make sure that we forward your compliments to all named staff members but to the rest of course as well.

Terry we would love to welcome you back at the Reef at any time. Please let us know via e-mail or phone if and when you are planning to come back so we can offer you the services for the repetitive guests which will hopefully make your vacation EVEN BETTER.

Nevertheless you mentioned a little wish or remark you would have on the hotel. We will definitely take this into account and try to do our best to meet this wish the next time you will stay here.

Thank you so much again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

If you are planning a trip to the Playa del Carmen area, don't let these bad review about The Reef Playacar hold you back. This resort is the BEST ever. From check in to check out, first class all the way! The ones that have the complaints are people that are never satisfied! Who brings valuables on a trip, for gosh sakes leave them at home! The first year we went to the Reef, there were 16 of us! We were treated like royalty and we had a blast. This is a small resort with so much to offer, they are in the midst of doing room upgrades! Can't wait to go back.....hey Hinkley have fun and greet the staff from us!

Room Tip: they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Izalitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Positives: I have never been to an all-inclusive, so just the fact that it included all drinks, food (except 1 restaurant), snorkeling equipment, kayak and body board made it at least a very good place to go. Staff greeting us at the reception desk with a glass of beer at our arrival. Could get photos taken professionally with animals or family/self/significant other. Has nightly shows.

Negatives: Our door wouldn't lock for a while and we didn't realize at first and during that time our hotel room had items stolen from it. Our bathtub wouldn't plug, light bulbs were burned out and the alarm clock didn't work (replaced for us). The alcohol was cheap. I believe they refilled bottles with cheaper alcohol, as I have had enough Bacardi to recognize that it didn't seem to be Bacardi coming out of the Bacardi bottle. I am not a picky eater, but the buffet food wasn't good. Topless women (most of which were unattractive) laying on the beach. Rooms by the receptionist desk hear music til 10-11:30pm from their nightly shows.

Room Tip: Rooms by the receptionist desk hear music til 10-11:30pm from their nightly shows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
#82 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,451 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#59 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,946 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#90 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,393 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
#44 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Playacar

Property: The Reef Playacar
Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha, Ret. Sayil s/n | Fracc. Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#55 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#64 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#80 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reef Playacar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique style all-inclusive resort is located on a beautiful white sandy beach just steps away from the famous 5th Avenue in Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico. The hotel offers all food and domestic drinks, 1 buffet restaurant, 2 a la carte restaurants, Italian & Gourmet($), snack bar, ice cream parlor, various bars including a swim up bar, 2 pools, kids club, daily activities & nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your The Reef Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Reef Club Playacar
Reef Playacar Mexico
Reef Playacar Playa Del Carmen
The Reef Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing