We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A great resort for Mexican (mayan) atmosphere!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef Playacar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Reef Playacar
Ranked #87 of 210 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
New Bedford, Ma Usa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great resort for Mexican (mayan) atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was our 8th time at THE REEF and we plan on returning each year during the fall shoulder season (late Oct. early Nov.) The price is right, the crowds are few. After 4 visits to THE REEF you get special goodies, like a welcome bottle of wine, fruit and cheese platter, etc.
After 5 visits you get a complimentary lobster dinner for two, a free snorkle tour for two plus a few other benefits for being a returning guest(s). The staff is very pleasant and friendly. The food is very good, especially at Botticelli's. We always stay for two weeks because one week is not enough!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank figtree3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,068
    1,448
    617
    325
    235
See reviews for
1,016
1,491
73
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We just returned home from a week at the Reef Playacar, where we had an excellent time. We travelled with another couple who enjoyed the Reef as much as we did. It is a beautiful, smaller resort, which makes it easy to get around, and is situated on a gorgeous beach. It is a short walk to Playa Del Carmen and 5th avenue. We especially enjoyed the jungle like atmosphere, and feeding bananas to Charlie the monkey.

The staff at the Reef are very accomodating and helped make our stay memorable. We especially enjoyed Felix at the beach bar, Marco, Humberto at the pool bar, Orlando upstairs and of course Armando in the lobby. They are great staff who have a wonderful sense of humor, work hard, and are always very professional. Thank you for the memories, hope we get a chance to come back and see you soon!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LauraWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We just got back from a 7 day stay at this hotel, it was a great experience, the staff was friendly the food was good and the entertainment was really good they put up every night. The rooms where clean, the beach was clean. It's a small hotel compare to other hotels in the area, that's what makes it so unique, it gives it a relaxed atmosphere. I will highly recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: I would recommend the superior package, it's worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at the Reef for 10 nights its beautiful and has lovely feel to place e regime is friendly and smiling. The rooms were kept beautifully clean by cleaners who are hardworking. We had nice mix of people for ten days , not all Americans. Food was great but after 10 days mostly the you crave home food. Mostly catered to Americans so lots of sweet stuff at breakfast. But Gladys Guadeloupe and the omelette lady victoria .all restraint staff were good. Very polite. Hard working. My son Emilio who is one had a blast . Though one tip needs to have few ramps for buggy. Lots steps by pool area. Or maybe small play area for kids. The beach was peaceful and beautiful. You could get sun lounger easy too . Just the snack bar was all junk food not great for kids or adults. But guess it keeps Americans happy. The only problem we had was with one young security guy, who tried to get us to pay a taxi driver 7 usd each way, when should only be 70 mpesos. But we refused to pay it and never asked them again so just watch it. That was the only bad point of the holiday . Met lovely people from Canada with children. Lots French Canadians and Russians too so good mix. Had some photos done by the reef photographers they did great job. My son enjoyed the young gentleman who kept the place clean and liked to steal there dust pan and brush lol... Also evening show where just bit too late for us which was a shame :( neyali was my son favourite Chica. Well done on fab hotel x x

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jodiecarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel is locacted in the Playacar district of Playa Del Carmen about a pleasant 15 minute walk into town. It's definitely not a 5 star resort, but it's clean comfortable and very quaint. There are wildlife roaming around in the jungle areas of the resorts and sometimes even monkeys. It is situated on a really great (big) section of beach which I think everyone loved. Great little resort for a wedding or group of people travelling together. The rooms can be a bit loud in the morning but other then that I have no complaints about this resort. I would stay here again in a heart beat. Staff are all very helpful and friendly. Food is on par for a Mexican All Inclusive. They did do a really nice turkey dinner for us on American thanksgiving.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Shannon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Just spent the last two weeks at this wonderful resort. Staff are All excellant catering to all your needs. Grounds are kept impecable and you have the feeling of being directly in the jungle. We were housed in the renovated area with outdoor jaccuzi tub, flat screen tv's etc. Beds were alittle hard but it is difficult to cater to everyone in this. Food was good and there was lots of selection but after 2 weeks we were craving home food. This is not a complaint against the food there which I said was very good. Snack shack could have used a bit more variety but otherwise good.
All of the staff try to make your stay pure pleasure and I thank them for all their hard work as our party of 5 loved every minute and will certainly return. Kids club good, rereation people excellant and of course Louis and Eric great every night for supper. A must is the ice cream parlour which has the most delicious ice cream I've ever tasted (yummy coconut). If you are looking for a place to feel welcome and relax then come to this resort as you won't be disappointed. Thank you Reef Playacar for a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: we were about mid way through the complex on the main floor and loved the location
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RhondaSmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed a week and went with another couple. Received a beer upon arrival/check in which was just what we needed! The workers were very nice and VERY HELPFUL!! All the food was GREAT as well. Our room was good just enough for sleeping, showering, tv,and getting ready oh and always had the fridge stocked! ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL ATMOSPHERE!! Loved the tea/coffee sitting area with the snack sandwiches and GREAT coffee. Ice cream was good with wonderful waterfalls to sit by. The shows at coco bongo were very entertaining. The restaurants where VERY GOOD FOOD & OUTSTANDING SERVICE!! We enjoyed our stay SO MUCH! Loved all the bars great drinks and alot of fun!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE REEF for family fun or just Adults! The beach couldn't be prettier glad the resort offered kayaking and a # of different things!! Just a WONDERFUL PLACE ALL AROUND!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Shway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReefPlayacarResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Reef Playacar, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at our Resort. We are very happy to know that you had a great vacation at our resort!
We appreciate your comments regarding the good location, the food & the services.
We offer special rates to our returning guests, so if you plan to come back, let us know directly! We are looking forward to welcoming you once more!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
#92 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 873 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#97 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 stars 3,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#83 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 4,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#56 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 10,922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Viva Wyndham Azteca
Viva Wyndham Azteca
#68 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 3,261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Maya
Viva Wyndham Maya
#79 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 stars 5,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Playacar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Playacar

Property: The Reef Playacar
Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha, Ret. Sayil s/n | Fracc. Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#64 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#82 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reef Playacar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique style all-inclusive resort is located on a beautiful white sandy beach just steps away from the famous 5th Avenue in Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya, Mexico. The hotel offers all food and domestic drinks, 1 buffet restaurant, 2 a la carte restaurants, Italian & Gourmet($), snack bar, ice cream parlor, various bars including a swim up bar, 2 pools, kids club, daily activities & nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Reef Playacar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Playacar Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Reef Club Playacar
Reef Playacar Mexico
Reef Playacar Playa Del Carmen
The Reef Playacar Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing