We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$276
$242
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Occidental at Xcaret Destination(Playa del Carmen)
$233
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$356
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$419
$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$391
$327
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$271
$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$392
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$410
$344
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$421
$408
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,509
$797
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (7,115)
Filter reviews
7,115 results
Traveler rating
4,373
1,951
516
166
109
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,373
1,951
516
166
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendshowler monkeysjungle areaspecialty restaurantsswim up bardressel diversjapanese restaurantate at the japanesetowel hutpool beachgated communityother resortsemailed the hotelplenty of chairsmagic showcab rideapple vacations
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 7,115 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile

Concierge Eduardo warmly and enthusiastically greeted us (6) as we got off our Sunwing van. Beautiful lobby. Checking in was easy and quick. Rooms weren't ready, it was only about 11am. Headed to the beach and buffet.
Rooms - clean, spacious. In room safe, iron, king bed, balcony, plenty of soaps, shampoo, towels, etc. No bathrobe, but that seems to be the standard now.
Buffets - wide variety of options, never seemed too crowded. Not gourmet, but no buffet is. Very satisfying for breakfast lunch or dinner. Service was impeccable always thoughout our stay. Extremely pleasant staff, couldn't do enough for us, but at the same time not intrusive.
Restaurants - easy to book through the concierge in the main lobby. Enjoyed every themed restaurant. Again, could not have been more accommodating. Some were better than others, but that's all personal taste.
Grounds - quite simply, breathtaking. If you're an early riser, you'll hear the monkeys howling in the trees. Peacocks roam freely, along with their babies. Flamencos on the far side of the resort. Iguanas, tailess rat things ... Beautiful walkways ... pond fish. Again, absolutely beautiful and tranquil.
Beach - white sand as far as you can see. First day was surprisingly calm and the beach was picture perfect ... turquoise water, super clear, soft white sand. After that day the water was choppy to rolling white surf. More sea grass on the beach. Not surprising with all the nasty weather. Having said that, the breaking waves were a blast. Never had a hard time finding loungers in the shade (and we needed 6) if one if headed to the beach by 11. Rented 3 jet skis. I think this is an operator allowed on the beach but not connected otherwise to the resort. $65 for half an hour. These things are junk. We've had jet skis for years and these are typical rental equipment. Very tippy for more than one person. If you flip it, it's something like $50. Two of our machines would hardly move at first acceleration, had to get off and clear the weeds ourselves. The third kept running when it was brought back and the safety key was removed. Just letting you know, in case you book these. Probably better with one rider. Catamaran was fun to take out. Kayaks were available.
Pools - too warm, so we only used the pool a couple of times, stayed with the beach. But the pools never seemed ridiculously crowded.
Highlights of this resort - the staff are very friendly and happy. Eduardo was great. Rosey in the lobby bar was absolutely fantastic. Super funny, encouraged us to try new drinks, got our hookah going, tried to teach my husband Spanish .... I could write more and more about her, miss her already. Super clean resort. Walkway to the beach could have been two miles long and I still would have enjoyed every step.
Currency exchange in the lobby, bring your passport, and US atm as well. Excursions could be booked on site. Alltournative Tours was our choice. Very convenient.
My one and only negative - children can be annoying. Running back and forth between rooms early morning, slamming doors, yelling. Running through the buffets, leaving their shoes wherever. People, if you travel with your children, please be considerate of others!!!
In summary, this is the most beautiful resort I have ever been to. The beautiful grounds, the beach, the staff ... I've probably used beautiful and gorgeous too much, but everything here really is all that.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
5  Thank _Sue_C_McK_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal to spend your recent vacation.

It is an honor to read your kind words and recognition towards our amazing staff and its accommodating and friendly service, as well as your compliments of our facilities, grounds, restaurant venue and beach area. It is truly a great pleasure that you had the most memorable experience with us and please know that your regards to our staff members will be gladly shared.

We will be looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you again to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017 via mobile

Me and my partner were here the first two weeks of September and had a great time!

Firstly, the hotel grounds, lobby, pool, beach and the jungle (on site with various animals from agouti's to howler monkeys) were safe (playacar is gated) outstanding, beautiful and always spotless. The rooms are good, some areas could be updated a little, but we loved that the rooms were Mayan themed. They were clean and the maid great (always restocking the beer in the mini fridge). Traditional roofs on all buildings/brightly painted. We loved iberostars character compared to the other very square, modern and clinical white hotels in the surrounding area.

I've seen people complaining about no air conditioning in the main restaurants/lobby? This didn't even cross my mind. Being brits who frequently go on self catering holidays in Greece/Turkey/Balearics etc it would be very unusual(almost unheard of) to come across an air conditioned restaurant/bar. Yes it was hot (as we expected) but a plus on holiday for us is open air dining, as we get to do it at home about 3 days a year. If you want air con go sit in the sports bar -it's like the Antarctic.

Food was ok to good, I don't expect gormet dining when doing all inclusive/buffet. Good selections and generally tasted good, my only criticism was that some items weren't always hot enough. Japanese restaurant was our favourite meal by far, steakhouse and Mexican were great too, Italian was ok.

Staff were brilliant, genuine, attentive, always smiling and worked hard for you to have a good time, Sam on the bar and Jesus of star friends were particularly great (Sam always ready to provide tequila). We aren't a couple who like to join in organised activities and we never felt like they were being forced on us! Also, the pool/beach waitresses were great and had a way of appearing when I was considering going to the bar.

We also had a problem with our safe and it was resolved within 45 minutes of us reporting it to reception.

All in all a great holiday, highlights being the beach, staff and Japanese restaurant. Only real criticism, they need to turn up some of the burners keeping the food warm. We will definitely be back in the future!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Rebbyrue0800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2017

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having your vacation at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal and for sharing with us your positive remarks like our nightly entertainment, amazing beach and accommodating staff.

Certainly, we look for our guests to enjoy from our charming grounds to our beautiful natural surroundings with its lovely wildlife.

Please know that your comments will be taken into consideration to look for improvement, hoping to have another opportunity to host again soon.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017

This resort deserves good rating. It has fantastic beach, huge pool and nice grounds with amazing collection of animals. Thanks to hard working entertainment team (Jeff, Jesus, Chocolate) we never felt bored. Pool games, archery, riflery competitions, we liked it all. Night shows were good, particularly "Magic show" and "Mexican night". Playa del Carmen is just half hour walk away for more options.

Impressed during first day we even attended Iberostar Club presentation. It was more honest than previous timeshare presentations but still left the feeling of too many unknowns so we didn't buy. We were not ready to commit next 5-6 year vacations to Iberostar or rely on RCI as it has bad reputation for inflexibility and poor customer service.

Once we got used to the resort we could have a critical look. Here goes:
1. Cocktail drinks are Ok, not great, better served in the lobby bar. Selection could be certainly improved. Kids have almost nothing to choose from. There are no cocktail straws in the whole resort.
2. Food is just average.
Buffet (Cozumel, Tulum restaurants): Good selection of cold items (fruits, salads, cheese, bread, cakes). Surprisingly, often missing some common foods, e.g. beans, nuts.
Good cooked fish and seafood. Meat dishes are not as consistent: some are very good, some overcooked and not tasting fresh.
Breakfast has very limited choice especially for cereal eaters. Many dishes are extra sweet, old good plain unsweetened milk and yogurt are hidden unlabeled on the side, sometimes not available.Some juices including those used in cocktails are of questionable origin/quality.
Food labeling is minimal, no nutritional info. You'll not know how fat is the yogurt, or whether that funny aftertaste in juice cocktail is due to artificial sweetener.

Finally buffet serving area is not particularly attractive comparing to other resorts. It is a bit too small and crowded. No A/C. By the way I've been in Iberostar Punta Cana and they had exact same setup, but slightly better food.

Specialty restaurants have better quality meat dishes. Service is very slow, need to wait 40-50 minutes before you get the food. Book 8:00 p.m. or earlier if you want to go for the night show.
Mexican (La Hacienda) and Steakhouse - excellent.
Japanese - disappointing. Chef's performance was great, but food tasted oversalted with little flavor.

3. Pool and beach area get crowded. It is difficult to get nice place after 10 a.m. unless something is wrong with the weather. Pool water is very warm.

4. Woody part of resort has almost no green plants on the ground and looks dry.

5. Maybe I am crazy, but sidewalk lanterns look too much like U.S. fire hydrants causing odd associations.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Maxim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Dear guest,

We are thankful for having the opportunity to host you at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

It pleases us to hear that our lovely beach, natural grounds, pool area, amazing wildlife, fun entertainment and pleasant facilities were big highlight during your stay.

Please know that your comments will be shared and taken into consideration to look for improvement and continue providing the best experiences to our guest. We really appreciate the time you have taken to write this review.

We look forward to welcome you again at any of our IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts with the great service that precede us.

Kindly,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

Holiday in September with party of 6 (2 teenagers) great food in all restaurants. Don't know what other people can complain about. Very clean, great facilities, the staff couldn't do enough for us. Tipping in all these Caribbean holidays is the way to go. The smallest of tips 20 pesos a time makes all the difference to service. The staff really do appreciate it. Daily tips to room maid and every meal time, what a service you receive. The entertainment staff especially, Edouardo, Jesus and the whole team must be exhausted at the end of the day for their hard work and effort. The teenagers had a ball at pool side and beach with activities. The Japanese restaurant is the best and Alex the chef at our table was brilliant. Evening entertainment was fine, the usual for this kind of holiday. Teenagers still a bit young for nightclubs, so they made the most of the pool table. The sun and heat got stronger everyday maybe this was because of the events of nature around us. Hurricane Irma, kicked off a Few side weather extremities with thunder storms most afternoons. It is rainy season in September and this lead to excess mosquitos. The Jungle is amazing but with all the greenery and wetness it was a haven for the Mosquitos. The hotel sprayed on a very regular basis to try to keep them at bay and no matter how much mosquito lotion we used we still got bit. All part of the holiday in such a hot country I suppose. We would definitely go back here. Couldn't fault anything in this hotel. Loved every minute of this holiday.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
3  Thank FAZYB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Dear guest,

We are grateful for having recently welcomed you at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

We are happy to read that even with some weather conditions you had a wonderful time and enjoyed every minute of your stay at our facilities with our variety of activities and pleasant pool and beach area. Certainly, our staff strives to provide memorable experiences to all our beloved guests.

It would be a pleasure to host you again on your next visit to the Caribbean.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017

As someone who read many reviews on this site before selecting this resort I wanted to make sure I came back and shared my thoughts. I'll break it down good vs. bad.

Good-
1. The beach is fantastic and very large. We were there four days and on day 2 a large amount of seaweed washed up and was pretty much left there for the remainder of our trip. I get it is hard to stay on top of but there wasn't any effort to keep it clean.
2. Star Prestige upgrade. The private beach access and bar alone makes it worth it but also being able to make reservations at the gourmet restaurants every night.
3. The rooms. We had an ocean front junior suite and walked right out onto the beach which was nice. Housekeeping did a great job of keeping the room clean.
4. The Mediterranean and Japanese restaurants are both excellent.

Bad-
1. The breakfast and lunch options are awful. The buffet is terrible with the same selection every day. We are not fussy eaters.....especially when it comes to breakfast....but they serve powdered, runny scrambled eggs, cold potatoes, undercooked bacon, etc. Fortunately we had the star prestige package and could look forward to a nice dinner each night.
2. The liquor selection. We purposely paid for the Start Prestige upgrade to get the top shelf liquor. They were consistently out of Grey Goose vodka and also Bailey's.
3. The heat. We live in Florida so we get heat, but we also use air conditioning to offset the heat. With the exception of three gourmet restaurants, none of the dining locations have air conditioning. All of the food is warm and people are sweating everywhere. Not a very nice experience.
4. The staff. While many of the team members we encountered were very friendly, nobody really went above and beyond to impress us. In our private beach area, a server would come by and ask if you wanted drinks maybe once every other hour. In the buffet, we always had to get our own drinks and coffee because we were ignored. I am an over tipper and specifically came with about $250 in singles and fives to tip the staff. We came home with $150. That says it all........

Overall, if you are looking for a reasonably priced vacation and want to just sit on the beach all day and read a book this may be the place for you. As someone who has worked in the hotel industry my whole life, when I travel, I enjoy a nice beach, good food, and team members who truly want to be helpful. Iberostar Tucan missed the mark on two of those needs.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank IrishGuy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Dear guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

It is great to know that you enjoyed our lovely beach and your comfortable room and that our housekeeping service was remarkable.

On the other hand, we regret to read that food and service experience did not fulfill your expectations.
Our staff is committed to provide the quality services we outstand for and every concern presented by our guests is of great value for corrective actions to be taken and continue bringing a pleasant stay. Please know your comments will be forwarded to the corresponding department for its attention.

We hope you can give us the opportunity to serve you again with our true IBEROSTAR service.

Kindly,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews