We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Ranked #41 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Beautiful!”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I was amazed by the whole experience. The hotel really delivers and achieves a natural tropical environment, that I underestimated greatly. There was so much wildlife in the resort, from the vast amount of aguti's, iguanas and peacocks, to the spider monkeys, and there is so much more. It really was a treat seeing the wildlife. The food was lovely and there was a very large choice in the 2 buffets restaurants especially, but the food could have been a little better. Most of the food was over salted for our tastes. The other al le carte restaurants I would recommend, especially the Mexican and the steakhouse, because the meat dishes I had were on the ball for everything. The Japanese was a very fun experience, it is a must for anyone and everyone, very entertaining chefs. If you enjoy your drink you will be in your element as all drinks are inclusive, except expensive wine. The BEACH, it was beautiful, really white soft sands, rich turquoise warm water. Incredibly relaxing, most of our time was spent on there (also if you like angel fish, there were loads of them on the beach, just grab a bread roll and break it up while you're in there and they congregate quickly and have a frenzy right in front of you) . the rooms were the only thing that put me off when i looked at the photos, but they are really nice, it suits the environment, and makes you feel like you're in mexico, but the beds are quite hard and uncomfortable. Excursions that we recommend would be the turtle snorkel, really beautiful creatures and we also got to see other little fish and a sting ray! Definitely go to see and swim in the cenotes, they really are magical. Go to Xplor, if you enjoy theme parks ( or look into each one, there are quite a few of them). If you're willing to spend, do the scuba diving available, we only snorkeled, but the fish we saw from just that was amazing, I'm sure you'd see some amazing marine life. If you want to go to any of the ruins, Tulum is the closest (which is an hour away by bus, don't let them tell you its like half an hour down the road, its not) but if you are not bothered about being in a bus for long, Coba would be the best one to visit because you can climb up inside this one and it is a lot less commercialized. Or if you just want to stay in the resort, kayaks, snorkels, the catamarans are all inclusive also, this was a really nice surprise. Don't be put off by the price, you get more than you pay for, and it is a beautiful place with exellent service

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
9 Thank johknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
On behalf of the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal team, we want to express our gratitude for choosing our beautiful resort to spend your vacations with your family and share your travel experience with other travelers of the Trip Advisor community.

We are honored to read that you have had a memorable experience and you have enjoyed our services, food and the great hospitality that characterizes us in the Riviera Maya

Thank you for your appointed comments about the wildlife that coexist at our premises. This is a plus experience we offer to all our guests, so they can interpreter a sample of the flora and fauna of the Mayan tropical forests.

We appreciate your kind recommendations about the natural and cultural surroundings that the Riviera Maya has to offer to all our visitors and that can be explored from our resort.

We hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again at Iberostar!
Sincerely yours,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,948
    1,749
    454
    152
    96
See reviews for
2,266
2,310
73
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,026)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Timonium, Maryland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Where to begin and what to say about one of our favorite resorts to date?

OK, first and foremost it is on the best beach in the entire Mayan Riviera region; it's all-inclusive; it's beautiful; it has great food and it's staffed by some of the friendliest people we've ever met! How's that for starters? This resort is rated 5 Golden Apples by Apple Vacations (whom we use to book our trips to this resort). The design is beautiful grass thatched roofs with a Mayan décor with fish ponds, very natural setting which we love (not the manicured grass kind of place) and very well laid out and everything is handicap accessible.

It has all the amenities: tennis, spa, activities for adults and children, nightly shows for children and adults, the activities and shows are put on by a group of Iberostar staff members called "Star Friends" and they are only too happy to help you with any activity you might be interested in. There is also snorkeling, scuba diving, watersports (motored and non: motored extra cost), 5 Ala Carte restaurants (Italian, Japanese, Mexican, Seafood & Steak) and choice of two main buffet areas and a beach-side breakfast and fast food lunch buffet. Gorgeous pool with fountain and plenty of shade for both the pool and the beach. Walking trails meander throughout the resort. Disco bar open at night. Live theater building. Six bars available plus a swim-up bar in an adults only pool. Ice cream and drinks stand right on the beach with showers! What am I forgetting?

There are several different tour company stands in the lobby that will assist with planning 1/2 day or day trips to local attractions and Mayan sites. Also, there is a very nice shopping mall and numerous other resorts within walking distance. You can even walk to the town of Playa del Carmen; however, we prefer an inexpensive cab ride. In town is the ferry to Cozumel for a fun day trip. Also in town there is a Senior Frogs bar & restaurant; Carlos & Charlie's bar & restaurant and numerous shops: even a Walmart! The entire area is tourist oriented and highly secure with guarded and gated access points to get into the area and all resorts have a gate with guard on duty 24/7. Also, wrist bands are issued to all guests on arrival as added security.

My wife and I have been going to this resort since 2003 and we've been 10 or 11 times total. Oh, they have a resident doctor whom my wife has unfortunately put to good use. There is a wonderful local hospital close by; however, they only accept Blue Cross/Blue Shield; credit card or cash...no other insurance is accepted. Part of the reason there are so many amenities available here is that there are actually two resorts here. See my review on the Iberostar Quetzal.

The Iberostar Tucan Resort is just an absolutely wonderful place to visit. We love it!

Room Tip: More expensive suites are available right on the beach. Otherwise the rooms are pretty much the sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank skipreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear skipreader,

First and foremost, on behalf of the Management of Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal, we are much delighted to read your travel review and want to express our gratitude for choosing us to spend your holidays at our beautiful resort for consecutive times!

We are very glad with your appointed comments about our services and the friendliness of our team members that made you feel at home, particularly our enthusiastic Star Friends who contributed to make an energetic stay with the activities they perform.

We also appreciate your great remarks regarding our meals & drinks, the quality of our restaurants, included our appointed A la Carte restaurants.

We will ensure to share your kind note with our resort’s team who made this travel experience very special and also, with our medical team who are always aware of any incidental that may occur to our beloved guests.

Please consider to give us the opportunity to host you back again in the near future. Thank you for considering us your home in the Riviera Maya!

Sincerely yours,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the Tucan from January 21-28. I chose the resort because I wanted something that felt more intimate and I definitely wanted to avoid the mega resorts in the area. An added bonus is that Playa del Carmen is only 7 minutes away by cab

Hotel grounds/area

Upon our arrival at the hotel, we knew we had made the right choice. The lobby area is very traditional and features an open air courtyard with parrots, lots of limestone flooring, and thatched roof. It's a great place to hang out after dinner.

In order to get to your room, you can either take the paved paths on either side of the resort, or - as we did most days - go through the jungle area. This was such a treat for our daughter. She loved pointing out all the animals, especially the monkeys. At night, when lit up, the jungle is just magical. Despite being paved in rough limestone, we still found it easy to manage with a stroller.

The rooms are organized in three storey blocks which gives the resort a very cozy and intimate scale. In fact, the resort is much smaller then I anticipated. You can easily walk from the front lobby to the beach in under five minutes.

Although the resort is older, you can tell that the management is very good. The resort is very well maintained and there is always plenty of staff around whether cleaning or landscaping, etc.

Pools

The pools are great. I really appreciated that there was a gradual sloping entry on either end which made it feel "beach" like. Even though there was a children's pool, my daughter really enjoyed running in and out of the main pool. There's an adults only lagoon type pool with swim up bar. We didn't get a chance to use it but it looked really nice.

beach

The beach is what you would expect for this area; white sand, deep, stretching for miles each way. Playa del carmen is easily walkable in about 40 minutes by beach. It is busy but because this is the second last resort in the Playacar complex, if you go in the opposite direction, within a few minutes you're practically alone on virgin beach.

Room

Again, this is an older resort so you can't expect perfection but the room overall are well maintained and kept very clean. Our maid always did an excellent job and left our room neat and tidy. Again, it's very obvious that management here really pays attention.

On a side note, before we left I read a couple of reviewers saying that the beds are hard and to ask for a topper when you arrive. Well didn't I look like a princess? I don't know what these precious little flowers sleep on at home but the beds were pillow top and exceptionally comfortable. Our topper went unused all week.

Food

I usually don't go to a la carte restaurants when I go down south because I usually leave disappointed. We went to the Japanese and Mexican restaurants and ended up back at the buffet which was much superior in all respects. Food at the buffet was always fresh and tasty. If I had one comment regarding food is that it would definitely benefit from more variety. Like I already mentioned, what was available was always delicious and we never lacked for anything - it's just a friendly suggestion.

Entertainment

I don't have much to say here - not because the entertainment wasn't good but simply because with a toddler in tow, we sadly didn't stay up late enough to watch any of it. What I will say is that the animation team works their tails off pulling 16 hours days every day. During the day they are always out and about around the pool and beach area, whether doing kayaking contests or beach zumba. Mauricio especially is a character

Staff

Like I've already mentioned several time, the staff here are all extremely diligent, friendly, and hard working. It really speaks highly of the management.

Room Tip: If you're here for the monkeys, ask for a room on the third floor closes to the jungle. This pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Kate S,

On behalf of the Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal team, we want to express our gratitude for choosing us to spend your vacations with your family

We are honored to read your appointed review about our services and the friendliness of our team members, our gastronomy and the cleanliness of our rooms and premises.
We are very glad to read that your daughter enjoyed the atmosphere and the animals that live in our premises! Luckily, this location makes us a great resort to travel with children.

Thank you for letting us us feel that we managed to fulfill your expectations and did an enthusiastic job for an unforgettable stay.

Once more, we appreciate your review and the time taken to share your nice experience with us and other Trip Advisors travel community members.

At Iberostar, we still have so much to share with you, please consider to give us the opportunity to host you back again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Just returned home Feb,13th 2014

First, the pictures of the Tucan does not at all do it justice, This place is stunning. from the first step in the lobby, thru the pathway of the rainforest/jungle area that is home to variety of wildlife.
The color schemes of the buildings are done very tastefully. The walk thru the forest at night with the lighting on is very beautiful and tastefully done.

Rooms are very nice carrying the color schemes indoors with textured walls, nice tile floors and a nice touch of wood doors, not your typical steel with a wood finish. We stayed in the ocean front suite's with very nice views with the curtains open or on the patio early mornings with coffee and a good book. Bathroom was all tile and a nicely sized partially opened shower. Water temperature during a shower would fluctuate a bit but this could have just been the case in our room alone. Try to avoid booking your rooms along the far north side that borders the Riu, the septic smell from the Riu is kind of a buzz kill.

Staff: Ranged from always pleasant to very outgoing, every one had a smile and said hello. We had only one day where the drinks moved slow to the beach as our regular server may have had a day off. Bell service for checkout was 10 minutes late and picked us up as we were walking up front as we had a 6:20am transfer we had to meet. At check out we had a very crabby older gentleman who did not seem to concerned on getting our party out in a hurry as we were running late for our transfer.

Food: The buffets for breakfast where your standard run of the mill resort choices with some highs and some lows but we did expect that as we have been at others in different places. The Theme restaurants were very good. We did them all with the least favorite being the steak house. It's best to make your reservations the day of arrival as not to miss out or dinning time to late.

Entertainment by the "Star Friends" after the first show of the trip kept me a the bar the rest of the time, not that impressed.

The highlight of the trip was our "PRIVATE" tour to the Tulum ruins. Jorge, with Riviera Sightseeing in the lobby got us a deal for 5 for $68.00 per person for the whole day with no real time frame. Our tour guide named "Sergio" Was over the top with knowledge of Mayan history and presentation with a notebook he carried all the time, even other people not with us would stop to listen to him as the way he conducted himself did command attention, If your going to the Ruins SERGIO IS A MUST HAVE as a guide.

Scott
St. Louis, Mo.

Room Tip: Suggest the oceanfront or rooms that face the interior of the resort along the rainforest/jungle are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sctferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
On behalf of all the team members, and particularly the Manager of Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal, we would like to thank you for choosing our beautiful resort to enjoy a wonderful time during your holidays.

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing our beautiful resort to spend your most recent vacations. Particularly, we are pleased for your kind remarks regarding our décor, services, gastronomy, our friendly team members, and the beauty of our tropical grounds.

We will be very delighted to be able to offer you our hospitality again in the near future, with more of our selective services and the friendliness that characterizes us in the Riviera Maya.

Once more, we thank you for your nice review and recommendation to other readers of the Trip Advisor travel community about our resort and the archaeological points to discover in the zone that were built by our ancestors, the ancient Mayans.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

What can I say, we have been visiting this hotel for over 10 years (every other year, since we have some many other places to go). It's without a doubt the best all inclusive I've ever stayed. This trip even say the hotel fully booked, so getting the same pool chairs was tricky, but it's still enjoyable. Five star restaurants (five) and four casual buffets make eating a joy. Pool bar, lobby bar and entertainment venue with bar make relaxing another joy. And then there is all the water sports (free scuba lesson, kayaks) (pay for parasailing and jet skis on premise). Exercise programs go all day long both in the pool and out as well as bike tours. Spa with massages offered on the beach and a fitness center. And, of course, they can arrange any tour you would like to take while in Mexico.
Oh, about the rooms. They all have balconies and you are either facing the jungle or the road. The rooms are comfortable and have a safe and refrigerator that is stocked with beer, pop and water. Restocked every day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philyfanstukinmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear philyfanstukinmi,

First and foremost, on behalf of the Management of Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal, we want to express our gratitude and sincerely thank for choosing us and being part of your most appreciated memories along your consecutive stays at our nice beautiful property.

We are much honored to read your appointed review about our services that made you feel at home. We will ensure to share your kind comments with our resort’s team, as we continuously work to improve the quality of our services.

We also appreciate your great remarks regarding our meals & drinks, the quality of our restaurants including our appointed A la Carte restaurants and bars.

Once more, we thank you for writing your review and share your nice travel experience to other Trip Advisors travel community members. At Iberostar, we still have so much to share with you.

Please consider to give us the opportunity to keep hosting you again in the near future.

With our greatest appreciation,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monroeville, PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We chose the IB Tucan because of the look of the resort. We wanted something with Mexican atmosphere. The Tucan fit the bill. The resort was truly lovely and well kept. The pool was huge and we spend most of our time there. We also enjoyed the swim-up bar, but it did get shady around 3.
We loved walking through the jungle-like environment and seeing the wildlife. The room was nice. It was kept clean and the a/c was comfortable. We had a third floor balcony overlooking the pool with a slight view of the ocean. Monkeys walked the balcony rails every morning. Peacocks sat on the first floor rails.
We chose to eat breakfast at the buffet restaurant near the beach. Sitting outside with the ocean view was a bonus. The food was ok. If you wanted pancakes or french toast you had to go to the main buffet near the lobby. They did have an omelet and egg station that cooked eggs up to your liking, but I felt they were bland. The bacon and sausage were awful. I ended up eating a croissant or pastry. I drank my coffee in the room (it was better). There were a little more options for lunchs. I liked the pasta when they had it, but usually opted for a salad. They also had an outdoor grill with hamburgers and fixings. Dinners were much better. We ate at 4 specialty restaurants. We liked the Mexican and the Italian the best. The Japanese was fun. The steakhouse was good, but it is open air so be prepared to be hot. We heard many people complain about the Tropical restaurant so we did not go there. We went to the dinner buffet twice and they had a nice array of food and choices (salmon, pasta, chicken, etc).
We did not see any shows, but people that went liked them. We spent the evenings in the lobby bar. It was full, but not noisy. Pretty sedate.
There is a spa in the front of the resort. You can sit is the hot tub there for free and bring along some wine if you like. It is not coed though. The men had their own hot tub.
The staff were very kind and accommodating.
We only sat on the beach twice. You had to get up early for a "closer to the water" palapa, but otherwise you could find one further back almost any time. The staff would bring umbrellas if you wanted to sit closer to the water though. There were lots of lounges around the pool.
One evening we walked to an area nearby that had several shops, including a Starbucks. It was about a 10 minute walk and very safe. We also went into Playa Del Carmen one evening. The taxi ride was $7 each way.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and would return.

Room Tip: We liked staying close to the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank c-scape52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear c-scape52,

First and foremost, on behalf of the Management of Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal, we would like to thank you for choosing our beautiful resort to enjoy a wonderful time during your holidays.

We are very pleased for your kind remarks regarding our services, gastronomy, friendly team members and the beauty of our premises and tropical grounds. As you could experience, we have wildlife that allow our guests to interact with our natural environment.

We will be honored to have the opportunity of hosting you back again in the near future so we can offer you more of the selective entertainment and quality stay that characterizes us.

Once more, we thank you for your nice review and recommendation to other readers of the Trip Advisor travel community.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

There hasn't been a day that has gone by that I haven't missed this vacation. My girlfriend and I stayed at the Iberostar Tucan Quetzal (they are the same place, share the same amenities) from December 17th to the 24th. We are both 23 years old and we LOVED this resort!! The Iberostar offers something for everyone of all ages. It was our first time in Mexico and we are so thankful that we decided to go to this resort.

I will cut to the details that everyone wants to hear about right away.
1. The beach was amazing!!!!! We walked down the beach and saw the other resorts and we noticed that our section of the beach was the biggest and the best maintained. There was a lotttt of seating options by the beach and the pool and we never had a problem getting 2 chairs by each other. The water was warm and had such beautiful blue colors. The sand was very white and soft as well.

2. The resort itself was so beautiful. It is in a great location in Playa Del Carmen called "Playacar." Playacar is a gated area with security so all the resorts in this area are very safe and I never felt like I was in danger or had anything to worry about. The resort has a wild life theme, yet it's elegant at the same time. There were monkeys going around the resort every morning, and I actually fed a monkey that was hanging from a tree. The walkways and the floors in the room were all marble and looked so nice. The rooms were really nice and the rooms were cleaned very well each day. The mini fridge had good beer in it along with bottled water. We had plenty of drinks made for us on the resort and we never had to worry about the ice/water getting us sick. They actually advertised that they filter all the water for the ice cubes.

3. The food was also really good. People need to understand that this is an all inclusive resort where they try to feed a large amount of people at all times of the day. They did really well at putting out small portions so the food stayed warm and fresh. There were sooo many options at the buffets that is was almost overwhelming.. in a good way of course. The al a carte restaurants were reallyyyy good. My favorite was the Japanese Hibatchi place, but all of the places offered really good food. We were there for 7 nights and we were able to eat at the al a cart restaurants 5 times. They guarantee you 3 or 4 (I'm not exactly sure) but as long as you book your reservations as soon as you get to the resort, then you will be fine.

There are so many opportunities at this resort to either stay busy the entire vacation or just pick your spot on the beach or pool and relax all day. We wanted to be involved with everything that we possibly could so we participated in the daily events such as zumba, water aerobics (one day we did the aerobics in the ocean instead of the pool), archery, bingo, mechanical bull riding, free scuba demos, and so much more.

There were a lot of families with children and the staff did an amazing job at keeping the kids entertained. There are staff members who watch after the kids and they also perform nightly shows for kids too. The entertainment that was provided for everyone was pretty cheesy, but they do a good job and it is still funny and entertaining.

Overall, I would highly recommend this resort to everyone of all ages. I miss this place to much and I can see why so many people return to the Iberostar. You wont regret your decision to go there!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Tyler S,

First and foremost, on behalf of the Management of Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal, we want to express our gratitude and sincerely thank you for choosing us to spend your vacations with your girlfriend in December. Thank you for letting us be part of your most appreciated memories of the Riviera Maya!

We are so much delighted to receive your wonderful comments, as a picture of your stay with remarkable and unforgettable memories.

We are much honored to read your appointed review about our services and the friendliness of our team members that made you feel at home. We will ensure to share your kind comments with our resort’s team, as we are continuously improving the quality of our services.

You let us know that you and your girlfriend have enjoyed our beautiful green spaces. Our resort is integrated into the tropics of the Riviera Maya. The zone has a rich endemic flora & fauna, where monkeys, iguanas, coatis and many other animals have chosen our jungle as their home. That makes us unique!

Thank you for your kind words to our entertainment team members and our Star Friends, who contributed to making your stay a fun one, with the activities they perform at our beach and pool areas.

We also appreciate your great remarks regarding our meals & drinks, the quality of our restaurants, including our A la Carte restaurants like the Japanese, where you had a wonderful dining experience.

Your review is one of the best rewards we can have in return for providing you a wonderful vacation. We would be very pleased to welcome you back in the future!

Sincerely yours,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
12.3 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,809 reviews
13.7 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,315 reviews
12.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,372 reviews
19.4 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
12.4 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Tucan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Property: Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Address: Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero | Fraccionamiento Playacar Nro 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#16 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Tucan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. Specially recommended for honeymooners. Varied, colourful entertainment programme. Large pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Visit Us Inc., Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Tucan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Tucan Mexico
Iberostar Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Iberostar
Iberostar Tucan Quetzal
Iberostar Tucan Playacar
Iberostar Tucan Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing