We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love Playa Del Carmen!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Ranked #41 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Love Playa Del Carmen!!!!!!”
Reviewed April 3, 2005

I just returned from the Iberostar in Playa del Carmen Mexico yesterday. It was the most amazing vacation. My best friend and i traveled there with our families and had the best time. We personally loved Disco Mascera, we met kids from all over the world that we will keep for our lifetimes. The entertainment group called the "star friends" made our stay even more enjoyable. They are extremly friendly, get you involved, and are hillarious not to mention some are very good looking (MARK)!!! I wish i was still laying on the beautiful sandy beach or dancing the night away at MASCARA. Wish you all wonderful vacations!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,938
    1,743
    451
    152
    96
See reviews for
2,260
2,301
73
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,022)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2005

Spent spring break week, March 25-April 1, at the Tucan with 3 14 year olds. Loved the hotel and agree with the reviews. Gorgeous beach and water, great jungle, food is good but not great. This is a well run all-inclusive resort. The teens in our group went to the shows and disco every night. They were having a blast, meeting new friends from all over the world, dancing and enjoying the freedom. We only discovered towards the end of our stay that they had been drinking every single night. Although they wore white armbands, they were served alcohol easily. Shots were plentiful for all. My son became so intoxicated that his friends had to call the security guards to escort him back to the room. I am not excusing him at all - he has major consequences to deal with - BUT I am saying that if your teen, even as young as 13 or 14, is inclined to drink, they will be able to do so here. These kids were served alcohol from many locations on the property. So please be aware, as I was not!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
36 Thank scatsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2005

My family, 8 & 6 year olds, were at the Tucan the 21st -28th of March.
To echo all of the other reviews, the hotel, staff, ocean, pool etc are great.
We also found the food to be very good considering the fact that the hotel was full and they were feeding approximately 2,000 people (the two sides of the hotel total 700 rooms).
They handle the crowds very well as we never found ourselves waiting in line for food or beverage. The staff is outstanding.
We first stayed at the Iberostar 6 years ago, shortly after they opened.
The upkeep has been fantastic. The hotel is very well run.
The primary change, from 6 years ago, is that their were very few fellow Americans on our first visit but the hotel was primarlily American this time.
Some of the Europeans have complained about loud Americans.
I think that is primarily due to the fact that the Euros tend to travel in small groups while there were rather large, and loud, groups of Americans traveling together. It is pretty natural for larger groups to be louder, HOWEVER, some of the groups included a number of very poorly supervised teenagers that were getting loaded and loud.
One night we were in the dining room and one of the teens had to be helped in (he was slaughtered) while his friends laughed.
The parents were no where to be seen (if the adults are reading...the kids had tee shirts on from Valporasio Indiana). I have little room to talk, since I have partied a fair amount in my day, but it would really be good to see that type of behavior moved back to Cancun where it belongs.
(Also......parents, you would keel over if you heard what your kids were saying and doing when you were not around).

Only negative, as others have mentioned, is that the hotel allows people to save pool chairs for hours before arriving. We sat next to 6 "saved" chairs from 8:00 to 1:00 before the "owners" arrived.

Overall........a great family vacation.
If I was single, or traveling only with my wife, I would probably not stay in an all-inclusive but the set up is outstanding for a family with kids.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Itravel9911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2005

We are going to the Tucan this Saturday and staying for a week. We were wondering where the best place is to take a 10 yr. to swim with the dolphins and do some 1st time snorkeling and parasailing? I'd love any imput on this as it's our 1st time there.......

thanks for your time and help!
Family from Wisconsin

Helpful?
1 Thank TAMBAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 28, 2005

I went to the Iberostar Tucan March 18-25th. There were three of us in our group. All of us are 27 year old professionals. We had a fabulous time at the Iberostar. Upon arriving until our departure it was a fabulous trip.

The staff at the Iberostar are amazing. They are always willing to go the extra mile for you! The Star Friends are great. They work from morning till night, they even go to the Disco every night to liven up the crowd. We only went to the Disco once, as once was enough, too many 18 years olds. I can't say enough about the staff, they truly enjoy their jobs and it shows.

Our room was great. We were in building 11 which is one building from the ocean and right by the pool. We had to walk about 25 yards to get to the pool or the beach, that was great. I had requested that building before we went and was pleasantly suprised that our request was honored. So do request a certain building, it can't hurt. Building 10 is right on the beach and building 19 is right next to the lobby. We left our cleaning person $5 the first day and he left us a HUGE jug of water and about 8 bottles of water. He did this every day as we drank all of it every day. He also refilled the sodas we had drank. After the first day we left about $2 a day and the water kept on coming. Believe me, you will need all that water!

The pool and the ocean were great. We would move throughout the day from the pool to the beach. We brought our own rafts($2.99 at Target, $12.50 at the shops in playacar) and used them every single day. The last day we gave them away to people who didn't have them, they seemed to be greatful for them! The drinks kept flowing at the pool. The beach was great. I didn't pay attention to smokers or cigarettes on the beach so it must not be as bad as some people claim it to be. BUt the water is like bath water. Its a challenge to swim to the rope and then back. We did it on a red flag day with no problems. Its a great workout, especially after all the food and drinks!

We ate lunch everyday at the Palapa on the Tucan side, we thought it was better food. They had a different specialty everyday but they also had burgers/fries/pasta everyday. The three of us liked all the food and had no complaints.

The Japanese restraunt was fantastic. We loved it. The food was so good, ask for Sake, they will keep it flowing all night long! The steak house was also good. We had a few bottles of champagne that night, and it was actually very good. The Italian Restaraunt was okay, we really liked the bread. The buffets were very good. Breakfast was our favorite, so many things to choose from. I think I had something different every morning. The coffee was also delicious.

The bars are all great. I loved the banana daquiris. They weren't as sweet as the strawberry and were made "fresh" not out of a machine. The beer got a little old after a while, but put a lime in it and it is fine.

We went to Xel-Ha and enjoyed ourselves. We did snorkeling right in the morning and Dolphins in the afternoon. We booked online before we went then took a taxi straight there. We didn't want to deal with buses or tour companies.

I cannot say enough positive things about the Iberostar Tucan. Our group is planning our trip for next year and we will definately stay at another Iberostar.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
39 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2005

Just returned from Mexico on 23rs March 2005 after 2 weeks at the Iberostar Tucan, Playa Car. Excellent hotel was concerned when we booked that the all inclusive would not be up to scratch but how wrong we were. Branded drinks at the bar, and the food was fantastic everything to suit. Both buffett resturants were excellent loads of choice every night. All the ala carte resturants were good except the Tropical wasnt to out taste. The location of the hotel was very central for any trips 40 mins from the airport and about an hour from the ruins. The rooms were spacious and very clean didnt find the beds hard as some of the reviews mentioned. Maids seem to expect $1 a day tip if you dont you dont get the towel art on your bed every night no big deal. Also used the laundry service which was excellent and my husband used the hairdressers which again was excellent. During the two weeks we were at the hotel the weather was perfect hot and sunny everyday with occasional cloud spent most of our time on the beach as there was no breeze by the pool. Bar service on the beach was excellent tip one of the ladies once or twice and they keep coming back all day asking if you want another drink no need to get off the sunbed. Peacocks, iguanas, ducks, flamingos, monkeys and other creatures run free around the hotel we found the facinating. The evening show and daily annimation team were fantastic something going on all day even saw santa on vacation!!! We one of the messing around as the did everyday around 4pm. Watch out for the monkey the like to steal from your balcony. We will be visiting this hotel again could not fault it, only we wont go again when it is the US Spring Break US teenagers were drinking like the world was ending for five days and they were in large groups only supervised by a couple of adults. Very loud and drunk most nights but to be fair the hotel security is very good only have to call them and they remove any noisy teenagers. What a wonderful vacation all in all would recommend this friendly hotel suggest you diet before you go so you can enjoy the food & drink to the full.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
47 Thank SasmitUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2005

We just return from a 14-day vacation at Iberostar Tucan. This was a great vacation. Here is my review of this hotel.

We booked with Signature and flew with Skyservice. Please beware of Skyservice, they will charge passengers for luggage over the limit of 20 kg. They did it in Canada and Mexico. We argued but we had to pay no matter what.

The staff (waiter, bartender, repair, maintenance) was extremely friendly. For our group this was the highlight of our trip. We have been to many places before but we feel that this group of employees was the BEST we ever had. They recognized you and made you feel welcomed. They were always smiling. They were going the extra mile to please you. Never had to wait at any bar to get the drinks we ordered. We did not tip every time but it seems that we did. The only exception was with the front desk personnel, the people there seems to forget all of our requests to fix our AC. I had to go five times to the front desk to have our air conditioning fixed in our room. Most of the time they would not log our complaint which seems to be the proper procedure for them… 9 out of 14 days without AC is pathetic.

The rooms were comfortable and always clean. The bed is firm but that was a problem.

The beach was incredible. It was rough a few days but most days you could use the catamarans safely.

The pool was huge and fun but to have a lounge chairs is very difficult. We had to wake up at 5:30 am to get some of the best location around the pool. By 7 am, they were almost all gone. We felt a bit outraged but we had to play the game.

The entertainment was fine but not exceptional. We went to very few shows after 2 or 3. We rather went at Playa del Carmen to walk, get food or stroll on 5th avenue. It is always fun to sit at a bar and listen to live music.

The food at specialty restaurant was good. We went at the Steak House and Japanese restaurants twice and the Italian. All were good but nothing exceptional.

The food at the buffet restaurants was fair to good. Breakfast was probably the one you had the most choice. We almost ate the same things at lunch (fries and chicken). Dinner was the worst. Wine at dinner was the worst I ever had we had to request the wine they serve at the bars to have something a lot better. This would have been the best vacation ever if the food would have been just a bit better. But we did not get sick but we also ate at PDC and did not get sick.

I would recommend this resort to others. We may not go back because of the food but for the rest it is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank bh7h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
12.3 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,790 reviews
13.7 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,284 reviews
12.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,323 reviews
19.4 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
12.4 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Tucan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Property: Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Address: Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero | Fraccionamiento Playacar Nro 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Tucan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. Specially recommended for honeymooners. Varied, colourful entertainment programme. Large pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Visit Us Inc., Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Tucan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Tucan Mexico
Iberostar Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Iberostar
Iberostar Tucan Quetzal
Iberostar Tucan Playacar
Iberostar Tucan Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing