We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,785)
Filter reviews
8,785 results
Traveler rating
5,712
2,156
598
187
132
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
5,712
2,156
598
187
132
Show reviews that mention
All reviews star friends howler monkeys jungle area specialty restaurants swim up bar dressel divers japanese restaurant ate at the japanese towel hut pool beach gated community other resorts magic show apple vacations buffet food plenty of chairs nightly shows
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 8,785 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I’ll make this short and sweet, this place was amazing, from the old school traditional rooms, to the lobby’s, moving into the beautiful jungle area, into the pool and beach. I couldn’t have been happier, my wife and I are above the moon and we will be back.

As for the staff, they were all EXCELLENT! We actually became friends with multiple staff members, props to Alex, Ivan, fer, Chris, and every single one of the beautiful humans we met!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
1  Thank Shaythebarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager I, Quality Manager at Hotel Iberostar Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

We would like first and foremost, to thank you for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal for such a memorable occasion for you and your wife.

Your enthusiastic comments about many of the prime pillars that we set in place to guarantee fabulous holidays for our guests are great to receive. It is amazing to read that you have returned home with a sense of satisfaction and with incredible memories of your Honeymoon with us.

Once again, we are truly grateful for this complimentary review of your time in our hospitality and we look forward to host you again in the future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staff: Polite and friendly. They work long hours but always have time for a smile. Maintenance guys always painting, sweeping, jet washing & reparing. Keep the hotel and surrounding area looking good.
Food: Breakfast has everything you could want, pancakes, crepes, cereals, salads, fruit, meats, cooked english , pastries, bread, the lot. Lunch and dinner always plenty of choice but more 4 star than 5.
There are other restaurants book you need to book in advance. The Steak house was ok, the Mexican awful, the Italian was best.
Beach: Well set out, plenty of beds, very clean and waitress service. There are guys who constantly keep the beach clear of seaweed. Walk a few hundred yards right and you have a whole beach almost to yourself.
Location: love the variety of wildlife , it's very impressive apart from the monkeys which woke me up at 4am one day but you just embrace it.
Swimming pools: clean, plenty of beds and lots of games with the animation team, they do a great job
Rooms: our room was dated, furniture was old, bed sheets old fashioned and tv ood plus it didnt work. Fridge in the room gets replenished daily. Cleaners were great, room always spotless.
Concierge: biggest downside is these people constantly pestering us to join the Ibersostar membership. They called our room 4 times, 3 times just after 8am when we were still in bed. They post slips under the door offering $300 to spend around the hotel. This was the biggest downside
All in all we had a great holiday here and I would consider returning. I think 4* is a fair review and reflects the rooms, quality of food and the annoying concierge.
Great trip

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Francisgillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager I, Quality Manager at Hotel Iberostar Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest, 

We are grateful to you for choosing Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal on your recent holidays and for sharing your experience you had with us.

Your enthusiastic comments about many of the prime pillars that we set in place many years ago to guarantee fabulous holidays for our guests are great to receive. It is amazing to read that you have returned home with a sense of satisfaction and we look forward to doing the same for you again in the future. 

Once again, we are truly grateful for this complimentary review of your time in our hospitality. 

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The resort had a beautiful beach and pools. The restaurants were above average, but not by much. There was little difference in the ambiance between the buffet and the other "restaurants". Had a generic feel. The room was to be generous was similar to a Motel 6 room. The fan didn't work. There was no coffee pot, but coffee packs. Sometimes you would get towels, sometimes not. It was also a small, dark, cramped room. I realize you don't spend a lot of time in your room, but when we were there, you just wanted to run out!

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank 138worldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager I, Quality Manager at Hotel Iberostar Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest, 

Thank you so much for choosing our Resort as your holiday destination. 

We are glad you enjoyed the stunning beach and our pools, on the other hand, we regret to read that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations; nonetheless, we thank you for your feedback as it is an invaluable tool that allows us to improve our service and therefore, our guests’ vacation experiences. 

It is in our hope that you can grant us a new opportunity to host you so we can change your impression and turn it into a wonderful experience.  

Sincerely,  

Quality Manager
Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed on the Tucan side from Jan 1 to Jan 8 2020. The grounds are well maintained and the staff are very friendly. The buffet food is great and you also have a great choice of restaurants. We ate at the Japanese, Mediterranean and Steakhouse restaurants. The activity staff is super fun and friendly. The nightly shows provide additional entertainment if you're looking for something to do on the resort. There is also entertainment in the lounge as well as Karoake a couple days a week. You can walk from the hotel to Playa Del Carmen along the beach.It's a beautiful walk that will take 35-45 mins. Have a $20USD massage at the beach when you get there! We will definitely return to this place.

Room tip: Ask for a room by the pool if you want to save a 5 min walk to the pool/beach
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Thirstytraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager I, Quality Manager at Hotel Iberostar Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

We want you to know how happy we are that you had such an excellent holiday with us at Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal and thank you for sharing it with others.

Our team will be pleased by your praise, our staff is not only particularly hospitable but are also provided continuous training in terms of service and general working practice. Therefore we are very pleased that both the efforts of our employees and our passionately prepared gastronomy have left a good impression on you.

Thank you again for sharing your motivating comments and we look forward to serving you again at our hotel.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Currently checked in and have spent most of my five day vacation standing at the front desk. I travel often to these types of resorts and definitely will not be returning to this one. We are a group of 8 women in three reservations/rooms. Since the first night we got here one of our rooms door did not work, I have reported all of our issues to 8 different people in hopes someone would do something. And nothing. The place is beautiful, but staff is not very friendly.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank QueenB1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager I, Quality Manager at Hotel Iberostar Tucan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for choosing our Resort as your holiday destination and for dedicating some of your time while on vacation, to share your comments with us.

Your valuable observations are very important to us as they allow us to identify areas of improvement and enhance the quality service our hotel strives to provide.

Our main goal is to make you feel welcomed at all times and we assure you that your opinion will be shared with our management, ensuring to provide the quality we are preceded for.

We hope you can grant us the honor of welcoming you again to change your perception about our resort.

Attentively,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews