We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly beautiful resort!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Ranked #51 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Our group of 4 spent a week at the Iberostar Tucan in late March. I have been to many all-inclusive resorts and the Tucan is far far one of the better ones I have stayed at. It is a 50+ minute drive from the Cancun airport. The Iberostar Tucan and the Queztal are sister properties that have a section of natural jungle in the middle between them. As a result this is the place to go if you love nature and want to see animals. There are howler monkeys in the trees, iguanas, coatis, flamingos, peacocks and numerous other birds throughout the property.
The rooms are average with Mexican interior décor. The huge main pool complex is beautiful with lots of palapas or chickees for people who do not want a lot of sun. There are also lots of shade huts on the beach and you can get beach umbrellas from the towel hut if they are all taken.
The beach itself is pristine, powdery sand and there are no rocks, shells or corals in the water. It was the best beach I have seen on the Yucatan peninsula at any resort. The entrance into the ocean is shallow and the water does not get deep for quite awhile. When we were there the waves were very calm and easy to walk in and out.

The rooms are average in appearance with a true Mexican décor or atmosphere. We requested a jungle view room because we wanted to see the howler monkeys which we did view on numerous occasions from our balcony. The lobby and public areas are beautiful with lots of marble, fish pools, fountains, etc. The grounds are meticulously maintained and beautiful. The pools are gorgeous. The main lake-like pool is enormous.

The staff for the most part is very friendly. We loved the waitress service at the pool so you did not have to go to the bar and wait for a drink. The mixed alcoholic drinks were exceptional compared to other resorts we have stayed at. They were good tasting and had adequate alcohol.

The entertainment team was also very good and friendly. They conducted almost non-stop activities during the day. We only saw one night show which was very good. The performers actually sang songs instead of lip syncing which is common at many other resorts.

My only somewhat negative comment based on my experiences elsewhere at numerous all-inclusives was the food and wait staff service.
The main buffets were almost the same every day for all meals which made it somewhat boring. The food that was prepared was good, just too repetitive. The waiters in the buffets barely did anything for you. Your drinks were not refilled and dishes were not taken away on numerous occasions. We do tip at buffet meals usually if the service warrants it. The best oriental hibachi restaurant, the Bonsai, was the best I have ever eaten at either vacation resorts or in the States. The show table hibachi chef was superbly skilled and the meal itself was excellent in amount of food served and the quality. I do feel however that the other 3 ala cartes that we went to during our stay in March were sub-par compared to other all inclusive resorts I have stayed at. They lacked the elegance of menu selections and the quality of the food. I ordered steak twice and found it to be overcooked and not tender. Also at 2 of the ala carte restaurants the waiters need some formal training in how to wait on patrons. They had no personalities and kept wanting to take our plates away before we were finished without asking first. The only good waiter was the one in the Italian restaurant. The food at the ala cartes was good, just not great. During lunch the inside buffets at the beach got very crowded and it was hard to find a seat. We preferred to go to the outside snack bar which was quick and return to our beach chairs to eat. The hamburgers were thick and very tasty. We also liked the ice cream cones near the snack bar and drink bar. I would rate the Bonsai by far the best, outstanding one, the Italian one 2nd. and the Mexican the worst for food and service. The Tropical was third overall. We had 4 reservations instead of the normal 3 ala carte reservations allowed by going to guest services in the afternoon to see if there was any availability that night. We got lucky.

Guest services and the main desk staff were very friendly. Overall our group of 4 loved the Tucan, especially the jungle- like atmosphere, abundant wildlife, great pools and pristine beach. We do intend to return again next year.

Room Tip: Stay away from buildings adjacent to the main pool area. It can get noisy somewhat during the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beachlover48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Estimated guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time to share your vacation experience.

We are very happy that you enjoyed our beautiful grounds and fauna, our beach and our drinks as well as our staff and our entertainment team. We appreciate your compliments to our Japanese and Italian restaurants.

In regards to your dissatisfaction with our food and with the service provided in the buffet and restaurants, we would like to say that our Executive Chef continuously works on improving the variety and to enhance the quality offered. However please be sure we will take your comments in consideration and we will look into every aspect with our responsible Manager.

We appreciate your remarks and suggestions regarding our resort, they are very valuable to us as they help us improve our guests’ vacation experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR MEXICO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,701 - 1,707 of 6,873 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

Thought the service and grounds were fantastic. Food what to be expected. tipping was appreciated and brought staff around quicker and drinks stronger. Specialty restaurants ok, not as good as others. Did not review last year but wanted to now as just returned from Cozumel and liked this place much better than Cozumel... Beach one of the nicest I have ever been to...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bigredCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear guest,

We sincerely appreciate your nice compliments on our grounds and services. Our guests’ opinions and suggestion are very important for us.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR MEXICO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 11 nights to celebrate my best friend's wedding which was held there on the beach. The whole experience was lovely. It was the perfect setting as every evening we could meet in the lobby bar all 24 of us and then either go to a restaurant we had booked or go to the buffet. The wedding planner was very helpful and the suite they gave the bride and groom the night of the wedding was gorgeous.

The buffet restaurant was the best buffet i have had in a hotel the breakfast was amazing and the evening buffet had such variety and gorgous Mexican salads and salsas.

I was sad to leave and will definately be recommending this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view. Block 10,11,12,13 are in my opinion the best located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trix_vix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your fine compliments to our IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal resort, it was a pleasure and an honor to have hosted such a special occasion for the bride and the groom and for their beloved guests.

We appreciate your compliments to our wedding planner and to our buffets. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon in any IBEROSTAR hotels worldwide!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My wife and I visited the Tucan for last two weeks of March. All in all it was a good hotel with decent food in the restaurants, the Italian & Steak House speciality restaurants were good. The beach was clean and not too busy although you did need to reserve sun beds with shade pretty early.
I golfed several times at The Iberostar Playa Paraiso golf course which you can use at preferential rates if you're a guest at The Tucan, this is a great golf course with everything included, and never too busy. It's about a 30 minute taxi drive from The Tucan, the cost is about 300 pesos (£15) for the taxi and $50 for the golf.
As I titled this review the staff were great, in particular I would like to mention the following staff who went out of their way to make our holiday,
Rubisel and Elda the best waiter & waitress, Rebecca and Jacqueline of guest services, Carlos the Thompson Rep and our wonderful maid.
While we were there we made several trips the best being Xplor which is brilliant, it was pretty busy so I'd suggest to avoid queuing too long to pay to get in either book on line or get there at least 30 minutes before they open.
The only slight downside was we chose a two week period during "Spring Break", there were a lot of relatively young adults from the States who took full advantage of the hotel's all inclusive alcohol. They didn't cause any trouble or do any harm they were just pretty boisterous. It wasn't any great problem but probably better to avoid the "Spring Break" period if you like a quiet hoilday.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that overlooks the "Jungle" section of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mshaw682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time to write this review and for sharing your vacation experience as our guests’ opinions and suggestions are very important for us.

We are pleased to know that you had a great experience with us and that our staff worked hard to enhance your experience. We are grateful for your remarks on our restaurants and on our warm and friendly staff, we appreciate your special mention to Rubisel, Elda, Rebecca and Jacqueline, we will make sure they receive your compliments.

Regarding the sun beds we would like to take this opportunity to clarify that we have recently purchased extra sun beds to ensure that all guests have a sun bed at the pool or beach area, in addition we have assigned a pool concierge to assists our guests whenever they require a sun bed. We have also implemented a new policy of not reserving sun beds by advising the guests during the check in process and by information signs placed at the beach and pool area.

It was a honor to have had the chance to serve you and we hope to welcome you back soon at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Great place. Food was great, the staff walking around the hotel was great, the folks organizing the activities knew our names within days and were always friendly, the drinks were variable, but if you were nice to the bartenders they gave you good pours--so no complaints there. Most of the staff were great, but the staff at the front desk could be a bit more proactive when it comes to things like changing money and questions. Had to hang out there for a bit longer than expected. You've really got to flag them down--if you don't look like you're checking in, they'll ignore you.
Pools were fantastic--don't forget to try the adult (aka swim up bar) pool. Very lush setting and quiet in the early afternoon.
Great activities for kids. Our nine year old was happy to go from sport to sport on his own. Not sure how many free ice creams he picked up along the way, but he likely maxed out value on that front.
I prefer a more secluded location, but there is some open uncrowded beach about 200 m from the hotel, and it's about a 5km walk (or 60 peso taxi) to Playa if you prefer city life.
All in all, a very relaxing vacation. Thanks to the staff and set-up at the I-Tucan!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
1  Thank CObolts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Estimated guest,

We are very happy to read your review; we appreciate your fine compliments on our grounds, food and staff. It was a pleasure to have you and your family with us.

In regards to your comment on our Front Desk Staff, please know this not the impression we wish to provide our guests. We are already carrying out several trainings for our all our personnel that are in constant contact with our beloved guests. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and you can be certain your comments are taken in consideration and are very helpful for us to continue improving.

Once again we thank you for your comments and suggestions; we hope to welcome you back at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal in the beautiful Playa del Carmen.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My new wife and I travelled to the Iberostar Tucan/Quetzal for our honeymoon and stayed in the Tucan side of the resort. This was a fabulous resort with a true rain forest atmosphere. The walkways are all clean, wide, and well maintained. The romantically lit paths are a couples dram during the evening hours. The service attendants were very friendly and keen to make their guests stays memorable. The buffet food was average, whilst we did find the Japanese restaurant to have the best food. Other than the buffet, all restaurants require reservations, and we recommend making those reservations when you first arrive and seating is very limited. Towels for the pool and beach are provided by the hotel and again we recommend getting your pool or beach chair very early in the day (reserved by placing your towel on the chair) otherwise you will be hard pressed to find a decent chair.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank asingh050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your fine compliments on our resort; it is great to know that we were able to provide an excellent honeymoon for you.

We appreciate your remarks regarding our beautiful grounds, our Japanese restaurant and our staff. It was a pleasure for us to be part of a very special moment of your life.

You can be sure we will take into consideration your comments regarding the buffet food as we appreciate your suggestions and it is very important for our constant improvements.

We hope to be part of many others special moments! We look forward to welcoming you back at the IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at the Iberostar Tucan for 2 weeks in March 2014 and had a fantastic holiday. Having had a brilliant time when we visited in 2006 we were a bit concerned that it might not live up to our expectations, however we needn’t have worried as we had an even better holiday this time around.

Our room was in block 13 which is near the pool and jungle area, and was great for being able to see the howler monkeys from our balcony. When we visited previously in 2006 we enjoyed watching the monkeys when walking through the hotel’s jungle area but were not able to see them from our room, so this time it was a real treat.

The room itself was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The fridge was kept well stocked with drinks.

The hotel and grounds are absolutely fantastic. We particularly enjoyed walking through the jungle area in the middle of the hotel grounds. The restaurants were of a very high standard. We mostly ate at the main buffet restaurant on the Tucan side which has a good variety of food to choose from and we always found something nice to eat. We also dined at the Japanese, Mexcian, Steakhouse and Italian speciality restaurants which were all good but the Mexican was best. During the day there is lots of choice as they have a great snack bar by pool/beach which does a decent selection of hot and cold food, plus right next to it is the burger & hot dog section which was very popular. If you fancy a break from the beach and a larger food selection they open one of the large buffet restaurants. So much choice. The bars (both beach bar through to all the evening bars) were great, they cater for all and have a fantastic selection of drinks. The bartenders can make exactly what you want.

The entertainment team, called ‘Starfriends’ really made our holiday special, in particular Karlos, Andre, Mauricio, Adriana and Ary. They are all so friendly and work tirelessly to make sure everyone has a great time. We really appreciated spending time with them and valued the effort they made. There is an activities programme that runs all day with things like archery, rifle shooting, beach volleyball, bike ride, Zumba etc, and you can join in with as much as you like or not participate in anything as there is no pressure at all to do so. We have stayed at a few Iberostars now and like to join in with several of the activities. They are great fun, well organised and it is nice to meet other holidaymakers from various countries. I have been back home for 4 weeks now and am still missing my Zumba on the beach at 4 o’clock!

We were also very impressed with the evening entertainment and went to the theatre bar most nights to watch the show, which is unlike us as we tend to spend half of our time at the shows but the rest in the quieter bars. The standard of the dancers and the shows was very high and the band were fantastic. I particularly enjoyed being able to dance some salsa and merengue with the dancers. Ricardo, Cesar and (sorry cannot remember the name of the other male dancer). They were all really nice and friendly and spend some time dancing with the holidaymakers before and after the shows that they star in. A couple of our favourite shows were Boogie Nights and the Hollywood show. The best shows are the ones with the hotels’ own band and dancers, there was a Mayan show one evening that seemed to just confuse a lot of the audience and that was the only night where we noticed people leaving, otherwise the theatre bar was always full of people enjoying the shows.

The pool and beach areas were both very nice. It is true that it is tricky to get a lounger on the beach with a parasol and so you have to get up very early if you want to get one. This did not bother us and we quite liked the fact that we needed to get up earlier than we normally might on holiday as we got to enjoy more of the day. It is a shame though that some people selfishly reserved loungers for hours at a time without using them. This is a poor reflection on the people themselves though rather than the hotel. The sea varied from being calm some days to pretty rough on others, however it was always very clean and a pleasant temperature. A little tip for ice-creams, go to the hotel trolley on the beach from 11am for the nicest ice-creams as they have the nicer cornets and Walls ice-cream; much nicer than the softer ice-cream up at the burger bar.

Overall a fantastic holiday and we would definitely recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CouplefromBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Estimated IBEROSTAR guest,

We are honored to receive such a great review of your stay at our IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal. We sincerely appreciate your return visit and the time you have taken to write this detailed experience.

We are truly pleased to know that you enjoyed our buffet and a la carte restaurants, our drinks, our beautiful grounds and our entertainment team. We especially thank you for your especial mention to Karlos, Andres, Mauricio, Adriana and Ary. We will make sure they receive your fine compliments. Your suggestion regarding the Mayan show will be redirected to the person in charge, for evaluation.

Regarding the loungers we would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we have purchased extra loungers to ensure that all guests have a lounger at the beach or by the pool area, also we have a pool concierge that assist our guests whenever a lounge chair is required.

Once again we thank you for your remarks and we look forward to welcoming you back soon at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
#43 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,089 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
#58 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
13,669 reviews
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Playacar
Hotel Riu Playacar
#50 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,306 reviews
13.8 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
Iberostar Paraiso Beach
#6 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#36 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
5,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Tucan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Address: Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero | Fraccionamiento Playacar Nro 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $198 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Tucan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. Specially recommended for honeymooners. Varied, colourful entertainment programme. Large pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, VISIT US, INC. , Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Tucan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Tucan Mexico
Iberostar Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Iberostar
Iberostar Tucan Quetzal
Iberostar Tucan Playacar
Iberostar Tucan Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing