We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,190)
Filter reviews
7,190 results
Traveler rating
4,423
1,966
521
171
109
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,423
1,966
521
171
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendshowler monkeysjungle areaspecialty restaurantsswim up bardressel diversjapanese restaurantate at the japanesetowel hutpool beachgated communityother resortsemailed the hotelplenty of chairsmagic showcab rideapple vacations
Filter
Updating list...
1,883 - 1,888 of 7,190 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I was in Cancun in 1977 when it was just a beautiful beach that never ended with few hotels and highrises. So I was looking for a place that still had the same feel, with modern facilities. So when we arrived at the Tucan, we were very happy of our choice.

Grounds: These have to be the most beautiful grounds I have ever seen. Waterfalls, trees, flamingos, peacocks, swans, monkeys, etc. The lobby is a open air one, so welcoming and beautifully lit at night.The pathways are just a delight and at nighttime, they are lit and you can have fun finding your way around. But for three, all the restaurants are openair. As we are animal lovers, we enjoyed very much all the critters that live on the grounds.

Beach: As we are at the end of Playacar, we are one hotel away from a the jungle, so you can walk on an uncrowded beach. There are no rocks in the water and the beach is clean of any weeds. You can also walk to Playa del Carmen but the beach is not great the closer you get to downtown. White sand, warm aqua water, lots of fishes, just heaven!

Pool: You will never feel crowded in it. It has to be the biggest one I have seen. The swim up bar pool is apart as are the kiddy pool and the activity pool.

Rooms: As they did not have a king size bedroom at our arrival, we were given a 2 double bedroom and the next day, we were transferred to one. The room was very nice and clean, the mattress was comfortable and no musty smell. We enjoyed our 3rd floor balcony overlooking the west and the howler monkey family!

Restaurants: We are regular cruisers so we compared the food to Celebrity cruise line. Overall, there was enough choices to satisfy us. We enjoyed the Japaneese and Italien restaurants, not so much the Tropical one. We found the food to be about the same as our cruise food but we found it to be a bit to cool. The mngmt could work at keeping the food warmer.

Activities and entertainment: We did not participate in the activities as they seemed to be more addressed to a younger crowd (we are in our 60's). We did not mind as the beach and pool were enough for us plus the trip to Secreto River and snorkling with the turtles and in a cenote were more our cup of tea.

The evening entertainment was a bit lacking (as compared to what we are used on a cruise). We were told by the patrons of other hotels, that it is the same. The champions of the day ceremony was a bit long. Again we did not care to much as we could just relax, go to Playa del Carmen, take a walk.

Cleanliness: The entire complex is spotless, all the staff of the hotel is so hard working to take care of us. Thank you!

So if you are looking for a Vegas style hotel, this is not for you! If you want to to spend a week living with the nature, relaxing and still have all the comfort of home, you will be delighted.

Room Tip: We had room 1342. Close to the pool and beach, on the walkway with sun in the afternoon, quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SpicySunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal resort, we truly value the wonderful and detailed review that you have shared with the TripAdvisor traveler’s community. Your personal opinion reflects the wonderful time you have spent with us.

We feel honored with such nice opinions and compliment to most of our services, accommodations, and premises; our green areas plenty of local wildlife, and the quality of our gastronomy that you have enjoyed at our main restaurants.

Your recommendation will positively motivate future guests to choose our resort!

Please consider visiting us again in the near future. You will always be welcomed with the warm and attentive hospitality that characterizes us.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I'm at 72 TA reviews as of this writing. A huge TA fan and usually find the reviews spot on. In the case of the Iberostar Tucan, our family absolutely hated it and left after only 1 night of an 8 night stay to move to the Banyan Tree Myakoba.

Overview: We thought we were going to get a wildlife friendly, great service all inclusive vacation. What we got was a dump of a room, overlooking the back of a restaurant and ping pong table and not a Iberostar person in sight who was willing to help us fix it.

Why we think this place was rotten:

1. At booking, asked for a room by the wildlife areas. We confirmed it with the front desk at check in and she assured us it was a good area. It was a LIE! We checked in during toward sunset so we couldn't tell at that time, but by the next morning we realized we were looking at the back of a restaurant and got totally screwed.
2. It took 6 tries to get the front desk the next morning. When we did and asked about changing rooms or adding a room, we were told they couldn't help us. Keep in mind we had a 8 night stay for 4 people booked...not exactly a weekender. No help. They couldn't care less.
3. Room service will not deliver beverages. We ordered up some breakfast and were told we had to go to the pool area to get beverages. All you can eat room services as long as you can choke it down without a beverage! Major weird and disappointing.
4. Other than the buffet, all restaurants require reservations. You have to stand in line to talk to the SINGLE reservation attendant in the lobby and we were told that for an 8 night stay, we could request up to 3 restaurant reservations. All inclusive my patootie! The first night we go in, we asked if we could eat at any of the restaurants but were told at 6 pm that no reservations were available that night. We ate the buffet which was fair to OK...basically cruise food. Walking around the property, non of the reservation restaurants were full...most only about 50%. Another lie and way for this property to keep you at the buffet with the cheap food.
5. Competition for chairs is RIDICULOUS! All pool chairs and anything on the beach with shade is gone by 9 am. The place is full of empty chairs which people have reserved. What chairs you do get are packed one next to the other. Literally, you will be sharing an armrest with the stranger next to you.
6. WiFi - $20/day PER device! Really?!?! Oh, and you can't order it from your room...you have to go the front desk to fill out forms and sign for it...per device. Wow, major weirdness again.
7. The rooms: What a dump! Beds are absurdly hard, the room smells and is cheap and run down and the pods they are constructed in are like staying in a youth hostel. They pack in tons of rooms to maximize people in a small area. No privacy, no joy, not staying!

OK, I'm tired of writing anything else. So, read my reviews, see where I've stayed and see if I'm nuts by nature. I'm not...this place stinks! Literally. So many other choices in Cancun/Playa del Carmen...you can do WAY better.

Room Tip: Be careful where they put you. They lied to us about where our room was and we were overlooking the back of a restaurant and it's equipment. :(
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank ScipioAfricanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, we are deeply sorry to hear about your experience during your recent stay at IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal.

After carefully reading your review, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered with our different services and facilities. We are definitely looking into this situation as our staff must be committed to high standard and personal service in order to ensure continuous customer satisfaction.

Regarding dinner reservations, we would like to clarify how our sittings system works, we have the 4 different timings which we do not fill to their complete capacity, this is due to the reason that we try to guarantee our guests a good personalized service which would not be the same if we had a full restaurant, plus this way we give our guests more time to enjoy their dinning without feeling pressured to have to leave the restaurant for the following sitting coming. Although sometimes guests do not show up, we have to give them a 15-20 minutes toleration time, after this time, due to availability, we are able to receive other guests before their reservation time. Please be sure that your comments will be considered. We apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you.

We would like to mention that all the mattresses in our rooms comply with a standard; nevertheless, we have toppers to soften the beds upon our guests’ request.

We are sorry to hear your stay with us did not fulfill your expectations.

Hopefully, we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at any of our other IBEROSTAR resorts worldwide so we can offer you a different experience with the quality and attentions that distinguishes our brand.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

First time in at a resort. This was an excellent choice. My husband and I had a wonderful time. The grounds are lush. Loved to walk to the beach through the jungle path and watch the monkey's, peacocks and all the other animals. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was good and the drinks plentiful. This would be a great get away for families,or couples. I would return.

Room Tip: Unit 17 is near the lobby and far enough away from the main monkey business.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Goodie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This resort is excellent, and we enjoyed our stay here in March 2014. The grounds are clean, attractive, the beach is pristine and the pool is spacious and deep. The food is very good for an all inclusive and we never got bored. The size of the resort is very walkable, and the exotic animals on the grounds add a nice touch. A few things to be aware of here, and I am sure this is the case with other Mexican all-inclusives:
1.) You are on "Mexican time" here. Nothing is done at the time they tell you. We arrived at the resort at 1pm, and were told the room would be ready at 2. The rooms were not ready until 3pm (the published check in time on the website), so do not expect to check in early. We were, however, permitted to eat lunch at the buffet before we checked in, which was very nice. Also, we had laundry done at the hotel, and although they told us our clothes would be ready at 9am the next morning, they were delivered at 1pm.
2.) They do not always refill the fridge with water as they are supposed to, and we had to request water bottles a few times. Same with the shampoo/lotion in the bathrooms.
3.) The specialty restaurants are largely the same food you find at the buffets; the Mexican restaurant, however, has a different menu and is excellent. Would not recommend the Japanese restaurant-very bright halogen lights glaring at you and the food is generic.
4.) The resort is very convenient to Playa del Carmen and small shops in Playacar. A taxi to Playa del Carmen will run you $7 each way, and it is a 5 minute walk to Starbucks in Playacar down the street.
5.) There is a dive shop with excursions on site. My husband and I did a local reef dive, which was great. They offer many options for diving.
6.) The lounge chairs are claimed by 7:30am with towels, despite the resort's rule against claiming and holding a chair for yourself.
7.) I recommend keeping your safe locked whenever you are out of your room. We left for a few minutes, and when we got back found that someone had been in our room. The resort has a policy that if they find your safe open, they lock it themselves and reset the code, so you have to call the front desk to come and open your safe. Again, the "Mexican time" comes in here because you could be waiting awhile.
Overall, this is a fantastic resort with great amenities-we would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
7  Thank Sarahbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Appreciated Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments of excellence regarding our resort IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal in the beautiful Mexican Caribbean!

We want to express our gratitude for your detailed comments and observations on our services and compliments to our team members who were very attentive in offering you a quality stay.

We are very glad to know that we set up your expectations; however, we want to apologize for any delay regarding the delivery of your laundry and the re-stock of water and beauty supplies at your room. We are sharing your feedback with our room service department for their attention and a quicker response to our beloved client’s requests.

In regards to our check in time, this is scheduled at 3:00 pm. Our guests can make use of the facilities while their room is being prepared for them. We apologize if someone from our staff gave you different information, we will speak with our front desk manager order to avoid this kind of situations.

We will be very happy to have the opportunity to host you back again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Our family of four(two teens) had an awesmoe vacation at the Tucan Resort! It was everything that we had hoped for and more. The complex is not overly large and makes it feel that the hotel is all yours with its layout and jungle center. The jungle is awesome filled with all sorts of native animals and birds. Loved wathcing for the monkeys high in the trees. We were in building 11 which was very close to the pool and beach and would recomend this end of the complex. Our room was great but we did not spend any time in it :) Beach is the best I have been too and you could always get a beach chair but you did need to get up with the sun to get a palapas or preferred spot. Enjoyed the sunrise every morning! There are activities for everyone if that is your thing and the Star Friends are awesome at getting people involved and having fun. The Pool is large and very clean and was super warm. Food was was very good in the main buffet and beach bar areas. We ate at the Japenese and Mexican specialty restaurants and would recomend the Japenese one highly! The buffets were awesome with plenty of variety and the quality is top notch. We would go back tomorrow if trhe funds allowed it! Thanks Tucan and the hard working employees!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
4  Thank AKD2U2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

First and foremost, on behalf of the Management of IBEROSTAR Tucan & Quetzal, we want to express our most sincere gratitude for your detailed comments and observations on our resort that always help us to maintain the quality of services that guests like you and your family deserve.


We value your kind comments regarding our tropical grounds that include endemic flora and fauna from the Maya jungles. We also appreciate your nice words to our Star Friends that perform an enthusiastic job to entertain all our beloved guests!

Thank you for highlighting our beach facilities and the beauty of our location in the Mexican Caribbean, that will help other travelers of the TripAdvisor community to choose our tropical resort for their next vacations to the Riviera Maya.

Once more, we thank you for writing your review and we hope to have the opportunity to host you back again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Quality Manager
IBEROSTAR México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews