We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Ranked #41 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Newport Gwent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have just come back from a two week stay at the hotel Iberostar Tucan Mexico. We are a family of 4 my two daughters being 21 and 18 years of age. When we arrived their room had a double bed in it which they weren't very happy about, so we asked at reception about moving them to another room with twin beds and there was absolutely no fuss made at all by the reception staff, and the girls were allocated another room.
All Hotel staff work really hard and were always polite and friendly. We tried to leave a tip for cleaners most days and also with other staff as they are not that well paid we were told by Thomas Cook rep. The Hotel resort is really beautiful, the sea is clear and blue and my daughter fed the fish with bred in the sea. The pool was lovely and never crowded and I have never been in a pool that was the temperature of a hot bath!
We went on several trips, which were quite expensive for a family of four, but was well worth it.
We also took a walk into the small shopping town about three miles away, we decided to walk along the beach as it was cooler. Walking through the town you are constantly asked into shops but as long as you say NO Thanks they leave you alone. We didn't finish shopping as it became to hot, so we caught a Taxi back to Hotel.
Unfortunately the four us contracted the travellers diorreah with two of us having stomach cramps which wasn't very pleasant. We postponed one of our trips because of the illness, although we tried to carry on as normal. I would like to say it didn't spoil our holiday but it did a bit, it made us very wary of what we where eating, in fact it made us not want to eat at all at times.
We were also told by many people who had been to Mexico and holiday reps before we left Britain that there were no mosquitoes, well I can tell you there most definitely are! I have a bad reaction to bites so this was important to us, but we were told there was no problem. I couldn't sit out on balcony for fear of being bitten and also by the pool and in the restaurant's, I couldn't get away from them. My Husband didn't suffer quite as much as myself and my youngest daughter, but still came away with bites. I think it depends how you react to them.
Apart from the latter two problems we had a lovely time and if you like the beach and pool sort of holiday than this is highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are grateful to hear that you had a lovely vacation at our Hotels Iberostar Tucan & Quetzal. We thank you for taking the time to write the review about your stay with us.
Our staff tries their best to coordinate efforts to fulfill our guests expectations and needs, we are happy to hear that we have accomplished our mission.

We are sorry to hear that part of your family got ill during your stay with us. Travelers’ diarrhea is a common illness among tourists. The reaction is different in every human; we hope our team was able to accommodate your petitions about any special diet you requested due to this inconvenience. Regarding the mosquitoes’ issues, we would like to comment that they are present in this area, as the temperature and ambiance benefits their proliferation; however our fumigation team is constantly working on trying to avoid mosquitoes to reproduce and get into rooms, we regret to hear that you had allergy reactions. We always recommend the use of repellent while being in open areas.

We thank you for your kind opinion about our hotel facilities and services; this always motivates our staff and indicates us that we are on the right path to achieve customer satisfaction. We are happy to say that our hotel has recently been awarded as “Great Place to Work”, which means that our employees feel happy to be part of our hotel.

Your status as a guest is highly valued by our company; we invite you to stay in touch with us through our website to be part of our loyal guests. Please let us know about your future visit and thank you for your recommendations!

Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,866
    1,719
    442
    148
    91
See reviews for
2,206
2,260
71
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,005)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was our 3rd time to this resort, we have stayed in this area at least 10 times. We love Playa Del Carmen area. The reason we came back again is we took 3 other families with us, and you can't beat this resort for location to town, nice beach and jungle feel with lots of animals.

Rooms, they are nice sized, with a little sitting area. Shower was updated, and rooms were always very clean and the mini bar was always stocked. We always stay in the rooms closest to the beach without paying for the ocean view but great location, I think building 11 and 12. By the way the Tucan and Quetzal are the same resort, just different sides of it but they share the same pools and restaurants etc.

Food was good, liked the steak house the best, we enjoy eating breakfast and lunch down by the pool as the breeze is always good and you can view the ocean from there.

They do provide room service with the basic rooms.

Pool is big, but gets kida deep, I could barely touch in some areas of the pool, but they do have a shallow entry. Plenty of lougers and anyone could use the covered beds by the pool, which we did most days.

Reservation system is pretty easy. We had no problems making reservations for the restaurants we wanted and they did set up tables for our big group so we could eat together.

Service was good, everyone enjoyed the resort. Iberostars are a good chain of resorts, and we have been to many in Mexico and Punta Cana. I think this Iberostar has a very lush and tropical feel with water falls, turtles, flamingos, monkeys, tucans and lots more, so if that is what you want, then this is the spot.

Room Tip: Building 11 or 12 and get one that faces the interior of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 563trace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for visiting once again, your loyalty is very much appreciated. We are also very thankful for your lovely review!

We are happy your liked your room, the food at the buffet and restaurants, and our facilities. Thank you also for your remark on the good service received.

We hope this was one of many more visits to come, as it would be a pleasure to serve you again at Tucan & Quetzal.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The holiday was EXCELLENTE the pool is very large and is never to crowded! the food is good and the childrens shows are really entertaining.You get the opportunity to have your picture took with animals such as parrots,tucans,iguanas,etc.Theres monkeys by block 15!The staff are amazing and make the stay 10times better there are alot of activities to do during the day,Look out for Mauricio! who does the aqua gym! He made my holiday and i certainly want to return!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Emily R

We are very grateful for your lovely review.

Thank you so much for highlighting our facilities, including our swimming pool and our flora & fauna!

We are happy you enjoyed our food and our fabulous entertainment team, who are such an important asset for us.

We hope you do come back to Tucan & Quetzal, your home away from home!

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great trip our 2nd time to this resort. The whole family enjoyed themselves.
Ages where
15 months, 12 yrs, 2 in their 30's 2 in their 50's

There was always something for everyone to do, rooms where clean and the towel art was fabulous. We asked for adjoining rooms and we received a a corner section that worked out wonderful. Everyone is so friendly and willing to please, and they where great with the kids.
Beach is nothing short of spectacular. One of our reason to travel to this area is the water and beautiful beaches and the Tucan will not disappoint you.

Would not hesitate to go back a 3rd time!

See you Feb 2014!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drydoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear drydoe,

Many thanks for your fabulous review. We appreciate your loyalty to Iberostar!!

We are happy to see that you did not get bored at the Tucan & Quetzal and that you were happy with our staff. They really work hard to ensure our guests have a fantastic time and that your needs are met.

We are very pleased to see that you got rooms you really liked.

It makes us happy to see that you want to come back for a 3rd time. We hope that will be one of many to come. We look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I traveled with my daughter in July for 8 nights. The hotel was clean and beautiful. Loved seeing the animals roaming aroud freely. The beach was amazing. Food was great and available at all times. Great, friendly staff. The room was ok. Pillows need much improvement!

Room Tip: Be ready to pay for WiFi which is only available in the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ferry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Ferry A

Thank you very much for having chosen Tucan & Quetzal for your latest vacation and for taking the time to write your review about your experience!

We are happy that you enjoyed our flora & fauna, our wonderful beach and above all our friendly staff. We are forwarding your comments about the pillows to our Housekeeping Department. Thank you for that feedback. It is a great tool to find out about your needs and get closer and closer to achieving your complete satisfaction.

We hope that if you visit the Mayan Riviera again, you do not hesitate to visit us again.

Warm regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

From start to finish this holiday was wonderful. The hotel was lovely, the restaurants and staff were amazing they couldn't do enough for us. The jungle at the hotel which led to the fantastic swimming pool was a fabulous experience with the monkeys and other jungle wildlife running and climbing about made our stay memorable

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Sharon C

Thank you for choosing Tucan & Quetzal for your latest holiday and for writing such a brief and wonderful review.

We are happy you liked our hotel, our culinary offer and our friendly staff.

Your special mention about our flora & fauna and our swimming pool is also greatly appreciated.

We love it when a guest leaves satisfied and with unforgettable memories.

We hope you come back in the near future; it would be a real pleasure to serve you again.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Myself, my wife and 13 year old daughter just returned from Tucan and we easily can say it was the best holiday ever. We have never done an all-inclusive before and we were concerned it may have not been for us.

Would the food be good and varied (especially as I require a gluten-free diet and my daughter is veggie)? It was great! Huge and varied buffets with all the meat, fish, salad, vegetables, Mexican specialities as well as the obligatory junk food. The waiters and bar staff bent over backwards to be helpful. Out of the five a la carte restaurants on site we preferred the Italian and the Tropical restaurants, both offered very well prepared meat and fish. The (free) wine at the Italian was particularly good.

There were many bars and there's nothing like lying on the beach in the sun and being waited on, being offered cocktails, beer or (if you must) soft drinks, slushies and fruit juice.

The service was great and there is plenty to do without the feeling you are being coerced into doing things you don't want to do - try something new!!!

Room was comfy and the aircon was quiet enough to leave running all night. We had a room with sea view which was lovely.

The entertainment staff were also brilliant with a special mention for Mauricio who is hilarious and very talented and could do everything from yoga, to water aerobics, to children's entertainment and parts in the evening shows.

We learnt to do our PADI Open Water Diver's course at the on-site dive centre (run by Dressell Divers). The staff were amazing, very friendly any confidence inspiring. If you do go diving I would recommend the day trip to Cozumel where the reef is amazing. We saw massive loggerhead turtles and then had an impromptu swim with a family of dolphins who happened to be swimming by...BLISS

It was lovely to see so much wildlife in the hotel grounds. It had a jungle feel which compared favourably to the surrounding hotels which were white concrete.

We went with Tompson/First Choice. This was a bit of a waste of time because our only dealing with them was the rep who tried to sell us excursions which could be had for half the price if you shopped around in Playacar or Playa del Carmen. We went to Chitchen Itza which was a bit of an epically long and hot day but well worth it to see one of the wonders of the ancient world.

Room Tip: Sea view room on the Quetzal side (we were in block 20)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Tucan Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Stuart H,

Thank you so much for your positive evaluation of our resort, service and activities.

We are thrilled to know you had such a wonderful time and felt all your needs were met in every aspect of your holiday, including the culinary offer, the service offered by our hard-working staff, and the activities and shows of our Entertainment team, Star Friends.

We will be passing your comments on to Mauricio, he will be happy to read such nice words written about him.

We are also very happy you used Dressel Divers services and your experience was so positive.

We hope you come back with your family again to have another very special holiday. It would be a pleasure to serve you.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
13.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,470 reviews
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,671 reviews
10.7 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
12.4 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#5 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,173 reviews
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Tucan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Tucan Hotel

Property: Iberostar Tucan Hotel
Address: Avda Xaman-Ha, Lote Hotelero | Fraccionamiento Playacar Nro 2, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Tucan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation directly on the beach of Playacar, around 3 km from the town of Playa del Carmen. Specially recommended for honeymooners. Varied, colourful entertainment programme. Large pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, VISIT US, INC. , Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Iberostar Tucan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Del Carmen
Iberostar Tucan Mexico
Iberostar Tucan Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Iberostar
Iberostar Tucan Quetzal
Iberostar Tucan Playacar
Iberostar Tucan Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing